Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Corvette steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments

problem #20

Aug 232016


  • 73,500 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. When the contact shifted from park to drive, the steering wheel failed to unlock. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was repaired previously per NHTSA campaign number: 04V060000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,500.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #19

Sep 202015


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #18

Jul 192015


  • 30,472 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that while driving approximately 17 mph, the steering wheel seized as the service steering column, pull key, and wait 10 seconds warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred on two occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the lock plate needed to be taken out of the steering column for an electronic bypass harness to be installed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,472.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #17

Jul 262014

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 33,167 miles


July 19th 2014 I purchased a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 from autonation Ford in littleton Colorado.July 26th after returning home I parked the car in my garage. When I came out to move the car later that afternoon the steering column would not unlock. There was a message on the driver information center that said "service column lock". I immediately called autonation Chevrolet, since the vehicle is Chevrolet, to see if I could get some advice on how to resolve the issue. The service manager checked with a technician and I was told that the car would need service. Autonation Chevrolet referred me to autonation Buick GMC. The car was towed to autonation Buick GMC on the morning of July 27th 2014. After determining that their dealership was incapable of doing the repair autonation Buick GMC had the car towed to ed bozarth Chevrolet park meadows for repair. I researched the issue & found out that the "service column lock" issue was a recall issue in 2004 for Corvettes. The "service column lock issue also effects the fuel system and limits the car to 2 mph. First notification of the recall went out to owners on August 2nd 2004. I contacted GM on Aug. 1st 2014, 1 day short of the 10 year limit on recall work. Ed bozarth informed me that the repair would not be covered under the recall. I then contacted GM corporate to inquire about the recall. GM corporate informed me that the recall work had been done on my Corvette in 2006. Since the same "service column lock" issue arose, the recall work failed. I asked GM corporate if they would cover the failed recall repair and I was told that they wouldn't. I would ask that since GM's recall work did not solve the "service column lock" issue that they cover the approximately $1500 repair that I had to pay for to get my car back in a drivable state.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #16

Jun 212014


  • 58,900 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette Z06. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the steering wheel seized causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. No warning lights illuminated at the time of the failure. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed the steering column needed to be reprogrammed. No repairs were made to the vehicle and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 58,900.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #15

Jun 152010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 29,500 miles
The "active handling" annunciator warning occurs sporadically during driving at 60 - 65 mph. When this condition occurs, the car swerves right or left and yaws causing some loss of control. The control loss varies per each occurrence, some being more violent than others. I have had a GM trained technician troubleshoot the car with a scan tool and the result was a "steering wheel position sensor" (swps) failure indication on the scan tool. With the engine running and the scan tool connected, the indication of steering wheel angle was zero irrespective of actual steering wheel position. Regardless of actual steering wheel position the indicator showed zero. I have researched your website and have found various service bulletins reflecting this problem. This is a clear safety hazard with respect to this car. It is also clear that the fault is either an engineering or manufacturing defect as there is nothing that a driver could do or input to cause this fault. I am also aware of GM's current publicity regarding their covering up of safety conditions in their vehicles with respect to ignition systems and would like this problem to be addressed and repaired and not covered up. Repeat, this is a definite safely hazard and GM should repair this defect. It is also clear that GM has been put on notice of this safety hazard.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #14

Sep 162013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


Column doesn't unlock sometime message service column lock or vehicle will shut off.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #13

Jan 082009


  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 04V060000 (steering) and the contact took the vehicle to the dealer to be serviced. The contact stated that six months after having the vehicle serviced under the recall, the steering wheel seized when shifting into drive. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection where there were unknown repairs made to the vehicle. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,000.

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #12

Jul 272012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
I started my 2002 Chevy Corvette Z06, but the steering column locked and would not unlock. A warning light indicated to "remove key and wait 10 seconds" I did this, but it did not allow the steering column to unlock. Per advice from the local Chevy dealership, I disconnected/reconnected the battery, but again the steering lock would not unlock when the car was started. It currently cannot be driven and is stranded in my garage. I am the original owner and understand that recall: 04V060000 was issued for this type of problem. After contacting my local Chevy dealership, they said because the car is ten (10) years old, they may not have to honor the towing and repairs at no cost. Because I have moved several times in the past three (3) years I have not received a recall notice.

- Leeds, AL, USA

problem #11

Jul 222012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 4,321 miles
The display reads "service column lock" and the steering wheel locks. With multiple resets by unhooking battery negative cable finally the column lock released. GM issued several recalls regarding this but at this point they refuse to back that up with the documented repair on this vehicle. I have contacted the local dealer coad Chevrolet in cape girardeau, mo. We will find out how committed to customer satisfaction they are. GM does not seem to be very concerned about the safety issue that this poses to a driver.

