10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,076 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Jul 022007

Equinox

  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The speedometer stopped working, the passenger air bags on and off light was going on then off now not working at all the power searing went out and then back working after the dealer tried to charge my wife 800 plus for parts not needed all this has been going on sense she first bout it off the dealer lot but they refused to resolve the electrical problems they replaced the speed odometer and even noted it in there paper work that there was body electrical ` problems with this Equinox and yet still refuse to ether fix it or replace the car with a equal value all these problems was going on before the warranty ever ran out and we have now been fighting with the dealers and GM over this now for over 7 years it even had the key switch that wont work some times and sometimes it will lock up and cut off when going down the road its done this twice now in the past year I don't feel like I nor my wife [xxx] should pay to fix problems on this car due to the fact that it has all been happening since we bout the car new with less than a 100 miles on this car the dealers keep saying they cant make any codes come up but yet when we go in to them we show them what's going on with it scene it was new im sick of them lieing to us and not fixing there problems they know that are wrong with this truck if they new it had electrical problems with the truck when they did the work on the truck when it was new why didn't they fix it instead of lieing and covering up it and lieing to my wife iv had to take off from my work now for a week fighting these people and im sick of it and still have to pay more money out off my pocket over all this isn't far when we have the paper work from them stating it has electrical problems from day one.

- Appomattox, VA, USA

problem #36

Jun 152013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I purchased this unit in 2010. This is related to the front passenger seat. The signal of the airbag appears off even if there is a passenger seated. This started to happen in 2013. I took it for a diagnostic at a dealer and they said it was a faulty sensor. Very expensive repair. There is a recall for this situation but when I gave my VIN # it appears my vehicle is not included (NHTSA campaign #07V344000).

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #35

Mar 052014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning lamp illuminated, indicating that the passenger seat was not occupied. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 07V344000 (air bags) however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. Both refused to provide any assistance since the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000...updated 08/11/14 updated 8/20/2014

- Diamond, OH, USA

problem #34

Sep 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle had a major fuel leak. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). Also, the contact mentioned that the instrument panel failed intermittently on numerous occasions and multiple warning lights illuminated. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V489000 (visibility). In addition, the contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminate for an extended period of time and it was not confirmed by the local dealer if the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 07V520000 (air bags) and 07V344000 (air bags). The vehicle was to be further inspected in order to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,500. Updated 08/28/14 updated 09/4/2014 the consumer stated the vehicle was repeatedly taken to the dealer, due to loss of power. The vehicle would not accelerate, the engine began jerking and the engine light constantly stayed on. The transmission was slipping, also. Updated 10/15/14.

- Gulf Port, MS, USA

problem #33

Mar 012014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The ignition locked up. It continues to jam up sometimes at unpredictable times. On this morning the signal for service air bag lit up. I continued driving and after a few minutes it turned off. I took the vehicle into my local dealer ([xxx]) on March 11, 2014, where I was informed the air bag may not function if I am in an accident. The service air bag light has continued to light up more frequently. Presently it turns on almost every day or every 2 days. Concerned the air bag will not work when it is needed. I realize that as the owner of the vehicle I am responsible for the maintenance of the car on parts that are used and worn, but in this case, the malfunction of an integral part of the vehicle associated to the safety and performance of the vehicle should be a standard functioning part that should work throughout the life of the vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Denton, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #32

Oct 142009

Equinox

  • 23,500 miles
Passenger side seat airbag sometimes does not come on. Can't seem to find the problem. Kind of a nerve racking situation. Steering column does not lock when the vehicle is shut off and the key removed. Not a good feeling with all that is going on with GM ignition switch problems.

- Lake, MI, USA

problem #31

Mar 012011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When a passenger is in the seat the air bag is off a lot of the time just like GM recall #07174 NHTSA id # 07V344000. Back when it started dealer said it would be hard to find the problem now they say there is no current recall on this car.

- Bedford, PA, USA

problem #30

Dec 172013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator reed on behalf of constituent re 2007 Equinox recalls and outstanding reimbursement issues. The consumer was informed recall 12V459000, did not apply to his vehicle identification number, and he would not be reimbursed for recall# 07V344000, even though he supplied documentation, he paid for the repairs.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #29

Sep 062013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Whenever the front passenger seat is occupied, the driver should always check the airbag indicator to see if the airbag is on or off. If it is not correct for the situation, the passenger should be moved to a different seat. This can increase the risk of injury to a seat occupant during certain crash conditions. NHTSA campaign id number: 07V344000 my front passenger airbag says that it is turned off even when I am sitting in passanger seat, this has gone on for several months now. It says "service air bag soon" I did some research on the vehicle and problem and it says that this is a recall on the Chevy Equinox. I call Chevrolet and they said that my VIN does not match any current recalls. Thank you

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #28

Jul 172013

Equinox

  • 7,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox lt. The contact stated that his vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 07V344000 (air bags). The contact stated that he experienced the same failure described in the recall. The dealer was notified of the failure; however, the manufacturer was not. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000 miles.

