If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

4.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,594 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Corvette steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jun 282010

Corvette

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Corvette with 35,000 miles. The previous owner had recall 04V060000 steering:column locking:anti-theft device performed on his vehicle. The problem has now recurred. The dealer was contacted about the failure and told the contact to bring the vehicle in. The dealer told the contact that he would have to pay for the failure. The contact is unable to drive the vehicle. When starting or driving the vehicle a message would display" service active handling". when this happened the brakes would automatically engage. The failure was identical to recall 10V172000 steering: Column. The vehicle was also taken to the dealer for water leaking into the trunk. The contact found recall 09V491000 structure:body:roof and pillars caused the failure to occur. The contact also has pictures of the failure. The dealer would not repair the vehicle.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #28

Jun 222010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. While reversing at approximately 1 mph, the steering wheel locked followed by the illumination of the power steering warning light. The vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle however, the vehicle stalled within seconds of restarting. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The contact was able to locate NHTSA recall campaign id number: 04V060000 (steering: Column locking: Anti-theft device) however, the manufacturer advised his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 31,000. Updated 2/22/11 updated 05/23/11

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #27

Mar 312010

Corvette

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Corvette. While driving approximately 55 mph, the steering column lock indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact called the dealer who informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in recall 04V060000 (steering column locking, anti-theft device). The current and failure mileages were approximately 64,000.

- Mcdermott, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 262009

Corvette

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Corvette. While driving approximately 2 mph in reverse, the "steering anti-theft" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Within minutes, the steering wheel locked; although, the steering system was locked the vehicle was operational. The contact shut the engine off and notified an the dealer and manufacturer of the failures; however, there were no resolutions. NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering;column locking;anti-theft device) repair was performed and the recall remedy was insufficient. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 42,000.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #25

Nov 232007

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Until just now 11-24-2007 did I realize my car had a recall that I never received any notification about for my 2001 Corvette. NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 for steering: Column locking:anti-theft device. Is this something I should be concerned about?

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #24

Jul 242007

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
As with many other C-5 Corvette owners I have had an experience concerning my steering column to lock up and thus make it impossible to drive the car. I had received a bulletin about this issue a couple of years ago and even though I had not yet had the issue I took the car in and had the supposed required fix. However a few days ago while backing out of my drive way the column locked up and no matter what I did I could not get it to unlock. I called the dealer about the issue and had to have the car towed in upon their recommendation, due to the fact that even if I got it unlocked it could potentially lock up again even while I was driving down the road. It has become evident to me at this point after researching this issue online as well as referring back to my original bulletin that this is without a doubt a Chevrolet's manufacturing defect. However when I called Chevrolet they basically said tough cookies and really did not give a you know what. The dealers fix as they informed me comes straight from General Motors is to just delete the locking mechanisms thus rendering part of the anti-theft system mute. I have talked with many Corvette specialists about this situation and it definitely is a problem, no matter what Chevrolet tries to say. And the fact that their fix is to bypass the system instead of fixing the parts involved pretty much tells you that they have a problem. Even with all this they are going to make me pay for this issue. I have contacted an attorney and am looking at all my options, however at this point I have no choice but to shell out the 450 to 650 bucks it is going to cost me to fix GM's screw up.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #23

Nov 172006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 48,647 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Automobile was recalled for lock steering column in approx 2004 while under 36000 mile warranty steering locked and recall was done. In Nov 2006 steering column locked again. This time local Chevrolet dealer would not warranty the same locked steering column problem. Was told would not fix same problem twice under recall by manufacture.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #22

Mar 032006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 49,100 miles
: the contact stated previously there was not a problem with the steering column. There is a NHTSA recall # 04V060000 concerning the steering column locking anti-theft device. After the recall work was performed, the steering column began to lock. The vehicle is currently at the dealership awaiting repairs. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #21

Aug 062005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,245 miles
Steering column locked up two times within a 2 week period after having recall performed in year prior to this incident. First lockup occurred for 2 1/2 hours and second occurred for 20 minutes both of which caused the vehicle to be completely unusable since it could not be driven. Being concerned with the locking after the so called recall for the steering column lock problem being performed, I took the vehicle to the dealership where I was informed that the locking mechanism would have to be replaced not under any warranty or recall because it was "broken". later I found out that a bad wire is the reason for this part (#88965331) having to be replaced. I contacted GM customer assistance and was informed that this broken part had nothing to do with the recall and therefore has cost me $486.97 of which $282 was for the "GM goodwrench" to perform labor during 3 hours they said it took. I cannot believe it took a GM goodwrench mechanic 3 hours to replace a column lock part because of a wire. GM gave me the typical brush off for Corvette owners with regards to these column lock problems by telling me that they will keep information about this problem in there records. How can a car with only 13K miles start having failures of parts that nobody ever has access to within the steering column and then GM has the nerve to tell me it is not a defective part.

