Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Feb 032012

Equinox

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the contact heard a really loud grinding noise and the steering became very difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnose that the carrier bearing needed to be replaced. The failure recurred six months later. The vehicle was taken to the same independent mechanic and was awaiting repair. In addition, the contact mentioned that the front struts were defective, the front driver side power window failed, and whenever the vehicle was started it hesitated and fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The failure mileage was 56,000 and the current mileage was 56,300.

- Corning, OH, USA

problem #19

Jan 312012

Equinox

  • miles
Car doesn't start on first attempt. It tries, then even after I release the key it continues to start, like its stuck, I have to pump the gas to get it to start, and it acts flooded. I have spent close to $5000 dollars, brakes, wheel bearings, emergency brake. The front end began to feel very loose. The problem was that the struts prematurely failed and created a very dangerous driving condition. Replaced mounts struts etc etc this car has been a nightmare I bought this car new out of the dealer. 2005 new problem steering wheel is making a grinding noise dealer is saying $1300 to repair it when does it stop GM / Chevy needs to fix this cars at no cost.

- Carrollton , TX, USA

problem #18

May 052007

Equinox

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated the vehicle had smoke coming from the steering wheel. When the failure occurs the windshield wipers stop working. The had been scheduled to be inspected. The contact stated the vehicle has had to have the drive shaft replaced twice because the bearings failed. The contact feels these issues are manufacturer defects. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 96,000.

- Portsmith, NH, USA

problem #17

Jul 022011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 74,126 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received my vehicle back on 8.2.11 it had been in the repair shop since 5.14.11. The repair man replaced and reprogrammed the transmission modulator. He noted that it did "act up" for him, however it had not acted up since his last attempt at fixing it. It was raining when I picked up my car. In the first 10 miles I noticed the steering pulled to the left a couple of times. After I hit dry road this did not occur. After about 30-60 miles of driving the vehicle since getting it back, the speedometer started failing and the vehicle while going 55mph starts to feel like it is going to cease to operate and stutters. It is also noted that it feels like it is not going to automatically shift to the appropriate gear. The vehicle is going to Chevrolet dealership on Friday 8.5.11.

- Rumford, ME, USA

problem #16

May 062011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
On May 6th 2011 I was traveling to work on the 17W expressway. After exiting the expressway and making a left hand turn on to grant avenue where I am employed my steering wheel felt funny. Upon making a left hand turn in to the parking lot my steering completely went leaving the steering wheel to spin completely around with no control of the tires what so ever. There is a defect in the compartment that holds the rack and pinion. If the steering wheel had became defective while traveling on the express way at sixty five miles an hour there would have been nothing I could do but brake and god knows what way the wheels would have turned and how many incident people I would have wiped out before the vehicle came to a stop probably flipping because of lack of control. This is a serious situation and I see that there have been recalls on Chevy products for this exact defect. People are going to be killed and probably have been prior to this incident. This has to be rectified immediately. I believe Chevy should recall these vehicles immediately. My VIN# is as follows: [xxx]. this repair is costing me $670 with cost of repair and towing. I believe that I should be reimbursed for Chevy's negligence. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Candor, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox lt with the vehicle identification number (VIN) [xxx], with a production of April 2005. I purchased this vehicle new in 2005, at approximately 30,000 miles I started having difficulties with the ignition switch operation, and the key was hard to turn in the cylinder.  I then switched to the spare key that came with the vehicle from purchase.at 60,000 miles I started having the same issue.  at 98,000 I started to have the same issue again. I had my local dealer cut two new keys; I am now on my third new key. I have also noticed that when I take the key is out there is not kind of lock.

