Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Dec 022013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service air bag warning light on 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. So, why isn't this vehicle included in the recent recall?

- Plymouth, IN, USA

problem #18

Jan 132014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 35,800 miles
While driving the vehicle the wipers stopped functioning making it dangerous to drive. The center console display, radio and heater controls, went off and stopped functioning. This has happened several times and is a dangerous situation. I have had it looked at by the dealer and they tell me nothing is wrong. They also tell me there is no recall on any Equinox for these issues even after I recommended them to look at your site. They told me to "stop looking at the internet for information because it is no good and that people do nothing but complain on the internet." I called the GM customer service center to explain that to them and they recommended me to file a complaint with NHTSA to make it known that my car is having the same issue as the recalled cars to possibly get it added to the recall. I am not only doing this because they recommended me to, but because my family is at a safety risk driving this vehicle and GM doesn't seem to care. They need to be held accountable for this issue since there are many people out there having the same issue that are in the same boat as I am without being covered by the recall.

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #17

Nov 092013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Car made noise and engine started to stop. Pulled off to side of freeway, turned off key and car burst into flames. Car is a total loss, due to the fire damage.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #16

Sep 292013

Equinox

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I put key into ignition and turned toward the start position and key went about halfway and stopped and all lights and dashboard went black, all electrical power went off. The car would not give me the key back. It was stuck in the ignition for about 1 1/2 hours until ers arrived. I tried pressing the brake and turning the steering wheel but it would still not give me the key. Meanwhile, the dash board starting flashing on and off and I heard a constant clicking noise. I called emergency roadside assistance and they came and gave me a boost and car started right up with no problems. My battery and alternator are completely fine.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #15

Sep 232013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 75,690 miles
Put key into key switch and turn toward start position and key went about halfway and stopped and all lights and dashboard went black, all electrical power went off. Finially after moving steering wheel and moving key back and forth was able to pull key out of ignition switch.then when I put key back into ignition switch and tried to start car all I heard was a click, click so battery was dead, called ers and they came and gave me a boost and car started right up with no problems and service rep. Checked battery and alternator and they were operating fine.called my dealership where I bought car and told them what happened but they never had a problem like that so they were no help.I called G.M. and talked to them but they never heard of that problem either so here I am with a car that has a problem which no one has heard of..

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 062010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 1,378 miles
Purchase vehicle in August 2009. Instrument panel faulty within months of purchase. Windshield defroster/defogger & lights on dash go out intermittently. Received a recall notice concerning this issue in April 2010. Problem is still occurring. Have been back to dealership at least a dozen times. Have been in contact with General Motors in detroit. Dealership nor General Motors are returning our calls or fixing the problem. Only 17546 miles are on this vehicle. Lights and defroster go out intermittently while driving causing us to be very insecure to take it anywhere for fear it will happen while we are out.

- Wallkill, NY, USA

problem #13

Nov 152012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello on a few different occasions my center console as stopped functioning making it impossible to turn on/off defroster, heat, etc. I have called Chevrolet about this problem but they told me it is not included in recall 09V489000. Can someone please explain why my vehicle does not qualify for this recall when I am experiencing the same problems? thank you

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #12

Oct 272012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 93,500 miles
Equinox starts powering down occasionally during acceleration through hard right turns and, once, during a soft bump against a curb. Dashboard lights turn off, engine dies, etc. Can be restarted from stop. We had been able to duplicate the problem, but haven't been able to do so at the dealership, so it remains unfixed. We are concerned about the safety of driving a vehicle that may power down during a hard right turn and heavy acceleration. We now intentionally accelerate slowly and cautiously through right turns. We worry that we will get in a situation where, for instance, we'll need to turn out of the way of a semi trailer and our car will power down, putting us in great danger.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #11

