Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: In many ways, the 2012 Cruze continues the legacy of its predecessor. It's a legacy of sluggish transmissions and coolant leaks, but it's still a legacy.

To be fair, the number of complaints about the cooling system are way down versus the 2011 model which led to a class-action lawsuit.

On the flip-side, there's more concerns about brake problems.

However, there were far more Cruze vehicles sold for the 2012 model year so we'll give it our "Beware of this Clunker" badge rather than the "Avoid Like the Plague."

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,383 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chevrolet Cruze seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chevrolet Cruze:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chevrolet Cruze Owner Comments

problem #15

Sep 302016

Cruze

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflators, I was involved in an accident 09/30/2016, where I was at a dead stop on city street, rear ended and pushed into the vehicle in front of me. The driver who hit me was going 50-55mph, I hit my head and chest on the steering wheel, air bags did not deploy, but the sensor for the air bag came on stating "service airbag". my Cruze has had all recalls fixed, prior to the accident.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 022016

Cruze

  • 11,010 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and the air bag and electronic stability control lights remained illuminated. In addition, the vehicle would not start immediately when prompted. The contact had to wait approximately ten seconds before the vehicle would start. Furthermore, when the brake pedal was depressed, the contact had to apply a significant amount of pressure before stopping the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 11,010.

- Heathsville, VA, USA

problem #13

Apr 182016

Cruze 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
The contact owned a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the contact attempted to avoid a crash with another driving vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a mail box. Both frontal air bags deployed but deflated. The driver sustained back, leg shoulder, head and leg injuries that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was towed and was deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 06/29/16

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 152015

Cruze 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,565 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. While making a left turn at approximately 10 mph, the air bag service soon warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column air bag coil needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V300000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 40,565. Updated 10/06/15 updated 12/21/2015

- Coshocton, OH, USA

problem #11

Jun 092015

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 75,725 miles
The contact owned a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. While driving at 60 mph, the air bags deployed without the vehicle being involved in a collision. The air bag warning light illuminated after the failure. The contact sustained injuries and medical attention was required. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,725. Updated 8/21/15

- Gate City, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

May 162015

Cruze

  • 43,848 miles
While traveling down a 4 line road with normal traffic, a car pulled out in front of me. I slammed on my brakes T boning her in her right door hitting my head on the steering wheel. My airbags didn't deploy and it scares the hell out of me...!!!! I'm reporting this matter and would like to know what to do next? witness stayed talking to the police saying she was at fault.

- Ellisville, MO, USA

problem #9

Feb 212015

Cruze

  • 32,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while backing up, another vehicle crashed into the rear end of the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a heart contusion, the front seat passenger sustained a broken thumb and a concussion, the rear middle seat passenger sustained a broken nose and the rear driver side passenger sustained internal stomach bleeding which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,500.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #8

Jul 032012

Cruze

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph and engaging the accelerator pedal, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact mentioned that while slowing down for a traffic light, the transmission failed to shift down to first gear and remained in third gear which prevented the vehicle from accelerating from a standing position. The contact indicated that while driving down a hill in first gear, the transmission would erroneously shift to second gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician replaced a computer module which corrected the gear shifting problem but the acceleration problems persisted. In addition, the contact stated that in August 2014 while driving approximately 30 mph, a second vehicle crashed into the front passenger side of the vehicle and the airbags failed to deploy. Both the driver and front passenger suffered head and neck injuries. A police report was filed. No additional information was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Minneapolis , MN, USA

problem #7

Sep 032014

Cruze

  • 42,000 miles
Was involved in a crash on the highway. I already submitted a complaint about my brakes not working properly at time of crash, see file #10637987. My brakes did not stop properly and resulted in me hitting the back of another vehicle in the fast lane of interstate 495. During collision, none of my airbags deployed even though the front bumper on right side of vehicle was completely smashed in. Insurance has paid almost $8,000 to repair the damage. Shouldn't my airbags have deployed?

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 272014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my car 06/25/2014. I noticed that my check engine and air bag light goes on and off. I contacted GM and was told that there is a recall for the car for the airbags. The representative asked me if I was notified by the dealership about the recall. I was not notified by the dealership about the recall.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #5

Jun 192014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On this particular occurrence the lights on the radio display began to flicker and then all electrical power to the dashboard, airbags, and the electrically assisted power steering went out. It remained off for approximately 10 to 15 seconds. As a result I had no control over the vehicle. The electrical came back on and the dash display depicted the warning message check stabilititrak, or words to that effect. I took it to the dealership and they said that nothing showed up on the scope and there was nothing they could do. This has also happened to my grand daughter on 07/09/2014 out in Colorado as she is using the vehicle for school and work. Again the dealer states there is nothing showing up on the scope and they have not been able to duplicate the issue even though she had her friend record the event with their cell phone. During this event the vehicle could not be restarted after the vehicle was turned off in a parking lot. After an hour wait the vehicle was started.

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #4

Jan 222014

Cruze

  • 55,000 miles
I will be driving down the road and all of a sudden I will get a warning light saying to 'service airbag'. I took it to a dealership and they said the airbag sensor for the passenger airbag is bad and the only way to fix it is to replace the entire passenger seat. They also said the warranty would not cover this replacement and it would cost over $1,000 for a new seat. This is a serious safety issue that needs to be handled properly. If a person is driving down the road with a passenger and the airbag isn't reading that a person is in the seat serious fatalities may occur.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #3

May 242014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the brakes failed. The vehicle did not stop when the brake pedal was fully applied, causing the contact to crash into the rear of another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed of the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but no diagnoses was provided. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V36000(service brakes, hydraulic) but did not confirm if the vehicle was included in the recall. This failure persisted intermittently over a period of one year. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000. Updated 8/19/14 the consumer stated the vehicle's trunk exterior manual latch would not open the trunk and the steering wheel air bag is on recall. While driving, the vehicle would hesitate and lurch. Updated 08/28/2014

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #2

Jul 282013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Driver was traveling approx. 15-20 mph when traffic stopped in front of her. Driver was at a safe distance behind the vehicle in front of her. However, after applying the brakes the car did not stop and hit the vehicle in front of her. The driver could not figure out why the crash happened as she applied the brakes and the car felt like it wouldn't stop. Not only did the vehicle not stop but it also had extensive front end damage without any airbag deployment. Both issues are very concerning to the driver. The vehicle has since been repaired but still feels like the brakes are not functioning like they should.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #1

May 052012

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
I was involved in a collision on May 5, 2012 in which I collided into the side of another vehicle with the front end of my car. My car is brand new, less than a month old however, the seat belts did not hold and the air bags did not deploy during the crash. I was traveling at approximately 30-35 mph at the time of the crash. The collision was bad enough that my car was no longer drivable after the collision. I just bought this car which is a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze and am now afraid to keep it not knowing why the safety equipment didn't work. Also, I had activated my "on star" service but that didn't work either. I would like for someone to inspect my car before the repairs are started. Please let me know where to go from here.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?