Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,979 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 092013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,497 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the brake pedal became stuck to the floorboard when the pedal was depressed. In addition, smoke emitted from under the hood. The contact inspected the vehicle and found brake fluid on the engine manifold. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who inspected the vehicle and advised that the metal brake lines were rubbing on the exhaust manifold. The rear brake lines and brake clip differential was replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 04V525000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The failure and current mileage was 29, 497. Updated 10/29/13 according to the service invoice, the brake line had a pin hole in it and was leaking brake fluid onto the exhaust manifold. Updated 11/06/13

- Park City , KS, USA

problem #14

Jan 262012


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the rear right brake line rubbed up against the muffler causing a hole and a leak to occur. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who advised him that the brake line needed to be replaced and rerouted away from the muffler. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and advised him that he was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V525000 (service brakes, hydraulic:foundation, hoses, lines/piping, and fittings). The failure and current mileage was approximately 42,000.

- Tuscon, AZ, USA

problem #13

Jul 052011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 11,800 miles
This vehicle (Corvette) was parked, gear in reverse, with the emergency brake fully engaged, vehicle not running.while reaching in to press acess. Button inadvertently pressed the start button which put the car into a strong violent moving reverse action, the Corvette hit my truck which was parked two-three feet behind Corvette and drove my vehicle a good ten feet before the Corvette stalled, the truck was not running, truck was parked in gear with the emergency brake applied --the skid marks from my truck being pushed are still in my driveway and road.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #12

Aug 032011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 53,500 miles


I was driving at approximately 20mph leaving my house when the active handling light came on along with ABS lights. My foot was on the gas and in first gear. Suddenly the breaks apply by themselves causing the car to veer left. At this point I could not control my steering wheel to correct the problem. This happens randomly and I can not duplicate the problem. It is very dangerous. I am worried if this happens at high speeds, a very bad accident can occur. This first occurred on 08/03/11. It happened for about 5 minutes when I left my house. I had to turn off all active handling and traction control for this to stop. I drove fine the rest of the day with it off. It did not happen again for a couple of weeks. Around 08/19/11, it happened again. This time at a best buy parking lot traveling at 10mph. I immediately contacted the maita Chevrolet dealership in elk grove, ca and took the car in the next day. I took the car in and they could not duplicate the problem. They said that there is nothing wrong with the car. I told them that it is not normal to drive the car and suddenly the brakes apply by themselves and veers to the left. They said there is nothing that they can do because they could not replicate the problem. I am worried that if this happens on the freeway while I am driving it can be a very dangerous situation for everyone. I am not sure what I can do but I know it is a safety issue.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 122011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 26,006 miles
Traveling on interstate highway with cruise control on at 68 mph the left front brake locked up causing car to turn left and rear end start to swing around. A moment later brake is released and I regain control of vehicle. Chime and light on dash go on and stated "service active handling". the next day I took vehicle to local dealer they advised I needed a steering wheel position sensor and a yaw sensor for a cost of $1100. My concern is after I replace these sensors what happens the next time they fail and a front brake locks up. Shouldn't this be a fail safe system. When it fails a light should come on to warn me but not try to wreck me. Contacted Chevrolet customer service and they then put me in touch with the local Chevrolet district office. All I got from them was they cut the estimate to $550. They would not address the safety factor of locking one front wheel. There was a recall last year with the same symptoms of one front brake locking. I had the car serviced last year for this. It dealt with wiring in the steering column. They put a clip on it to stop chaffing. Dealer said this is not related to my current problem.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 072010


  • 19,983 miles
The failure of the clutch master cylinder (verified and repaired) after shifting into reverse, caused the car to accelerate rapidly backwards, and initially totally out of control. Collided first with a car behind and to the right, and then hurdled back along a busy small road in a shopping center. I was finally able to stop the car by using one foot on top of the other, pressing as hard as I could on the brake pedal. It was small miracle that I didn't hit anyone, given the time (7:00 pm) the weather (sunny and 70 deg) and the number of people moving about.

- Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #9

Oct 022010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles


Happened twice within 2 days. Traveling at 40 mph. Traffic came to sudden stop. Had 4 car lengths and front car brakes locked and went into skid and had minor accident. Second time two days later. 5 mph. Turning right into a parking lot and front brakes locked again. They would not release. I put car in reverse. It would release, but as soon as I put it in drive it was locking. I managed to park car. Waited about an hour and brakes did not lock. Its been 2 weeks and no problem.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 132007

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
02/13/2007 2005 Corvette car was completely dead. Would not start or lock. Left us stranded after dinner. Car was towed to home that night and towed to dealer on 02/14/07. 02/14/2007 invoice# cvcs117440 #1 customer states vehicle will not start - battery leaking acid, necessary to replace battery, clean acid spill. Clean cables - check alt 145 amp output diodes good the consumer stated she was in an accident as well as her son and on both occasions, when the brakes were applied, it felt as if the brakes locked up. Also. The service active handling system light illuminated. The dealer had to rework the connection to secure and prevent the tilt telescope steering wheel from pulling the vehicle to the right. Updated IVOQ 10/08/10

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 122010


  • 60,200 miles
Driving down two lane road brake locks jerking me almost into oncoming traffic. Active handling system goes on and off without me depressing button, brakes lock without reason. Brake lights stay on constantly. Saw recall and took to Chevrolet dealership. They said everything was fine. Still does it.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #6

Mar 092010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet Corvette has service active handling system on dic multiple times. GM has issued tsb to insert a clip in swps to no avail. This is a steering and ABS related problem and should be investigated. I have heard of instances where wheels can lock at high speed. GM should thoroughly investigate and recall for repair.

- Airmont, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 082010


  • miles


I have had tow incidents where my "service active handling" error has come up. Last week I had my wheels lock up after trying to complete a U turn and had to pull over and restart my car to correct the braking issue as best as I can describe it was corrected. Subsequently the "service active handling" has come on a number of times and clears as the car is restarted. I have taken it in and they are able to correct the problem but have yet to find a solution from it occurring again. I have had to use my extended service contract to cover the expenses both times.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 082010


  • 23,060 miles
On 01/07/2010, the service active handling message came on crossing over a railroad track at around five mph. The message stayed on until restarting the car. On 01/08/2010, while slowing the car through 55 mph to exit the highway, the front right brake applied for approximately half of a second pulling me into the right exit lane. "active handling-on" message displayed and stayed on for about 5 seconds. Luckily, no other cars were near and no accident occurred. At the time of the incident I was driving strait. However, I do remember hitting a rough patch of highway right before the brake applied. I had the car serviced at the Chevrolet dealer. The steering wheel position sensor was replaced. The car is a 2005 Corvette with the Z51 package and telescopic steering wheel.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #3

Dec 222009


  • 58,000 miles
Severe swerve to the left followed by service active handling warning light illuminated. Brakes lock up during swerve. Shutting down active handling does not help as the same error can occur very quickly again. This happens repeatedly, and more so at colder temperatures.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 122009


  • 9,638 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The vehicle has two different traction controls and active handling on the brakes. There was a code that came on for the active handling, which can apply more than one brake system to keep the vehicle in control. While decelerating at 30 mph he felt the active handling controls apply the front brakes, which pulled the vehicle to the right. The vehicle was restarted, and the brakes reset itself. The manufacturer was notified, and he was referred to a dealer. Tsb # 06-02-35-002B references this failure. The failure mileage was 9,638.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #1

Jun 232005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is a warning sound coming from the brakes. Owner is unable to distinguish if the car needs brakes or if this warning sound feature is just failing. Car was taken to dealer and put on diagnostic machine and dealer reported there were no visible problems. Onwer contacted GM service (#13433611303) is the service request #. GM basically states they are aware of the problem, there is no fix.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?