Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,626 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Feb 012011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continued problem with service active handling, service traction control, service, and other system failures due to electrical system. The last time I had this problem, two weeks ago, the following codes were detected. U2100 U2105 U2107 U2108 even after I had the recall repaired, January 20, 2011, I am still having this problem. The recall itself is not fixing the problem, either. My two biggest concerns are: 1st - the safety recall is not fixing the problem and therefore, the safety issue remains. 2nd - fraud that GM is committing through the dealerships. People have taken their vehicle in to their dealerships for this same problem over and over and are being charged a fee to attempt to fix the problem, but the problem is not getting fixed. That is the root problem causing this issue. I am one of the lucky few where my warranty is covering the cost, but it is not right for GM and/or their dealerships to charge customers a fee to repair a problem they, (GM) knows exists. And, the recall is not the fix all as GM wants it to be. If this section is not in your area, please forward this part to whomever or whatever office that can address this issue, fraud. If I had the means to file a class action law suit, I would. Not for compensation, but to force GM to fix an existing problem they know is a real problem. And, stop them from ripping off customer's who bought their product. Updated 02/14/11

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #16

Nov 072010

Corvette

  • miles
Service column lock (scl) code on dic occurs with high frequency on 2005 Chevrolet Corvette MN06 when attempting to crank engine - car will not crank, other electrical components function. Car flatbed-towed on at least 4 occasions. Car was serviced numerous times, by 3 different Chevrolet dealers, for separate scl incidents occurring 2006-2010; most recent scl incidents occurred 6/2010 & 11/2010; car towed to Chevrolet dealer in 6/2010 to a Chevy dealer that claims to be Corvette service center of South. Dealer replaced scl part but only after the car experienced scl failure on their lot when I attempted to take delivery after they certified the car was fine. Car experienced scl on their lot and was pushed into service bay. Scl post-repair failure occurred 11/2010 following dealer's replacement/repair of scl part. Car towed to private auto repair shop where scl post-repair failure was discovered (hint: Tapping the column released the scl): BCM also required replacement - car would not communicate with bi-directional tool. Scl issue exists with many 2005 Corvettes (refer to Corvette forums); scl was a notorious problem for C5 production years -refer to NHTSA recall campaign number : 04V060000. GM issued scl recall for C5, but not yet for C6. Multiple C6 owners report experiencing scl failure & post-repair failure -- GM refuses to acknowledge this is a GM problem - owners are paying for the repairs and there is no guarantee that the new scl part will function and no guarantee that the steering column will not lock during operation. GM refuses to recognize that they have a serious safety and defective engineering issue with the 2005 C6 production model.

- Hahnville, LA, USA

problem #15

Oct 282010

Corvette

  • miles
2005 Corvette. Battery goes dead even when following proper procedures after sitting 4 - 5 days. GM has no recall. After reviewing posts from other 2005 Corvette owners it appears to be a problem with the majority of the 6 speed vehicle owners. I paid way too much for the car to be experiencing electrical issues as such. I wish GM would get off their [xxx] and do something about it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Green, OH, USA

problem #14

Feb 132007

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

02/13/2007 2005 Corvette car was completely dead. Would not start or lock. Left us stranded after dinner. Car was towed to home that night and towed to dealer on 02/14/07. 02/14/2007 invoice# cvcs117440 #1 customer states vehicle will not start - battery leaking acid, necessary to replace battery, clean acid spill. Clean cables - check alt 145 amp output diodes good the consumer stated she was in an accident as well as her son and on both occasions, when the brakes were applied, it felt as if the brakes locked up. Also. The service active handling system light illuminated. The dealer had to rework the connection to secure and prevent the tilt telescope steering wheel from pulling the vehicle to the right. Updated IVOQ 10/08/10

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 102010

Corvette

  • 5,500 miles
2005 Chevrolet Corvette base. Driving on a highway rt. 9 in Connecticut. Car had roughly 5000 miles on it. Date around September 10. Pressed finger on power telescope steering wheel switch to move wheel closer to me. The switch felt hot suddenly and smoke with a strong burning odor starting to fill the cabin. I could not see and pulled over. The steering column stopped smoking after about 3 minutes. Took car to dealer. Waited a week for new switch to be put in. Dealer said switch was faulty and shorted out. Car was supposedly fixed and I picked up car a week later. Approximately $250. I started driving home from dealer with new switch and decided to try new switch. In bumper to bumper traffic on highway I-84 pulled switch and once again, hot smoke burning filled the cabin. Pulled over waited for "fire" to subside and then brought back car to dealer. Dealer said switch is now on backorder as well as some module that also needed replacement related to it and I have car but have to wait for switch to be made before I can bring car back for repair.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #12

