Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,562 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Aug 012014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ignition switch key is very difficult to remove and sometimes it takes up to 10 min. To remove the key after turning the ignition switch assembly back and forth. A death or serious injury could occur due to the extreme difficulty in removing the key from the ignition switch.

- Crosby, MS, USA

problem #52

Dec 182013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 57,278 miles
The driver side front window stopped working then months later the switch that tells the BCM the door is open or closed failed and the radio doesn't. shut off and the dome lights don't come on when exiting the vehicle.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #51

Aug 292011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Cannot remove key from ignition. Keys (both keys that were issued with the car) will go into the ignition without a problem, but when trying to remove the keys, they will not come out. You have to turn the car back on, wiggle the steering wheel and take the car out of gear and put back in park, some times several times. You will finally hear a click, like unlocking of the doors and the keys will come out of the ignition. Took to a dealer and they said there was a recall, they worked on the car but it still does the same thing. This has been going on for over 3 years. Some times the problem goes away for weeks at a time and then returns.

- Mountain View, AR, USA

problem #50

Apr 042014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver side window stopped working along with the driver side door lock switch. They both stopped working at the same time.

- Elverson, PA, USA

problem #49

Jul 212014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 75,789 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while parked, the ignition switch failed and an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who stated that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,789. Updated 10/30/14 updated 7/9/2015

- Fulda, MN, USA

problem #48

Apr 012014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the front driver side door would not lock and the window would not open. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the wiring harness was defective. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 09/10/14

- Stuart, VA, USA

problem #47

Feb 102014

Equinox

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ignition key would get stuck in the ignition. The only way I could get it out would be to repeatadly shift from park to drive or reverse until the key was released. I took it to my local Chevy dealer for repair. It cost $544 to get it fixed. I have heard of others having the same issue.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #46

Aug 012012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Key sticks in ignition when entered into park, and will not come out most of the time. The only way to release the key is to stick finger into a hole in the steering column and slide the manual release switch within the steering wheel column. There are no obstructions which prevent the gear shift lever from entering the full park position.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #45

May 282014

Equinox

  • 84 miles
When I put my vehicle in park and try to turn off my car, the key gets stuck in the ignition more often than not. I then have to turn it on, back up, pull forward, and turn it off again to see if it will let me take the key out. Sometimes I have to do this 5-6 times!

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #44

Jul 022007

Equinox

  • 1,500 miles
The speedometer stopped working, the passenger air bags on and off light was going on then off now not working at all the power searing went out and then back working after the dealer tried to charge my wife 800 plus for parts not needed all this has been going on sense she first bout it off the dealer lot but they refused to resolve the electrical problems they replaced the speed odometer and even noted it in there paper work that there was body electrical ` problems with this Equinox and yet still refuse to ether fix it or replace the car with a equal value all these problems was going on before the warranty ever ran out and we have now been fighting with the dealers and GM over this now for over 7 years it even had the key switch that wont work some times and sometimes it will lock up and cut off when going down the road its done this twice now in the past year I don't feel like I nor my wife [xxx] should pay to fix problems on this car due to the fact that it has all been happening since we bout the car new with less than a 100 miles on this car the dealers keep saying they cant make any codes come up but yet when we go in to them we show them what's going on with it scene it was new im sick of them lieing to us and not fixing there problems they know that are wrong with this truck if they new it had electrical problems with the truck when they did the work on the truck when it was new why didn't they fix it instead of lieing and covering up it and lieing to my wife iv had to take off from my work now for a week fighting these people and im sick of it and still have to pay more money out off my pocket over all this isn't far when we have the paper work from them stating it has electrical problems from day one.

- Appomattox, VA, USA

problem #43

Mar 052012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The key will not release from the ignition when the car is in park and turned off. This happens about one out of every five times the car parks. I normally have to wait about 1 minute for the key to release. Sometimes, it will still not release and I have to turn the car back on, put it in reverse and go a couple feet, then drive forward a couple feet, put it in park for the key to release. I may have to do this 3-4 times before, the key will finally release.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #42

Oct 212011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Sometimes when you park the keys will not come out of the ignition. You have to keep starting the vehicle, turning the steering wheel back and forth, or slamming the shifter into park it happens about 12 times per week! also the trac control light will pop on and then heal on its own, stay off as long as a 16 months then go back on for a week or two then back off! weird.

