Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,396 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Feb 172016


  • 78,000 miles


The transmission failed in our 2010 Chevrolet Equinox with roughly 78K mile on it. We originally bought the car brand new in fall of 2009. My wife was driving it near a school when the car lunged forward. She came to a stop sign and then tried to accelerate, but the car didn't go anywhere as the engine just revved like it was in neutral. We had it towed to the dealership. The dealer stated it would need a new transmission which would cost $4,150. Called GM who stated the most the most cost assistance they could provide was $1546 which is based off a calculator they use since the powertrain warranty was expired. The senior advisor for GM that I spoke with stated the transmission shouldn't have failed, but that they couldn't replace the transmission for free since there was no open recall yet for the transmission. I researched google and found many other complaints from vehicle owners of the same make and model regarding their transmission failing also. I then discovered that the 2008 and 2009 models had the exact same transmission as our 2010 model. I read that GM had issued a recall and extended a warranty in March 2015 for the 2008 and 2009 models due to the transmission problems. No recall or extended warranty has been issued yet for the 2010 model. Very disappointed that GM hasn't issued a recall yet for 2010 model when knowing that the same transmission in the 2010 model is having the same exact problems as the 2008 and 2009 models.

- Litchfield, IL, USA

problem #49

Feb 202016


  • 114,200 miles
Exited freeway on flyover, accelerating from 20-25mph on the downgrade to other freeway noticed that while speed had increased to 45-50mph, RPM's were high. Immediately pulled over, shifted to P, idled normal. Merged back in, again got high rpms, turned on hazard flashers, took off-ramp. Shifted to manual, gear indicator showed '2' and would not manually upshift to '3'. pulled over, turned off car, waited 30 secs, restarted. Cautiously got back on frontage road, drove for 1 mile in 'd' at 30mph, seemed ok, got back on highway, gently accelerating up to 65mph. Drove the next 6 miles on highway, exited for neighborhood. Drove down primary boulevard at 35mph for 2 miles. Turned at 5mph to start accelerating up steep hill into neighborhood, immediately felt slippage and high-revs. Pulled over, waited for clear traffic, switched to manual shift, accelerated up hill in 1st, no problem; shifted to 2nd at 20mph, no problem; shifted to 3rd at 30mph, immediately high revs and slippage; switched back to 2nd; accel'd to 35mph in 2nd then shifted to 4th, engine lugged down but held and continued to accelerate and hold speed no problem. Shifted back to 3rd, started slipping and high revs again. Switched back to 2nd and drove last mile to house at 25mph. Drove uphill past house, turned around in neighbors driveway, noticed a loud 'whining' noise, like a tight fan belt or idler that is about to seize. Parked, whining noise continued. Revved engine a couple of times, noise went up/down with RPM. Turned off, went inside to research. Found that this is a known issue on older vehicles w/ 6T70/6T75 transmission. The 35R wave plate is known to shatter. GM has issued "#14404: Special coverage adjustment - transmission clutch wave plate - (Mar 3, 2015)". only covers older 2007-09 vehicles, this is a safety issue, should cover all vehicles w/these transmissions exhibiting this behavior.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #48

Jan 142016


  • 78,900 miles
I was parked at local eatery, engine off. Came out, started car, put in reverse and proceeded out of parking spot. Reverse worked fine. Put car in drive and nothing happened. It was like the car was in neutral and not drive. The engine revved but the car would not move. Tried several times to no avail. Had it towed to Chevrolet dealer. I had no indication of any trouble, no leaks, no strange noises, just the quiet revving of the engine when given the gas.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #47

Jan 112016


  • 54,000 miles


On the way to work in my 2010 Chevrolet Equinox, on a Friday morning, pulling out to the highway my car did not want to shift and the check engine light came on. Then it would not go into drive or reverse. After it was turned off and sat for a wile it went into gear. I then went by a local auto store and they read the code as P0717 and P0700 that had to do with the transmission. I would have to contact the dealer for further info. Got back to work and called the dealer and was told they could not see me until late Monday or Tuesday. So all weekend I drove it, light was no longer on, thought everything was okay. Forward Monday afterwork, at stop sign and started to pull out and the car would not go into gear. No reverse either, coasted down the hill to side street and turned off the engine and after setting a few minutes it went into gear, but only lasted a short while and was stranded again. Had to call for a tow and used tranco transmission. They called and said the wave plate had broke which had caused more damage and would cost $3400. The repairman said this has happened in a lot of these motors, so I called GM and they said that at this time there is no recall for this. But if they do I can submit my receipt. I'm hoping that if enough people complain that they will take care of this problem. It could have been a bad situation, because I had my grandson in the car and we could have gotten hit trying to pull out at the stop sign and not been able to get out of the way because the car wouldn't change gears. Just google wave plate in a 2010 Equinox and see how many complaints you see. When I pay my bill, I will upload the reciept.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #46

Dec 292015


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle jerked and failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be rplaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Maineville, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #45

