Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,391 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #94

Apr 172016

Equinox

  • 63,240 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased my 2011 Chevy Equinox in March 2014 at 36,000 miles. At this moment I have 63,000 miles. Past couple months or so I have had many issues with my vehicle. There was a ticking for a period of time after parking and shutting off the vehicle, a rough/loud running of the engine, inconsistent times of knocking type sound, and a hesistant during accelerating and so rough. When we inquired about these things from the dealer we purchased from we were told that everything was 'normal' and that's what a Chevy sounds like. Today I was driving up a 30 mph road and could not accelerate over 20 mph going straight up the road. There was a hesistation then it stopped in the middle of the road. I turned the ignition off.waited a few seconds and it started back up. I drove fast home and turned onto my street and it started to slow down and not accelerate. It was still running but didnt go anywhere. I turned it off again for a few minutes. It started up I drove it into my driveway. The engine light came on and it shutoff. This appears to be a consistent problem in this type of vehicle from what I have now found and something that should not happen with only 63,000 miles on it. I do not drive long distance. Work, school and home. I am extremely frustrated with the entire situation. I have always bought Chevy and this is the first major issue. They need a recall on this. Can someone help. I do not have a warranty anymore. Im a single mom of 2 and can not afford this. The crazy thing is. I received a notice in the mail about this issue a few months back. I chuckled and said not my car and threw it away now look at me.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #93

Dec 032015

Equinox

  • 67,000 miles
This is a fwd model with 2.4L engine. The transmission 3-5-R plate failed at 67,000 miles and the transmission was ruined. When it failed it caused acceleration and speed problems while the vehicle was on a major highway but there was no check engine light initially. The car limped a few miles home stalling out completely once a block from home, it would not go into reverse and had to be towed to the dealer for diagnosis and repairs. I was the original owner of the vehicle it was purchased 06/11/2011. The vehicle also had oil consumption issues and rough idle at this time. The vehicle had its cam shaft actuators replaced in August 2011 after the engine made very loud noises with about 2000 miles on the car. I traded the car in 3 days after the dealership replaced the transmission because I did not trust the car.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #92

Apr 272015

Equinox

  • miles
Bought the car used in April 2014. In April 2015 had to have the timing chain replaced. In July 2015 had to have the rings, pistons, and cylinder head replaced. Now in February 2016 I have had the to replace the battery, and the starter and it still won't start.

- Wellsville, NY, USA

problem #91

Feb 172016

Equinox

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was sitting at a stop light, vehicle engine started surging and a warning light came on saying reduced engine power, had to really push on the break so it would not lunge into the inter section, light turned green and I started to go, but I could only get up to 25 mph, then all the warning lights on the dash came along with a service stabilitrak message, managed to get to a parking lot and shut off the vehicle for a few minutes, started it back up and it ran better but check engine light remained on. Took it to the Chevy dealer, he new before even looking at it what it was. Ended up being the throttle body, if you look online there are many Equinox vehicles with this problem. But GM will not cover this under their power train warranty even though this is what supplies air to the engine.

- Howe, IN, USA

problem #90

Feb 152016

Equinox

  • 30,000 miles
My odometer just went over 30,000 last week. Took it in for the oil change (religiously every 6 months, although I only drive around 3,000 during that time) and the rear engine seal is leaking oil. My warranty expires in one week. We're taking it in for repair before it expires but I'm appalled that an engine with 30,000 miles on it is already leaking oil. The only reason we're keeping it is because it's paid off. My next new car will not be a Chevrolet.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #89

Feb 152016

Equinox

  • 53,307 miles
While driving into a parking lot, my engine starting revving and running very rough. I lost power and control. The engine light and stabilitrak control warning came on. Fortunately, I was going slow, so I was able to stop and turn off the car. I turned it back on and the engine light remained on and the stabilitrak warning came back on. Turned it back off and let it sit. I was able to drive home with no issues, but the engine light remained on. From my short amount of research this seems like a common, serious issue. I have a new, 16 year old driver who uses this car - not anymore - until a fix is found!

- Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #88

Feb 102016

Equinox

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had my car fixed for the oil consumption issue and a week later I lost power and the car shut off while driving almost causing an accident with my children in the car. Dealership denied any thing wrong with the car.... after having it towed back to them, they found the throttle body connectors were no good and need a new wiring kit to fix. There needs to be a recall on this because this could cause a serious accident, almost happened to me! please recall the 2011 Equinox as a whole, you obviously didn't build this car correctly.

