Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,754 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Mar 202014

Corvette

  • 39,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the service active handling system warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 10V172000 (steering). The failure mileage was 39,500.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #29

Oct 282013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the wheels seized intermittently. The active handling warning light was also illuminated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired as the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 6/17/14

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #28

May 152013

Corvette

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the active service light illuminated. The contact stated the dealer informed him of recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 10V172000 (steering) but stated his VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Palmer, MA, USA

problem #27

Jan 032013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 75,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the active handling system warning light illuminated. The contact performed online research and discovered NHTSA campaign number: 10V172000 (steering). The manufacturer was contacted and informed him that his VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 75,700. Updated 6/14/13 updated 07/11/2013

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #26

May 012010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • miles
On May 2010 I received a safety recall notice #10118 for my 2005 Chevy Corvette, that there was a problem with the active handling system. I brought it to the Chevy dealer and they put a plastic clip on a wire connection. Recently the service active in may ohandling system light will appear and the brakes will apply by themselves and the car does a involuntary nose dive. I shut the car off and it might not happen again for 2 more weeks or so. I contacted Chevy with my problem and spoke to [xxx] @ 866-790-5600 [xxx] he told me they needed to take the car to ed morse Chevrolet and have it checked out at my expense. They were only responsible to fix this problem one time! I told [xxx] that it was not fixed properly the first time and brought to Chevy ed morse sawgrass (954-514-3440) as the dealer requested. When I got there as per the appointment all they did was trying to sell me a new Corvette! please help...I don't feel safe to drive my car like this, and at this point I don't really know what to do anymore... [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #25

Nov 082010

Corvette

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet corevtte. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated. The contact also stated that the failure was experienced while making a left or right turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a clip on the wires in the steering column was repaired because the technician stated that it was being pinched. After the repair, the service active handling system light illuminated and the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 33,000. The VIN was not available.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #24

Dec 132012

Corvette

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the service active handling system warning light illuminated as the vehicle jerked to the left. The contact called the dealer regarding the service active handling light. The dealer suggested he bring the vehicle in for a diagnostic test. Prior to the diagnostic test, the contact referenced NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 10V172000 (steering:column). The dealer advised him that the recall repair had already been performed on the vehicle. The contact did not have a diagnostic test or repairs performed to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Eagle River, AK, USA

problem #23

Aug 242009

Corvette

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that when the keyless ignition was turned off, the steering wheel would lock with the illumination of the steering warning indicator and would not permit the engine to be restarted. The failure was consistent. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer numerous times for the malfunction. The battery was replaced and the problem recurred. There was a recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). The recall pertained to 1997-2004 model year vehicles. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- West Plains, MO, USA

problem #22

Apr 012010

Corvette

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the steering wheel would seize sporadically and without warning. In addition, the service active handling system warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V172000 (steering:column), but the failure recurred. The dealer was contacted, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Sanger, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 172010

Corvette

  • miles
Steering wheel position sensor circuit wire connectors failed and shorted causing plastic housing on steering column to ignite and destroyed car and my home.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 032011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 53,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at approximately 20mph leaving my house when the active handling light came on along with ABS lights. My foot was on the gas and in first gear. Suddenly the breaks apply by themselves causing the car to veer left. At this point I could not control my steering wheel to correct the problem. This happens randomly and I can not duplicate the problem. It is very dangerous. I am worried if this happens at high speeds, a very bad accident can occur. This first occurred on 08/03/11. It happened for about 5 minutes when I left my house. I had to turn off all active handling and traction control for this to stop. I drove fine the rest of the day with it off. It did not happen again for a couple of weeks. Around 08/19/11, it happened again. This time at a best buy parking lot traveling at 10mph. I immediately contacted the maita Chevrolet dealership in elk grove, ca and took the car in the next day. I took the car in and they could not duplicate the problem. They said that there is nothing wrong with the car. I told them that it is not normal to drive the car and suddenly the brakes apply by themselves and veers to the left. They said there is nothing that they can do because they could not replicate the problem. I am worried that if this happens on the freeway while I am driving it can be a very dangerous situation for everyone. I am not sure what I can do but I know it is a safety issue.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 102007

Corvette

  • 20,000 miles
I was driving my 2005 Corvette in traffic and realized I need to be in the next line to make the next turn. I was stopped at a red light and there was no traffic in the lane next to me, so I turned the wheel sharply to the right and gave it a liitle gas. As I was straightening out the car shook violenlty, it felt like all four brakes where locking up and releasing randomly. I was able to pull over and come to a complete stop, but the car was still shaking. The active handling active was on the info center. I shut the car off and restarted it and everything was fine again. I took the car to the Chevy dealership and they did something with steering wheel position sensor.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 012011

Corvette

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the service active handling system warning light was illuminated in the vehicle. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V172000 (steering:column) and was awaiting a service appointment. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle exhibited an abnormal pop from the roof. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V491000 (structure:body:roof and pillars) and was advised by both the dealer and manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 47,000 and the failure mileage was 46,000.

