Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Cruze drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Cruze:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Cruze Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Aug 192016


  • 83,000 miles


The vehicle's def sensor went bad, resulting in the vehicle entering "limp mode" after 100 miles. As this vehicle is diesel, it is used to commute long distances (100 miles each way.) this caused the vehicle to not be capable of driving a safe speed on the highway. This vehicle is less than 2 years old, no sensors should be going bad after two years. The "fix" provided by the manufacturer is to replace the whole def tank with a new updated tank (including sensor) and an accompanying module. As I drive relatively long distances, my warranty is up, resulting in this "fix" to come out of my pocket. After reviewing many online forums, it appears that this is a common issue.

- Mercer, PA, USA

problem #31

Jul 262016


  • 58,000 miles
Transmission downshifting harshly from 4-3 then 3-2. throws you forward and I feel like I have whiplash from it. Took it to Chevy dealer twice and they said its fine. It is not fine.

- Swartz Creek, MI, USA

problem #30

Aug 052016


  • 38,000 miles
My car loses acceleration when driving. It almost stops in the middle of the street. I am trying to go but when I put my foot on the gas it doesn't go. I hear something underneath when I try to put my put on the gas.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #29

Apr 212015


  • miles


On April 21 2015, right rear brake was squealing took to dealership and they cleaned and adjusted rear brakes. Car had 21804 miles at the time. On May 10, 2016 took car back to the dealership had 559990 miles the car started to over heat. The water pump was leaking and they replaced the pump. Back to the dealership on May 31, 2016 57300 miles check engine light was on and car had a miss. It had a leading valve cover and intake manifold.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #28

Aug 132014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
2014 Chevrolet Cruze. Consumer writes in regards to front axle right half shaft fracture recall replacement parts issue. The consumer received the recall notice in May 2014. However, the axle wasn't replaced until August 2014. The consumer stated the dealer shouldn't have allowed her to continue to drive the vehicle. On October 16, 2014 another dealer found the right front axle outer cv boo leaking, throwing grease on the right front brake. Causing the brake to become contaminated and difficult to grab. The right front axle shaft assembly and front brake pads were replaced.

- Mcdermott, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Dec 262015

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from congresswoman comstock on behalf of constituent re Chevy cruz engineering failure of the construction of the vehicle. The consumer stated she was not aware of recalls 14V092000 and 14V151000; power train that were issued on March 31, 2014 and no one at the dealer brought it to her attention. She purchased the vehicle on July 3, 2014. On December 26, 2015, she experienced complete engine failure. The dealer replaced the engine. However, on February 1, 2016, the vehicle lost all power while driving on the highway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

problem #26

Mar 112015


  • 6,500 miles


I currently own a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze ls that I have owned for a year with 59,000 miles. In this vehicle I have been experiencing power loss while accelerating on interstate, transmission disengages and reengages and jerks very hard while trying to accelerate. It will not accelerate more than 45 mph on interstate. It will then operate normally after about 5-10 miles after transmission disengages and reengages. Also has no power or acceleration while A/C is on.

- Serafina, NM, USA

problem #25

Jan 112016


  • 25,000 miles
I bought a 2014 Chevy Cruze last year. 2 days ago the 'service stabilitrak' light came on and the car started hesitating and jerking. We took it in the next day for service and they told us that there may be a recall pending, but because the light had gone back off they wouldn't do anything about it. I am afraid of this happening again while in traffic, and im not sure what to do next. They need to do a recall asap on this system before someone is injured. We feel very unsafe with this issue possibly happening again, but the dealer will not do anything unless it does happen again.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #24

Dec 032014


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. While attempting to accelerate, the vehicle failed to increase in speed. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 13,000. The VIN was not available.

- Racine, OH, USA

problem #23

Oct 012015

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
2014 Chevrolet Cruze. Consumer writes in regards to transmission shift problems. The consumer stated it took a while, before the gears shifted properly. Also, at times, there was a smell of gas and coolant. The battery cables were corroded.

- Oak Park, MI, USA

problem #22

Jul 012015

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 11,800 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that the gear shift failed to switch into the park position without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,800. MA 09/25 updated 03/08/16.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 202015


  • 14,905 miles
Looses power when sitting at light, doesn't quite shut off, constant belt squealing, engine light coming on, taken back to dealership on 3/21/15 because the engine light came back on, belt still squealing, engine still hesitating and losing power. Dealership replaced knock sensor and drive belt tensioner. Taken back on April 3, squealing still, making a loud sound when you turn the car off, still having hesitation problems. Dealership replaced water pump and harmonic balancer. Taken back again, still hesitating, dying down in power still, making sound when you shut the engine off still. Taken back again, replaced seal in engine that was being sucked into intake. Still having problems with hesitation, power dying down and no pick up or acceleration.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #20

May 282015


  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated up to approximately 90 mph. The contact managed to shift to neutral and come to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- 6240 Pheasant Hill Road, OH, USA

problem #19

Apr 012014


  • miles
Classic Chevrolet in granbury tx sold me a 2014 Chevy cruz that had a broken axle and was a outstanding recall. I tried to return car for this reason but they would not take it. The car then sat at the dealership for approximately 2 months waiting for parts and I once again tried to turn car in.

