Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

May 012014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 28,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the morning of May 1, 2014, I went to the parking lot to get the Equinox to buy some groceries. When I was opening the door, I smelled gasoline. So I looked under the Equinox and saw a big wet spot under the fuel tank. I immediately brought the Equinox to an auto repair shop. It was found out that the fuel pump was leaking. So I bought a new fuel pump and the repair was finished on May 3, 2014. I would like to mention that on June 18, 2013, I brought the Equinox to the charles clark Chevrolet for inspection after I received a recall letter from General Motors for the fuel pump that would like. After the inspection of the fuel tank and fuel pump, the dealer declared no leaks and found all within specs. I was misled because the fuel pump leaked. Being recalled, the dealer should have changed the fuel pump leaking or not and I would not have spent for the repair. I immediately filed reimbursement from the dealer and I was told that my claim was forwarded to General Motors. Until now (8/22/14) I have not received any refund. Updated 03/04/15.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #24

Jan 012014

Equinox

  • 80,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact smelled fuel outside the vehicle upon starting the ignition and the check engine indicator remained illuminated. An independent mechanic stated that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Lake Providence, LA, USA

problem #23

Jul 232013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
Several heat waves in ct causing crack in fuel pump module. Not on recall list per GM however should be for any safety issue such as this. Smelled strong gas odor after driving home from work. Towed to dealer following morning -- afraid to drive, only to be told that the fuel pump module needed replacing. Definitely a gas leak. Not covered by recall like other states. Huge cost to fix.

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #22

Apr 182013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 27,667 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that there were fuel fumes inside the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or a repair shop for diagnostic testing. The contact inspected the vehicle and found a leak, as well as corrosion on the fuel pump. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered to pay for the repair if the contact had a diagnostic performed at dealer. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline: Fuel pump module may crack), however the manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The failure and current mileage was 27,667. Updated 07/23/13

- Sugar Hill, GA, USA

problem #21

Mar 012013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to defective fuel pump module recall notice. When the consumer contacted the dealer, he was informed, the replacement parts were not available.

- Placentia, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Jan 252013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 48,977 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while the vehicle being serviced, the mechanic noticed that there was a fuel leak. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and the current mileage was 48,000. Updated 03/13/13 updated 04/23/2013

- Destin , FL, USA

problem #19

Jan 022013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,907 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that there was a strong odor of fuel inside and outside of the vehicle but there were no signs of a leak. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 55,907. Updated 03/26/13

- Wilmer, AL, USA

problem #18

Oct 012012

Equinox

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to fuel pump problems. The consumer stated GM did refused to acknowledge, there was a problem with her vehicle, in which a recall had been issued for her models as well as others. The consumer stated she [ay for the repairs prior to learning about the recall. The consumer stated GM did refused to acknowledge, there was a problem with her vehicle, in which a recall had been issued for her models as well as others. The consumer stated she [ay for the repairs prior to learning about the recall. However, GM informed the consumer, her vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 012013

Equinox

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to cracked plastic parts connected to fuel pump recall notice. The consumer stated he read about a recall several months ago, for the Chevrolet Equinox, and has not received a notice from General Motors.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 252012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 77,227 miles
Noticed a strong smell of gas coming from the vehicle when parked. Had to move it out of garage as smell was extremely strong. Took car in for service 8/25/12, found that the plastic part of the fuel pump was cracked and cost approximately $909 to repair. Find out there is a recall for this very same issue (NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000), as well a corresponding recall for same issue on select Suzuki XL7 (NHTSA campaign id number:12V597000). I contacted GM customer assistance by phone (800-243-8872) to find out if my vehicle was covered, was told no, only because it was not originally titled in one of the following states "originally sold or currently registered in Arizona, California, Nevada, and Texas". was told by GM customer assistance that they would contact me if it was decided that my vehicle would be covered. I have not heard anything from them, I can provide a case # upon request. What difference does it make where the car was titled, did not my vehicle come down the same assembly line. So in effect because my car is not covered it is ok that the fuel pump cracked, and had it caught or caused a fire that would be ok as well. Would like some assistance to get GM to acknowledge that this is the same issue, not penalize me because I live in Ohio and reimburse me the cost for the repair $909.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #15

Oct 082012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 73,755 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Began smelling strong fuel smell on passenger side of vehicle. Took vehicle in for service and was informed the fuel feed line was cracked and had caused a fuel leak. Fuel pump assembly had to be replaced. Chevrolet Equinox 2007 models have a current recall (id 12V459000) that was issued in September 2012 for this exact issue; however the recall doesn't include Georgia. The manufacturer would not cover the cost of this repair under the recall even though they confirmed that it was the same issue. This is a safety concern and the recall should be expanded to all states. This is a costly repair and should be covered since it is an obvious defect that they have already claimed responsibility for in other states.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #14

