Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,158 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Apr 172016

Equinox

  • 63,240 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased my 2011 Chevy Equinox in March 2014 at 36,000 miles. At this moment I have 63,000 miles. Past couple months or so I have had many issues with my vehicle. There was a ticking for a period of time after parking and shutting off the vehicle, a rough/loud running of the engine, inconsistent times of knocking type sound, and a hesistant during accelerating and so rough. When we inquired about these things from the dealer we purchased from we were told that everything was 'normal' and that's what a Chevy sounds like. Today I was driving up a 30 mph road and could not accelerate over 20 mph going straight up the road. There was a hesistation then it stopped in the middle of the road. I turned the ignition off.waited a few seconds and it started back up. I drove fast home and turned onto my street and it started to slow down and not accelerate. It was still running but didnt go anywhere. I turned it off again for a few minutes. It started up I drove it into my driveway. The engine light came on and it shutoff. This appears to be a consistent problem in this type of vehicle from what I have now found and something that should not happen with only 63,000 miles on it. I do not drive long distance. Work, school and home. I am extremely frustrated with the entire situation. I have always bought Chevy and this is the first major issue. They need a recall on this. Can someone help. I do not have a warranty anymore. Im a single mom of 2 and can not afford this. The crazy thing is. I received a notice in the mail about this issue a few months back. I chuckled and said not my car and threw it away now look at me.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #24

Jan 132016

Equinox

  • miles
I was driving to get my 3 small kids from after school and my 2011 Chevy Equinox started losing power. Could not go over 35 mph.check engine light turned on, then the stabilitrak light followed by reduce engine and it had vibration. The car was in motion. I got to the stop sign and it vibrated. I pulled over and was scared to cut it off. Then after about 2 mins I was able to pull of slowly by the car stalled. And I still couldn't go over 35mph. Slowly made it to my kids school and I could here clunky noises. I cut off, after 5 mins I was able to crank, the only light that was on was the check engine light and its stil on. I was able to drive regular but still had a little vibration. I do not have warranty and im a single mother of 3 small kids from age 18months - 9years old. I dont know what to do. I cant afford any repairs. I just got this vehicle January 30, 2015

- Lloyd, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 042016

Equinox

  • 98,600 miles
I was in city streets going 30 mph at most, 19 degrees in Minnesota and it shows reduced engine power and stabiltrack off as traction control light comes on and check engine light is on. The engine starts shaking violently and I pull over, restart it and it goes for a few blocks and then the same warnings come on (engine light has gone off and on intermittently for a few months with no issues.) as mentioned, speed reduction was stated on screen and I drive slowly and was only able to accelerate slowly. I just went through a Chevrolet forum and see that I'm not the only one who's had these same issues and lights and warnings pop up on the screen. Luckily I was not on a highway or under any other scarier conditions and was close to home. Many others have spent hundreds of dollars to try and remedy this issue and, per the forum, have only been able to do that after at least having the warranty to pay for it. Here's the link to the extensive forum: chevroletforum.com/forum/Malibu-15/very-dangerous-reduced-engine-power-issue-62499/page27/ I don't want to be A/the casualty that makes this issue more immediate. Furthermore, I don't want to be the cause of injury to any others because of this.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #22

Nov 302015

Equinox

  • 85,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission shifting issues causing car to jerk and not accelerate. Has been an on going issues for the last 13 month brought in to be looked at multiple time. Dealer is stating that's how the transmission were made.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #21

Oct 202015

Equinox

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted, but the failure recurred on multiple occasions. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle accelerated and immediately stopped responding in the middle of an intersection. The contact continued to depress the accelerator pedal, and the vehicle jerked and began to accelerate. After that incident, the vehicle would no longer reverse or shift from third to fourth gear. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000.

