Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,816 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

May 202016

Equinox

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I 1st bought the car had to change the suspension, head gasket, antifreeze is disappearing can't see where it's going key comes out the ignition VIN#2cndl73fx56020123 purchased on 8/19/15.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #32

Jun 082015

Equinox

  • 201,765 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that there was water entering the map light. The contact also heard an abnormal noise in the rear of the vehicle, the suspension was unstable pertaining to the control arm, and the axle was leaking fluid without warning. The steering wheel also made a grinding noise when turned, the automatic transmision hesitated, the throttle was light, and it was difficult to reverse upon the change in weather. The vehicle was not repaired and the dealer was notified of the various failures. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and provided no remedy. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 201,765.

- Inkster, MI, USA

problem #31

Dec 022013

Equinox

  • 46,000 miles
Received vehicle upon my mothers passing. Had 45K on it, garaged and only in town driving. In just over year I have had to replace rear rocker joint, ac unit, front right speaker, front brakes and starter. Now, there is a water noise under hood and truck is starting to rock when at stop light. It is also trying to run hot but no lights, leaks or issue can be found. The back spoiler was loose http before then and leaks in the back. Lift gate hard to open and molding around front windshield is coming loose. I have 65K on this truck. There is no way this truck should have this many problems. I feel unsafe in this lightly used auto.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #30

Feb 172014

Equinox

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please note in order to try to avid an accident in which nardone electric truck, broadsided my driver side on a complete screpedown on my vehicle, and afterward after I left the expressway 93 N in boston,15 minutes later after I stopped at a convenience store, my vehicle would not turn left or right only straight...

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #29

Oct 312005

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 30 miles
Driving down street cut off by semi ran into flashing sign with nowhere else to go. Over half passenger front bumper was crushed radiator smashed, whole front passenger quarter smashed. Car was undriveable but air bags did not go off.

- Twining, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Feb 172014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 89,584 miles
Please note I have been complaining about this vehicle with other problems has bad front end parts.this time it was diagnosed with front end parts that could fall off front gears etc, I had just spent over $1000 on the front end.this vehicle is a piece a junk I want Chevy to fix at their dealer for free here in mass at 617-2433-6025 my phone number. Another one of Chevy bonehead defects. My address is [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 12/9/2014

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #27

Oct 142013

Equinox

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My center bearings were replaced about 3yrs ago thought it was a fluke though I had heard from many people that this was an ongoing problem. Clunking began under my car again so I knew what it was. Took it to the mechanic and the center bearings were broke again and the bearings and the back of the driveshaft also. The rear U joint was also broken. This is ridiculous as well as dangerous. I take good care of my car no running over logs in the woods or things of that nature how can this keep happening unless it is a defect or flaw in design.this time with the clunking my anti lock brakes were going off every time I stopped too.mechanic had a hard time getting the parts to replace apparently everyone needs them but Chevy sees no problem with this.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #26

Jun 152010

Equinox

  • 85,000 miles
Not sure of exact first date clunking sounds under car took it in and the bearings that hold the drive shaft were broken. Mechanic said never saw something like that on a car without any other damage and that when he checked with local dealer was told that it was happening a lot. I reported to Chevy also and yet they said there were no problems.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #25

Sep 292013

Equinox

  • 132,645 miles
This vehicle is a joke, I already put money down on it and have only had it a little over 2 weeks. 5 days it was actually in my possession but not able to drive it much. The rest of the time it was at the car lots mechanic, it dies driving down the road, it is hard to start and sometimes won't start after 10 tries, it is shifting hard and not when it is necessary( down shifting when speeding up) and it has a horrible noise coming from the front driver side which the mechanic can't figure out. Not to mention that the fuel pump will need to be replaced thanks to the fuel gauge not working properly... I feel like I just made a very costly mistake( I still owe 6900 on this vehicle... ) Chevy should be ashamed of this vehicle and should be fixing these problems.

- Anderson, MO, USA

problem #24

Oct 242006

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Problem with sway bar links, replaced twice. Still problem with front end as chewed up tires...replaced struts, steering shaft, brakes front& back. Front end and brake problems... cost me over $3500 to this point, plus head& rear seal gaskets...

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #23

Sep 032012

Equinox

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My remote would not lock the doors. Replaced batteries. It would lock and unlock once. Then nothing. Fuse blown. Replace fuse. Work once, blow fuse. Took to dealer after 3 months of not being able to access my trunk space, you can't open from inside or outside without remote. A wire inside the passenger door had somehow been severed"?? how does that happen. $685 to fix.... next huge issue: Driving down road.. front end gone???" struts, links...$1100 car won't start...have to give it gas, seen a lot of these with no idea what's wrong. Well dealership says its fuel pressure sending unit, bad injectors... grand total to fix $2000.. in what world should a vehicle that does not even 100K miles on it have so many costly fixes......I looked on here to see if anyone else is having the starting issue.. seems to be a lot of people.