Dec 052011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
S10 appropriate handling - letter to the secretary from re expressing concerns regarding her 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The consumer stated condensation formed on the inside of the windshield. She also stated the vehicle had electrical problems right from the beginning, where the lighting on the instrument panel would dim and then come back on. The consumer stated when she turned the A/C on, a strong odor was present. Updated 05/22/12

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 012011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle, a Transport mode warning illuminated on the instrument panel and all of the gauges stopped illuminating as a result. An authorized dealer advised the contact to turn on the ignition and hold the key in that position for approximately ten seconds to try and attempt to remedy the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 20,000 and current mileage was 30,000. Updated 02/09/12

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 012011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 48,656 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Has a tapping noise in the engine took it to dealer and they said that they can, T hear or fine the problem, I told the shopmanager that they will not find it will the window up, also started the SUV up one morning and the fuel rang say 303 mile I drove 7 miles to work and saw that it said 294 so the SUV than us 9 gallon of gas in seven miles.the merchant said that was normal that, S a lie.the dealer just don, T want to fix the problem, if it not any money in it for them than they don, T want to fix the problem. I don, T want to go out of town and the motor blow up or the defrost stop working and my family get hurt than it, S on.went to two dealer and they couldn't hear the tapping and I am standing there and hear it.all this money that we paying for this SUV they need to fix the problem or we will get action 9 news on it.

- North Caroline, NC, USA

problem #8

Mar 312011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 9,728 miles
2010 Equinox ltz drove to work put the car in park and turned the ignition off tried to get out of the doors and the doors would not open. I tried to open the door with the key fob it still would not open. I then tried to unlock the door with the switch on the dash of the car and it gave a small beep but still would not unlock. I tried to open all four doors to no avail. I opened the back hatch and crawled out through it. I took the car to the dealer to them look at it and they said that they could not find anything. I was really afraid because if there was a fire I couldn't get out.

- Harrison, MI, USA

problem #7

Oct 302010

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 1,955 miles
I purchased a brand new Equinox from Chevrolet in 08/31/2010. Since 10/30/2010, I've had ongoing issues with this vehicle. Two incidents of which, I almost had near-death car accidents. This is the third time I am in a rental car, totaling to about a month so far in rentals. First incident in October, I had to drive with my hazards on to even get to the dealership. My speedometer and tech would accelerate, however, it felt like I was in neutral. It was serviced for about 2-3 weeks and they said they fixed the problem. Then 2 weeks ago, I had just got off a 3-lane 65 mph highway, when my vehicle stalled on me. I remember looking down at the dash while I was driving, the speedometer said I was going 100 mph but I wasn't moving. I was nearly rear-ended being on a highway. Luckily, I was able to get over a lane and pull over. The car wouldn't allow me to move or reverse. I was in a rental for about a week while they examined my car. Chevrolet/GM said they were unable to find anything wrong with my car and forced me to return the rental and drive my car. I have written documentation stated they were unable to find anything wrong with my vehicle. Now the third incident, I was driving in philadelphia on a way to a wedding. My car stalled multiple times, causing me to pull over on broad street about 4 times, just to turn my car off and on to attempt to move it. It was a hazard to myself and on the road, I almost got hit multiple times. Chevrolet said they found the problem with my car, but how am I suppose to trust them when they never trusted me when I said something was wrong. This car is brand-new and this is the third occurrence of the same issue. I feel completely unsafe driving this vehicle and my confidence has plummeted. Please advise me of what to do.

- Springfield, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 052009

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Chevy Equinox. Consumer states vehicle "powered down" the consumer stated the dashboard read obd2 malfunction indicator lamp service required and the stabili-trak light illuminated. The consumer stated she then received a recall letter regarding the software in the center instrument panel which could cause the heating, air condition, defroster, radio control as well as the panel illumination to become inoperative. The consumer stated the lights were in fact flickering and then the entire instrument panel went out, powered on a little and then dimmed again.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #5

Feb 242010

Equinox

  • 11,435 miles
I have a 2010 Equinox ltz with about 11,000 miles on it. It was recently in for replacement of the part that operates the radio and heat/air controls (there is a recall on this). I have recently discovered that if you hold down the unlock button on the remote that all four windows will roll down and the car will be unlocked. There is no documentation on this in the owner's manual and the service technician at the dealership says this is a built-in feature to cool off the car on hot days. I consider this a safety issue because the remote could accidentally be activated as I am leaving the vehicle for an extended period of time or at night.