Aug 202010

Corvette

  • 4,900 miles
2005 Corvette push button start intermittently works. Pass key that allows you to walk up on the car and the doors automatically unlock doesn't work either. No over ride to the system to get the car to start. Had to have the vehicle towed from an airport area to 5 miles away and the vehicle started right up. This is not safe because I am afraid to take the car somewhere and have it not start. My 80K BMW has a pushbutton start and smart key and it doesn't have these issues. As a side note, when the tow truck driver picked up my car to tow it, he asked if it was a GM vehicle with a push button start and I said yes it is. He said he knew it, because of the area and he tows about 20 - 30 cars a week from the same area all GM vehicles.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #11

Jul 122010

Corvette

  • 60,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down two lane road brake locks jerking me almost into oncoming traffic. Active handling system goes on and off without me depressing button, brakes lock without reason. Brake lights stay on constantly. Saw recall and took to Chevrolet dealership. They said everything was fine. Still does it.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #10

Mar 012010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 17,150 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). While making a tight U-turn to the left in my 2005 Corvette the right front brakes locked and would not release. At the same time the "service active handling" message appeared on the dic (driver information center). This caused the vehicle to pull hard and made it very difficult to pull off the road safely. My first thought was that I blew out a tire. Though difficult I was able to get the vehicle off into a parking lot where I turned off the car. I then restarted the vehicle and everything was back to normal. I am very concerned about my safety and the safety of the vehicle if this were to happen when there was oncoming traffic or at higher speeds. There was one time a couple of days prior that the "service active handling" message showed of the dic but no noticeable problems came about. I talked to my local dealer's service department and they said that it could have been something as simple as an error from driving on wet roads since the light didn't appear again after restarting the car. I believed this and returned to driving until yesterday when this happened. Your time and consideration to this matter is greatly appreciated. I'd like to know if GM will issue a proper fix. I have researched online today and have found a tsb about installing a clip in the steering column where the wires plug into the steering sensor but that this may not be the fix for this specific problem. My car has only 17,000 miles on it and has been very well maintained. Please advise if possible. [xxx]

- Seatac, WA, USA

problem #9

Jan 022010

Corvette

  • 31,000 miles
Service active handling light comes on. GM has a tsb on the issue but is not repairing the issue at their expense. It is known that this issue leads to wheels locking up randomly.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 232010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 46,650 miles
On Tuesday, February 23, 2010 I was driving under normal conditions and the electrical system on my 2005 Corvette shut down. Power to the car was cut off leaving me with no control over the vehicle. I could not steer, brake or even exit the car as everything is electrically controlled. In order to avoid an accident the only way I had of stopping the car was to throw it into park at about 35 mph. Luckily I was able to stop the car, however, this presents a large safety concern. Had I been traveling faster or had been on the freeway the results could have been very different. The dealership told me it had to do with the electrical system, however, they don't know exactly what's wrong and don't know how to fix it. They basically are suggesting I drive it away. I told them if it happens again it could kill me and their response was, "yeah, sometimes that happens". Chevy is not offering to fix the problem for me and I refuse to drive the vehicle since it would be unsafe to do so.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 162008

Corvette

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Constant electrical failures and problems with electronic stability control (traction control / active handling). Computer systems replaced, same failures return. Mirrors move by themselves, car wont start, traction control failure,

- West Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 012009

Corvette

  • miles
Car drains battery with no explanation. Dealer can not diagnose. You can not even take this car out if you are going to be gone longer than an hour for fear it will be dead when you try to restart it. Vehicle is on its 3rd battery. Last time it sat for a week it was so dead it had to be towed to the dealer and jump started from underneath the car while it was on a lift. GM covered all costs even though the car is not in warranty? something is going on and there needs to be a recall. I see this complaint over and over from 05 owners. My vehicle only has 10K miles on it because my wife and I are concerned we will be stranded if we take it anywhere.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #5