Aug 232012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to fuel pump leak recall. The consumer stated after discovering the fuel pump was recalled, she called GMC, but was informed her vehicle identification number was not included in the recall. The consumer was not satisfied with the response, as the fuel pump was replaced on August 23, 2012 for a serious fuel leak. Earlier in the year, the evap purge valve/emission system and fuel cap were replaced. The consumer has since received a letter from GM, which stated her vehicle is now included in the recall. However, the parts were not available. Updated 02/13/13

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Aug 132012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 112,227 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that there was an abnormally offensive odor of gasoline being emitted from the vehicle. The contact located a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) and took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The dealer diagnosed that the fuel pump was fractured and would require replacement. The vehicle was repaired a T the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 112,227 and the current mileage was 117,085. Updated 12/19/12

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 252012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. While parked, the contact smelled gasoline fuel coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician advised that there was a fracture in the fuel pump module, which needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 15,400...updated 12/05/12 updated 12/07/2012 status update 01/24/13

- Winter Haven , FM, USA

problem #11

Sep 142012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
I had been smelling a strong odor of gas so I took it to my mechanic to have a diagnosis of the problem, he said that there was a leak in the top of the gas tank and I should get a hold of GM to see what type of recall there was on this problem. So when I got home I checked on line and found there was a recall #12V45900, so I got a hold of GM and talked to customer rep. [xxx] telling her the problem I was having she said that she would have to have another person contact me, so [xxx] called me, I again told her the problem and she said I would have to take it to a Chevrolet dealership for a diagnosis, I told here I had already had one done but she said I had to have one done at the dealership, so with her on the line she called reliable Chevrolet and we set me a appointment for October 17th @ 8am. So on October 17th I took my Equinox to the dealership and they ran there diagnosis and told me the same thing I had already told them, also charging me $98.55 for that information, they also told me they would need to remove the gas tank to check further and that would take about 4 hrs @ $98.55 per hr, I told them I could not afford to have that done and I would contact GM as soon as I got home, they also said I shouldn't be driving it cause it was dangerous. [xxx] contacted me back the next day and said there was nothing GM could do for me even though they know there is a problem but because the recall has not been published they cant help me. She also told me I could have it repaired myself and when they published the recall I could get reimbursed. I told her I work a minimum wage job and could not afford that. I again ask her if they know there is a problem why not fix it and again she said that the recall has not been published and there was nothing they would do for me. All I am asking is to get my Equinox fixed and no longer have a gas smell.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #10

Nov 042012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that he noticed the smell of gasoline fuel while the vehicle was parked in his driveway. Upon further inspection, he discovered that gasoline fuel was leaking down the side of the fuel tank. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) and contacted the dealer. The dealer advised the contact that his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 50,400. Updated 12/14/12

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 182012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Started smelling gas in the garage, though it was lawn mower, removed it, still smelled, progressively got worse, smelled around gas tank, and caused me headaches and started coming into the house. Car also started having problems turning over (probably due to gas not getting to engine so well). Started parking outside and checking your site for recall since I heard one was out there for 2007 Equinox, but it ended up my VIN # and state are not included. I contacted GM and they set up appt. On 10/29/12 to evaluate and I took it in to find out it was the exact issue on NHTSA camp. #12V459000 listed on this site - which was a cracked fuel pump module. GM contacted local Chevy dealer farrell cheverolet and they worked out a 50% discount on the repair. I told the lady at GM that I would also issue this complaint so that all Equinox vehicles in 2007 might get included in this recall, since I am not the only one having this problem and possibly I could get the rest of my charges returned if included. This is definitely a safety issue and could have turned out worse if my house burned down or something.

- Boiling Springs, SC, USA

problem #8

Sep 102012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle was leaking fuel. The contact later discovered that the fuel pump module was leaking. The contact spoke to the manufacturer regarding NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) but was advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 98,000 and the current mileage is 100,400 updated 12/7/12 updated 12/17/12

- Austin, CO, USA

problem #7

Sep 072012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated she smelled gasoline near the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the fuel pump module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The failure mileage was 80,000......updated 01/14/13 updated 1/15/2013

- Dandridge, TN, USA

problem #6

Aug 302012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel and she began to smell a gasoline odor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that her vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 11/1/12 updated 11/08/12

- Lebanon, TN, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?