- Angels Camp, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012010

Corvette

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the active handling system light illuminated. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V172000 (steering:column) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. The dealer made seven attempts to duplicate the failure but to no avail and the active handling system light continued to illuminate. The brake light was also inoperable. The contact was concerned that the failure could potentially cause a crash because other drivers would be unable to determine when he was braking. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure. The current mileage was 47,000 and the failure mileage was 37,000.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #16

Jan 032011

Corvette

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs for recall 10V172000 (steering: Column) in January 2011. The repair did not correct the failure. The vehicle continued to pull to the right. The failure mileage was 34,000 and the current mileage was 34,009.

- Surprise , AZ, USA

problem #15

Aug 022008

Corvette

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact was parked when the service active handling and the stability control warning lights were illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer five times for the failure. The technician replaced both rear wheel sensors and the steering column sensor twice. The contact stated the front wheel sensor was also replaced but he was unaware if it was the passenger side, drivers side or both. After the repairs, the failure persisted. The contact stated that the vehicle then began to abnormally jerk sideward. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Parksley, VA, USA

problem #14

Mar 112011

Corvette

  • 28,500 miles
Initially car was intermittently not starting. Dic indicator stated steering wheel was "locked". on March 11, 2011, I was driving through a parking lot the steering wheel locked up while I was driving the vehicle. Upon my research 1997-2004 models were recalled for this issue. Models 2006-2010 the feature - "steering column lock" was not installed on the cars. My concern is 2005 models have not been recalled and could cause possible deaths of owners and or other members of the public.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #13

Feb 122010

Corvette

  • 15,000 miles
I just entered the freeway and traffic was slow 40 to 45 mph. I moved from far right to center lane then from center to left lane. When I moved from center to left I was traveling between 45 and 50 mph when the rear of the car began to slide out of control. When I but did not understand why as the roads where dry and clear. As I tried to regain control the car did not respond and continued to slide completely out of control 180 degree and slid sideways into a wall of plowed ice and snow in the left shoulder and flip on its roof. The loss of understanding of how this happened has given me much anguish as I know I had the traction control handling on, until I found out about a recall having to do with the steering and handling a few months later.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 072010

Corvette

  • miles
Service column lock (scl) code on dic occurs with high frequency on 2005 Chevrolet Corvette MN06 when attempting to crank engine - car will not crank, other electrical components function. Car flatbed-towed on at least 4 occasions. Car was serviced numerous times, by 3 different Chevrolet dealers, for separate scl incidents occurring 2006-2010; most recent scl incidents occurred 6/2010 & 11/2010; car towed to Chevrolet dealer in 6/2010 to a Chevy dealer that claims to be Corvette service center of South. Dealer replaced scl part but only after the car experienced scl failure on their lot when I attempted to take delivery after they certified the car was fine. Car experienced scl on their lot and was pushed into service bay. Scl post-repair failure occurred 11/2010 following dealer's replacement/repair of scl part. Car towed to private auto repair shop where scl post-repair failure was discovered (hint: Tapping the column released the scl): BCM also required replacement - car would not communicate with bi-directional tool. Scl issue exists with many 2005 Corvettes (refer to Corvette forums); scl was a notorious problem for C5 production years -refer to NHTSA recall campaign number : 04V060000. GM issued scl recall for C5, but not yet for C6. Multiple C6 owners report experiencing scl failure & post-repair failure -- GM refuses to acknowledge this is a GM problem - owners are paying for the repairs and there is no guarantee that the new scl part will function and no guarantee that the steering column will not lock during operation. GM refuses to recognize that they have a serious safety and defective engineering issue with the 2005 C6 production model.

- Hahnville, LA, USA

problem #11

Feb 012010

Corvette

  • 65,000 miles
Service column lock error. Car will leave me stranded when parked. Issue has existed with multiple 05 MN6 Corvettes and previous years. Multiple people have reported this issue. GM refuses to recognize an issue with this.

- Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?