- Murrayville, GA, USA

problem #14

Jun 302009

Equinox

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Chevy Equinox ls. I purchased the vehicle January 2009 seemed to be driving pretty good. I took it out of town and as I began to stop at the stop light the steering felt loose and the wheels moved side to side on its own. I thought it strange but kept on driving. Started up the on ramp and the steering wheel had a loose like play in it. Didn't think anything of it. Started to excel onto the highway and as I began to reach 60 miles per hr the front end started moving loosely left to right. Then I started reaching 65 miles per hr and the front bounced and wobbled as if it were going to drop. I had to go 75 miles per hr before the jiggling of the front end of the van stopped. The van drove great at 60 or less. Whenever putting on the brakes there would be a crunching noise as if a pole was in the way keeping the foot brake from pushing down to the floor. I would have to lightly lift my foot then push it down quickly to stop the van safely. This is very dangerous and should have been taken care of before selling the vehicle.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #13

Jun 252010

Equinox

  • 85,000 miles
2005 Chevy Equinox. Current miles approx 85,000. Was rear ended in May 2010. The car was repaired and returned in June 2010. Within approximately 2 weeks, found noticeable grinding noises from brakes, low to null braking ability. ABS and tracking lights are on. In June, dealer found ABS sensor and steering column were broken. Dealer said it was a result of recent car accident but several insurance adjusters have said the accident was too minor to cause such damage and believe it is manufacturer defect. No insurance company will touch this claim. They believe it is a known defect in GMC parts.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 052008

Equinox

  • 50,000 miles
I bought my car brand new with 4 miles on it. I have been the only owner. Since I purchased my vehicle I have had to have the fuel pump replaced in 2007 ($1400). My car has been in the shop numerous times for costly repairs. My key comes out of the ignition while driving, and it is hard to start. I have to wiggle the key every other time I try to start my car. I've also had problems with my car starting. When I go to crank it up it sounds likes it tries to start then dies. This happens often. My car is not in the shop due to water leakage. There a large collection of water with my spare tire, and the floor in the back seat is soaked. I was told from the GM service department they see this often in my model vehicle but no recall for it at this time so it's out of my own pocket. Also I have taken my vehicle to the dealer several times for my steering wheel. It makes a loud sound every time the wheel is turned and they cannot seem to fix the problem. I have had to replace my headlights and brake lights very often.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 052010

Equinox

  • 34,200 miles
While driving my 2005 vehicle to work noticed a lot of smoke coming out of the front of steering wheel. Had the vehicle taken to the dealership and was told that the power steering parts had to be replaced.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 172009

Equinox

  • 63,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving 30 mph, the contact felt a vibration and heard a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. No warning lights were illuminated prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop and the mechanic stated that the carrier barron was failing. The repair would cost $1,300; however, the necessary part was on backorder. The vehicle has not been repaired and the contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 63,900 and current mileage was 64,000.

- Randolph, VT, USA

problem #9

Jan 012008

Equinox

  • miles
Door locks do not unlock unless manually operated and steering box faulty causing loose steering.

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

problem #8

Nov 082008

Equinox

  • miles
The Chevy Equinox is over-all a piece of garbage. Ever since I bought it in 2004 it has given nothing but problems. I bought the vehicle brand new, but I doesn't perform like a brand new vehicle. Since I've had this vehicle it has over heated on me, the ac system had to be repaired, the gage lights keep coming on as if something is wrong with the vehicle, when I drive on the express way and hit 60 mph the steering wheel start shaking when as I'm braking, the one belt that the Equinox has snapped while I was driving, and three weeks after I got the belt fixed as I was driving and I turned on the ac the vehicle started smoking. Keep in mind that my warranty expired earlier this year so majority of these expenses are coming out of my pocket, and guess what, yesterday on 9nov2008 the Equinox died on me. I can't even get it to start. When I turn the key all the vehicle is doing is making a clicking noise but it's not turning over. I don't know if it's the battery because the horn works, the gage lights come on, the radio works, but it's just not turning over. It's back in the shop again, and there's no telling how much this is going to set me back. This vehicle has given me and my wife so much heart ache, and what I just listed were some of the high lights of problems that this vehicle has given us. Times are tough right now and this Equinox is not making things any easier. The GM company should be ashamed of themselves for making such a crappy product such as this vehicle. Never again will I ever buy another Chevy or any other GM product. I regret ever buying this vehicle.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #7