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #10

May 192011


  • 72,301 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized. The contact shut the vehicle off and the failure continued upon restart. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, who stated that the recall vehicle was previously repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). The manufacturer was notified and the contact was awaiting a response. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 72,301.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 152009

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 43,195 miles
Problem with:bob steele Chevrolet 2800 West highway 520 cocoa, fl 32926 what:2002 Corvette [xxx] factory recall:id #51397, steering column locking time line: 15 Dec 09called for appointment service rep said bring car in max 45 min wait. 15 Dec 09 1pmcar delivered to dealer for factory recall work 15 Dec 09 3:36car ready, complained to service advisor that: Carpet laid back cpu not reinstalled dash all features dead 17 Dec 09 car towed to dealer for repair of steering column locked 17 Dec 09dealer installed part # 8865311 this part is not needed if by pass was installed 15 Dec 09 01/31/12took car to rosner Chevrolet for steering column service light on. 01/31/12dealer repair person found part #19244027 by pass harness laying in wires not installed 02/02/12dealer installed bypass harness in car all features of car now works car run the best in years 2 Feb 12contacted Chevrolet customer relations request [xxx] 6 Feb 12sent via fax all documents 8 feb12told by rep via phone, that my claim was to old not gong to do anything about problem asked to speak to district person and was told that could not happen. Case is closed conclusionsteel never installed the bypass, if so the steering lock actuator would not be need on 17 Dec 09 due to by pass installed on 15 Dec 09.this was a problem that could have cause a crash without any warning per GM recall#51397 plus steel charged GM for work never done, and me for parts and labor not needed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Melbourne, ID, USA

problem #8

Feb 022012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The steering column lock appeared on the dash screen, telling me to pull key and wait 10 seconds... it doesn't allow me to drive the vehicle at all... apparently it has been fixed but, I am not satisfied with the result of my car shutting down on me when I need it at most.. I hope this issue is taken into consideration to get resolved... [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 262011


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the steering column seized and he was unable to drive the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer in 2004 where it was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:antitheft device). The manufacturer was aware of the failure; however, offered no further assistance. No additional repairs were performed. The failure and current mileages were 70,000.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 022011


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the steering locked abnormally while attempting to start the vehicle. The contact was unable to unlock the steering wheel and the manufacturer was contacted. The contact was advised that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V060000 (steering: Column locking: Anti-theft device) and they were unable to provide any further assistance with the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Sadinaw , TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 012011


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact was entering a parking space when the steering wheel locked abnormally. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer and they advised him that the steering motor and relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was then contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were approximately 75,000.

- Culpepper, VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 222010


  • 23,406 miles
Steering on my 2002 Corvette locked up several times while I was driving yesterday. Moran Chevrolet put in a new battery and reset the codes (said something like "service steering column") and says not to worry about it. I am worrying about it.

- Clinton Twp, MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 112010


  • 29,135 miles
On June 10, 2010, my 2002 Corvette, żmanual" transmissions, " was at brandon auto in roanoke va., where they were replacing the original tires with 4 news tires. The car has just over 29,100 miles. Brandon stated that when they attempted to drive the car out of the garage, a warning light appeared stating, "service steering column." The car would shut off, and could not be driving. It was towed by aaa to pinkerton Chevrolet in salem, va. Pinkerton was the GM dealership that in Oct of 2006 corrected the "steering column locking device" under the NHTSA action number: Ea02031and GM recall no. 04006. On June 16th pinkerton diagnosed and replaced the steering column lock, and I was billed $624.80. When I questioned them about the above recall/defect of the steering column lock, the pinkerton service manager stated that the car was no longer under warranty. I picked the car up on the 16th after paying them in full. That same day I called GM's customer service and filed a complaint, #71-839793121. On june18th I was informed by GM customer service that "GM" was not responsible for any additional problems with the steering column recall/defects. When I asked for a supervisor, they put me on "hold" for over 30 minutes and then "hung up" on me. Had I been driving the car when the steering column defect occurred, it could have cause a crash resulting in possible serious injuries and property damage. I would appreciate "NHTSA ODI" investigation of this serious vehicle defect. Also, GM should be responsible: A). for notifying all Corvettes owners of this continuing problem with the steering column lock; B). Recalling all vehicles and effecting corrective repairs at "no cost" to the owners; C). And ensure the Corvette owners that GM's corrective action żis a permanent fix to the problem."

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #2

Apr 072002


  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2002 Corvette. The steering wheel lock does not unlock. There was a recall in 2004 but my car was not repaired. Today it is not covered by that recall and is dangerous to drive.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 222005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 21,910 miles
No problems leading up to the failure, and then while backing car out of garage, steering column locked, removed key, waited 10 seconds as shown on dashboard and the vehicle started. Went for a few feet and the fuel line shut car off. Had to push car into the garage and then had it towed to the dealer the next day. They replaced the locking parts, rack/ sector/ lock bolt that locked the steering column, which had been recalled 04V06000 in 2004. The dealer wanted to charge a deductible because the recall had already been done, but GM authorized the repair with no deductible charged.

- Smithsburg, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?