- Norridge, IL, USA

problem #20

Jul 292005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 26,500 miles
Caller had recall work done on May 11, 2005. Caller did not have the problem until the recall work was done. Steering: Anti-theft devicefailed. Caller said that while he was pulling out of driveway the vehicle locked. Turned it off, and when he started it again it came unlocked. He had to have vehicle hauled to dealer. Dealer has vehicle now and can not find problem. Manufacturer has not been contacted yet.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #19

May 302005

Corvette

  • Manual transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car originally taken in for recall on 12/13/04. Mac magruder Chevrolet in palm springs, California did not have the part to replace and sent vehicle home with me failing to tell me that this could be a serious problem. Car steering column locked up on 5/30/05. Car had to be towed to dealership. Dealership indicated the service had been done and that they would have to charge for to part. I researched this recall item and found that the part should be covered by the recall and they deny it. Complaining regarding mac magruder trying to charge for a recall situation and that they did not inform me of the seriousness of this recall. Fortunately there was no accident involved in the failure.

- Rancho Mirage, CA, USA

problem #18

Nov 272004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 34,535 miles
Events leading up to failure- just picked it up from the shop ( palm bay Chevrolet) on 11-26-2004 for the same thing was assured that it was fixed. Service advisor said my wife seamed a little apprehensive at the time of pick up, and she told him she was not a little apprehensive she was alot apprehensive. She was scared of the car now.because of research she had done on the recall issue of the column lock she learned that it could happen while you were driving down the road and result in an accident. She was assured by the service advisor that this could not happen. My wife is the main driver of this car, back and forth to work. When we picked the car up we drove it straight home, and my wife drove it to work the next morning 11-27-2004 at 6:00am upon getting off work at 3:00pm and starting the car it system column locked again less then 24 hours upon picking it up from the dealership. We will call the dealership again tommorrow 11-29-2004 and see what they have to say. My wife is scared of the car completely now, and affriad to drive. It even if it is fixed.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 092004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 34,432 miles
There were no events leading up to this condition other than I had the car in for service and oil change on the Thursday prior to it happening. System column lock-steering wheel locks and will not turn. If car is put into gear the engine will shut down. Took it to palm bay Chevrolet again. They had it from 11-09-2004 through 11-23-2004. During which it cost me $315 in retal car fees which I had to turn in early because I couldn' afford it any more, and the service advisor kept telling me they couldn't find anything wrong with it. They had called GM and done what they said and it was running fine.( which it always does until it column locks.) upon picking it up we were told that it was fine. I asked if they fixed it and was told again we did all we could do.they reset the computer and cleaned two correding grounds. Upon getting in the car and starting it up they had put 103 miles on the car while they had it.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 102004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 33,520 miles
1.) nothing lead up to event just put the key in ignition to start car and it column locked. System column lock-steering wheel will not turn, and if you put it in gear the engine will die. 8-10-2004 fixed under recall. Dealer gave no information. ( palm bay Chevrolet) they had the car from 8-10-2004 through 8-23-2004.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #15

Oct 152004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Corvette with multiple electrical problems which have which have led to multiple trips to the dealer for repairs. Most recently, the steering wheel locks while the car is on. This occured three times. It was repaired twice by the dealer and currently the car is at the dealer again. The service manager said that there is nothing wrong with the car. I'm afraid to drive this car. If the steering wheel locks when I'm on the freeway someone could get injured. The steering wheel locking problem has been recalled on the vehicle. GM customer care will not address the problem. What should I do? they cannot fix the car nor will they replace it.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 172004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Started engine. Selected manual reverse. Steering column locked.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 122004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 21,000 miles
Consumer was concerned that the service message that service column lock appeared while starting the vehicle. Took vehicle to dealer, and dealer diagnosed the problem as a faulty bmc (body control module.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #12

Jun 182004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Steering column locked - locking pin did not release during key turn but engine turned over. This occured the same way three times. First time was a year ago. Had dealer repair it but they claimed it was a weak battery, they charged it and simply said they reset it.. due to how long they had it, I had to rent a car which ultimately cost me $350. Second time, a different dealer claimed it was the BCM needing reprogramming and that it was not the same thing as the current recall at the time (specifically related to the PCM) despite the seemingly similar explaination of the recall. It was just out of warranty and lead to a cost of $275. The third time, same exact thing happened again and this time the same dealer claimed it was the steering column lock actuator or otherwise known as the solenoid. They are now in the process of replacing the whole locking assembly for $315 ($175+labor). All three incidences occured with a weakened battery yet the engine had no problems turning over suggesting that damage could have occured. Each time, I was stranded without a vehicle for several days and the total cost is now roughly $1000 out of my pocket. I should also mention that since tow trucks are not designed with the Corvette in mind, each and evey time my vehicle gets towed, I have to assist the tow truck so as to avoid further damage while they barely get the vehicle on the flat bed. This alone is enough stress let alone the cost of the tows.

- Medway, MA, USA

problem #11

Apr 212004

(reported on)

Corvette

  • miles
While the vehicle was in motion steering wheel locked in place. This caused the consumer to lose directional control.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 122004

(reported on)

Corvette

  • miles
While vehicle was in motion steering wheel locked in place. This caused the consumer to lose directional control.

- San Jose, CA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?