- Saranac, MI, USA

problem #87

Jan 232016

Equinox

  • 66,000 miles
The motor mounts on my 2011 Chevrolet Equinox are either loose or are missing in my car. The motor shakes when I come to a stop and when I come to a complete stop and hit my brakes again the shaking stops, and my car sounds like it is missing.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #86

Jan 182016

Equinox

  • 116,734 miles
While driving the display on the dash displayed the words "powering down" and then the car proceeds to slow to a complete stop. All while I'm driving on the freeway in traffic. The Chevy dealership in mckinney, el dorado, advised me that the engine simply fell apart and broke. I just got a tune up and oil change within the past 60 days...how can an engine just fall apart with no indication, no check engine light, no smoke, etc.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #85

Dec 152015

Equinox

  • 107,000 miles
For the second time since I have owned the car new major engine work was undertaken. 1st was a timing chain wear issue causing engine noise at about 50K miles. Next was a near total engine rebuild due to excess oil consumption where rings, bearings, pistons etc at GM warranty cost. All except for cam actuators for which I was charged $391. I picked up the car and all seemed fine. Within 100 miles of picking up the car the engine light came on and a P0420 engine code was logged. I was told by the dealer when I immediately returned it to see what had been done wrong that I needed a new catalytic converter, oxygen sensors and new cam actuators. (I just paid $391 to have them replaced less than a week ago!!!) the dealer and GM customer service refused to accept that the catalytic converter failure was due to the warranty covered excess oil consumption or possibly not following the detailed block cleaning, and rinsing procedure described in the tsb for the engine rebuild. I took the complaint to GM corporate customer service and was told that they contacted the dealer and they stated I was told I needed a new converter and I refused service so I have no recourse but contact my aftermarket warranty my dealer pushed on me who has already refused to pay for any failures because GM in their opinion has admitted fault by acknowledging they have a known oil consumption issue. So I have no idea if the original repair was done correctly, do I really need cam actuators or were they never replaced in the first place? I would get rid of the vehicle if I was not so upside down due to the wasted money I let the dealer push on the extended warranty that has been proved worthless.

- Dundee, MI, USA

problem #84

Jan 092016

Equinox

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving the car at approximately 40mph when the engine shook and slowed down to about 30mph and the rpms shot up to 5,000. I just got the vehicle back from the dealership and they had just replaced the balance shaft chain and tensioner & high pressure fuel pump to hopefully remedy the same problem. The vehicle was purchased certified pre-owned with apprx 52K miles. 11/27/15. I first brought the vehicle in on 12/11/15 and it was retured after 4 days and not being able to "recreate" the problem. I returned the car to the dealership on 1/4/2016 for the same problem which occured on new years day. I just got the car back after repairs on 1/7/16 and now two days later the problem has again occured. The last time in the shop they also could not "duplicate" the issue after driving apprx 50 miles, but I pointed out that the oil was very dirty and smelled like gasoline which they checked and confirmed and did the repairs of the fuel pump and balance chain. The engine issue is still not resolved and I will be returning the car to the dealership again on Monday. I just got plates today because my 30 day tag just expired.

- Mentor On The Lake, OH, USA

problem #83

Dec 232015

Equinox

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While the vehicle was parked, it shook and the check engine reduced power light illuminated. The vehicle would only accelerate to approximately 10 mph. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact to file a complaint with NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 91,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #82

Jan 042016

Equinox

  • 98,600 miles
I was in city streets going 30 mph at most, 19 degrees in Minnesota and it shows reduced engine power and stabiltrack off as traction control light comes on and check engine light is on. The engine starts shaking violently and I pull over, restart it and it goes for a few blocks and then the same warnings come on (engine light has gone off and on intermittently for a few months with no issues.) as mentioned, speed reduction was stated on screen and I drive slowly and was only able to accelerate slowly. I just went through a Chevrolet forum and see that I'm not the only one who's had these same issues and lights and warnings pop up on the screen. Luckily I was not on a highway or under any other scarier conditions and was close to home. Many others have spent hundreds of dollars to try and remedy this issue and, per the forum, have only been able to do that after at least having the warranty to pay for it. Here's the link to the extensive forum: chevroletforum.com/forum/Malibu-15/very-dangerous-reduced-engine-power-issue-62499/page27/ I don't want to be A/the casualty that makes this issue more immediate. Furthermore, I don't want to be the cause of injury to any others because of this.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #81