- Rochester, NH, USA

problem #22

Jun 212012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Carrier bearing failed on Chevrolet Equinox. This appears to be a widespread problem with 2005 Equinox. This is a potential safety issue that should be recalled and repaired by GM.

- Clarks Summit, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 052012

Equinox

  • miles
Rearend went out driving with my baby daughter in car, no warning whatsoever! just bought 6 months ago now I have a large loan and no car, will not buy another Chevy.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #20

Jan 312012

Equinox

  • miles
Car doesn't start on first attempt. It tries, then even after I release the key it continues to start, like its stuck, I have to pump the gas to get it to start, and it acts flooded. I have spent close to $5000 dollars, brakes, wheel bearings, emergency brake. The front end began to feel very loose. The problem was that the struts prematurely failed and created a very dangerous driving condition. Replaced mounts struts etc etc this car has been a nightmare I bought this car new out of the dealer. 2005 new problem steering wheel is making a grinding noise dealer is saying $1300 to repair it when does it stop GM / Chevy needs to fix this cars at no cost.

- Carrollton , TX, USA

problem #19

Oct 152011

Equinox

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the ABS and traction lights illuminated and when depressing the brakes, the vehicle would exhibit a loud grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised her that they would replace the brakes and a hub bearing failure. The vehicle was later taken to the dealer and they advised the contact that they would replace the hub bearings. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred several months later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they offered no assistance. The manufacturer was later contacted and they also offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 126,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #18

Jan 012009

Equinox

  • 50,000 miles
The carrier bearing is faulty on 2005 equinoxes. Our mechanic told us this is a huge problem because it could cause the car to flip over. The major issue is that to repair the carrier bearing, they have to remove and replace the drive shaft. This has to be sent to Chevrolet, and since it can only be done by them, they have a strong arm on the price. ($1200) it is evident that this is a manufacturing defect because when I began to google 'drive shaft Chevy', it gave me 2005 Equinox as a suggestion. The year was specific in the problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #17

Feb 122010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Car doesn't start on first attempt. It tries, then even after I release the key it continues to start, like its stuck, I have to pump the gas to get it to start, and it acts flooded. ABS and traction control lights on. When I press on the brakes it feels stuck at the top and grinds and pulsates even though my brakes are good. I've had my speed sensors replaced twice, problem still ongoing. I have to push with all my weight for the brakes to "break through" what ever its stuck on and work, then they lock up. That's when the ABS/traction control lights come on, then I know the ABS is not trying to work and my brakes will stop me. I've almost crashed into things too many times.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #16

Jun 242011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
This complaint is in regards to the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. This vehicle was purchased used in August 2009 with roughly 42000 miles from carmax in dulles, va. Since the purchase of this vehicle, I have spent nearly 3000 dollars in repairs as it seems that parts are wearing out or malfunctioning far earlier than typical. At about the 60000 mile mark, all four rotors and brakes needed to be replaced due to the rotors being warped. I was told by the mechanic that this is not common and should not have happened at this type of mileage. Cost for this repair was about $500. Tires have needed to be replaced twice since the purchase of this vehicle; once around 60000 miles due to "uneven wear" which was likely a result of the bad rotors, and again around the 100000 mark also for "uneven wear". this cost $400 on each occasion. At the 80000 mile mark a loud knocking noise was heard coming from the front end, and proceeded to get worse up to the 100000 mile mark. Between those mileage marks, the front end began to feel very loose. The problem was that the struts prematurely failed and created a very dangerous driving condition. The cost for this repair was over $1300 and was repaired on June 27, 2011. After doing a bit of research, I discovered that this is a very prominent and common problem for this year, make, and model. On top of these issues, there is also apparently a problem with the rear end as well that is also creating a knocking. Also, the daytime running lights have begun to flash repeatedly and very quickly at random times as well as turning themselves on and off. The cd player also broke. I feel that this is a very unsafe and unreliable vehicle that should be investigated to determine whether this is truly due to "wear and tear", or if this is a factory fault.

- Front Royal, VA, USA

problem #15

Aug 312010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,635 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. While the contact was driving approximately 55 mph, she heard loud whining grinding noises outside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on the occasions for the same failure and the wheel bearings were replaced each time. The failure continued. Recently, the dealer replaced the drive shaft bearing and the driver side front upper strut mount along with the lower strut insulator, sway bar link and coil spring were replaced. The contact also stated that there was a malfunction within the air bag and engine warning light indicators. The failure mileage as 44,635. Updated 01/19/11 the consumer also stated the vehicle failed emission due to a faulty gas cap. Updated 02/22/11

- Yale, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 012010

Equinox

  • 90,000 miles
2005 Equinox struts went bad, making terrible thumping noise.

- Vanceburg, KY, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?