Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,614 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Nov 072016

Equinox

  • 144,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the instrument panel, defroster, and heat malfunctioned intermittently on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the control panel needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 144,450.

- Salem, IN, USA

problem #29

Nov 012016

Equinox

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving at any speed, the air conditioner remained in use. The issue caused the heater and defroster not to work, which caused a visibility issue while driving. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed that the control panel had to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V489000 (visibility). The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 144,000.

- Salem, IN, USA

problem #28

Sep 072016

Equinox

  • 89,970 miles
Takata recall. I was driving on the freeway in pouring rain and the I turned the wipers to go faster as the rain came down harder while driving at least 40mph on the freeway. At this time I had to hurry and try to get to a safe spot which was hard to get to as the visibility was very hard to see.

- Menomonee Falls, WI, USA

problem #27

May 292016

Equinox

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The windshield wiper transmission failed causing both wipers to stop while driving during a rainstorm, nearly causing a crash. This is the same part being recalled on 2013 models, and the dealer would assume no responsibility

- Mount Clemens, MI, USA

problem #26

Aug 202016

Equinox

  • 98,528 miles
On 8/20/2016 I was driving on a busy interstate in pouring rain with my windshield wipers on high when the wipers went left and stopped. This left me in a very dangerous situation. I pulled onto the shoulder to wait for the rain to let up so I could re-position the wipers. I tried to use them again but they still did not work. I pulled back on to the interstate, parked under an overpass, and called for someone to bring a replacement fuse. This did not work either. Based on research into this issue, it appears the wiper transmission failed. From the number of complaints I found, this seems to be a well known issue. Without a doubt, it is a critical safety issue! this issue should be turned into a recall as soon as possible.

- Independence, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Jul 292016

Equinox

  • 90,430 miles
While driving on the freeway in hard rainstorm, the windshield wipers became inoperable. This caused a near complete loss of forward vision. Was able to guide vehicle to side of the road. Rain was such that only guidance by white/yellow stripes was possible; any object forward of car could not be seen through rain on windshield. Wipers were movable by hand, and motor was audibly operational; a linkage internal to the car had failed.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #24

Jun 052016

Equinox

  • 64,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6-5-2016 while traveling on the pa turnpike during a rain storm the vehicles wipers were at first operating properly. Vehicle was traveling in the right lane in a several mile construction zone with no berm and concrete barriers on both sides, rain suddenly picked up to a torrential level. When wipers were turned up to maximum speed the drivers side wiper immediately went beyond the window roof pillar and both wipers froze in place. Driver found it impossible to see out the front window or accurately determine where he was on the road other than to guess by distance from the left barrier. Traffic was very heavy with trailer trucks passing on left extremely close. Emergency flashers were activated and speed dropped to a crawl with fear of a chain reaction accident from rear. Passenger leaned out right side window and gave guidance to driver as to distance from right side barrier and directional adjustments until vehicle finally reached an emergency pull off area. Vehicle was parked until rain subsided to the point that visibility became good enough to safely continue at a slower but safe highway speed. This will be the last GM vehicle I will ever own. Only a miracle prevented this from becoming a multiple fatality multiple vehicle accident. This was a well maintained vehicle with only 64.000 miles. Only 2 days earlier on the outbound leg of this same journey the coil on the #3 cylinder failed on I80 in rural pa. Vehicle had to be nursed along on 3 cylinders for approx. 60 miles until a Chevrolet dealer could be reached who thankfully was able to diagnose and fix the problem. Never previously have I encountered a road trip problem with any other vehicle I ever owned. We feel extremely blessed to have survived this terrifying experience.

- Poland, OH, USA

problem #23

Apr 232016

Equinox

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 60 mph, the windshield wipers became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the wiper transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000. Updated 07/14/16

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #22

Feb 092016

Equinox

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the heating and air conditioning actuator rod fractured. The failure caused the windshield defrost function and vehicle air vent function to become inoperable. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 119,000.

- Harrison Township, PA, USA

problem #21

Feb 072015

Equinox

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the defrost system failed to operate when activated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V489000 (visibility). The failure mileage was 109,000. The VIN was not available.

