Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,396 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #70

Oct 102016


  • miles


Wasn't informed about the excessive oil consumption. Letter never made it to my house. Excessive oil consumption has caused the catalytic converter to fail prematurely. Chevy issued a special warranty but it disqualifies you if you have more 120K miles. Chevy has known about this issues since 2011 but intentionally waited to issue special bulletin because they wanted to disqualify as many people as possible.. the service rep told me since I didn't pay the previous repair (which were manufacturer defects) that I am basically responsible for the repairs. This car has had over 4 major repairs that were due to manufacturer defects but the rep is saying that since I'm the original owner they won't assist me. I told her the issue is with the car, it has nothing to do with the ownership which is why you're issuing all the special warranties. None of the major repairs that were done on this car are listed in the vehicle history report on carfax or on the GM owner site where it states that such reports will appear. I got the service report from the dealership when I saw the sales associate with it. I told the rep had the information about the excessive oil consumption been listed on my Chevy profile I would have had the issue fixed thus saving the catalytic converter. She still claimed it was sent. The catalytic converters need to be recalled without exception. Honda replaced my cracked my engine block no questions asked! they have honored ever warranty I've ever had and fixed every manufacturer defect without drama. I cannot say that about Chevy. They have caused me nothing but stress over issues they created and have gotten away with it and today I just learned that my car now has a fuel pump recall.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #69

Sep 062016


  • 63,320 miles
The check engine light came on while driving with code P0017 crankshaft position - camshaft position correlation (bank 1 sensor B). The next day while driving two more codes came on including P0700 and P182E (I have on obd reader). At that moment the engine continued to run but the transmission appeared to go into a neutral condition. This occured while driving @ 30 mph. I was able to coast to the side of the street. At that point I could rev the engine but their was no forward drive to move the vehicle. After letting the car sit in an off condition for a couple of minutes, I was the able to restart the vehicle and drive home. I then brought the car to the dealer for further diagnostics as there are several components which could cause this error code. The dealer then concluded that the timing chain had apparently stretched and was causing the camshaft position sensor to trip. I was told that the repair was very extensive and of course costly as the motor has to be removed from the vehicle in order to replace the stretched timing chain. I started researching the error code online and came across a service bulletin (sb-10052863-6133) published in 2014 by General Motors detailing a newer timing chain kit that was released to address this stretching issue. Several General Motors models are included in the bulletin as they all utilize the same V6 3.0 liter engine as what is in my Equinox. My major gripe is that the consumer should have been made aware of the potential premature failure of the timing chain sooner, before the warranty period expired. General Motors had a similar issue with timing chain failures in their 4 cylinder 2.4 liter engines and an official recall was done for that engine. I feel this same condition is now started to affect the V6 3.0 liter as well.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #68

Aug 252016


  • 67,000 miles
While ramping on to a busy highway in my 2010 Chevrolet Equinox (67,000 miles) accelerating toward 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly started decelerating and rpms climbed. This resulted in me being nearly rear-ended and I had to quickly guide the car to the shoulder of the road. The engine would only rev in gear and not move forward. I shifted the vehicle to park and turned off the engine. Upon restarting the vehicle it seemed as if it had function back. I proceeded a few miles further to a parking lot. At this point, the transmission was not functioning well enough to go further. This is when we called a towing service, and had it towed to the nearest Chevrolet dealership. Ultimately, we were told that a plate had gone out in the transmission and that this had also destroyed several other components in the transmission. The quote for these repairs was $4600. This happened around 67,000 miles on the vehicle and after reporting to the dealership numerous times early in ownership and over multiple visits that the vehicle was making an odd sound coming from the transmission on shifts. We reported these issues way before the 100,000 miles/5 year warranty expired. Instead of finding anything wrong with the transmission, the dealership told us that it could be an engine problem and told us to start coming in every 1000 miles for an oil consumption test. I feel that this was a delay tactic to make sure that Chevrolet would not have to cover warranty repair of the transmission. I feel that this should have been covered under warranty and that it is a severe safety issue, considering that prior models of the Chevrolet Equinox had the same problem with transmission plates and the chance for a deadly accident because of the loss of momentum in traffic with no warning.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #67

Sep 022016


  • 72,615 miles


I have 72615 miles on my car. I just had to have the transmission replaced. The transmission mechanic at aamco said it was because of wave plate failure. My car has a 6T45E transmission. The cost to have this replaced was $3,414.43 and in his professional opinion this should not have failed at this low mileage. This failure happened all of a sudden. I had never had any problems until the day it went out completely.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #66

Aug 292016


  • 39,750 miles
While driving in a residential neighborhood, the car began to maintain an RPM level of 5,000 and would not go above 25 mph. Got the car home and took it to the dealer. The car was diagnosed with a failed 3 5 wave plate. When test driving the vehicle to diagnose the problem, the dealer informed me that the transmission failed completely. The wave plate had begun to deteriorate and metal particles were floating in the transmission fluid. The car had just under 40,000 miles on it but it is 6 years old so it is out of the warranty. Chevy offered minimal price assistance. This issue with the 3 5 wave plate was a known issue on 2008 and 2009 models and an extended warranty was issued by Chevy. The problem was supposed to be resolved for 2010 models, but here we are with the same issue. This is a major safety issue and needs to be corrected.

