Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,327 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Oct 152010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 / C6 Corvette, service active handling message displayed, searched internet and found information about wiring connector clip for steer wheel sensor, went to dealer and picked up and installed the comb for the connector and fixed wiring harness so it would not move when steering column was cycled in & out. This didn't fix the problem, when going to work at about 40 mph and turning left a little the left front brake deployed and pulled me in to the left on coming lane. I took the car to a GM dealer the tech read the codes and said it needed a new steering wheel sensor he installed the new sensor and said that should fix it after about one or two days the service active handling message came on again so I started turning off the traction control and active handling, after some time I forgot too turn off A/H a couple of times and found it wasn't flagging active handling message any more then went on a road trip and got into the wake up bumps on the edge of the road this started it to turn on A/H message again, while at my destination and going for breakfast one morning and not turning off the A/H the car did the left front brake thing again and put me in the oncoming lane again. This car is very dangerous. I will take to dealer again. I still have the old steering wheel sensor.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #35

Feb 122010

Corvette

  • 15,000 miles
I just entered the freeway and traffic was slow 40 to 45 mph. I moved from far right to center lane then from center to left lane. When I moved from center to left I was traveling between 45 and 50 mph when the rear of the car began to slide out of control. When I but did not understand why as the roads where dry and clear. As I tried to regain control the car did not respond and continued to slide completely out of control 180 degree and slid sideways into a wall of plowed ice and snow in the left shoulder and flip on its roof. The loss of understanding of how this happened has given me much anguish as I know I had the traction control handling on, until I found out about a recall having to do with the steering and handling a few months later.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #34

Oct 272010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • miles
The product safety recall # N100118 "service active handling system" calls for a clip to be installed to fix the problem. In some cases that does not fix the problem. I had the clip replaced and still continued to have the recall problem. I took the car back in and now I was told by the dealer that my steering wheel position sensor was bad (swps) and that's not covered under the recall and I will have to pay the $385 to have it replaced. To me that is unacceptable! GM needs to stand behind there product because this is a very dangerous situation and the 2cent clip is not the fix all. The recall needs to be modified to include the swap as was noted in the auto trend article when GM said they would perform the repairs "likely involving the swaps or its connector free of charge". I guess its all about the mighty dollar. Way to go GM I guess somebody has to get killed before you will correct your mistake.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #33

Jul 122010

Corvette

  • 60,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down two lane road brake locks jerking me almost into oncoming traffic. Active handling system goes on and off without me depressing button, brakes lock without reason. Brake lights stay on constantly. Saw recall and took to Chevrolet dealership. They said everything was fine. Still does it.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #32

Jun 152010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 49,600 miles
I own a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette that I purchased from a GMC dealership as a certified pre-owned vehicle. The car was purchased on 05/22/2010. Approximately 2 weeks later I saw a warning on the dashboard indicating "service active handling system". I contacted the dealership closest to where I work and made an appointment to bring the vehicle in for a recall that was supposed to address the issue. The work was completed on 06/15/2010. On 07/09/2010, and 07/11/2010, the warning reappeared. I brought the vehicle in for service on 07/12/2010 but the service department was unable to repair it at that time because no "codes" were being found indicating a problem. I understand, through researching the problem on the internet that there is a possibility of brakes locking up due to this problem, and this causes me concern. They are still going to try to rectify the problem and are very cooperative at this time. I believe there is a current investigation under investigation number EA09-002. I also understand that the recall is not correcting the problem, as it did not do so in my car, nor has it been effective in others that I have found through the internet. At this time I have not had an issue with brakes locking, it is only the dashboard warning at this time.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 102010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 37,003 miles
Corvette 2005, C-6 = service active handling system light keeps coming on, no body seems to figure this out why it does it.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #30

Dec 272007

Corvette

  • 12,694 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on the trimble road on ramp in san jose, ca merging onto freeway 101 at approximately 1235 pm pst and 793 feet from the de la cruz/trimble road traffic light. Traffic conditions were light, weather was dry and road conditions were excellent. The on ramp is approximately an 1/4th of a mile long. I pulled into the commuter lane to pass 2 vehicles that were traveling at approximately 40-45 mph. I passed the first vehicle and was about to pass the second when my 2005 Corvette steered to the right causing the right front of my car to impact a 1984 4 door sedan Toyota on the left rear quarter panel/bumper, behind the left rear wheel. The Toyota started to slide right and when the wheels went from asphalt to dirt caused the Toyota to roll over coming to rest on its' wheels in the median on the left side of the on ramp. My car came to rest in the dirt on the right side of the road approximately half way on the on ramp. The driver of the Toyota had a cut on one of her fingers and was extremely emotional. I was not injured. My car is equipped with on-star which did not activate due to the crash. None of the air bags deployed in my car. On October 4th, 2007 I took my car to courtesy Chevrolet in san jose, ca; I told the service rep that I had received 2 notices in the driver information center display to service the "active handling system soon" and that I had impacted a curb. The service rep asked me if the message recurred after turning the car off and back on and I told them no but it did display two different times about a week apart. I was told that turning the car off and back on cleared the error code so there was nothing to worry about. I had the car aligned. I thought the right front a arm broke causing the accident due to hitting the curb in October until I received recall notice 10118. I saved all of the mechanical parts replaced on the right front of my car and still have them. The steering sensor was replaced by the dealer on 1-30-08.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #29