- Viera, FL, USA

problem #41

Mar 032010

Equinox

  • 91,000 miles
I have owned this vehicle since 2009 and have had multiple issues, recurring frequently. The 2 main concerns are stuck key in ignition and stabilitrack and electrical malfunctions. There is a definite issue with the ignition in these vehicles, not only does my key get stuck, it has also been knocked out when hitting a bump. I own a cobalt too that has been recalled and my Equinox has the same issues with ignition this is dangerous and frustrating!! in addition, my stabilitrack has been serviced twice since I have owned. The electrical system goes crazy and lights up with airbag service, stabilitrack service and ABS brake warnings. I just spent 600 on brakes and rotors and it still lights up. The car has been checked and none of these warnings are accurate. These lights come on and off randomly and have for years. The fuel gauge will rotate backwards. The oil indicator that tracks oil life resets itself at random. I am angry! these issues need addressed. Are we not taken seriously because no one died" there are multiple complaints of the same nature as mine and yet no recall" sad that action is taken only after someone is killed! GM needs to do right by people who spend their hard earned money to purchase these vehicles. I have always been pro Chevy but not anymore. Their customer service and quality sucks.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #40

Jun 102014

Equinox

  • 91,000 miles
On two occasions the power steering has gone out while I started my car. Each time this occurred I was unable to steer the vehicle. It was very dangerous to drive as it was very difficult to make right and left hand turns.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #39

May 152012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
When I turn the vehicle off, the ignition key stays stuck. Even if I turn it back and forth it does not come out, I have to wait about two minutes before I can take it out. Sometimes, if I move the key extremely fast, I am able to take it out on the first try. I have seen this complaint on this vehicle before but there is still no recall.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #38

May 272014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 84,800 miles
When turning off the vehicle the key will not release from the ignition and can not be removed. After about 30 seconds you can hear a click and then the key will release and can be removed, but until you hear the click it can not be removed from the ignition.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #37

Sep 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle had a major fuel leak. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). Also, the contact mentioned that the instrument panel failed intermittently on numerous occasions and multiple warning lights illuminated. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V489000 (visibility). In addition, the contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminate for an extended period of time and it was not confirmed by the local dealer if the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 07V520000 (air bags) and 07V344000 (air bags). The vehicle was to be further inspected in order to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,500. Updated 08/28/14 updated 09/4/2014 the consumer stated the vehicle was repeatedly taken to the dealer, due to loss of power. The vehicle would not accelerate, the engine began jerking and the engine light constantly stayed on. The transmission was slipping, also. Updated 10/15/14.

- Gulf Port, MS, USA

problem #36

Apr 042012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the key would sporadically become stuck inside the ignition switch and could not be removed. The contact indicated that when the defect occurred, the engine could not be turned off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the ignition switch was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 12/22/14 updated 01/27/15

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #35

Dec 012011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
After vehicle is turned off. The key cannot be removed out of the ignition. I have been dealing with this issue for years! in order to pull the key out. You must either turn the vehicle on then turn it back off several times before finally the ignition allows you to remove the key. The other way it allows you to pull out the key is by turning the key without turning the vehicle on then moving the gears from park to reverse then back to park. It just continues to get worse and worse. It is a huge concern to me because I am afraid that I would be unable to pull out the key out of the ignition. I took it to the dealer and they said it seems to be a common issue.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #34

Feb 082014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
The ignition will not release the key. I have tried the shifter, sit and wait in my car to see if it will release with time, step on the brake for a long time then try to take the key off and hope it will release the key. I can't keep sitting in my car waiting for a miracle to happen when I need to log in to work and am stuck in the car because the key won't come out of the ignition. This should be recalled. With AZ weather being so hot sitting in the car waiting for the release of the key is making it hot to breathe. Don't want to roll down the windows because I need the key in to get the windows back up. Something needs to be done about this problem. This has gone on for several months I need something done about this. This is dangerous.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?