Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 272011

Equinox

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During normal driving operations the vehicle engine began to overheat with only 60,000 miles. Auto repair shop states it is a combination of broken head gasket and cracked egr valve. Chevy upgraded the egr valve and the new part does not fit on the existing egr component. Now have to pay $280 for a new egr assembly as well. Total cost of repair from overheating is $1900.

- Beaverdam, VA, USA

problem #18

Jul 022011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 74,126 miles
I received my vehicle back on 8.2.11 it had been in the repair shop since 5.14.11. The repair man replaced and reprogrammed the transmission modulator. He noted that it did "act up" for him, however it had not acted up since his last attempt at fixing it. It was raining when I picked up my car. In the first 10 miles I noticed the steering pulled to the left a couple of times. After I hit dry road this did not occur. After about 30-60 miles of driving the vehicle since getting it back, the speedometer started failing and the vehicle while going 55mph starts to feel like it is going to cease to operate and stutters. It is also noted that it feels like it is not going to automatically shift to the appropriate gear. The vehicle is going to Chevrolet dealership on Friday 8.5.11.

- Rumford, ME, USA

problem #17

Dec 012009

Equinox

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated every time he started the vehicle, the check engine lamp illuminated and the engine would stall. The contact mentioned that in order to turn the vehicle back on he had to depress the gas pedal several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnosed the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000. The current mileage was 87,500.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jul 262009

Equinox

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that smoke was coming from under the hood of the vehicle, the vehicle would stall at anytime and the check engine light would illuminate on the instrument panel. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 37,000. Sm.

- Riverdale, IL, USA

problem #15

May 122011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Equinox lt- after several years of driving it with no problems the head cracked. GM is taking no action to try and remedy this situation.

- Middlebury, IN, USA

problem #14

Dec 062010

Equinox

  • 113,000 miles
Check engine light came on after over heating occurred. Replaced the thermostat, water pump and then found out their was a blown head gasket. Now I need to place a new motor in a 2005 Equinox with only 113000 miles!

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #13

Jun 102010

Equinox

  • 111,275 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In April of 09 the truck was leaking oil, had head gasket replaced. In June 2010 the engine overheated head gaskets was repaired a second time. When received truck back from dealer truck died on freeway and now it needs new fuse block and main computer. Just paid 2500 in repairs and dealer wants 1500 and cannot tell me if that will fix the current electrical problem. Truck is now worth 3,000. This was a 24,000 truck. This should not be happening.

- Wales, MI, USA

problem #12

Feb 242010

Equinox

  • 94,556 miles
Vehicle began idling rough after sitting all night and then backing out of garage. Once in drive, the check engine light would flash for about 15 seconds. Eventually, after several trips to the dealer who told me it was the spark plugs and wires, the check engine light remained on again. Now it needs a new rear head gasket and the #1 cylinder is leaking.

- Rising Sun, IN, USA

problem #11

May 182010

Equinox

  • 71,000 miles
My 2005 Chevrolet Equinox stalled and would not restart in traffic for approximately the 5th time in the past three years. The first four times were finally diagnosed by GM as a faulty computer that was getting wet due to a bad seal from the sunroof. Because of these problems, I leased another car for my wife while I was deployed to iraq so I would not have to worry about her safety. The car has been running fine for the past year that I have been home. I have routinely changed my oil and inspected fluids and air pressures etc. On vehicles. The latest occurrence happened on my way home from work. It stalled was due to what the dealer is calling internal damage. Speaking to a claims agent for GM I was initially told to have dealer call for an authorization. They refused to honor my extended GM warranty and are demanding $1700 just to tear it down to see what the fault or problem is. I have contacted GM ext warranty and they have finally agreed to send a inspector. Now they are demanding proof of oil changes. I contacted my oil change service center and they just sold to a new owner and cannot access old database past 1 Apr 2010...this vehicle has broke down (stalled with no power) on multiple occasions in very dangerous areas with limited room to pull over due to mountainous terrain and numerous big rigs traveling the route. No accidents or injuries have occurred yet, but this vehicle is an accident waiting to happen. After this latest incident, I have researched online and have found numerous examples of other people having similar incidents with this particular vehicle/motor. I am genuinely concerned for my family's safety, and furthermore, deeply disturbed that I have been paying for a GM extended warranty that they do not wish to choose to honor. What kind of pressure or recourse can your office apply to GM before they accept responsibility for a product that is defective and a safety hazard. I actually like this car, but it has turned into nothing but a lemon.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 192010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
2005 Chevrolet Equinox lt AWD - new engine needed at 93,000 miles. This car had all suggested service and oil changes. Updated IVOQ. 07/13/10.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 152009

Equinox

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. Whenever the contact drove the vehicle he noticed that the engine would begin to run hot and the coolant level would continually decrease. The vehicle was taken to his local mechanic where the contact was informed that the head gasket needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 75000.

