Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Equinox is plagued by a heating problem, as in the heater only blows cold air.

The reported cause of this problem is a small door, known as the air temperature blend door, which allows air to flow past the heater core. This door has a plastic connecting shaft to an electric motor and the shaft is prone to breaking after a few years. The problem has a typical repair cost of over $800.

The 2006 Equinox also has a number of reported problems ranging from the key getting stuck in the ignition, to failing speed sensors, and trouble starting the engine. All in all, this car sounds like one worth avoiding.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
95,221 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Oct 232013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 87,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped at a stop sign when my vehicle completely shut down, completely. No power to the console or anything else. I couldn't even turn on my hazard lights. I was afraid that someone going to hit me because it was dark.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #13

May 072012

Equinox

  • 76,000 miles
My 2006 Chevy Equinox has now had three separate incidences of spontaneous engine turn over. The first was in may of 2012, next in April 2013, followed by August 2013. On each occasion; the car was parked and locked at the time that it spontaneously started. With each event I had to put the key in the ignition, put the car in reverse, move it a couple feet, followed by shifting to drive and moving forward. It was only then that I was then able return the car to park and turn off the engine. My car is not equipped with a remote starter kit, and never had one in the past. I have no idea why the car started on it's own, and certainly consider this to be a safety issue.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #12

Dec 072011

Equinox

  • 96,000 miles
I have had problems with my brakes grinding not wanting to stop and took to a shop said my brakes were like brand new but yet it doesn't want to stop makes grinding noises. I replaced the starter in my car four times and am still having the same problems sticks when starting or doesn't want to work at all and this was in a two month period. My front drivers seatbelt would not release this has happened several times in the last couple weeks. I have also had problems with bearings had to have them replaced. Also with the steering when driving it has a mind of its own when I change lanes wants to keep going toward the ditch.why isn't any of this being addressed by Chevrolet I bought this car because of no recalls but apparently Chevy doesn't want to fix these issues and it could kill someone !! also have problems when it rains also it doesn't do well at all in rain at all and I have brand new tires on my vehicle.

- Concordia, MO, USA

problem #11

Jan 062012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In January 2012 within the first week of buying our 2006 Equinox, we started having ignition problem. We would try to start it and it would just keep cranking until it would finally start. We took it into the dealership of purchase and they tried replacing several parts but this did not fix the problem. We have had it in at least 6 times for the same issue and finally were told unless it just altogether doesn't start they are not able to locate the problem. It is now July 2013, still have the same problem and now having intermittent problems like, cooling fans won't work, window will not go up or down, radio button on steering wheel choosing when it wants to work, gas mileage is terrible and has been from the start. After researching several web pages about complaints we are now finding out that these problems may get worse!!! also we have also found out that this issue is due to the PCM which has been recalled in the 2005 Equinox and several other Chevrolet products but unfortunately not the 2006!!! according to other accounts, the PCM can affect many other components. Hoping Chevrolet will step up and do the right thing. I have always been a Chevy fan but at this rate I am starting to lean towards Ford as I hear they back their products! what a shame! the sad part is this is our only vehicle at the moment and this repair is not affordable so if a recall doesn't happen soon I'm not sure what we'll do!

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #10

May 132013

Equinox

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle overheated. The contact pulled over to check under the hood and found smoke coming from the engine. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic and was advised that the head gasket had malfunctioned. The contact did not have any repairs performed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 141,000. Mah

- Harrah, WA, USA

problem #9

Apr 162013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 68,759.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #8

Mar 252013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 95,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Spouse driving the vehicle indicated that the temperature gauge on the vehicle had risen quickly while sitting idle at a stop light. The gauge only decreased slightly when the vehicle was in motion. Suspected a thermostat. Took the vehicle to the dealer, they indicated the same. Replaced the thermostat and the problem continued. Tests indicated a blown head gasket. The vehicle had no symptoms of this issue. No loss of coolant. No coolant in the oil. No oil in the coolant. No white smoke from the exhaust. The only indicator was the quickly rising temperature. At that point, no preemptive measures could be taken to fix the problem.