Jan 012016

Equinox

  • 52,500 miles
I was driving my Equinox apprx 40mph down a straight road with my husband and 2 kids when the door locks randomly unlocked then locked. My husband and I looked around trying to figure out who bumped the locks but realized only the driver couldve done the and I did not bump the locks. Seconds later the car engine seemed to lose power and quickly started slowing down while the rpms shot up to 3,000 and the engine let out a loud revvvvvvvv. It was not possible to accelerate at this time and the car was quickly slowing down to 20mph in the middle of my driving lane. Taking into dealership on Monday. This happened on new years day. Also, I have only had this car for 5 weeks, I bought it certified preowne from a Chevy dealership, and 3 weeks ago something similar happened but dealer could not recreate the problem so no fix was made.

- Mentor On The Lake, OH, USA

problem #80

Dec 112015

Equinox

  • 52,000 miles
I was driving the car and entering the highway on a slight right curve when the car suddenly lost acceleration and began quickly decelerating, the engine began to shake. The car went from 60mph down to about 30 mph, almost as if it had stalled or stopped working suddenly. This lasted fr several seconds, acceleration was not possible at this time. Very dangerous. Took to dealership for service but dealer could not duplicate problem. Car was at approximately 52,000 miles. I purchased it certified pre-owned only 3 weeks prior from the local Chevy dealership. There was a second similar incident 3 weeks later.

- Mentor On The Lake, OH, USA

problem #79

Dec 032015

Equinox

  • miles
I received a letter from GM/Chevrolet in August 2015 regarding oil consumption issues in my 2011 Chevrolet Equinox (service bulletin no.: sb-15285). I am currently having this issue monitored for this as I was told I would have to have bring it to the dealership every 1,000 miles for monitoring before they would do anything about this. In the meantime I have gotten a check engine code P0420 which relates to the catalytic converter. My Equinox has just at 84,500 miles on it and the catalytic converter warranty is only 80,000. I took it in to the dealer this morning and was told the converter needed replacing. After speaking with multiple dealerships and mechanics I understand and have been told multiple times that the oil consumption and piston issues have caused this problem yet GM/Chevrolet is telling me they will only help me approximately $200 to help with the new converter. They must know this is what's caused this issue as it appears that a lot the 2010 Equinox had the exact same issue and problems. I would really like for GM/Chevrolet to fix the converter on my Equinox at 100% their cost as it has had multiple other issues including transmission (covered under a bulletin listed on your site here), camshaft actuator (covered under a bulletin listed on your site here), etc. The converter per quotes are anywhere from $600-$1,200 which is a lot of money for an issue that was caused by the oil consumption issue they know about, but have to monitor first before they will fix it.

- Crawford, GA, USA

problem #78

Sep 152015

Equinox

  • 123,367 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving, there was an abnormal noise coming from the engine. The contact discovered that the oil levels in the vehicle were very low. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed the cause of the failure was due to excessive oil consumption. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 123,367.

- Mechanic Valley, ME, USA

problem #77

Nov 152015

Equinox

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that shortly after refueling the vehicle, the service engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the fuel pump assembly fractured prematurely causing a failure. The dealer diagnosed that the fuel pump assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000. Updated 1/20/16

- Columbus, NJ, USA

problem #76

Oct 172015

Equinox

  • 76,000 miles
I bought this vehicle used and one month later ck engine light comes on and stays on while driving the type of roadway is either hwy. Or in town at any speeds. Had checked, trouble code P0013 cam act. Sensor. Found recall #11195A on line. Cheverlot refusing to acknowledge this even though recall is for same year, same vehicle and, same engine.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #75

Oct 202015

Equinox

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted, but the failure recurred on multiple occasions. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle accelerated and immediately stopped responding in the middle of an intersection. The contact continued to depress the accelerator pedal, and the vehicle jerked and began to accelerate. After that incident, the vehicle would no longer reverse or shift from third to fourth gear. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000.

- New London, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?