Apr 182010

Corvette

  • 46,600 miles
Over the last year my " service active handling system" light has come on. After a while it goes off. Ten days ago it came on again for a while, then went off. After that I was traveling on an interstate highway with the cruise control on. All of a sudden the car swerved to the right. Light came on saying "disengage cruise control", which I did and gained control of the car. I was in the passing lane and was lucky no one was beside me when it swerved to the right or I would have hit them. I was also lucky it didn't swerve left or I would have hit the guard rail. Took it to my local dealer with the bulletin #06-02-35-002B. They said it was covered under warranty. This needs to be fixed or someone will get killed.

- Denver, PA, USA

problem #28

Apr 142010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 35,624 miles
05 Corvette - service active handling message came on after going over a large bump. It comes on everytime I go over a speed bump or hit a pothole that is big enough to jar the car. I did have the car swerve ever so slightly while I was trying to drive straight.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 262010

Corvette

  • 80,000 miles
When driving approx. 5000rpm active handling will kick on followed by a "service active handling" message. When active handling activates it causes the car to apply brakes and the rear end to swerve. I have had the sensor replace a few times and nothing seems to work.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #26

May 102008

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1 active handling system engaged without cause and redirected direction of vehicle engaged brakes to one side of car- 2.rear end blew out housing lost all oil and gears, prior repair under warranty- 3. transmission repaired by dealer2 times for shifting forks bent, warranty repair then had to replace transmission again after warranty expired at 5K! 4. driveline tunnel brace weld failed causing massive driveline damage to housing and driveshaft replacement.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 292010

Corvette

  • 22,000 miles
My wife was driving our 2005 Corvette on a straight road at about 50 miles per hour when the car suddenly shot off to the left lane towards another vehicle. She lost all control of the vehicle and returned across the two lane road hitting the curb, which was about 6" tall, the car then left the ground and made contact with a guard rail that was two rails high. The impact on the guard rail was at the top about 3' from the ground. Behind the guard rail is a 75' drop to a grocery store parking lot. The car then came back across the road and stopped in the opposite direction traffic. The damage to the vehicle now stands at $20,000. She states that it felt as if the front left tire locked up and has no idea what happened from that point on. She was just holding on for dear life. Both air bags deployed and she has had a sore back since the accident. I now learned of the investigation EA09-002 that has been opened and something needs to done now!!

- Eldersburg, MD, USA

problem #24

Mar 012010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 17,150 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). While making a tight U-turn to the left in my 2005 Corvette the right front brakes locked and would not release. At the same time the "service active handling" message appeared on the dic (driver information center). This caused the vehicle to pull hard and made it very difficult to pull off the road safely. My first thought was that I blew out a tire. Though difficult I was able to get the vehicle off into a parking lot where I turned off the car. I then restarted the vehicle and everything was back to normal. I am very concerned about my safety and the safety of the vehicle if this were to happen when there was oncoming traffic or at higher speeds. There was one time a couple of days prior that the "service active handling" message showed of the dic but no noticeable problems came about. I talked to my local dealer's service department and they said that it could have been something as simple as an error from driving on wet roads since the light didn't appear again after restarting the car. I believed this and returned to driving until yesterday when this happened. Your time and consideration to this matter is greatly appreciated. I'd like to know if GM will issue a proper fix. I have researched online today and have found a tsb about installing a clip in the steering column where the wires plug into the steering sensor but that this may not be the fix for this specific problem. My car has only 17,000 miles on it and has been very well maintained. Please advise if possible. [xxx]

- Seatac, WA, USA

problem #23

Jan 022010

Corvette

  • 31,000 miles
Service active handling light comes on. GM has a tsb on the issue but is not repairing the issue at their expense. It is known that this issue leads to wheels locking up randomly.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 172009

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 28,255 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). I have a 2005 Corvette with the electric telescopic steering column. On several occasions while driving my vette, I have gotten a 'service active handling system' warning in the dic. On some occasions I can simply reset the dic and the message ends. On at least one occasion I had to stop the car, shut down the engine, and restart again to clear the message. I have had at least seven occasions that this has happened. [xxx] the car goes to the dealer in the spring to be worked on. If you desire any further information please feel free to contact me. [xxx]