Nov 232015


  • 100,400 miles
My car's transmission failed just over 100000 miles. There was no indication that something was wrong prior to failure. The transmission always shifted rough intermittently, but from what I read, this was not uncommon with this vehicle. As a result, I never pursued the matter. I bought the car new. 100000 miles out of a transmission on a car gently driven unusual. The transmission failed after I exited the freeway, sitting at a stop sign. I went to accelerate and barely got any power. Several noises like something snapping or breaking and liquid spraying occured. With almost now acceleration I made it to a parking lot where I shut the car off. Reverse, to my surprise, no longer worked when trying to straighten up the car in the parking lot.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #44

Aug 242015


  • 96,480 miles


While approaching a stop at an intersection, my car slipped out of gear and began shaking and pulsing as I slowed to a stop. I pulled my car into an empty lot where I discovered I couldn't back up my car. It was towed to the dealer where they informed me the wave plate(35R plate) was damaged and would need to be replaced for a cost of $4,200. Service director at the dealer indicated that this was common in these types of transmissions and that there is no indication of when the failure might occur. Fortunately, I was traveling at a low rate of speed with no cars around me and was not involved in an accident, only left with a terribly expensive repair.

- Vernon, NJ, USA

problem #43

Jul 012015


  • 107,000 miles
For the past several months my car has been doing the following: 1. I start my car, and it will rev like I put my foot on the gas. 2. if I am at a stop light/sign my engine will shake and act like it wants to die, but it doesn't. 2. when I turn my car off, it will continue to run for 1-2 more seconds before completely shutting down. I took my vehicle to my mechanic, and he said that the fuel is leaking into the crank case. I have to have the high pressure fuel pump replaced. Unfortunately I am over the warranty. All out of pocket. This is extremely dangerous, it could cause an explosion, or fire, and needs to be recalled immediately. This could kill someone.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #42

May 152015

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving at approximately 20 mph, the vehicle failed to shift out of second gear and the check engine warning light illuminated. While the contact was driving home, the vehicle failed to shift into the reverse position. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the wave plates failed and the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 92,000. Updated 09/03/15 updated 09/10/15

- Nescopeck, PA, USA

problem #41

Jun 212015


  • 120,188 miles
On June 21, 2015 while on my way home from work, I stopped behind a vehicle that was making a left turn. When I went to accelerate, my vehicle acted like it didn't want to shift. The motor revved up instead. I had a vehicle come up behind me and thankfully they were able to drive into the other lane an go around me, otherwise I would have gotten hit. I managed to get it off the road. Had it hauled to the dealer. Today I'm told that the transmission, catalytic converter, and the timing chain are all bad and to replace will be $5500. I just replaced the timing chain Nov of 2014 at a cost to me of $800. The dealer told me it would be $1500 to fix, so I had it fixed at another repair shop. Then I find out while browsing around my onstar account that there are 2 extended warranties for the timing chain. Why didn't the dealer know that? now I have to pay for it again because I'm 188 miles past the extended warranty. I called a reputable transmission repair shop to get a quote for the transmission repair. I was told that they repaired 2 of the same vehicle last week and cannot get a GM transmission due to the fact that they are on national backorder because GM knows they are faulty. There should be a recall on this. GM should have to stand behind their products. I will never own another GM vehicle.

- Ellington, MO, USA

problem #40

May 302015


  • 107,000 miles


No warning prior... my husband and I were running errands and had stopped at home. After backing out of our driveway, he went to put the car in drive and it would not shift. It just sat like it was in neutral. We cut the car off and started it back up and it went into drive. Got a 1/10 of a mile down the road and it stopped pulling and seemed to be in neutral again. My husband was able to get it pushed back home. We put about a 1/2 qt of transmission fluid in it, thinking maybe it was low (since you can't check these models with a dipstick). My husband tried backing it out of the driveway and back to see if that helped, at this point it would go into gear but it shifted very hard. That Monday we had it towed to the local transmission shop and it wouldn't even go into gear to get it off the truck. It is currently at the transmission shop and I have been told that it is major and we are looking at lots of money to get this repaired.

- Sophia, NC, USA

problem #39

May 212015


  • 56,484 miles
When driving, my cars transmission hesitates. It feels like its losing power. Also feels like there's a misfire. It's very annoying and not sure how Chevy can make a transmission like this. This is why I don't buy american vehicles. No dealership will do anything about it. I'm very upset. I'm a single father in the military, I need a decent vehicle and don't make much. Can anyone help me?

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #38

Nov 192014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Check engine light on for error code "low catalytic converter efficiency ", emissions. Manufacturer had volunteer recall for excessive oil consumption. Vehicle was burning oil excessively and coated element of catalytic converter. Manufacturer replaced piston seals and rings to stop oil consumption but refused to replaced damaged catalytic converter caused by oil consumption.

