Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,367 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Corvette electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Sep 012011


  • 8,000 miles


Transmission sometimes sticks in park & will not come out. The solenoide sticks & will not release.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #22

Feb 012016


  • 60,000 miles
My 2007 Corvette 2D convertible locks you in the car. You could get stuck in the car and suffocate to death. The windows and doors will not open, car is not recognizing the fob, you are totally stuck. Resort to emergency release on floor beside the seat. Lots of people don't know it's there! like a passenger sitting in the car while you go to do an errand. They could "burn up" overheated and stuck! GM knows that they have a problem as they sent me a letter advising me about the emergency release! but they refuse to fix it claiming they don't have a problem!....updated 02/23/16

- Gardner, MA, USA

problem #21

Jul 152015


  • 52,000 miles
After starting vehicle, it will not shift out of park. It is locked into park. Vehicle could leave you stranded and in danger due to this failure.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #20

Sep 042015


  • 0 miles


Rear parking lights

- Ponchatoula, LA, USA

problem #19

Jul 202015


  • 37,821 miles
While driving the Corvette, the engine shut down with no notice. The dash indicated the vehicle had entered accessory mode. Power steering, power brakes and engine power were completely gone. Within a few seconds, the dic went from 'accessory mode' to 'shift into park'. in order to do so, I had to coast to a safe place. Once I got to a spot where I could move off the road, I shifted to park and restarted the car. It then drove on as usual, but there was no check engine light or other indicator. This happened only once this day, however occurred three additional times within 10 miles on the 23rd of July. I contacted a GM service technician who works at a Chevrolet dealership and he checked for any service bulletins or recalls. There were none for the Corvette. I searched the internet, and Corvette forum (I am a 10 year forum member). I found numerous instances of the ignition switch in 2005-2007 Corvettes failing in this manner. I located an ignition switch and replaced it. This fixed the problem in 15 minutes and for less than $50 at dealer retail. I know from other nhstc recalls on vehicles that ignition switch failures are considered a critical and dangerous failure. The failures in the Corvettes should be included in these recalls. If such a failure occurred during crossing traffic or while driving in close proximity interstate traffic, the results could easily be (and may already have been) deadly. Please consider initiating a recall, or including the affected years of Corvette in an existing recall. My car is now fixed due to my ability to search forums and other web based information, however most Corvette owners are not as involved or as web savvy and could be involved in a long drawn out problem/diagnosis process which would put their lives at risk. Thank you.

- Lavonia, GA, USA

problem #18

Aug 012011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • miles
Made online concern and issue with low beam lights going off in 2011. Recall notice from GM; January 2015, states it will install "jumper" wire. I already had this completed on 10/13/2011 which resulted as a short term fix. Still ended up having problems and eventually (hoping for the recall to transpire sooner) have it set up now where I need to pop the hood and install a 20 amp fuse in order for lights to go on. "jumper" format is not adequate just be aware. The design of the ubec unit should be overhauled to accomplish two key issues; heat and less sharp bends of the internal copper wiring to prevent stress and breaking. Currently only fog lights function without having to plug in the 20 amp fuse. Even my bright lights need the fused plug in under the hood.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #17

May 012014

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 34,000 miles


I have a 2007 Corvette and the "service active handling system" light comes on. I went to the Chevrolet dealer and he was of little help. The current investigation number is EA09-002. Is there now or will there be in the future a recall notice on this problem since it is a common problem and even a service bulletin on the matter.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #16

Aug 042014

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 165,500 miles
My low beam headlights (left/right) have intermittent outages after the car warms up. The low beams fail without warning leaving it difficult to see the vehicle and operate the vehicle during evening, dusk and night driving.

- Columbia , MD, USA

problem #15

Apr 182014

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Transmission would not shift to reverse or park when I want to park the car. Chevy dealer did temp. Fix in April 2014 (out of town and extended period to get part). Problem happened again July 2014. I can drive the car and when parked I simply park where I can drive forward and apply the hand brake as it will restart in neutral.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #14

May 292014

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 31,969 miles
Following a high performance driver education event, my 2007 Corvette caught fire while traveling at low speed (approximately 10 mph) on a 2-lane county road, with the fire originating in the area surrounding the passenger rear (right rear) wheel well. As soon as I was aware of the fire, I stopped the car, shut down the engine, and observed the fire on the top of the transmission and gearbox from the rear of the car. I obtained a fire extinguisher and attempted to extinguish the fire by deploying the contents beneath the car on the area of visible flame. I was unable to extinguish the fire under the first attempt and I began to remove the rear carpeting from the vehicle in the rear hatch and trunk area as the carpet had began to smolder. A second fire extinguisher was brought to the scene and the fire was put out. The fire had consumed a 2" X 6" section of the hatch (trunk) floor, which had melted onto the rear exhaust pipe. After the car was towed home and put up on jack stands, it appears that the charcoal canister and sections of the emissions system were consumed in the fire. It is inconclusive in my observation if these components were causal to the fire or merely consumed in the flames. Much of the rear wiring surrounding the differential and transmission has been destroyed by the fire. There are also visible remnants of liquid "drips" on the right rear exhaust pipe travelling over the rear differential but no conclusive source of the liquid was found. I would like to ensure that this failure was not systemic to the vehicle design or manufacturer so that other owners may be protected from similar failures.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #13

