Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,979 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #91

Jul 012016

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have owned a 2010 Chevy Cobalt since 2012. Shortly after purchasing, the check engine light turned on. The power locks erratically lock and unlock. The windows will become jammed and suddenly will not roll back up. Cruise control will randomly stop working. I had issues with the transmission which cost me over $3,000 to fix. Then, there was the ignition switch recall which the dealer fixed at no cost. But now I am having problems with the power steering. I have to turn my ignition off and on for the power steering warning message to turn off but then it turns back on a few minutes later. I am aware that there was a recall for the power steering but yet the dealer refuses to address this issue with my car because they say that recall was performed by a previous owner. The NHTSA website states bulletin 14115 regarding power steering recall began July 17, 2014. Mind you I have owned this car since 2012 and have not had the power steering recall issues fixed. N140115 also states that it includes "2010 Chevy Cobalt and vehicles repaired in recall 10V-073 that received repairs prior to May 31, 2010." Therefore, they should be held accountable and fix this problem with my vehicle or provide me with a car that is safe. The first time my power steering went out I was on a freeway on ramp when my steering wheel locked up. I could have died! this is a life threatening issue and I sincerely believe this is a lemon car.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #90

Sep 062015

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
I noticed that there was no turn signal sound indicating the turn signal was in use. At the same time I also noticed that all of the warning indicator sounds were also not working (set belt, door open with key in, low tire pressure, ect) none of the warning sounds are now working. It seems that the left front speaker is used for the transmitting of the warning sounds thus there is no sound from the left speaker. None the less I feel that with the warning sounds not working this is a safety issue. Everytime I start my car the svc light stays on all the time, my tires are always wobbly while slowing down and driving. Same as I have heard from others. Got in a hit and run if I have side air bags they didnt geploy

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #89

Oct 022015

Cobalt

  • 36,500 miles
In the fall of 2015 I noticed that there was no turn signal sound indicating the turn signal was in use. At the same time I also noticed that all of the warning indicator sounds were also not working (set belt, door open with key in, low tire pressure, ect) none of the warning sounds are now working. It seems that the left front speaker is used for the transmitting of the warning sounds thus there is no sound from the left speaker. None the less I feel that with the warning sounds not working this is a safety issue.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #88

Jan 152015

Cobalt

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. When starting the vehicle, the center instrument panel was not illuminated, there was no heat, and the defroster and radio failed to work. Occasionally, the vehicle would return to normal when the vehicle was shut off and restarted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #87

Jan 032016

Cobalt

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that after several attempts, the vehicle failed to start and the key failed to release from the ignition switch. The plastic cover panel located below the steering column was removed to access the key release button. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the battery was replaced but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Englishtown, NJ, USA

problem #86

Dec 102015

Cobalt

  • 96,000 miles
In December 2015, I pulled into a parking space and put my car in park, then turned my key back to leave the radio on but everything seemed to completely shut down. I tried to remove the key from the ignition but couldn't get it out. I tried to restart the car, but it wouldn't start. My key was stuck in the ignition. I googled the problem and read that the gearshift may appear to be in park, but is really in gear, locking the key. I couldn't move the gear forward any further but noticed the "reverse" gear was highlighted on the panel instead of "park". I saw that it was a recalled issue so I called the dealer and was told that tap hat issue had able easy been "fixed" in June 2014. I explained that my key was stuck and my gearshift appeared to be off kilter, and that it was listed as a different issue. Again, she rudely told me that had been fixed and that the problem must be something else and I'd have to pay $70 for the diagnostic. The problems I have with that are if it were "fixed", isn't there a chance it wasn't fixed properly (since obviously, it wasn't built properly the first time), and that having a Chevy dealer do the diagnostic and possibly find that it is the same recall issue, would they really tell me that and "fix" it again, or would they tell me it's non-related and charge me for something else? I had it towed to a mechanic and it's currently being looked at.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #85

