Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

8.8

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,634 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments

problem #6

Jul 262006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My brother suggested I report that the engine in my car's front pulley comes loose and falls off causing loss of electrical production, A/C, and worst of all power steering--its a Corvette-dont know if it happens a lot to others also but maybe you want to look into it-seems to be a dangerous situation.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #5

Nov 272004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevy Corvette. On November 27 2004 the vehicle would not let them get into the car and the alarm would not go off. Also, the computer in the car would tell them that there was no tire pressure and the tires were on the vehicle and the computer stated there was no psi. They had to climb into the hatch to open the door because the door would not open with the key. On April 5, 2005 the dealership replaced the battery and it did correct the problem until April 12,2005 at that time the vehicle was towed back to the dealership and they stated basically it was the battery and the electrical system same type of problem again this time. April 16, 2005 the vehicle had to be jumped started. On April 20, 2005 the vehicle was towed to the dealership because they could not get into the vehicle, the battery voltage was showing zero, and the psi on three tires were showing that they did not have tires on the vehicle. On May 23, 2005 with only 2700 miles on the vehicle while driving down the highway the serpentine belt broke, it over heated, the engine had blew and the vehicle had to be towed. Around July 3rd or 4th with less than 3000 miles, the vehicle would not shift correctly and it would automatically stop because it would come out of cruise control, the computer would give them strange error messages. When they arrived to the dealership that is when the hatch on the back had came open by it self and it had happened twice before this but they thought they had maybe accidentally opened it. On July 12, 2005 the vehicle was picked up from the dealership the passenger driver side window molding was messed up. The contact told them to keep the vehicle until it was fixed. They have noticed numerous complaints on the NHTSA website with the same type of problems. Also, on the vehicle they have been unable to put a full fuel tank of gasoline in the vehicle since date of purchase. Service invoices are available if needed.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #4

Mar 232005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,486 miles
Driving new 2005 Corvette (1486 total miles on car) in shopping district at 35mph. Heard "slapping" sound from under the hood. Pulled over and found that one of the underhood engine belts was shredding. Was aware of a manufacturers technical service bulletin (05-06-01-001A - Feb 8, 2005), therefore thought immediately that the problem this tsb addresses was the problem. The occurrance was uneventfull, as I was driving very slowly, however if it had been at highway speeds this could have resulted in loss of control and broken fluid lines under the hood. Engine was disabled. Car was flat-bedded to local Chevrolet dealer where it will be repaired.

- Topsham, ME, USA

problem #3

Nov 152004

Corvette

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Seven to eight thousand Chevrolet Corvettes built in late 2004 are in a batch being watched by GM because there have been dozens of instances of the crank shaft pulley belt backing out and allowing the pulley to loosen or fall off. When that happens the car looses power steering and the rest of the functions run off the belts. The belt and pulley can also cause other damage under the hood. Production nuber Corvettes from over three thousand to over eleven thousand are in the group identified as problematic. Chevrolet has realease a technical service bulletin, tsb number (05-06-01-001A), but says it can not help buyers until after a failure. I own a Corvette in that group, and I fear that I can't trust the car to perform safely. I belong to several Corvette related internet forums, and I get reports of new failures every day. There are dozens of failures reported by members of just one forum. The failures have been occurring since November, 2004. GM is obviously not going to fix this safety problem without NHTSA inquiry, and I'd like NHTSA to ask GM to get serious about protecting the lives of their purchasers. Spontaneous loss of steer assist and fluid loss is a safety issue - in my opinion. Will NHTSA look into this situation before someone dies, please?

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #2

Nov 302004

Corvette

  • 300 miles
Complaint received via E-mail. My 3 day old Corvette shredded its serpentine belt, overheated, and lost its steering. Car had 300 miles on it. From what I have been reading on 'Corvette forum this was not an isolated incident but has been occurring in too many new Corvettes. This problem could affect the operation of the vehicle as it not only affected the cooling system but more importantly the steering and braking. To make matters worse the repair of this problem was failing on many cars, and they were experiencing it for the second and third time..

- Orwigsburg, PA, USA

problem #1

Oct 242004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120 miles
(1) purchased car 10/23/2004. (2) on 10/24/2004, less than 24 hours after purchasing the car, the crank pulley "came loose" and the car threw its serpentine belt (learned after the incident) while driving on a crowded interstate. The first indication of a problem was when the driver information console (dic) displayed a malfunction with the vehicles charging system that needed service. Voltage displayed on dic dropped quickly in.1 volt increments until roughly 11 volts were displayed. Then, the car became increasingly unresponsive to driver input for steering and throttle. Brakes felt "mushy" but continued to respond to driver input. Although the dash displayed a frightening number of error messages and alarms, the occupants had no idea what was the matter with the vehicle. Trying to cross 5 lanes of packed freeway traffic to get to a safe break down area, in a car that appears to have lost its mind and is spraying antifreeze all over the highway, could have easily resulted in injury or death. We were very fortunate that we did not cause an accident. 3) vehicle was "repaired" at ourisman Chevrolet in marlow heights, md. Crank pulley, bolt(s), serpentine belt, and underhood insulation (damaged by flying belt) were replaced. A friction washer was added behind the crank pulley on the advice of GM tech support. Broke down again with the same problem on 13 November. Car is now at radley Chevrolet in fredericksburg, va. GM has ordered the motor replaced and the dealer is awaiting parts. This is not an isolated failure, there are other LS2 engines breaking down because of this crank pulley problem.

- Stafford, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?