Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Nov 222016

Equinox

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Constant transmission issues, rebuilt motor and still having issues doesn't change gears or will make constant putt putt noises like its going to quit, goes through quarts of oil constantly, no leaks found but adding large amounts weekly, heating/ac system doesn't turn on all the time I have to turn it off and on and it eventually works. Stabilitrak keeps turning on with check engine light the cars power then gets turned down all the way or off, I have to turn the car off and turn it back on to get back to normal. Very dangerous car stopping with traffic all around. Nothing but headaches.

- Greenwich, NY, USA

problem #102

Jun 302015

Equinox

  • miles
My drivers seat was changed twice in six month, still doesn't work the passenger air bag light comes if noting is in the seat. The oil comsumption is ungodly and now I have anoil leak on the passenger side of my engine and I need to add 2 quarts of oil daily. Ecoboost went out within a year of my ownership. Car has been in the shop several times for oil leak and it is stii persistent.

- Laplace, LA, USA

problem #101

Oct 042016

Equinox

  • 149,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing belt would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 149,500. The VIN was not available.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #100

Oct 102016

Equinox

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wasn't informed about the excessive oil consumption. Letter never made it to my house. Excessive oil consumption has caused the catalytic converter to fail prematurely. Chevy issued a special warranty but it disqualifies you if you have more 120K miles. Chevy has known about this issues since 2011 but intentionally waited to issue special bulletin because they wanted to disqualify as many people as possible.. the service rep told me since I didn't pay the previous repair (which were manufacturer defects) that I am basically responsible for the repairs. This car has had over 4 major repairs that were due to manufacturer defects but the rep is saying that since I'm the original owner they won't assist me. I told her the issue is with the car, it has nothing to do with the ownership which is why you're issuing all the special warranties. None of the major repairs that were done on this car are listed in the vehicle history report on carfax or on the GM owner site where it states that such reports will appear. I got the service report from the dealership when I saw the sales associate with it. I told the rep had the information about the excessive oil consumption been listed on my Chevy profile I would have had the issue fixed thus saving the catalytic converter. She still claimed it was sent. The catalytic converters need to be recalled without exception. Honda replaced my cracked my engine block no questions asked! they have honored ever warranty I've ever had and fixed every manufacturer defect without drama. I cannot say that about Chevy. They have caused me nothing but stress over issues they created and have gotten away with it and today I just learned that my car now has a fuel pump recall.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #99

May 292013

Equinox

  • 54,302 miles
14159 recall for some Equinox 2010 2.4L excessive engine oil consumption and first repair of same issue was done on 2014 and I had four check up and GM added some more oil then they found same issue and I have document that I dont want that pistons to be replaced and they refused to follow my suggestion so far this present car still have a excessive engine oil consumption right now so I have to pay for that repair and they refused to procced under the expired warranty

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #98

Aug 252016

Equinox

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While the vehicle was being operated, an abnormal noise emitted from the engine compartment. The contact pulled over and restarted the vehicle; however, there was a lack of power. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain fractured and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #97

Jun 142014

Equinox

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. When the air conditioner was activated, the check engine warning indicator illuminated and the air conditioner became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the air conditioner was replaced; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA

problem #96

Aug 092016

Equinox

  • miles
I've had an exhaust problem for the fourth time!

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #95

Aug 292016

Equinox

  • 76,000 miles
We purchased this vehicle in Dec 2014 at 42,000 miles as a certified pre owned $15000 cash. The vehicle started experiencing engine trouble in July 2016 it we were in the process of of diagnostics for excess oil consumption and engine repair. After the care broke down on a major highway with my children in the backseat. Aug 2016 the car stalls again on the highway with my children in it. The transmission has failed. We havent even owned the vehicle for 2 years. It only has 76,000 miles on it. But GM says its past the 5 year warranty mark by 8 months so they wont help. I am not the only person having these issues with this make and model. There are stories all over the internet where people have stalled on highways from this issue! it needs to ge recalled. This is a death trap. We could have been seriously injured ow worse. Unfortunately thats what it takes now a days for a company to care.

- Gardner, MA, USA

problem #94

Aug 022016

Equinox

  • miles
I received a Chevrolet 2010 Equinox from bob's says yes super store in columbus, Ohio in 2016.two weeks later we had engine problems.we informed them and got a diagnostic and bob says yes informed me that nothing was wrong.a few weeks(approximately 4 weeks) go by and we take it back and bobs tells us that we had to pay for a diagnostic test.so we had the state of Ohio attorney general office involved.bob says yes agrees to a free diagnostic test and when they finally agreed to look into the problem they agreed to pay the $1000 of the $1600 of which $600 we would have to pay.later during the week I call bob says yes to get a update on the repairs and they inform me that they are going to replace the engine and the work cost more but they are not going to charge us more.apparently if they are covering a recall then under the fact it is a recall I should not be paying anything so I will be contacting the Ohio attorney general on this updated information.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #93

Jul 212015

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that exhaust fumes entered the vehicle through the air conditioner vents. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the exhaust manifold was fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000. Updated 09/23/16 updated 10/05/16.

- Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #92

Jun 272016

Equinox

  • miles
My 2010 Chevy Equinox started with an oil consumption problem 86,000 miles May 2016 all new pistons, rings, high pressure fuel pump timing chain and seals covered on GM extended warranty. 1 month later the tranny goes 87,000 mi towed car to dealer they are telling me I have no warranty will cost anywhere from $3-5,000. All I read is bad news about this transmission.

- Pleasant Hill, IA, USA

problem #91

Nov 032015

Equinox

  • 110,000 miles
Purchased car from Toyota of rockwall in Jan 2015. In July 2015 started having issues with shift not coming out of park, sometimes the problem would not duplicate, so I had to take it back to the shop multiple times. Initially took car to stonebriar Chevy (frisco, tx), who replaced the battery. The issue occurred again - I took it to ntb (rockwall, tx) & had various parts related to shifter assembly replaced. I had it there a few times with the same issue. I then took it to britain Chevy (greenville, tx) 3 times between Nov & Dec 2015 - the car showed error codes P0326, P0324 & P0014. The following repairs were made, some covered under special coverage warranties: Replaced transmission shifter assembly, engine balance chain, tensioner, gasket, pump, pipe, seal gasket kit, 3 bolts (various part #S), filter, GM dexosi 5W30, timing chain kit, camshaft actuator & loose connection at ECM. Again in May 2016 had issues. Took car to lakeside Chevy (rockwall, tx) & received the following error codes: P0324, P0016 & P0017. It was determined that there were oil consumption issues (covered under spec cvg warranty), but that a bolt unaffiliated with a spec cvg warranty or any bolts replaced in the past had come lose, causing timing chain to hit engine over and over, resulting in engine being ruined and needing full replacement (quoted $6K for this). I have been arguing that this should be covered under spec cvg warranty #14159 or 12313 since it is related to timing chain, etc., but was told the bolt that came lose is not one that is listed under any spec cvg warranties. I believe this is most definitely a safety issue. The check engine light did not come on until the week I took it back in the shop in may, yet the mechanics have told me the bolt has been loose and chain hitting my engine for quite a bit longer than that.

- Royse City, TX, USA

problem #90

Nov 152015

Equinox

  • 64,000 miles
Having the oil changed and noted that the oil was extremely low. Took it in again for service in June 2016 and the oil was already low again and had not be driven far. Mileage is at 64,000 miles. There is not a leak. Happens even when sitting still.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #89

Jun 032016

Equinox

  • 64,000 miles
While driving on I80 in rural pa engine started missing intermittently. When I exited the road to investigate the engine immediately started to run very rough and the information center was showing a problem with stabili-track - which made no sense since it was summer and the road was dry. After vehicle was shut off for awhile and restarted it seemed to run more smoothly. However, as I accelerated back up to highway speed the misfiring returned. We continued to limp along at a slower speed with emergency flashers operating while we searched by phone for the nearest GM dealer. After several different attempts GM roadside assistance was able to identify a dealer about 20 miles away. We successfully contacted them and reached their location where they were able to diagnose the problem as a failed #3 cylinder coil. A fix was completed and we were able to resume our trip. I estimate we drove about 60 miles pretty much in the middle of no whee on 3 cylinders before being able to find help. Two days later on the return leg of this same trip the windshield wipers also failed in a severe rain storm while in a several mile construction zone with no berm. Only a miracle prevented a multiple fatality multiple car accident. This was a well maintained vehicle with only 64,000 miles that had never previously had any significant problems.

- Poland, OH, USA

problem #88

Feb 112016

Equinox

  • 106,000 miles
The vehicle was in motion, accelerating on a freeway entrance ramp. As I was merging, the engine lost power and started a loud knocking noise. I could not accelerate, started slowing, but was able to get to the shoulder. I had the vehicle towed to the nearest Chevy dealer, where a quick diagnosis was that the engine had failed, and would have to be replaced. This engine has had 2 warranty repairs related to oil issues (8/2011 and 8/2014). In both cases the timing chains, tensioner, gaskets and seals, etc. Were replaced. Also, in 2014 there was a recall to reprogram the oil life monitor. There was a recall letter in September, 2014 regarding excessive engine oil use due to piston ring wear caused by the previous issues. This condition was to have an extended warranty of 10 years or 120,000 miles. I blame the engine failure as an extension of these oil related issues, while Chevy says 'no".

- Haslett, MI, USA

problem #87

Feb 122016

Equinox

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to several dealers for diagnosis where it was diagnosed that the rear of the engine was leaking oil and it would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #86

Feb 112016

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 05/06/16 updated 05/16/16.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #85

Feb 042016

Equinox

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, smoke began to emit from the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed and the contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 04/20/16

- Marietta, OH, USA

problem #84

Jan 302016

Equinox

  • 38,000 miles
Engine sputters and is very noisy when at idle. Also, it consumes oil at an alarming rate.

- Downey, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?