- New London, NC, USA

problem #20

Dec 152014

Equinox

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving to work on route 66 in East hampton, ct when the car just started hesitating and not driving properly. I immediately had to find a safe place to pull off so as not to cause an accident and called on-star. I turned the car on and off several times before it finally seemed drive-able. On-star performed a diagnostic test and said there was definitely something wrong and to proceed to the closest Chevrolet dealer immediately. It was determined by jackson Chevrolet they had to replace the throttle body. I don't understand how something like that can break in only 4 years of owning the car and it was a real safety concern.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #19

May 022015

Equinox

  • 49,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I was out running errands on 5/2/15 with my 5 year old, as I was arriving closer to my destination my car started shaking the check engine light came on, the stabilitrak light came one and I started to accelerate the car and the pedal was all the way to the floor and the car hesitated for a min or so then it started to rev up and I was able to pull off. Then when I got to where I was going I turned the car off and according to the manual the stabilitrak should go off and it usually activates due to check engine light coming on. I can honestly say that when you are in traffic at a stop and trying to pull off this is a very dangerous situation. After being in the store for at least 30mins or more when I come back out the check engine light is still on but the stabilitrak light is off. I am no more than 20 mins away from my home but on the way back home it took at least 45 mins because three times while in traffic waiting for the light to turn green the card started having the soldered acceleration problems again. I am just relieved that the drivers behind me in each occurrence which would be a total of 4 was very patient. I did do a diagnostic report with onstar after the second incident and I was informed that there were 3 codes on my car now and the loss of power can be an issue for these code and to get the car to the dealer within 7 days. This seems to be an issue that has been listed on this site more than once. I am no longer under the warranty for this vehicle and from what I have read is a very expensive repair. I am not sure why Chevy/GM is not acknowledging this issue from what I have seen on this site and edmunds.com, car complaints.com and you tube this a very real and serious issue. This issue needs to be addressed soon than later. I don't understand why there hasn't been anything done about this. I am scared to drive my car now.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #18

Feb 282015

Equinox

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle decelerated without warning and the vehicle vibrated as the reduce speed warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where the diagnosis was unknown by the contact. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Maysville, KY, USA

problem #17

Feb 242015

Equinox

  • 70,000 miles
I was driving in the snow at approximately 40 mph when the car decelerated to approx 20 mph, the check engine light came on, the traction control light came on, the SUV started shaking and the reduced engine performance pop up was displayed. The dealer is replacing the throttle sensor due to a short. Luckily I was not on the highway at the time as going from 65 to 20 would have been very dangerous. This limp home/fallback mode seems sort of ill conceived especially on roads above 30 mph.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #16

Jan 142015

Equinox

  • 53,000 miles
Driving at 55mph suddenly car decelerates and warning light flashes "engine power reduced"...cannot accelerate past 15 mph. Service at Chevy dealer diagnosis - throttle body needs replacement... concerned to have this sudden problem at highway cruising speeds.

- Canandaigua, NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 162014

Equinox

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was turning left on a green light at the corner of argyle and oakleaf suntrust bank when the car slipped into neutral and I was stuck in oneway opposite traffic until I turned off the engine and restarted it and then was a ble to go into drive, I was almost in a serious accident with several cars. Then I was traveling North on hwy 295 and I had it in cruise control and I could not get it to quit until I turned off the engine. The power train was slipping after I had taken it to the Chevy dealer and they said it was fixed but less than a year later it started doing the same thing as before, slipping, making loud scratching noises.rubbing noises and it smelled funny like it was burning but there was no fire.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #14

Apr 292014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, there was a sudden loss of acceleration as the wrench warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the throttle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 10/24/14 updated 4/20/2015

- Akron, IN, USA

problem #13

Apr 282014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 27,300 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the cruise control was activated at 60 mph when the vehicle exhibited an unexpected increase in acceleration. In addition, the engine rpms increased abnormally. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where the technician was unable to duplicate the acceleration failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 27,300 updated 06/27/14

- Morrowville, KS, USA

problem #12

Jan 212014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • miles
Engine loss of power, with service engine light illumination and reduced engine power message while driving on interstate highway when under 5 deg. F at night.. onstar advised to stop driving the vehicle due to engine damage concern and potential fire. Drove vehicle in "limp mode" direct to servicing dealership, dealer advised of engine code P2135 and stated vehicle required a "throttle body" replacement (same as onstar), at a full parts & labor cost of almost $500 dollars. Dealer stated that this repair is no longer covered under GM's powertrain warranty (yet is a P-code and is obviously powertrain related as it is the throttle body) or the emissions warranty. Not only is the failure mode dangerous, so is the vehicle response to the condition (reduced power). Not having the issue covered by warranty of some type makes it even worse.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #11