- Rio Rico, AZ, USA

problem #27

Dec 042013

Equinox

  • 57,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential driveway, the passenger's side air bag light turned off. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 57,500.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #26

Dec 012013

Equinox

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact was sitting at a traffic stop when another vehicle crashed into his rear. The impact abruptly pushed the contact's vehicle forward, causing him to crash into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained minor neck and back injuries, the rear driver's side passenger sustained facial lacerations from the shattered rear window and the driver of the second vehicle sustained minor injuries to the neck. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Branson, MO, USA

problem #25

Sep 032013

Equinox

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the while driving 25 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the passenger's side air bag module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Parkhill, PA, USA

problem #24

May 172011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
About 2 years ago I took my car into the local Chevy dealership and had the sensor changed for the passenger air bag. A few weeks after they changed the sensor the problem returned. It would not turn the air bag on even when a full grown adult was sitting in the seat. It didn't happen all of the time so when I took it back to the dealer and the said they couldn't replicate the problem. After taking it back about 4 times and them never being able to duplicate the problem I quit taking it in. Luckily the first time it was fixed my vehicle was still under the extended warranty. (thank god I bought that! I've sure used it!) now this year, the passenger air bag won't turn on at all even with my 200lb boyfriend sitting there. The only thing that happens is the service air bag light comes on the dashboard. I've taken it back to the dealership and they've duplicated the problem and want me to pay $600 to get it fixed. I don't feel that the same thing should have to be fixed twice in just 2-3years. Especially since it's not a maintenance problem. There is obviously something wrong with the sensor.

- Rochester, IN, USA

problem #23

Mar 102013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 44,755 miles
The passenger air bag light on the dashboard went from an "on" to "off" status while the vehicle was in drive with an adult passenger aboard and the seatbelt fastened. We had the vehicle at the dealer, bob fisher Chevrolet, reading, pa, for an inspection and oil change - and also reported this instance. My wife was called and told there was no recall effecting our VIN. Also that it would not react as described "at that time". reference GM notice #07174 dated Aug 22, 2007. The dealer stated that as our VIN was not in the "range recalled" that they would not be able to properly fix the problem as GM would not reimburse them. So, what does constitute GM's and the dealers responsibilities when there is some sort of obvious safety problem?

- Blandon, PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 072012

Equinox

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning lamp failed to illuminate despite the fact that the passenger's seat was occupied. Also, the contact stated that the fuel gauge would often surpass the full or empty mark erroneously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the air bag module and instrument panel needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was 88,000.

- King , NC, USA

problem #21

Dec 012012

Equinox

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the front passenger seat was built with a sensor system for the air bags however, there was an error in the calibration of the sensor, which caused the sensor to fail. As a result, the air bags would not shut off when a small child or small statured person was occupying the passenger's seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who refused to diagnose the vehicle because the vehicle was not purchased at that particular dealer. The contact was informed of a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign number: 07V344000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 82,000.

- Lamesa, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 142012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 52,789 miles
Vehicle computer says, "service air bag soon". air bag light comes on even when it is occupied by an adult. When the vehicle is started it says the passenger air bag is off even with an adult passenger. The airbag turns off randomly for the passenger side.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #19

May 052008

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 24,283 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact started the ignition and the front passenger side air bag warning indicator began to illuminate continuously. The passenger seat was occupied at the time of the failure. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred when the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer seven times for the failure. The technician was unable to duplicate the problem.the contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 07V344000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module) but was advised that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 24,283. Updated 12/21/12 updated 1/9/2013

- Windham, OH, USA

problem #18

Sep 132012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
I've had my Equinox for about 5 years now. The service air bag light came on and constantly been on for the past several weeks. Took it to the dealership and said it would cost about $850 to replace the passenger presence sensor. Had them run a report to change for open campaigns or recalls and there wasn't one for my car. But, with all the complaints I've read online, I strongly believe a recall needs to done. The light did come on intermittently since I bought in May 2007 but I thought it was a loose fuse. Ridiculous!

- Shiprock, NM, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?