- San Dimas, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #65

Aug 312016


  • 76,000 miles
Wave plate the wave plate blew up in our transmission leaving us with a $5000 bill on a vehicle with only 76000 miles. The wave plate on 2010 Chevy Equinox's has been recalled by specific VIN numbers by GM but for whatever reason my VIN is not on the recall list. It should be and I shouldnt be paying a 5000$ bill. Our vehicle came to a complete stop in the middle of the highway with my 2 year old and 4 year old in the car. My husband and a kind gentleman had to push the vehicle out of the roadway.

- Gardner, MA, USA

problem #64

Aug 292016


  • 76,000 miles


We purchased this vehicle in Dec 2014 at 42,000 miles as a certified pre owned $15000 cash. The vehicle started experiencing engine trouble in July 2016 it we were in the process of of diagnostics for excess oil consumption and engine repair. After the care broke down on a major highway with my children in the backseat. Aug 2016 the car stalls again on the highway with my children in it. The transmission has failed. We havent even owned the vehicle for 2 years. It only has 76,000 miles on it. But GM says its past the 5 year warranty mark by 8 months so they wont help. I am not the only person having these issues with this make and model. There are stories all over the internet where people have stalled on highways from this issue! it needs to ge recalled. This is a death trap. We could have been seriously injured ow worse. Unfortunately thats what it takes now a days for a company to care.

- Gardner, MA, USA

problem #63

Aug 252016


  • 92,222 miles
2010 Chevy Equinox transmission failure. I am surprise there are so many complaints about the 2010 Equinox and GMC has not responded. I have the 2014 and 2010 Equinox models and I bought both new. I am now worried that I have too many cars made by GM. I have had problems with my 2010 Equinox for years but nothing close to the current transmission problem. My current mileage is 92,222. I was on the highway when it appeared my car skidded. I then changed lane to be safe. Next thing I know, the car RPM soared but the car would not drive. Essentially, the car acted as if it was on neutral when on drive. I then turned of the engine and restarted it and the car drove about 2 poles but would not further engage the transmission. I was stranded with my 8 year old son by the highway shoulder. I had the car towed to the dealer. Several hours later, I am being told that the wave plate in the transmission was broke and that I had to wait several days to know what other damage resulted. With the same car, I have had numerous problem with the bearings and frequent airbag problems. The car does not ride well like the 2014 model. For some months now, there has been an annoying low RPM noise at low speed that the tech could not diagnose. I am now wondering if it was the transmission failing all along. The same annoying sound is now occurring in the 2014 Equinox. It begs the question of whether there is a pervasive quality problem with GM vehicles. To GM, I demand a fix to this 2010 Equinox transmission problem. My VIN would be readily available. I was shopping for a GM truck but I am having to wait and

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #62

Aug 252016


  • 92,222 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving 45 mph, the shifter did not engage and the vehicle became inoperable. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,222.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #61

Aug 172016


  • 92,400 miles
Getting on the highway the engine started to rev, would not go over 30 miles per hour, no reverse, engine light appeared. Almost involved in accident.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #60

Oct 222015


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving various speeds, the gear shifter began to slip. The contact stated that the vehicle consumed a large amount of oil. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer stated that since the vehicle was repaired by an independent mechanic, they could not assist with reimbursement. The failure mileage was approximately 62,000.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #59

Jul 282016

Equinox 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to excessive oil consumption problems, engine replacement and transmission failure. The consumer stated the vehicle would not accelerate. She was able to make it onto the next road and tried shifting into neutral then back to drive again. The vehicle revved when she stepped on the accelerator. She pulled over into a parking lot, shut the engine off, and re-started it again. The consumer was able to drive two miles to her home, never getting out of first gear, while the engine continued to rev. Upon returning home, the consumer attempted to move the vehicle onto the street, out of the driveway, but soon discovered the vehicle would not go in reverse. However, the engine revved. The vehicle was towed to a transmission specialist where the consumer was quoted a price of $ $3,465.90 to replace the transmission.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #58

