Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,574 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Cruze engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Cruze:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Cruze Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Oct 242016

Cruze

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light has been going on & off for years. Dealership has never been able to determine why this happens. Recently I have narrowed it down to the light coming on every time I fill up my car with gas & it is a diesel. On a recent trip to tn my car went into safety mode & I spent 6hrs at a dealership. They eventually found nothing & re-set the computer. When I returned home a recall for the very same problem was in my mailbox. Now I have received another letter from Chevy stating there is another problem

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #24

Aug 152016

Cruze

  • 12,386 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle surged forward inadvertently at different times. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,386.

- Asbury Park, NJ, USA

problem #23

Aug 142015

Cruze

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired four times. The vehicle was not operating correctly and lost power while being driven or idling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was unable to be diagnosed. The mechanic informed the contact that the failure was the first they had seen and a solution or repair could not be done until the root cause of the failure could be determined. The vehicle was leaking coolant and the mechanic did not know if the engine or transmission had been exposed to the coolant. The mechanic stated that a leak could not be found. The failure mileage was 23,000.

- Elkton, ME, USA

problem #22

Aug 132016

Cruze

  • 29,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service engine light flashed with messages to service both stabilitrak and traction control. Later that same day noticed jerking of engine so strong it shook the car while idling and constant loud squeeling noise. Also noticed the vehicle lags on acceleration/take off after idling. This happened at approx 29,500 miles.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #21

Aug 032015

Cruze

  • miles
My Cruze diesel around 30K miles, had an electrical issue which resulted in the dealership replacing the radio and other electrical nodes. Around 40K miles the battery and alternator went bad. None of which were covered by the dealership so I had to pay for it myself. Since 45K miles, the car has randomly popped up a message saying the engine power is reduced. I travel to large urban areas and this has happened to me in the worst of situations and I am lucky to be alive due to this issue. This now comes on often and is not covered by the Chevy dealership I went to. I just purchased this car in 2014. Seriously considering the lemon law

- Larwill, IN, USA

problem #20

Apr 012016

Cruze

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic, which located several failure codes at the ignition switch, throttle body position, and the air flow sensor. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #19

Apr 212015

Cruze

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 21 2015, right rear brake was squealing took to dealership and they cleaned and adjusted rear brakes. Car had 21804 miles at the time. On May 10, 2016 took car back to the dealership had 559990 miles the car started to over heat. The water pump was leaking and they replaced the pump. Back to the dealership on May 31, 2016 57300 miles check engine light was on and car had a miss. It had a leading valve cover and intake manifold.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #18

May 122016

Cruze

  • 5,000 miles
Soon after purchase in 2014, my Cruze turbo diesel started having many different errors showing on the dash display anywhere from traction control, power steering, and others. After many attempts through local dealers, GM sent a technician to me and repaired that issue. Now there has been many issues with the car flashing issues on the dash about diesel exhaust fluid poor, particulate filter full need regen, and finally power decreased, which I did not have hardly any acceleration. I followed every procedure the owners manual and car told me to do, and still did not regenerate the particulate filter. The dealer had to force a regeneration on the filter and order a def heater. It seems that there is many electrical issues with this car and once one is repaired, another one appears. Other than the electrical / computer issues which is unpredictable, it is a great car since we purchased it new.

- Boaz, KY, USA

problem #17

Dec 262015

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from congresswoman comstock on behalf of constituent re Chevy cruz engineering failure of the construction of the vehicle. The consumer stated she was not aware of recalls 14V092000 and 14V151000; power train that were issued on March 31, 2014 and no one at the dealer brought it to her attention. She purchased the vehicle on July 3, 2014. On December 26, 2015, she experienced complete engine failure. The dealer replaced the engine. However, on February 1, 2016, the vehicle lost all power while driving on the highway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

problem #16

Jul 122014

Cruze

  • 14,000 miles
This vehicle has been service 10 times since I purchase it. Every 3 or 4 months I have to bring the vehicle to get it fix. I have contacted GM several times about this issue but no response. I am concern there is a problem and it will get worse.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 192015

Cruze

  • 60,936 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel system failure resulting in catastrophic engine fire. I purchased this vehicle brand new in April 2014. After complaining about engine power loss three months prior, I started smelling a fuel odor the week before thanksgiving, I immediately notified the Chevrolet dealer about the odor, the dealer did inform me that a tsb was on GM dealer world in regards to the fuel rails possibly coming loose causing a fuel odor / hesitation. After careful examination of the vehicle there was no visible fuel liquid present on the engine or ground below the vehicle. The vehicle sat parked in the driveway for majority of the day, upon starting the vehicle to Transport to the dealer three minutes after the vehicle burst into flames in the engine compartment, using a garden hose while calling 911 the vehicle became fully involved in the engine bay spreading into the passenger compartment. Once water contacted the engine bay the fire further spread indicating the fire was chemically based. The local fire department extinguished the vehicle using a foam water mixture. The vehicle was declared a total loss by insurance, I contacted GM customer support only to be stonewalled by the agent. I had over 10000 dollars in payments invested in this vehicle. GM should have stepped up to the plate not the insurance. Not a surprise after the ignition switch discretions and deaths. Google Chevy Cruze engine fires this has happened several times before!!!!!!!!!!

