Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 2
Average Mileage:
51,659 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #88

Oct 142010


  • 38,859 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle began to vibrate and veer to the right. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,859 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #87

May 142014


  • miles
I was driving and had to pull to the side of the road because the lights kept on going from dim to bright and the automatic lights kept on switching up and down real fast and the car just lost its powersteering there is a strong smell of gas coming from the car and when I put gas in it takes a few minutes to actually crank back up. Im afraid while driving fast the electric problems will cause serious harm. There was a recent recall on this model and all the problems I stated and I need them fixed.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #86

Mar 012014


  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while traveling 25 mph, the steering wheel failed and became hard to turn. The steering warning alarm activated while the failure occurred. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number 10V073000 (steering) where the steering motor was replaced however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the power steering motor. The manufacturer was contacted but denied any assistance with the repair. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000 and the current mileage was 97,000.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #85

Mar 012009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles


2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch problems. The consumer stated she experienced several incidents, with the ignition switch sticking and not being able to turn the key, including the first day she brought the vehicle home. Over the years, the switch has failed, which left her stranded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer many times, but they never replaced any components regarding the lock cylinder or switch. Updated 05/14/14. The consumer stated she was unable to shift the vehicle into gear. Updated 06/26/14 the electric power steering motor was replaced. Updated 07/10/14 updated 07/30/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was fixed. Updated 09/02/14

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #84

Mar 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Vehicle was being towed behind class a motorhome. Key was in the accessory position; transmission (automatic) was in the neutral position; fuse block:8 (ignition switch, pass-key III+) was removed to prevent battery drain; per vehicle manual for dinghy towing. Traveling on interstate 45; 95 miles South of dallas, tx. Nothing was hit when traveling. Both front tires blew out, subsequently ruining both front tires and wheels. There is no apparent reason why this happened. Was wondering if this may be connected with current safety recall on ignition problem on Chevrolet Cobalt. The key chain had three keys and the key fob attached.

- Lewistown, MT, USA

problem #83

Apr 302014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
My wife tried to start the car on 4/30/14. Put the key in the ignition and try to turn the key to start the car the key wouldn't turn. It was locked up. The steering wheel wouldn't turn, the engine wouldn't run. Eventually if she comes back after approx. One hour and try again the key will turn in the ignition and the car will start. This happens couple of time a year since we bought the car brand new from the dealer. We contacted the dealer service department; they told us that they do not know of any such problem with this Chevy model.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #82

Dec 292009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles


2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to steering column problems. The consumer stated part of the steering column was replaced 4 times, since the vehicle was purchased new in 2009. The problem was originally noticed as a rattle in the dashboard area in December 2009. The steering column was replaced. A similar noise returned in October 2010, where the steering rack and pinion input bearing was replaced, and on March 30, 2011, the steering column was replaced again. In February 2014, the rattle returned for the 4th time and the steering column was replaced. On November 2, 2011 the consumer attempted to turn off the vehicle, but was unable to do so. The dealer replaced the ignition switch. The old switch had completely apart inside the steering column.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #81

Jun 152012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
It will not let me type in the affected part. It was the ignition. The car was sitting still and the ignition would not shut off. The key could be removed and replaced and could be turned, but it would not shut down.. I had to call aaa to have them come to remove the battery cable, (I had to go online to find out where the battery was located) (because even my aaa did not know where it was. We then had aaa tow the vehicle to the dealership in laurel, md and they said that the ignition had fallen apart. They put another ignition in, however, I wonder if it is out of the same batch that is causing problems now. They also did something to the electric power steering at the same time.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #80

Apr 092014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
When I was pulling into a nursing home making a right hand turn the cars steering went and it was pulling me all the way to the right and almost crashed in parking lot I had to gain control N force the steering wheel to go back straight.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #79

Apr 012014


  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed numerous times while driving. The power steering warning light illuminated when the failure occurred and the steering wheel was hard to turn. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 53, 000.

- West Planis , MO, USA

problem #78

Nov 012013


  • 60,000 miles


Lost power in steering it was replaced 13 months prior for a recall. Before that steering locked up on us.

- Tulare, CA, USA

problem #77

Sep 172009


  • 33,900 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated the cruise control was activated while driving approximately 55 mph. The steering column began to shake violently when the brake pedal was engaged. The failure only recurred when the brakes were applied. In addition, the ignition failed to function properly upon starting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the power steering pump was replaced. The steering malfunction persisted and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact no longer owned the vehicle. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 33,900.

- Darlington , SC, USA

problem #76

Nov 112013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Power steering was going out several times over a few weeks. It would just quit working and my daughter would have to steer hard. If she shut off the vehicle and waited a few minutes then restarted the car it would fix it. We had her take it in which they said it was not under a recall and charged us $239 to fix this. They said it showed it had been fixed once before in the past. I see this has a recall now for the exact thing that was wrong with her car and I feel I should be able to get this fixed correctly and reimbursed for the problem. I feel since this is the second time the power steering has been fixed it will happen again.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #75

Feb 052013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 550,455 miles
My entire column shakes and makes a dragging sound when driving.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #74

Feb 262014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 111,766 miles
As I was driving down the street to turn into my parking lot I started turning the wheel left when I turned my steering wheel and brakes locked up and drove over the curb of my apartment complex causing my whole right side of my car $1300 worth of damage this is the second time this has happened to me first time no damage was done that was back in October.

- Youngstown , OH, USA

problem #73

Feb 062014


  • 67,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the power steering assist failed as the steering wheel seized without warning. The emergency brake was used to stop the vehicle in a grassy field. The contact turned the engine off and once restarted, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred twice within a one week period. The following day, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not taken to dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 67,500. The VIN was not available.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #72

Mar 282010


  • 10,000 miles
The accident on making a sweeping turn and the car loss control and hit a tree. After the accident a couple of weeks got a recall letter in the mail from Chevy for a recall 10023 loss of power steering assist. I do not know if this contributes to the accident. If further information contact me.

- Old Bridge, NJ, USA

problem #71

Mar 032014


  • 35,520 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt which was purchased brand new. The contact heard a noise in the steering column while the technician test drove the vehicle at approximately 10 to 15 mph. The technician confirmed that the steering column and linkage needed to be replaced at the contacts expense for $942. The steering column remained locked after the vehicle was repaired. The technician stated that the wheels must remain straight at all times in order for the ignition to be engaged. A representative with the manufacturer stated that he would call the contact within twenty four hours to follow up on the defect and reimbursement; however, no one has notified him. The contact was offered a partial reimbursement on the steering column repair which he denied. The failure mileage was 35,520.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #70

Dec 222013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
While pulling out of the gas station, the power steering light came on and the power steering no longer worked. It has not worked since then.

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #69

Nov 212013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 39,700 miles
Driving on the interstate, the electrical power steering went out. I was informed that the electrical motor was already replaced back in 2010 under my warranty. Now, they state this "problem" with the eps was never a "national recall" problem and all repairs will be at my expense.

- Columbia, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?