Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,391 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jun 202013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down a major interstate decreasing my speed from 55 to 40. The car continued to decrease the speed without intervention from me. I applied gas to increase the speed and the car would not go above 5 miles although the gas pedal was pushed to the floor. I coasted to the left side of road waited to clear traffic and changed several lanes going 5 miles an hour. It was frightening. I had the car towed and after the dealership performed their analysis stated it needed an oil change. You got to be kidding!! how stupid does this dealership think I am - just brushing off this problem. This is the second time this has happened to me. The engine runs very rough and loud. Today, in another location there was a terrible accident with a car and 2 tractor trailers. The news person stated the car just began to slow down without any apparent cause and stopped. This sounds what happened to me. Chevy needs to explain and fix the problem. I don't trust this vehicle.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #13

Jul 012011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
When driving vehicle at slow-mid speeds (less than 30 mph), it loses power. It appears that the transmission is not in gear and engine bogs down. Vehicle had to be pulled off to the side of the road, turned off, and restarted. Problem is intermittent and the dealer has made 3 repairs to address the issue, however it still occurs. Last service was 6-5-13, problem happened again 6-14-13. Overall this has occurred approximately 10 times since buying the vehicle in Feb. 2011.

- Batavia, IL, USA

problem #12

May 042013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Took my car in for service because the car was shaking, and rattling while driving, loss of engine power. Eventually the engine stalled and stalled several times upon restarting the engine. The service team said they needed to replace an O2 sensor. Since then the car is still stalling and riding rough but does not happen as often. Service department keeps telling me they are not able to "reproduce the problem". so far the car has stalled on me 4 times in less than a week after being the in shop twice for the same problem. A car with less than 45,000 miles should not be doing this !! this poses a danger to the public and my family if it stalls and I am unable to get the car off the road in time to avoid an accident.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #11

Oct 252012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 20,105 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road and my 2011 Chevy Equinox just stalled on me. It restarted and ran fine. A few weeks later it did the same thing. In January 2013 it stalled on me 6 times within a short period. I was able to take it to the dealer. They replaced my camshaft actuators. Within 3 weeks of having those replaced, the car started stalling on me again. Again I took the Equinox to the dealer. This time they replaced the solenoid valves. The car has not stalled on me since that time, but it does run rough and the engine misses when I drive down the road. I believe it is only a matter of time until it begins to stall again. The cruise has actually turned off because of the engine missing. I feel the car is unsafe because you do not know when it is going to stall. I am afraid that I will be rear-ended when it stalls or it will stall when I pull out into traffic. I am afraid to take the car very far from home for fear of getting stranded. I feel this is a real safety issue.

- Delphos, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 202013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 42,216 miles
I bought my 2011 Equinox late 2011. I have had problems on and off with the engine. First it started making an awful racket whenever it was first started. Sometimes only once a week or so, sometimes 2-3 times a day. Christmas day 2012, while loading the vehicle with gifts and such I had started it so that it would be warm when we were done. But before we were done the car started to sputter and act like it was out of fuel. I turned it off and after I restarted it ran fine but engine light was on. Light went off after about 50 miles. From christmas 2012 to February 20, 2013 that sputtering happened occasionally and then turned into a little worse of an issue and my engine power reduced message started coming on and I'd have to stop and restart the car before it would quit.the car would be 'sputtering' or feel as though I was running out of gas. It got to where when the engine power reduced message came on, before I could even pull over to shut it off the 'sputtering' was so bad that my check stabilitrac message would come on too. I noticed that my mpg had went down also. 2-20-13, I parked the car and didn't drive it again until the dealership could look at it. I took it to the dealership on 2-26-13 and I got it back today 2-28-13. They replaced the throttle body and some of the wiring for the throttle body and it runs like a dream (so far anyway). In fact, I'm not sure that it ever ran this well the entire time I've owned it.

- Henryetta, OK, USA

problem #9

Dec 182012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 9,778 miles
On 18 Dec 2012 the car lunged forward while exiting a parking lot. Ten minutes later the car lost all power on a busy highway. I could not steer the car to the shoulder of the road.... the car was dead. Police arrived to warn me of being in a very dangerous spot. I was towed by aaa to the dealership where the car was purchased. Service at the dealership = oil/filter change. Odometer - 9778. The old problem recurred today 22 Feb 2013. Odometer 10329 sluggishness, slow response to acceleration, died twice in reverse, and general undependable. I'm afraid to drive the car. It is a hazard on the road. Please help.