- Smithfield, NC, USA

problem #7

Jun 042012

Equinox

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that after shutting down the vehicle, it failed to restart. The engine was able to be started 90 minutes later. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on numerous occasions but they could not find the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 57,000 and the current mileage was 73,000.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #6

Nov 262012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I was driving my child to school one morning and the heater started blowing out cold air. Some time later, I took my Chevy Equinox to my mechanic. He said it would cost around $1,000 to repair. This was a shock because my mechanic is very reputable; I have used him for years. He never tries to cheat me or any of his other customers. When he quoted me that price, that's when I knew something was seriously wrong with my car. I don't have that kind of money - I'm a single mother of 2 kids and I was laid off from my job a few months ago. I called Chevrolet 3 times and nobody would help me. In the meantime, I did some research to see if any other consumers have experienced this same problem. I found over 600 complaints from other drivers about this exact same issue. I took my car to a mechanic again and was advised that Chevy/GM hasn't issued a recall for this problem (car heater blowing cold air) because it would not be cost-effective for Chevy to fix it. This is a problem that Chevy/GM has known about and, from what I've seen, the problem exists in Chevy Equinox's from all different model years. Not only will I never buy a Chevy again, I am filing a class-action lawsuit against Chevy/GM for failing to issue a recall to fix a known problem. Even if I did have the money, I should not have to pay out of pocket for something that this company knows is a problem.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #5

Feb 112011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Equinox lt I receive the 30 day factory warranty I purchased the extended warranty from Chrysler group llc I purchased the car 2-11-11 before the 30 day warranty went out I took the car in for overheating on Feb 8 got car back on Feb 15, on March 11 took the car again for overheating received car back on March 18, 4-27-11 took the car in because the inspection sticker was 2010, on May 03 took the car in for overheating got car back on May 10, took car on 8-22-11 for the same problem overheating as of today the car has not been looked at. This is the 4th time I took the car to get serviced for the same problem overheating took the car back 3/12 and 5/12 for the same issues and as of today 10/29/12 the same issues I am getting tired of paying the 100 dollar deductible for the same problem. They have replaced the wires, the fans twice and sensors and then the fans it is to many problems that people having with these Equinox and the customers are un happy nothing is getting done about this something need to happen pissed customer I was sold a lemon what about the lemon law in Texas this need to be a recall and give us our money back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #4

Mar 222012

Equinox

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited an intermittent failure where the vehicle refused to start. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer five times and the problem had not been resolved. The contact stated that the fuel pump and the ignition had been replaced, as with other components that were repaired but to no avail. The vehicle was not further serviced and the failure persisted. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 74,000.

- Tekamah, NE, USA

problem #3

Sep 132012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Car was parked and my daughter went to leave to come home and car would not start. We tried to jump it, but it still would not start. I believe it may be a pass lock issue.

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #2

Jul 192012

Equinox

  • 96,500 miles
Bought this piece of [xxx] used in 2011. Amongst other things wrong with it a week after I bought this junk (some weird knocking noise in the rear wheel, sometimes it takes 3-4 times to start the car, etc) started overheating July 2012. They replaced thermostat - $280. Started overheating again - they replaced the radiator!!! two days after picking up from shop, overheating again. Looks like it's the gd head gasket! someone is going to get ripped a new [xxx] tomorrow morning. I don't know to be mad at the dealership or GM or both. I will never buy a Chevy again. Should had learned when I bought a 1996 Beretta brand new years ago - that was a piece of [xxx] also. Traded in my 1996 Nissan Sentra - why didn't I just buy another Nissan?? no wonder they went[xxx] near belly up. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #1

Jan 102010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
My 2006 Equinox initially began having start up issues where the starter would crank and the engine would idle roughly and then die. It would take several attempts to start. Then I figured out if I gave it gas when I started it up it would have a better chance of starting. Sometimes it worked. Then the issue went away for a while and came back with a new issue. The new issue is sometimes the car wouldn't start at all. The starter would click but would not start. It would do this several times and then it would start like nothing was wrong. This happens intermittently. It does not discriminate on location, time of day etc.

- Escondido, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?