If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,335 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments

problem #4

Nov 222008

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 22,039 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that when a passenger is seated in the front passenger seat, the air bag indicator illuminates repeatedly. She stated that there has to be a weight limit in order for the indicator to dim. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V344000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 22,039 and current mileage was 22,070. Updated 3/12/09 the traction control activated on dry pavement. It made steering the vehicle next to impossible. The headlights had to be replaced. The all wheel light illuminated. Updated 03/16/09.

- Cook, MN, USA

problem #3

Jan 192008

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Too many times to count the passenger air bag sensors have not detected various passengers in this 07 Equinox. Brought it to dealership 2 times including once when sensors were replaced, have complained via phone numerous times & told they couldn't fix it. Called GM hotline 02/13/08 & opened a new complaint case based on this & 2 other "unfixable" problems. They requested 1 more chance & truck was brought in 02/25/08. 02/26/08 GM rep called & told me the dealership looked at it & involved GM engineers & that there was no fix & he needed to call the field mgr to authorize a resolution since truck could not be returned due to safety liabilities. 02/29/08 still no return call to GM from field manager. GM states to stay in rental vehicle since truck is a safety liability & should not be driven. 03/05/08 GM rep states that, although he does not agree, the field mgr stated that when a passenger is present they need to watch for the "air bag off" light to be illuminated & the passenger needs to wiggle around and move until it goes out. She mandated that we return the rental car immediately as GM would not pay for it & we needed to retrieve our truck since it was working as designed. Unbelieving that this would actually be GM's stance especially when they have a voluntary recall out on this exact issue in this vehicle (GM recall 07174) I asked him to confirm that he was telling me to pick up the truck they had been telling me was unsafe for passengers knowing that there would be a need for passengers in the vehicle, he said that wasn't his decision & there was nothing more he could do. I have numerous pictures of the "air bag off" light illuminated with someone clearly in the passenger seat, dated notes documenting all contact with GM on this issue & full records of the previous repair attempts since last year. It's my belief that not only is GM recall 07174 more widespread than they are admitting but I also don't believe they can definitively fix it.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #2

Nov 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The airbag off light would illuminate with an average sized adult seated in the front passenger seat. The dealer stated that the sensors were working correctly. There is a recall for the air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module (NHTSA campaign id # 07V344000) however, the dealer stated that his VIN was not included. The contact felt that his vehicle should be included as part of the recall. The failure mileage was 6,000 and current mileage was 7,100. Updated02-14-08 updated 02/14/08

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #1

Jun 152007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The air bag off indicator light fails to illuminate when a passenger is seated. The dealer stated that the vehicle does not operate due to bone structure. The current mileage is 6,500 and failure mileage was 6,300. The consumer stated after 2 attempts to have the vehicle repaired she is concerned this is a major malfunction and life threatening defect and wants to reimbursed for the vehicle purchase to repurchase a different vehicle. The dealer stated traction control light comes on and the cupholder in console is broken. Updated 09/05/07

- Crowley , TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?