- Morganton, NC, USA

problem #37

Jan 122015


  • 67,000 miles
My 2010 Equinox was taken in to my mechanic to check my oil as it was black and smelt burnt and they noticed that I was down to 1/2 qt in less than 500 miles...the last oil change they checked the entire vehicle but found no leaks and suggested to take it in to a Chevy dealer...I was under their power train warranty at the time. Over the next few months they replaced the fuel pump, front seal, rear seal and numerous oil changes in between... right up till the last week of the power train warranty... I drove the vehicle for another 2000 miles and had to add oil up to 4 quarts every 500 miles...I took it in once again in regards to the oil consumption and they performed the oil consumption test which the vehicle failed miserably. The dealership replaced the pistons and rings in concert with GM's warranty covering the replacement of pistons and rings in regards to this problem. Remember my power-train warranty was now out of date due to the dealership pushing the repair always to a later date. This was done in 2/4/2015, in less than two months the oil level has dropped to 1.2 a quart with only 500 miles put on the vehicle since the installation of new pistons and rings. It has now been brought to my attention that according to bulletin pip 5025, (05-16-2012) two items of concern are brought to the vehicle oil consumption test failed originally, and from all other sources break in period for pistons and rings should take no more than 2000 miles at a loss of 1 qt per 1000 miles. Two...I lost 4 quarts in a 500 mile duration. The bulletin also suggest that engines having this problem will not be replaced only repairs will be covered and that zebra stripes on the cylinder walls are not covered on this repair bulletin... it also states that zebra stripes cannot be repaired...if not repaired oil consumption will remain poor.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #36

Jan 092015

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 54,500 miles
My wife was driving home from work to eat lunch as with any other day and all of a sudden the vehicle started shaking violently, the check engine light came on along with a "reduced engine power" message and an exclamation mark. I've done a ton of research and have seen this show up as a common issue with many GM models. I found the GM tsb 11273 that describes the exact condition we are having. Want to know the problem" my wife's 2010 Equinox isn't listed in the tsb!!! I do not understand this at all. I've called GM to explain the situation and they will hear nothing of it and are telling me they will not cover the expense. It makes no sense to me how they admit fault and pick of the cost of the exact same repair on other GM models but they will not pay for the repair on my vehicle for the exact same problem. This is a very dangerous issue and I couldn't even imagine having this issue at a high speed, luckily my wife was only driving in town. This is unacceptable. To make things worse, the vehicle doesn't even have 55,000 miles on it and GM is telling me the 5 year 100,000 mile powertrain warranty doesn't even cover this! how much sense does that make" the powertrain is the meat of the vehicle which cannot be utilized if the throttle body is acting up because the vehicle is kicked into reduced power mode! very frustrated with GM's customer service in not acknowledging this issue should be fixed.

- Tolono, IL, USA

problem #35

Sep 192014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My cars ch ed ck engine light has popped on and off since I git the car in July and the TPMS gauge has been on since the first week I got the vehicle. It was raining and my car began to start initiating thetraction control but my car started to skid and the check engine light came on. I drove for 15 minutes between 35-55 mph and I received an error message about power failure on the car. My car immediately shut down I didn't need an oil change left and I just replenished oil but when I checked it was empty. I put more oil in the car and scheduled an oil change. The technician checked my tires and did the oil change and the car appeared to work fine. 3 days letter I had the same issue. And instead of one tire none of my tires are being read on the car and when traction control is on it rides rough. 5oday alone my car shut off 7 times while I was stuck 9J a major highway. A mechanic in my building looked at my car and said that there is oil leaking onto the engine block as well.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #34

Sep 092014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • miles
I am losing a lot of oil within the 3000 miles before I change it. My car is losing power it stalls it runs very loudly and it knocks a little. I put at least 12 quarts of oil every 3000 miles and it's not leaking because I checked the top and the bottom of the motor and there is no sign of oil anywhere not even out of my tail pipe.

- Slaughter, LA, USA

problem #33

Aug 012012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
This car started giving me trouble the very week I git it. It was stalling and has this loud raspy sound. The dealership basin Subaru said it is suppose to make that noise. I had to have it towed to Chevrolet. The kept it for a month. Put a rebuilt transmission in the car. Still has the raspy sound, just had the fuel pump replaced after the check engine light came on. One day later the check engine light back on. They replaced some solenoid sensor. The ac blows out a weird mist. Air condition not working properly. That awful rattle noise is still there. Just holding my breath for the next thing to break down. Bought this care 2 years ago and I cant get rid of it.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #32

Jul 062014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 47,431 miles
I started the vehicle the stabilitrac and engine light came on. The car would not move forward more than a half mile per hour. Had to have it towed to dealer. I bought this vehicle 1 month ago pre owned from the dealer. It had gone thru the General Motors 117 point inspection test before I bought it... I only put on 1000 miles since I purchased it.

- Lincoln Park , NJ, USA

problem #31

Mar 262010

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 13,170 miles
At 13,000 miles the fuel tank, fuel pump, fuel level sensor replaced. At 56,000 miles the water pump and balance shaft chains were replaced after the car broke down on the side of a major highway. At 64,000 miles the camshaft position acutator and solenoid valves were replaced after another highway breakdown. At 69,000 miles the engine was replaced for a breakdown once again. At 81,000 miles the fuel pump and balance shaft chains were replaced once again after a breakdown. At 90,000 miles the car stopped in the middle of a major highway. The wave plate was replaced and metal debris was found in the transmission.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?