- Troy, PA, USA

problem #21

Feb 092010

Corvette

  • 76,000 miles
Prior to the incident I experienced the service traction light would come on maybe a handful of times a month. Until the incident I had to actual issues and figured that my exhaust being as loud as it is caused something to set it off. On February 8th the service traction light came on once again however I had to issues that day. It wasn't till the next day that as I was driving normal speeds about 35mph approaching a stop sign before I would enter the feeder road to enter the highway. The road I was on had a very slight curve to the left and the ground was completely dry/ all conditions were normal. Out of no where I felt my vehicle being forced hard to the left as if I was hydroplanning and had lost the ability to control the braking of my car. My vehicle crossed the next lane over and with absolutely no control what so ever I was forced over a curb and into a street sign. No one was injured as it was a minor accident however it came with a price. At this point there is estimated to be $6500 in damages to my vehicle due to this. No work has begun on my vehicle. I have understood that this is a problem being investigated on other Chevrolet Corvette models from 05 and up under investigation number EA09-002. I would like to better understand what has happened and be sure that my vehicle is safe as it was very frightening to have lost control in perfectly good driving conditions. Like I have earlier stated my vehicle has not started the repair process and I will be sure to inform Chevy of my discovery so that this potentially life threatening issue becomes fixed.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 072010

Corvette

  • 40,100 miles
My service active handling had been coming on for a couple weeks and then would go away. About a week ago I was driving at about 35 mph and I slowed down to turn. It was about 10:00 not very many people on the road "thank god". after turning I returned to around 35mph and then my service active handling light came on followed by front driver side locking up. I was in the right lane and ended up almost on the curb on the other side of the left lane. Tw*

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #19

Jan 082010

Corvette

  • 23,060 miles
On 01/07/2010, the service active handling message came on crossing over a railroad track at around five mph. The message stayed on until restarting the car. On 01/08/2010, while slowing the car through 55 mph to exit the highway, the front right brake applied for approximately half of a second pulling me into the right exit lane. "active handling-on" message displayed and stayed on for about 5 seconds. Luckily, no other cars were near and no accident occurred. At the time of the incident I was driving strait. However, I do remember hitting a rough patch of highway right before the brake applied. I had the car serviced at the Chevrolet dealer. The steering wheel position sensor was replaced. The car is a 2005 Corvette with the Z51 package and telescopic steering wheel.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #18

Oct 302009

Corvette

  • miles
(entered by smch from E-mail, trimmed to fit available content length) I purchased my 2005 Corvette new in los angeles five years ago. Have been having the "service active handling" problem now for the last year and a half. At speeds of 30mph or less...thus far ssuddenly brakes and pulls hard to the left while pulsing on and off the brakes. This has been very scary, needless to say, and I have narrowly avoided being forced into oncoming traffic or being rear-ended by the sudden braking. I took my car to a dealership for the fifth time over this concern and have heard the same story.; that there is no code or recall for this problem. (update from E-mail) I have had the repair completed. I was told it was a fault in the steering column (telescoping) and would be fixed with a couple of zip ties, but the process required a lot to be removed and while I did it I should replace the tire sensor as well, as that could be part of the issue. I had the repair done out of fear that if I didn't, it would endanger my family. When the brakes self applied, the steering would pull hard to the left. They would remain that way until I either turned the vehicle off or held down the traction control button for seven seconds which turns off traction control and active handling. If this wasn't done, and any gas was applied, the brakes would lock harder, pulsing off and on intermittently. The pull was drastic enough to have pulled about ten degrees off of center-line, but since it happened at low speeds, it did not cause any accidents. My concern was, the few times it happened while other drivers were following... almost had some rear end collisions. The problem has been fixed for two weeks now, and have had no sign of it repeating. The mechanic at the dealership said he's done three or four of these and he puts in two "zip-ties" to fix the problem as he states the recommended one is not enough.

- Studio City, CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 142007

Corvette

  • 33,000 miles
My service active handling light came on 11/13/09.on 11/14/09 I was traveling across a bridge at 55 miles per hour when my brakes and steering locked up. I had no control of the vehicle. I eventually slid to a stop causing traffic behind me to swerve into the next lane. I could barely get the car off the road because the brakes would not release. This is a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette with 33,000 miles. I took the vehicle to the dealership and was told the steering sensor inside the steering column was bad and needed to be replaced and the wires needed to be checked and re tightened. This could have been more severe or even fatal if not for the time of day and the amount of traffic. I could not believe something so dangerous was not recalled. I am sure others have had this problem and crashed their cars and had no idea what happened, if not for my quick reactions or luck, I might have ran off the bridge and killed myself or injured someone else. That would be the first thing I checked on any 2005 Corvette that had an unexplained crash where the driver simply lost control. I was not accelerating or doing anything out of the ordinary when my incident occurred. The repair cost me $612, costly for what appears to be an engineering flaw. I am not exaggerating when I say he vehicle was completely out of my control! this is a very serious problem that needs to be addressed. I don't believe that Chevrolet or any dealership should profit from this life threatening defect.

- Hermitage, TN, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?