Oct 092013


  • 78,000 miles


Service active handling/traction control system warning came on while driving average speed (about 45mph) going straight on a flat road. Light went off after turning off vehicle. Came back on numerous times at different speeds, some while braking at a light, other times while accelerating. Took to shop and had recommended fix of clip on wire below steering wheel completed. Shop test drove car and could not duplicate issue. On way home, service light came back on. This time I noticed the brake lights also affected- lights on while driving and off when depressing pedal. Took back to shop where brake light switch under pedal replaced and BCM computer was flashed and reprogrammed (to avoid replacing). This seemed to fix the problem.for about 5 months. Service traction control again came on and became more frequent over 2 weeks and by the second week the brake lights stayed on at all times. Returned to shop and had to pay for new BCM computer. Have driven car twice since then without issue. For other issues also noted by other drivers- headlights have little cracks all through lenses which cannot be replaced, must buy new lights with entire housing which are very expensive and quite labor intensive to replace. Also hear little popping noises coming from top as noted by recall on file.

- Waddell, AZ, USA

problem #12

Dec 052013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 63,734 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the headlights suddenly failed and the high beam lights were required in order to view the roadway. The contact also stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it diagnosed that the body control module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 63,734. Updated 02/06/14 the dealer stated there was an internal underhood bussed electrical center failure.

- Clear Water, FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 192013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Bottom of rear hatch strut / defogger, drivers side, shorted out causing a fire which totally destroyed the car.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 082013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 88,087 miles
While driving, the low beam headlights suddenly went out. After further investigation, a known and documented problem regarding the fuse block under the hood was the culprit. There is a copper wire within the fuse block that loses connection due to the high heat that occurs in the fusebox circuitry but to date, GM has not issued a tsb or recall concerning this potentially dangerous issue.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #9

Aug 232013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 60,025 miles
While traveling to macon ga about 11 pm in the evening, the low beam lights just went out. I took the vehicle to the dealer the next day to figure out what was wrong. The dealer stated the fix would be nearly $1,400 to remove and replace the low beam headlights (required removal of the bumper). They never stated there were problems with the lights or the low beam system or in general, assumed any responsibility whatsoever. Very disappointed to date; sounds like not only a safety issue but one that will cost me to correct. The consumer stated GM acknowledged the root cause as a defective wire in the underhood bussed electrical center, yet no directive has been issued to recall the affected vehicles. Updated 01/08/14

- Warner Robins , GA, USA

problem #8

Mar 192013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 44,876 miles
Usually after initial start and during low speed drive and occasionally on highway speed the service active handling message came on the dash. Sometimes I could stop, just shut the motor off and restart it and that would clear the message. After a few days it began warning more frequent and took longer for the message to correct itself. On 3/26/2013... I had the vehicle serviced, new tires and the warning message looked at by my local Chevrolet dealer and the following is what they reported and assumed the needed repair.: 3/27/2013 44876 checked dtcs found C0710 performed bulletin 06-02-35-002B and installed "clip" in steering wheel position sensor and cleared codes and test drove no further repair. Cost for repair was $107.63 (clip was $2.63) I have not had any issue since repair made but have heard others complain about this same issue. Steering to me would be a safety issue and a $3 clip cured the problem...

- Poquoson, VA, USA

problem #7

Nov 272012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Owner of 2007 Corvette coupe. Vehicle headlights went completely out while driving on the freeway.the next day headlights worked until the car was warmed up then failed again. After reviewing online Corvette forum there were many many complaints of the problem which is attributed to the faulty wiring inside the fuse box under the hood. Had to replace the fuse box at a cost of $400. But this issue will likely re occur because the new fuse box will develop the same problem over time since it has not been redesigned.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 142013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 38,125 miles
A various times the message, "service active handling" appeared on the display. The active handling system was automatically turned off by the computer. I read about the issue on the Corvette forum and the Chevrolet service bulletin concerning the issue (bulletin # 06-02-35-002B). Since this is an extreme safety issue I wanted the repair done. Hendrick Chevrolet of cary, nc completed the repair. The service code had been set and the repair involved putting a little plastic comb at the electrical connection of the telescoping steering column. This was not a recall item, so I was charged. While it was $47.87 it was too much for a defective design on Chevrolet's most iconic automobile, the Corvette.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #5

May 012012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I have had since the first occasion approximately one year ago, the lights would shut of or not turn on at all when the car would warm up. Once the car cools the lights will turn on, or the lights will shut off while driving when the car reaches a warmer temperature.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 032012


  • 99,000 miles
July 03, 2012 9pm - low beam headlights failed to turn on either automatically or manually by switch. For next several days/nights the low beams would intermittently turn on when the car was cold and turn off after the car was warm. Searching the internet identified the underhood fuse block as the most likely cause, many Corvette owners had experienced the same problem with the low beams and isolated their problem to this fuse block. I replaced my fuse block July 15 and the problem was fixed. I disassembled the removed fuse block with the intent of repairing it so I would have a spare fuse block if the new fuse block failed. After evaluating the design and construction of the fuse block I concluded that the fuse block will have poor long term reliability. I could repair the problem that caused the low beam headlight failure but any and every other circuit in the fuse block is vulnerable to the same failure cause. Every component/system that receives power thru this fuse block is vulnerable to eventually experiencing intermittent power problems.

- Webster, TX, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?