- Cleburne, TX, USA

problem #14

Nov 192015

Cruze

  • 49,900 miles
November 2015 in 55 degree weather while driving an error message of "A/C off due to high engine temp". this happened during the summer of 2015, my car shut off an and I took it to the dealership and they remedied the issue. I believe they said it was the water pump. Again, it's giving me this error message.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 042015

Cruze

  • 30,000 miles
Car randomly will shutoff/jerk and restart, similar to turning off the key and turning it back on immediately. All of the dash lights came on and went off, the radio restarted and froze. Vehicle lost power electrically and the engine shutoff for a split second. Vehicle has electric power steering that quit, due to loss of vehicle power. This occurred while coming to a stop at a stop light, almost stopped.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #12

Jul 012015

Cruze

  • 200 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. While approaching a stop light, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to respond. All of the lights on the instrument panel illuminated and the engine stalled. The vehicle caught fire and was destroyed. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200. The VIN was unavailable.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #11

Jul 032015

Cruze

  • 25,000 miles
Driving down a road on the Friday morning. When a deer popped up in front of me. I hit the deer on cruise control going 70 mph; but was hard braking to avoid the deer. The vehicle clipped the deer on the front left side of the car by the hood. The airbags did not deploy, meaning it wasn't even a big impact. So I pulled over to call authorities when the car began to smoke. Shortly after, estimated two minutes, the vehicle caught fire. The fire begin on the front left side of where the battery was located. It completely burned down the car. Not sure how hitting a deer, would not set off the air bags and also start a fire. Luckily I was able to make it out with no injuries.

- Snyder , TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 202015

Cruze

  • 14,905 miles
Looses power when sitting at light, doesn't quite shut off, constant belt squealing, engine light coming on, taken back to dealership on 3/21/15 because the engine light came back on, belt still squealing, engine still hesitating and losing power. Dealership replaced knock sensor and drive belt tensioner. Taken back on April 3, squealing still, making a loud sound when you turn the car off, still having hesitation problems. Dealership replaced water pump and harmonic balancer. Taken back again, still hesitating, dying down in power still, making sound when you shut the engine off still. Taken back again, replaced seal in engine that was being sucked into intake. Still having problems with hesitation, power dying down and no pick up or acceleration.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #9

Apr 122015

Cruze

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. While driving at 55 mph, the engine stalled and both of the headlights became inoperable. The contact crashed the vehicle into a side railing. The contact stated that the signal indicators were inoperable. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Stafford , TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 292015

Cruze

  • 500 miles
I purchased a lease vehicle (@500 mileage at the time). A few months later, the motor sounded like I had over 100,000 miles. Very loud. I changed the oil at permitted time, took it in for a mechanic test drive. Mechanic said it seemed fine. Feedback from passengers were affirming that there is definitely an issue. It seems the colder it is, the harder it runs. Like you never change your oil, and the muffler has a hole, or the motor runs real heavy, like rpms sticking. Sometimes its more faint. I tried higher grade gasoline, as advised, this did not help. More importantly. The doors should definitely be recalled. They are a safety concern. They slam back on you even if opened all the way, if on an uneven pavement or slight incline. There is only one latch at all the way open. This has been a major problem and slams back on my children and myself. I am concerned for others that may drive this vehicle. There should be a second latch or catching mechanism to prevent it slamming on your legs/head.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #7

Mar 042014

Cruze

  • 5,800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving at unknown speeds, the check engine warning light suddenly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on multiple occasions where the knock sensor and the oxygen sensor were replaced but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,800.

- St. Peterburg, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 192014

Cruze

  • 22,500 miles
Water pump had to be replaced due to leak, computer reprogramed to fix steering wheel catch, battery terminal cable replaced for unknown reason. All this on a brand new 2014 Cruze. Wtf? not to mention initial drive shaft repairs. Thought this was an american made car with quality american parts, worst first new car buyer experience ever. Make it right GM.

- Deer Park, WA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?