Oct 202015

Cobalt

  • 107,225 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on nys I-90, my 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt ls 2010 went into "engine power reduced" and I was not able to drive over 40 mph. I pulled off to the shoulder and waited for about 10 minutes. I started back up, check engine light remained on and car stays in limp mode. The vehicle now idles rough, accelerates slow when at red lights and stop signs and bucks when shifting gears. First at 10 mph (hard buck) than (lighter buck) at 20 mph, and continues lighter through acceleration. Codes that are coming up are P0107 engine (map) barometric pressure circuit - low input, P0452 engine (evaporative emission system pressure system pressure sensor - switch low input, P0532 engine ac pressure sensor a - circuit low, and P0641 engine (sensor reference voltage a) circuit/open. I was able to clear out all codes except for P0641 (permanent). Please help.

- Glenville, NY, USA

problem #84

Sep 012015

Cobalt

  • 69,782 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the tire pressure sensor warning light remained illuminated. The contact stated that the tire pressure was functioning properly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 69,782.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #83

May 222015

Cobalt

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle vibrated, the check engine warning light illuminated, and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle, but the electrical system failed to function. The contact also stated that the accelerator pedal failed to respond when depressed. The vehicle was taken to dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was informed that a transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #82

Oct 022015

Cobalt

  • 119,000 miles
Was driving at highway speeds going up a incline (hill) when my car chimed and a message read (engine power reduced) was in the outside passing lane with a semi behind me passing a slower moving car. Car power reduced to 30mph and lunged like not getting enough fuel. I barely missed a narrow escape of getting rear ended. Got over in the slow lane the highway become narrow with no shoulder to pull over so I was going to drive till I could pull over but them another chime and my dash read (engine disabled) and motor shut off. Coast to someone's driveway and set there shaking from being scared for about 15 minutes. Decided to try ignition and the car restarted and was able to limp to a pull off and call for a tow home. I realize my car is out of warranty and has 119K miles on it but nobody should be faced with a situation like I was put in. Also I contacted my local dealer months ago about my ignition recall and was told they would order the parts then call me to bring my car in and like I said that was almost 3 months ago and I have heard nothing no phone call.

- Vanceburg, KY, USA

problem #81

Aug 112015

Cobalt

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No warning chimes and no turn single chime. Several weeks ago I lost all warning chimes on my car. So at this time I have no chimes for 1. seat belts not buckled. Door ajar. 3. low or flat tire. 4. no turn single chime. In fact non of the chimes are now working.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #80

Sep 232015

Cobalt

  • miles
Good afternoon, I have a few concerns about my vehicle and have contacted Chevrolet and the attorney general but they have now directed my questions/concerns to you. My vehicle is now on its sixth recall. Every time I have to bring my car in for work, I have to take time off of work and the car dealerships I'm required to bring my car into do not have loaner vehicles. However, my primary concern is this is my only vehicle and I am a single mom. These recalls are disconcerting and within the letters have openly stated that these defects, flaws or problems have caused deaths. My son is my everything and it is my job to protect him. When I contacted the company to ask how many recalls does it take to make a vehicle ineffective in regards to, do they stand behind their products" I was then directed to you. The individual I spoke to said they do not work in lemon laws but what about safety laws? what about standing behind their product" what about protecting those individuals that have bought their products and have now had multiple recalls that have the ability to make the vehicle inoperable and potentially life threatening. If I had the funds I would buy a different vehicle. I bought this vehicle because I thought it was safe and good on gas mileage. I do not have any extra funds to buy another vehicle. My concern is for the safety of my son and myself and I am appalled that a company does not seem to stand behind its product after this many recalls. Please help,

- Elizabeth , CO, USA

problem #79

Apr 022014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical sysytem), and 15V500000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #78