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

problem #8

May 012005

Equinox

  • 0 miles
When starting vehicle, engine would continually roll over until starting. I took the vehicle to the dealership under warranty many times for this problem and they tried to tell me that I was holding the key too long in the start position. I have owned many vehicles and have been licensed for over 15 years, never happened with any other car. Now 5 years later, with only 65K miles, it still rolls over but doesn't start. I have to try again and pump the gas a few times to get it to start.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 022008

Equinox

  • 77,239 miles
In January, 2008, I started to notice an antifreeze odor whenever the weather warmed a little. On February 2, I stopped to get the care washed and while I was drying it off noticed steam coming from the front of the car, with a strong antifreeze odor. I drove the car directly to the nearest mechanic, one that I use exclusively for after-warranty repairs in my town. I was told the vehicle had what seemed to be a blown head gasket on initial examination, but they would let me know for sure after they were able to check it further. Indeed it was what they thought, and it cost me $970 to repair. I asked them what could have caused such a thing in a 2005 Chevy Equinox that wasn't even 4 years old. I was told that Chevrolet uses dex-cool orange coolant in this vehicle and it has been known to cause this type of problem. It has only been now, months later, that I have learned GM agreed to settle a class-action lawsuit tied to the engine coolant in vehicles beginning in 1995. I have obtained a copy of the paperwork for the class-action suit and am aware that the years involved are 1995 to 2003 for the group a vehicles with 3.1 liter or 3.4 liter V6 engines manufactured before 4/10/2003. I was not fortunate to belong within this group of cars who could be compensated, and missed the filing deadline of October 27, 2008. However, I am extremely upset that GM continued to use this coolant in a brand new model in 2005 knowing there had been serious problems for the same type engine for years of using it. I would really like to know if there is any way I can recoup the cost ot repairing my car during a time when I still owed almost 1 1/2 years payments before it was paid off. The local dealership salesman told me if I had owned a 2007 model it would still have been under warranty. That was a heartwarming thing to hear.

- Brewster, OH, USA

problem #6

May 072008

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
77K miles on vehicle, less than 3 years old, head gasket is leaking and needs to be replaced, also ignition cylinder failure, dexcool coolant supposedly is degrading the nylon material in coolant lines, the entire head gasket unit has to be replaced ($1500), I have all service records for vehicle and have not missed a schedule preventable maintenance/oil change/etc...for vehicle and I bought vehicle brand new off of lot with 83 miles.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #5

Dec 072007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,671 miles
Auto was at rest at a stop light just after exiting expressway. Auto seemed to lose power when the engine light came on and the temp gauge was reading hot. I slowly drove about a mile home. At this time I turn off the auto and opened the hood. I let it sit turned off for about an hour, at that time I tried to start the auto and it wouldn't turn over. I let it sit overnight and tried to start next morning, it turned over hard and started. I turned it off, checked the coolant it was very low. I added coolant, let it run about 10min, lots of steam come from tail pipe and no heat from vents. I then checked engine oil, it seemed watered down. A friend who knows cars told me head gasket. My 3year old Chevy now needs at least $1500 to $2000 worth of repairs that may not be under warranty.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #4

Jul 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. Since purchasing the vehicle at 24,000 miles, the steering wheel and brakes have not worked and the service engine soon light illuminates intermittently. The purchase date, VIN, powertrain, and engine size were unknown. The current mileage was 30,000 and failure mileage was 24,000. Updated 12/07/07

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 212006

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving at 55 mph on an incline the engine lost power. The contact was able to restart the vehicle immediately. The check engine occasionally illuminated before the engine stalled. The dealer informed the contact that this problem was due to a cracked spark plug which was caused by rain entering the vehicle through the windshield and coming into contact with the spark plugs. The spark plugs were replaced, and a shield was sealed to prevent water from coming into contact with spark plugs. The contact stated approximately 3 months later she experienced the same problem. The dealer removed and replaced the spark plug, the wire and the coil. A month later the vehicle experienced the same problem. The dealer informed the contact that a cracked spark plug was the reason for this occurrence. The vehicle currently had 33,000 miles.

- Tiltonsville, OH, USA

problem #2

Mar 292006

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,962 miles
: the contact stated there were numerous problems with the vehicle. First, the engine would intermittently not crank. The dealer replaced the battery however, this did not correct the problem. Second, while depressing the brake pedal the vehicle intermittently did not slow down. The brake pedal was pumped several times to get the brakes to activate correctly. Third, the transmission revved high and intermittently did not change gears correctly while driving. Fourth, the ABS lamp illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the ABS lamp was reset. Lastly, the front passenger window was rolled down and would not rise back up. The dealer replaced the window regulator and the window was repaired. The vehicle was repeatedly taken to the dealer and addressed the problems that could be duplicated and made appropriate repairs. Hard start/hesitation and almost stalling. Also, determined speed sensor was causing reduced power.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #1

Sep 292004

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,800 miles
Twice, while attempting to pass other vehicles, the engine stopped running when the accelerator was firmly pushed to the floor. Both times I was able to steer to the side of the road without colliding with anything. Evidently, Chevrolet is aware of the possiblility of this happening, because the owner's manual discusses how to reset the systems when this happens. It appears to be a problem with the all wheel drive system.

- South Weber, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?