- Ivins, UT, USA

problem #8

Jul 042011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the camshaft actuator needed to be replaced. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions for the failure but to no avail. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,500 and the current mileage was 47,000. Updated 03/20/13 updated 04/02/13 updated 04/19/2013

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #7

Jul 152011

Equinox

  • 3,438 miles
Purchased this 2011 Equinox lt 4 cy on 4/25/2011. After a few months it started hesitating and stalling and a check engine code P0011. So on 7/15/2011 I took it to the dealer and they replaced the intake cam solenoid and oil. Seemed better but still hesitated once in a while so I brought back on 9/27/2011 and the dealer said they could not duplicate.we lived with the hesitation until 2/11/2013 when it starting running bad and stalled a couple times and the check engine light came on with a P0011 code again. This time I took it to another dealership because it was closer and they test both actuator solenoids and at the time of the test they where both working. They checked the debris screens and there was no debris to affect the operation of the actuator. So with no other information about the problem they said the oil was dirty, even though the oil had less than 2500 miles and the computer life oil sensor said I was at 64%. and they stated that the oil did not read on the dip stick. My SUV with 24K miles and less than 2500 miles on since a oil change had burned over a quart and a half of oil.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #6

Oct 042012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 39,574 miles
These vehicles need to be recalled by GM - they have a serious engine defect which cause excessive oil consumption and dangerous performance of the vehicle. The vehicle will stall at any given time or not respond so pulling out into traffic is extremely dangerous. They are in the process of replacing my engine however after much research in most cases this does not fix the problem. I am fortunate to have a dealer that is responsive to my complaints - however that is not the case for most. There are people out there fighting to have the situation resolved but have made no progress. I requested GM terminate my lease as I will not place my children in this vehicle any longer, they refused. I have a light at the end of my tunnel as I leased, but so many people who purchased these vehicles do not as the problem is so well know and documented they are unable to trade them in at a decent value. It is a sin that they are not forced to recall these unsafe vehicles. I am assuming they are waiting for a fatality. I have been denied that ability to speak with a district manager at GM as the resolution provided by the lower level employees was not acceptable. At this point I am not sure where to turn. I will be placing the vehicle in my garage once the engine is replaced and buying another vehicle as to not endanger myself or others.

- Oak Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jan 082013

Equinox

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled. The check engine warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was not aware of the repair necessary to correct the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000.

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 062011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 1,675 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought 2011 Equinox on May 14,2011, on June 6,2011 with only 1675 miles returned vehicle to dealership due to making noise upon starting. Best I can make out on work order: Code 314 diagnostic scan &R&I&R starter & reposition & torque bolts. Returned on Sept 1, 2011 for same problem. Told there was a recall and had to reprogram engine control module. Was better for awhile, but kept getting worse till it sounded like a diesel engine starting. Just figured this was maybe normal and we would have to just live with it. Final took back to another dealership on 8-2-12. Replaced water pump and balance shaft timing chain, tensioner, crank shaft balancer bolt and cam shaft actuator bolts. Engine light came on 8-18-12, tech said had a leak in vac. Hose. Returned vehicle on 9-7-12 for diesel sounding noise again. Parts ordered to be put on 9-10-or 9-11-12. Don't' think this will fix problem, but it is what GM has recommended to do. Also had issue with speaker in frnt passenger door. Had to take vehicle 4 different trips for them to determine where static noise was from. So loud at times it was difficult to hear radio. Finally replaced speaker and has worked fine since. Also have noticed when stopped and start to accelerate there would be a hesitation. Thought it was just not having foot on pedal good, but after reading about stalling issues-wonder if this is what is happening. Really considering trading this vehicle in-but wonder if we would get true value of car once they see what all has been done and problems. Isn't there some compensation GM can give to owners. Would never recommend this vehicle to anyone.

- St. Joseph, TN, USA

problem #3

Jun 042011

Equinox 6-cyl Diesel

  • 25,000 miles
Upon starting the vehicle one day there was a horrible loud 'rattling' noise under the hood. It has done this at least 3 more times since this date 7 it is still under manf. Warranty.

- Henryetta, OK, USA

problem #2

Jul 092012

Equinox

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate and suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle, but the vehicle continued to stall. The engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #1

Jun 142012

Equinox

  • 24,000 miles
The engine stalled during operating, this is a brand new car just around 24,000 miles.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?