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #18

Dec 042014


  • 1,000 miles
Can't remove key when car is in park. Two different times now. Also car with 900 miles on it failed to start and key was stuck this time also. Tow truck driver called, he also could not remove key. Checked car for anything left on, found nothing. Jumped car, it started, he moved the shifter lever roughly several times, key came out. Told us not to turn car off and take it to dealership. Driver thought battery was bad also. Took car in. They kept car three days. Were told twice by service man battery had a bad cell. When called to pick up car, service told us we must have left something on. That nothing was wrong. And we must not have shifter in park. Left dealership, no battery replaced, no real answer to why key didn't come out. Did not even put car on a charger to get battery back to 100%.

- Perry, MI, USA

problem #17

Jun 092014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V151000 (power train). However, the parts were not available. The dealer could not repair the vehicle for three months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #16

Aug 142014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
I found a white metallic gunk on driveway. I went to investigate for leakage, after dealer had one week ahead appointment available. I found rust on the welds of the muffler, rust on the hanger rods for the muffler, rust on nuts and bolts throughout the under carriage, rust on metal parts of the drive shaft, rust on the back tire trims, rust on the engine block, rust on the suspension, rust on the shocks, and the list goes on, on the many more parts of the under carriage. Not just rust but corrosive rusting, that just didn't start over the last three weeks. Dealer had to fail to put car up on rack upon receiving from Chevrolet, and failed before handing it. This type of rusting happens only after maybe three years or more at least according to people I've shown the photos to, who know cars. Dealership has a GM expert coming in to expect the car. Feel very unsafe driving this car.

- Bloomingdale, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jul 292014


  • 22 miles
After purchasing the 2014 Cruze on July 29, 2014, I drove it to my residence which was for 6 miles and parked in my driveway. I placed the shift level in the park position and set the emergency brake. My grand daughter, age 16, asked if she could test drive the car. After entering the vehicle, she released the emergency brake and attempted to start it. The car would not start and unknown to her while attempting to start, the vehicle slowly went backwards into the street. The shift lever in the vehicle was stuck in park and would not move and it would not start. I called on star and asked them to run a test on the car to see what was wrong with it. The lady came back with no known problems from their test. I asked and she called a tow truck to return the vehicle to the dealer. The Cruze was repaired the next day. The problem was identified with a defective shift cable. The casing around the shift cable at the transmission cracked causing cable not to release leaving transmission in free mode. I was upset and angry with the dealership and GM because the vehicle broke down in the first 6 miles. I then checked for recalls on the vehicle and found GM recall number 14048 and NHTSA recall 14V092, which identified my defect exactly, but did not include my VIN in the recall order. I called GM and expressed my concerns they assigned a case number and a very nice lady called and asked what would make me happy. My main concern was the safety of my family and other people who have bought the Cruze with a defective shift lever cable. Once a part is identified as defective it should no longer be used and it should be replaced on all manufactured vehicles. I was offered a replacement vehicle by the dealership and GM but I declined the offer.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #14

May 052014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
I heard that there is another recall on my vehicle transmission cable can disconnect from the shift lever and the vehicle can roll away. My car pulls every time I slow down or start to put speed on car that's where is starts pulling and won't go. The other recall is the engine block heater power cord insulation. I have had two recalls done on this car already very disappointed. Don't know if my car has recalls on the first two recalls I have mentioned. I thought cars were not to be sold to customers if car had recalls. I get nervous and feel very unsafe in this car!! I have not gotten recalls letters yet! please let me know if these recalls affects my car.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #13

Jan 082014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 130 miles
Safety issue, so scary I am afraid of driving it now: The gas pedal has a delay in it and scared me to death several times, trying to come out of a stop light on a busy intersection as the car had a 2-3 second delay in responding to the gas pedal, and then whooshed out on top of incoming traffic!!! on the highway it happened several times that changing lanes becomes an issue as this delay in responding and sudden acceleration almost got me into an accident last week. I have bought all the warranties, extended warranties, and taken excellent care of the car. I have had it only since December 10, 2013. When I leased it, I was told it had cruise control. It hadn't so they had to install it for free. The car does not come with cruise control "????!!!! when I took it to the dealership for maintenance and review of the issue, the mechanic found the same behavior and deemed it as "normal" [??"!!!] I traced my Toyota corolla 2010, and it had cruise control! I spoke with the dealership and they tried to sell me another car for more money down and higher monthly payments, when I refused and threatened with writing to GM and the attorney general, they said they would do anything in their hands and speak with the regional rep from GM. I am waiting for their response. Sincerely, now that I know this, I want my money back then I started investigating and found a lot of complaints of the same nature. The Cruze should be all recalled and moneys refunded. I am afraid of driving that car and I want a refund. I would rather lease from another company. If I only knew the total lack of respect for human life that the GM executives had I would have never leased a Chevy. I did not know until a week ago that GM was recalling thousands or poorly made cars!

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?