Jul 102012

Cobalt

  • 26,679 miles
In 2012 I had an incident, my key was stuck in the ignition with the car running. I took it to the dealer, the ignition lock cylinder was removed, and they found the spring hold down plate was off and the spring was out of the cylinder, they replaced the ignition lock cylinder. Then, the recall happened and in Feb of 2015 I had to bring my car in for the product safety recall, they replaced the ignition and start switch. In may or June 2015 I noticed that my car was acting weird, the speedometer was acting erratic jumping from 30 to 60 then back down to 20. It was jumping all over the place even when the car was just idling then it would stall out. I took it in to the dealer the last week of June or the 1st week of July, they changed the module panel and said it was under warranty. I drove my car out of state on July 17th, on the way home it started acting up again, the engine seemed to lose power when getting on the highway, the speedometer was acting all erratic and the car was bucking like it wanted to stall. When I got home I brought it back to the dealer on July 28th, the car was there all day but they said they could not replicate the issue so when I got off work I went up there and the tech took a ride with me, the car acted up and he got to see what it was doing, he mentioned something about a cluster panel to the service manager but said he had to check with GM. On Friday the 31st of 2015 they put in another ignition thinking the other may have been faulty. The tech called me to see how the car was running an hour later, the car was doing the same exact thing. I am taking it in tommorrow Aug 3rd but I'm not sure what will happen. My car has 59,800 miles and I just paid it off on July 31, 2015 it is unsafe to drive. While idling the speedometer jumped to 120 mph then stalled out. It stalls out at lights and stop signs and tries to stall when I am driving,

- Swanton, VT, USA

problem #77

Jun 062015

Cobalt

  • 104,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving up a hill at approximately 30 mph, the engine power reduced warning light illuminated. The vehicle made a jerking motion and stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the map sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 104,500.

- Clarksville , PA, USA

problem #76

Sep 202014

Cobalt

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle received the recall repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). Months later, the vehicle stalled several times. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer for further inspection to determine the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #75

Jan 042015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My boyfriend and I were on our way home from Chicago (on I-80/90) when we hit a bit of lake effect snow and ice. The snow caused our car to lose traction which in turn caused us to hit a guard rail head on while going roughly 50-55 mph. Our airbags did not go off even though we hit the guard rail head on. We ended up being perpendicular in the right hand lane and was hit by a semi truck on the passenger side door. Again, our air bags did not go off which would make for a total of 4 airbags that were affected. I was unaware of affected air bags - I only knew about my ignition switch which was fixed months prior to the accident. Unacceptable.

- Maumee, OH, USA

problem #74

Aug 042014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I took evasive action by swerving to avoid collision with other vehicle that abruptly changed lane and collided with my vehicle. A results, my vehicle struck a concrete barrier wall of the roadway, then burst into flames upon impact. My vehicle was completely burnt out at a total loss before fire rescue responded. The airbag never deployed. Prior to accident I was having numerous ignition related problems with my Chevy Cobalt.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #73

Dec 042014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 72,792 miles
Driving on the highway at 60 mph when all electrical dashboard went down. First light to come on the vehicle was the security system light which was explained to me that your car is suppose to shut down if stolen then it went off after a few minutes. Once that light went off then the vehicle ABS, traction control lights came on and the vehicle could not pick up speed nor drove properly or safely. The vehicle cruise control also went off. Power steering light came on too. The vehicle lost power for ABS, traction control, cruise control and power steering. Once pulled over on side of the road the check engine light came on too. Tried to start driving the vehicle again to get it off the highway vehicle was difficult to drive couldn't reach speed very slow - did not drive properly. Safely pulled over again and shut vehicle off. Check engine light and other lights on dash stayed on. Could not get key out of ignition it stayed in the 2nd switch stuck (not running). Tow truck driver had to come and tow because vehicle wouldn't start nor would the key come out. Finally tow truck driver was able to get the key out of the ignition and towed it to a shop. Next day shop turned on the vehicle and could not find anything wrong. Dealer could not find anything wrong with electrical panel. Ran numerous test on vehicle including dealer driving vehicle and still nothing could be found. They say they can't fix anything because nothing is wrong with my car. Obviously there is something wrong with Chevrolet vehicles and the electrical panels going down in which I lost all cruise control, traction control, ABS, electronic stability control and panic braking assist operation. Thankfully I was not in an accident and was able to pull off the highway safely.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #72

Oct 142014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?