- Colcord, OK, USA

problem #20

Oct 192015

Equinox

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that when driving or warming up the vehicle, the center instrument control panel lights flickered. The contact stated that the defroster failed. The contact resides in a cold climate state and was concerned for their safety. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the there was a plug in the system that needed to be flushed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V489000 (visibility). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #19

Aug 082015

Equinox

  • 85,000 miles
Wipers stopped working, but can still hear wiper motor. After 10 minutes I found many people have to same problem. GM needs to recall these vehicles. Too many problem on GM vehicles have been burdened upon the owners. Electrical, powertrain, wipers, transmissions, etc... I have had to lay out over $5000 in the past 3 years alone due to very poor quality and design of GM transmissions on one Chevrolet and over 130 hours of diagnosing electrical problems on another Chevrolet. I have owned 17 Chevrolet and Pontiac over the past 47 years (1963 -2010) and never had problems with any of them like this until the last 13 years. No wonder GM killed of Oldsmobile and Pontiac (bad mistake). If GM cared for their customers and the quality of the product they produced they would not have lost so much business to Ford and Toyota.

- Nokesville , VA, USA

problem #18

May 202015

Equinox

  • 108,000 miles
Wipers stopped working while driving in a rainstorm

- Cottontown, TN, USA

problem #17

Dec 152014

Equinox

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the A/C and the heater failed to operate. In addition, when restarting the vehicle, there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V489000 (visibility). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #16

Oct 062014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The vehicle had been operating in heavy raid for four (4) hours. At approximately 6:00 pm cst in a construction zone on I-90 the wipers canted off of the driver's side of the windshield resting on the driver side view mirror. The wipers could only be manually moved back to the windshield. A check of the fuse showed it to be intact. Wiper motor assembly can be heard to 'hum' when wipers are engaged, but wipers do not move.

- Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #15

Sep 042014

Equinox

  • miles
Defrost not working and instrument panel fades or completely goes out... I went to my local heritage Chevrolet dealer in chester va. 23831.. I was told there was not a recall on my vehicle... but they would hook it up and do a test to determine the problem... at the cost of $170.. I told them my vehicle was on the recall for the visibility #09V489000 software instrument panel/ FMVSS 103 & 101.. I told them forget it I should not have to pay for a recall and left....

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #14

Jul 092014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving during inclement weather, the windshield wipers seized. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 63,000. Updated 9/19/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired at the expense of the owner. Updated 2/12/2015

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 032014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
While driving on interstate 290 (NY), a heavy rainfall started. Driver put wipers to high speed and wipers stopped functioning. Wipers were at the end of the wipe sweep. Driver was able, due to the prior use of "rain-X" to see to exit the road. Wipers did not regain functionality, after vehicle was stopped and wipers were attempted to be used again. Driver is concerned about the safety of this vehicle.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 182014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Passenger side, top blend door actuator stuck at cooling position preventing the defrost to work. I could not see and almost had a wreck. Estimated repair cost is $600 as you have to take the whole dash apart to get to the actuator. I think this part should be recalled as there are thousands of defective GMC Equinox and terrain actuator issues on the web. If you can see out the window as the defrost is stuck on cool you could have a wreck. This is a safety issue.

- Papillion, NE, USA

problem #11

Mar 012014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Good afternoon. I purchased a 2010 Chevy Equinox on January 7th, 2014. The defroster and the vents are not working. The defroster delays or does not come on at all. I researched recalls on the Chevy Equinox and found that my problems are the same problems that fall under the 09298 recall which states: "brief description of defect mfg. Campaign no. 090298 " computer module/FMVSS 101 & 103. Dom: 2/09-11/09. Vehicles fail to meet FMVSS 101 and FMVSS 103. Software in center instrument panel can cause heating, air conditioning, defrost, and radio controls, as well as panel illumination to become inoperative. Driving without functioning defrost system can decrease visibility and could result in crash without warning. Correct by replacing computer module in center instrument panel" my VIN was not included in that recall, but it is the exact problem I am having. The computer module is bad. Would you happen to know if there is a way to get this car fixed under the warranty" I believe my VIN should be included, but no one at Chevrolet will help me without charging me a huge amount of money. I wouldn't mind if the vents weren't working, but the defroster needs to work and it isn't a wear and tear issue. I just thought I would reach out to you to see if you might have a better solution then the run around I am getting from GM. If you could be contact me, I would really appreciate it! I hope you have a good day! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Addison, IL, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?