Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,754 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Jul 032010

Corvette

  • 34,829 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Corvette steering column lock would not allow engine to start but would allow steering wheel to move. Dealer replaced column lock system, worked ok for 10 days. Car would not start again, column lock would not release steering wheel. I understand earlier model vettes recalled to fix this with a bypass. Later model vettes do not have this locking system. Part is obviously defective for 2005. I am concerned that column lock will engage while I am driving. Have there been any crashes resulting from this? I am afraid to drive this car.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #9

May 312010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 0 miles
Received a safety recall notice from Chevy for my 2005 Corvette. Safety recall 10118. General Motors has decided that a defect, which relates to motor vehicle safety, exists in certain 2005 Chevrolet Corvettes equipped with a tilt and telescoping steering column. As a result GM is conducting a safety recall. In rare cases, repeated movement of the steering column may cause a signal interruption within the column. If this occurs, the message, "service active handling system" will appear, and one or more of the brakes may apply, possibly causing the vehicle to pull to the right or left. If the driver does not respond to the change in vehicle movement, a crash could occur. Chevrolet will inspect the wire connection in the steering column, and if necessary, install an additional clip.

- Woodridge, IL, USA

problem #8

Dec 272007

Corvette

  • 12,694 miles
I was on the trimble road on ramp in san jose, ca merging onto freeway 101 at approximately 1235 pm pst and 793 feet from the de la cruz/trimble road traffic light. Traffic conditions were light, weather was dry and road conditions were excellent. The on ramp is approximately an 1/4th of a mile long. I pulled into the commuter lane to pass 2 vehicles that were traveling at approximately 40-45 mph. I passed the first vehicle and was about to pass the second when my 2005 Corvette steered to the right causing the right front of my car to impact a 1984 4 door sedan Toyota on the left rear quarter panel/bumper, behind the left rear wheel. The Toyota started to slide right and when the wheels went from asphalt to dirt caused the Toyota to roll over coming to rest on its' wheels in the median on the left side of the on ramp. My car came to rest in the dirt on the right side of the road approximately half way on the on ramp. The driver of the Toyota had a cut on one of her fingers and was extremely emotional. I was not injured. My car is equipped with on-star which did not activate due to the crash. None of the air bags deployed in my car. On October 4th, 2007 I took my car to courtesy Chevrolet in san jose, ca; I told the service rep that I had received 2 notices in the driver information center display to service the "active handling system soon" and that I had impacted a curb. The service rep asked me if the message recurred after turning the car off and back on and I told them no but it did display two different times about a week apart. I was told that turning the car off and back on cleared the error code so there was nothing to worry about. I had the car aligned. I thought the right front a arm broke causing the accident due to hitting the curb in October until I received recall notice 10118. I saved all of the mechanical parts replaced on the right front of my car and still have them. The steering sensor was replaced by the dealer on 1-30-08.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 092010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevrolet Corvette has service active handling system on dic multiple times. GM has issued tsb 06.02.35.002B to insert a clip in swps to no avail. This is a steering and ABS related problem and should be investigated. I have heard of instances where wheels can lock at high speed. GM should thoroughly investigate and recall for repair.

- Airmont, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 152010

Corvette

  • 46,000 miles
Movement of steering column causes failure of wire connector harness for the steering wheel position sensor. This failure causes incorrect position readings in the active handling system.

- Poinciana, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 092010

Corvette

  • 76,000 miles
Prior to the incident I experienced the service traction light would come on maybe a handful of times a month. Until the incident I had to actual issues and figured that my exhaust being as loud as it is caused something to set it off. On February 8th the service traction light came on once again however I had to issues that day. It wasn't till the next day that as I was driving normal speeds about 35mph approaching a stop sign before I would enter the feeder road to enter the highway. The road I was on had a very slight curve to the left and the ground was completely dry/ all conditions were normal. Out of no where I felt my vehicle being forced hard to the left as if I was hydroplanning and had lost the ability to control the braking of my car. My vehicle crossed the next lane over and with absolutely no control what so ever I was forced over a curb and into a street sign. No one was injured as it was a minor accident however it came with a price. At this point there is estimated to be $6500 in damages to my vehicle due to this. No work has begun on my vehicle. I have understood that this is a problem being investigated on other Chevrolet Corvette models from 05 and up under investigation number EA09-002. I would like to better understand what has happened and be sure that my vehicle is safe as it was very frightening to have lost control in perfectly good driving conditions. Like I have earlier stated my vehicle has not started the repair process and I will be sure to inform Chevy of my discovery so that this potentially life threatening issue becomes fixed.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #4

Nov 142007

Corvette

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My service active handling light came on 11/13/09.on 11/14/09 I was traveling across a bridge at 55 miles per hour when my brakes and steering locked up. I had no control of the vehicle. I eventually slid to a stop causing traffic behind me to swerve into the next lane. I could barely get the car off the road because the brakes would not release. This is a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette with 33,000 miles. I took the vehicle to the dealership and was told the steering sensor inside the steering column was bad and needed to be replaced and the wires needed to be checked and re tightened. This could have been more severe or even fatal if not for the time of day and the amount of traffic. I could not believe something so dangerous was not recalled. I am sure others have had this problem and crashed their cars and had no idea what happened, if not for my quick reactions or luck, I might have ran off the bridge and killed myself or injured someone else. That would be the first thing I checked on any 2005 Corvette that had an unexplained crash where the driver simply lost control. I was not accelerating or doing anything out of the ordinary when my incident occurred. The repair cost me $612, costly for what appears to be an engineering flaw. I am not exaggerating when I say he vehicle was completely out of my control! this is a very serious problem that needs to be addressed. I don't believe that Chevrolet or any dealership should profit from this life threatening defect.

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #3

Sep 122006

Corvette

  • 21,000 miles
When turning left or right in bad road surface, the steering wheel loses control, the active handling lights comes on, and the ABS do not work till the car is on smooth road condition. The car have been service for the above conditions in Chevrolet dealer but the problem remains.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 222005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Loud grinding noise and severe vibration when turning steering wheel either at stop or slow speed with or without brakes applied. A few instances of momentary steering loss on turns (bends in road) at speeds approximately 30 mph. Problem started at purchase in July 2005 and has increased in severity over the past 8 months. There is also a "snapping noise" under the center console when the brakes are applied that started 3/16/06. The car has been to the dealership on 6 occasions and I have filed a complaint with General Motors customer assistance. Service ticket dated 2/9/06 states "normal characteristic of this vehicle, no repairs to be attempted". service ticket dated 3/10/06 states "no parts available till 6/06, no work done at this time". the dealership told me this would not be normal in any car but they have been instructed by GM not to make any repairs. I researched the problem on the internet and came across the recall 05V455000 and contacted GM. GM stated that because my VIN number is not within a certain range that my car in not included, however I feel my car regardless of the VIN number displays the same characteristics of the power steering hose issue.

- White Hall, MD, USA

problem #1

Jun 222005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,495 miles
On June 22, 2005 while driving at highway speed my '05 covette lost its serpentine belt causing the car to lose pwer steering, engine oil and coolent. With the loss or steering the car became hard to steer and manuver. This problem has been know by Chevrolet that a specific bolt was not placed correctly during manufacturing and causes the loss of the serpentine belt. This was a scary event to lose steering at 60mph with a passenger during the ending of rush hour traffic on hwy114 at 6pm. The repair is taking place now involving a new diamond washer and proper torquing of the bolt. Possible engine damage may have occured and the reliability of the vehicle is now in question. In some occurances the problem has happened again. I don't want it to be me and have an accident.

- Trophy Club, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?