- Pittsburg, KS, USA

problem #4

Feb 112010

Equinox

  • 6,070 miles
2010 Equinox, 6070 miles. Went to go to store, started car, no radio or heater. Turned off engine, then restarted vehicle, and both worked, have not had prob. Since. Called GM, they said to take it to the dealer to be checked out. I will wait until it does it again to take it in. They will not be able to do anything if it is not broken at the time I take it to service dept.

- Broaddus, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 012009

Equinox

  • 6,000 miles
The center console (where the controls are for the radio, heater/ac, defroster, hazards, door locks, etc.) intermittently goes on and off, and locks up unexpectedly. It first occurred on 1 Dec 09, again on 2 Jan 10, and several times since. Vehicle examined by landers-mclarty Chevrolet in huntsville al, they witnessed problem but could not fix or remedy. They opened a technical case #11124962, and GM opened case #71-790900576. No fix to date, although they promise that a solution is being worked. Several safety issues are presented by the console?S erratic operation (sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't). It is winter now, and when the console is out, the heater, defroster, door locks, hazard lights and on-board warning system (via the menu button) do not work. Starting and shutting the engine off 20-plus times (dealers recommended temp fix to re-set system) does not seem like a viable solution, and it certainly presents added stress on the starter and causes excessive engine wear in cold temperatures.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #2

Dec 082009

Equinox

  • 2,600 miles
On 09/04/09 I bought a new 2010 Equinox and within 3,000 miles I began experiencing significant shifting issues and rough idling/stalling at stops. On 01/08/10 I will be taking the vehicle to the service shop for the 4th time in 60 days for these problems. Very concerning is that every time I have taken the vehicle in for service a new GM service bulletin exists for these problems. However, GM is not proactively addressing these known issues with buyers. Rather the onus has been put into the buyers hands. Why if they know a problem exists are they not obligated to contact buyers? there are a significant number of others experiencing these problems you will find on the web, ie edmunds. The following is a chronology of my experience: #1) 12/08/09-2,561 miles: Car hesitating badly when accelerating, vibrating bad at idle with S intermittent stalls. GM bulletin 4469G-metal shaving left behind in the tranny. Replace oil, replace actuator solenoids due to debris build-up. #2) 12/15/09-2,713 miles: Rough idling/hesitation. Replaced oil like before, no debris. Service bulletin for ECM update for tcm and PCM. Service tech told me that they had several other buyers experiencing these problems. #3) 12/22/09-2,939 miles: Unable to merge onto thruway and get up to speed do to bucking and vehicle not accelerating/shifting. Almost involved in accident trying to merge and gain speed. Bucking at stops and stalling. Service code P0011 found in computer for intake position system failure. Needed 2 cam shaft actuators again. Replaced oil & filter. 01/08/10-~3,900miles: Continued rough idle. Poor/hard shifting/hesitation to shift especially in 3 & 4 gear. In 3 & 4 engine sounds muffled and struggles to gain speed as if the tran is up-shifting too quickly. When up-shifting in higher gears it hesitates and then jolts. In summary, I am taking vehicle in for the 4th time, same problems. Nys lemon law being considered. Each time I have lost vehicle.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 312009

Equinox

  • 17 miles
My 2010 Chevy Equinox ls steering wheel locks up while driving. The electrical also seems to have an issue where the radio will start flashing and the air bag warning keeps coming on even after they have stated all of the issues have been fixed and parts have been replaced. This car has been in the shop more than I have owned it. I am scared for my families safety.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?