Feb 132008

Equinox

  • 31,000 miles
Problems with car began immediately (transmission, air conditioner, odometer, window motor, car shifting abruptly, and skidding on any wet service.) finally went into 20 ft skid, wheels locked, no response to steering. Car hit pole. Airbags did not deploy, seat belts did not lock. Car totaled.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #6

Dec 062005

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Equinox safety issue with the steering. Consumer states that the steering failed completely. Dealer blamed the failure on ice in the wheel well. Then the trouble light illuminated and the issue has not yet been fixed properly. The consumer stated the vehicle had to be towed because it wouldn't start. The dealer cleaned the connector, however the computer did not pick up any diagnostic history, even though the trouble light had been coming on quite consistently. On Feb 25, 2006 the consumer once again lost steering, but regained it and continued to drive. At that time they replaced the ignition switch. The trouble light continued to come on and once again the vehicle would not start. The dealer discovered that by pushing on the fuse box, the vehicle would start and steer. On 2 separate occasions, the consumer became stranded, the doors wouldn't unlock and the vehicle wouldn't start, but the horn worked. The consumer let the vehicle sit overnight and when she came back, the vehicle still would not automatically unlock, she opened the door manually and pounded on the fuse box, and the vehicle started up. The second time the consumer became stuck, pounding on the fuse box did not work and the vehicle didn't start, even though the battery was fine. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, and for the second time, the ignition switch was replaced. As soon as the consumer left the dealer the trouble light illuminated again. The consumer stated the steering continues to go out a couple of times. The consumer also stated the resume button for the cruise control doesn't always work properly.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #5

Jul 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. Since purchasing the vehicle at 24,000 miles, the steering wheel and brakes have not worked and the service engine soon light illuminates intermittently. The purchase date, VIN, powertrain, and engine size were unknown. The current mileage was 30,000 and failure mileage was 24,000. Updated 12/07/07

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 102007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,200 miles
My Chevy Equinox has a loud groan, grinding noise when making low speed turns such as in parking lots or sharp turns. There was a recall notice from 2004 to January 2006 but Chevrolet informs me that my vehicle is 3 numbers off so they will not make repairs. Since it was for the Chevy Equinox I don't see that it matters what the numbers are if my vehicle is having the same problem. I have spoken with the local dealer and Chevrolet with no positive response. I question whether this is causing more problems with the steering and whether it is safe.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #3

Feb 242007

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,523 miles
On January 26 I took my 2005 Chevrolet Equinox to the dealership from which I purchased it (classic East, madison Ohio 44057) for an oil change and mentioned that I heard a rattle in my steering column when I was on rough road. They attempted to fix the noise by adjusting the preload steering gear, but it did not work so they special ordered a part. I returned on February 1 and they attempted to fix the noise by installing a power steering gear, but that did not work. Using technical assistance from General Motors, they ran several diagnostic tests and ultimately ended up replacing the steering column on February 2. on February 3 I phoned the dealership to let the service department know that the steering did not feel right- it was alternately very loose or very tight. I was told that I had electronic power steering, so that was normal. I stated that it had never been that way before, but was assured that it was normal and I should drive it for a while to see if it got better. On February 24, I was driving in a parking lot and heard a snap in my steering column. At that point, I had lost all control of the steering and was able to turn the wheel 360 degrees with no impact on the tires or car. I had the car towed to the dealer at that time. At this time, they have not yet determined if this was dealer installation error or a faulty part.

- Chardon, OH, USA

problem #2

Dec 082006

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,300 miles
Brake noise, thumping and grinding. Steering wheel is very tight and loosens at any time. Rotors are faulty. When starting periodically ignition switch sticks in the cranking position once manually started unless you jiggle key, causing possible fire hazard.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #1

Dec 012004

Equinox

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Equinox experiencing problems with the steering. The vehicle is equipped with variable steering. It was the consumer's understanding that with variable steering, the steering was looser during city driving and would become tighter during highway driving. The consuemr feels that the steering was too loose, that the vehicle wandered and pulled to the left while driving.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?