Sep 102008

Corvette

  • 60,300 miles
There is a dangerous problem with my Corvette that I believe is tied to faults in the tire pressure monitoring system. I was driving on a freeway following a left curve when I felt the brakes grab. I saw "active handling" displayed; however, there was no reason for active handling to occur (roadway was dry, was driving at posted speed limit, was not making a sudden turning maneuver). Later I saw that the car was displaying a front right tire pressure of 0 psi, but no other warnings occurred (typically, a yellow warning light goes on an car displays a low tire pressure or right front tire flat warning when this occurs). I've had ongoing problems with the tire pressure monitoring system and Chevy has attempted repair once. Usually one of the front tires will read zero psi and the aforementioned warnings will appear, and the car's active handling system will engage more easily, then a few minutes later, the car will display normal tire pressures again. In the incident I'm describing here, there was no warning that the tire pressure was being read at zero, and no indication that active handling would engage so easily. This is a definite safety hazard that could result in loss of control or a crash. I have an appointment to get the car serviced in two days.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 182008

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,800 miles
I pulled out of a parking lot. I was going 20mph when the active handling message came on on the dash. When the system became activate, the system decided to pull the car hard to the right and stopped the car completely. There was nothing I can do other than yanking the wheel to the left to keep myself away from the curb. I was lucky I didn't get rear ended and kept away from the curb. I had to restart the computer to reset the system. The active handling system has had intermittent problem with many Corvette owners, please research.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #3

Oct 212005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,200 miles
I presently own a 2005 C6 Corvette. My concern is not one of a safety issue but one of a problem that continues to exist with the car despite numerous tows (6 - 7) to the dealership. The response is there is no problem. My car consistently "dies" or will not crank after sitting for 5 -12 days. There appears to be a blind eye to this problem that should be addressed as I have observed on numerous forums.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #2

Jun 122005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer owns a 2005 Corvette C6. The consumer stated that there was an onboard computer that would apply the brakes to any of the four wheels if the car begins to spin. The onboard computer activated the right passenger wheel and made the wheel lock up. The dic on the dash read service active handling system. The dealership looked at it for a half a day and hooked the computer onto the car and know error message displayed. They test drove the car and stated there was no problem and told him to come and pick up the car. That afternoon of the incident he took the vehicle to the dealer where he purchased the car and they had it for 13 days and they tried to determine the problem they changed the sensor in the steering column that was tied to active the braking system but they could not assure him that the problem would not reoccur with a hundred percent certainty or even with a high percent certainty. Since they replaced the sensor this has not occurred but he also manually shut the system down. When the consumer first started the car the system was in the on position and he deactivated it manually every time he starts the engine.

- Wellesley, MA, USA

problem #1

Nov 272004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevy Corvette. On November 27 2004 the vehicle would not let them get into the car and the alarm would not go off. Also, the computer in the car would tell them that there was no tire pressure and the tires were on the vehicle and the computer stated there was no psi. They had to climb into the hatch to open the door because the door would not open with the key. On April 5, 2005 the dealership replaced the battery and it did correct the problem until April 12,2005 at that time the vehicle was towed back to the dealership and they stated basically it was the battery and the electrical system same type of problem again this time. April 16, 2005 the vehicle had to be jumped started. On April 20, 2005 the vehicle was towed to the dealership because they could not get into the vehicle, the battery voltage was showing zero, and the psi on three tires were showing that they did not have tires on the vehicle. On May 23, 2005 with only 2700 miles on the vehicle while driving down the highway the serpentine belt broke, it over heated, the engine had blew and the vehicle had to be towed. Around July 3rd or 4th with less than 3000 miles, the vehicle would not shift correctly and it would automatically stop because it would come out of cruise control, the computer would give them strange error messages. When they arrived to the dealership that is when the hatch on the back had came open by it self and it had happened twice before this but they thought they had maybe accidentally opened it. On July 12, 2005 the vehicle was picked up from the dealership the passenger driver side window molding was messed up. The contact told them to keep the vehicle until it was fixed. They have noticed numerous complaints on the NHTSA website with the same type of problems. Also, on the vehicle they have been unable to put a full fuel tank of gasoline in the vehicle since date of purchase. Service invoices are available if needed.

- Odenton, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?