Dec 022014


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle hesitated before moving forward. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle finally failed to accelerate completely. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The computer for the transmission had previously been replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Byron Center, MI, USA

problem #57

Jul 202016


  • 91,000 miles
While driving on an arterial city street approx 50mph the vehicle lunged unexpectedly with a hard knock sound. After slowing at the light the vehicle continued on normally. The next day when the vehicle was put in reverse, to back out of the garage, nothing happened and when the accelerator was pressed still nothing happened. The vehicle was put back into park and then back into reverse again and this time the transmission engaged normally. This happened again later the same day. I took the vehicle to my dealer and described the problem. A technician was able to recreate the issue and stated that it was probably the wave plate cracking in the transmission. He states this has become a very common problem with this make, model and year and when it fully breaks it can do alot of damage. Later in the morning the service rep called and stated the wave plate should be replaced and that it would cost $3600. I looked this issue up on the NHTSA website and their are numerous complaints related to this very part within the transmission, many with scary stories of what happened. Chevy customer service states that there was a notice put out for model years 2007-2009 but nothing after that for the exact same safety issue. This has become a trend and the wave plate/transmission issues with the 2010 Chevy Equinox need to be addressed by the dealer before someone is hurt. This needs to be a recall item so that the customer is safe and not stuck with a $4000 repair for something that the manufacturer has identified as an issue on the exact same model but older model years. Obviously after identifying the problem nothing was done to correct it in future model years and therefore all those customers are at risk.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #56

Jul 072016


  • 72,000 miles
While driving on the freeway the power to the car was reduced, was barley able to make it to the side of the road. Only had one gear to drive to a safe distance. Had vehicle taken to local repair shop and learned that the transmission was shot and that it had to be replaced. There was no signs or indications of there ever being any issues with the transmission. Vehicle is up to date with all services recommended by Chevrolet. These makes and models need to be recalled for the transmission as I have noticed that this is a common issue with this year, make & model of vehicle.

- Colfax, CA, USA

problem #55

Jun 272016


  • miles
My 2010 Chevy Equinox started with an oil consumption problem 86,000 miles May 2016 all new pistons, rings, high pressure fuel pump timing chain and seals covered on GM extended warranty. 1 month later the tranny goes 87,000 mi towed car to dealer they are telling me I have no warranty will cost anywhere from $3-5,000. All I read is bad news about this transmission.

- Pleasant Hill, IA, USA

problem #54

Jun 252016


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the vehicle vibrated severely and an unknown sound was heard from the rear of the vehicle. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was operated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle failure mileage was 125,000.

- Camdenton, MO, USA

problem #53

Jan 092016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While entering a major highway, the transmission failed and the vehicle drastically reduced speed. The contact had to quickly coast the vehicle over to the side of the road where it was unable to be driven. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact was waiting to hear back from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 08/16/16

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #52

May 262016


  • 105,409 miles
I bought a 2010 Equinox jan9,2016 from vic canever in fenton mi for 10320 on may26,2016 I just dropped of my son and grandson and was on my way home on the expressway when my transmission all of a sudden went out as I was driving. I almost got into a bad wreck and could of possibly lose my life. When I finally got, Y vehicle towed and inspected at bill's transmission shop in roseville mi I was shown the color of my transmission fluid which was charcoal black and thick. I contacted General Motors and made a complaint and was contacted by mike agnone who's the senior customer service manager and brandon who's the used car manager. I was told I'll have to come up with 2500 to go towards a new transmission. What they don't understand that I'm on a set income and don't have no money. General Motors needs to recall all the Equinox's. I have done my research and found nothing but bad things about them and all years.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #51

Mar 052016


  • 80,000 miles
I have a 2010 Chevy Equinox and in late March while driving our young children; our transmission blew up. When I say blew up, I mean it literally exploded and my husband started to lose control of the vehicle. We were stranded and had to get it towed. When we brought it into the mechanic he said he would do what he could to try to "re-build" it and perhaps save us some money. Once he opened the hood; he said he could not believe his eyes and said it was not possible to salvage anything about this transmission and we pd.$4,000 to get this part repaired. He mentioned he had never seen anything like it in 30 years. When I went online I saw several different people with the same issue for the same make and model transmission. They, and myself have sent concerned letters to GM, however; GM will not hold any accountability for this issue although it has happened to so many. I would hope the large amount of online remarks are enough safety concern to work on opening an official investigation to get a recall on this. My truck can be replaced; my children cannot. I do not believe GM has acted in accordance with the national traffic and motor vehicle Safety Act by initiating a safety recall. I feel an obligation to reach out to try to help others with the same situation to try to prevent dangerous accidents and save lives that could be taken as a result to this faulty transmission explosion.

- Appleton, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?