Mar 072014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 50,750 miles
Engine loss of power, with service engine light illumination and service traction control message. Drove vehicle home in "limp mode" before taking to servicing dealership, the following Tuesday. Dealer performed balance chain repair under manufacturer special warranty letter. Afterwards, dealer advised of engine code P2135 and stated vehicle required a "throttle body" replacement, at a full parts & labor cost of $583. Dealer stated that this repair is no longer covered under GM's powertrain warranty. Multiple online posts indicate that this same loss of engine power issue has occurred with vehicles traveling at freeway speeds, which will be mush more dangerous.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #10

Feb 102014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving on a residential street going 30 mph. All of a sudden there was a engine clunk ( 4 cyl) and then rapid deceleration with the engine running very rough. Of course the warning lights came on. The next day I drove to the dealership several miles away and was lucky to get there as the vehicle was running so badly. The dealership will make the throttle body repair, change some sensors and fool with the timing belt, but the bottom line is the safety issue. Reviewing the prior complaints, it was scary hearing about those having problems on the interstates. Yes, something needs to be done by General Motors. Recalled these vehicles for inspection. Someone is going to get killed. The lady at the dealership had the gaul to say, "didn't you have the throttle body cleaned when you got your oil changed".I said lady, I have no idea what a throttle body is and if it is so important, then the dealer should do it automatically. Good luck, it will cost me $400, they said today. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.

- La Porte, IN, USA

problem #9

Feb 052014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 64,467 miles
Started accelerating & when I got to 55 mph the vehicle started losing power rapidly & service stabilitrak light along with reduce engine power came up on the dash. I went from 55 mph to 20 mph within seconds. I was able to pull onto the side of the road. I tried to merge back onto the highway but was unable to go faster then 16 mph. I quickly pulled back over & parked the car. Shut the car off & waited about 1 min & turned the car back on. The stabilitrak & the reduce engine power cleared off my dash but the check engine light stayed on. I then was able to merge back into traffic & pick up the 65 mph speed. I continued to work & had no other issues until I pulled into my work parking lot. That's when the stabilitrak & reduce engine power came back on & I lost power again. I parked the car & called the dealership. They told me to bring the vehicle in. It didn't duplicate the issue the whole way to dealership. The next day they called me to let me know they replaced a sensor & updated the computer with software. I drove the vehicle & it seemed fine. Week later had the same issue. Got about 5 mins into my trip & was on the interstate going 60 & all of a sudden the service stabilitrak & the reduce engine power light came back on & the vehicle dropped my speed of 60 to around 17 mph quickly. Thankful that no one was close behind me when this happened. I got off an exit & pulled into a parking lot. Called the dealership. This time they sent a flat bed out to get vehicle. They called & said it was a throttle body issue & that it needs replaced. They told me it isn't covered under the pt warranty. I'm seeing a number of people with this same issue & wondering why this isn't a recall? it's very unsafe especially cause you don't know when its going to happen. If your doing 65-70 mph on a highway & there are cars close to you & the vehicle decides to do this, you are in big trouble.

- Pulaski, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 172013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 42,300 miles
I was stopped at stoplight at 8pm the car shook as I started to turn left and the stability control light came on then low power engine light came on in my 2011 Equinox. The car powered down to 2 mph, it would not accelerate so I turned into a parking lot, shut the car off and turned it back on same thing happened again. I called onstar and had the car towed to phillips Chevrolet (great service) in frankfort, il. The service manager called and told me that the throttle body had to be replaced. I had the extended warranty so the cost was $100 to me, without the warranty it would have been $600 to fix. I asked if he has replaced many throttle bodies in this model car he said quite a few. The car was fixed. I emailed Chevrolet and asked how many throttle bodies have been replaced in all cars, they said no recalls on this car. I was unsatisfied with their answer, that was not my question. Chevrolet called me back and said that a person would call me about my concern. They called and told me the same story, no recalls and the dealer could have been lying to me, which made me upset. I asked to speak with a supervisor and he told there were no records kept of how many throttle bodies have been replaced, which I do not believe. He also told me about a fuel pump problem that Chevy would fix only if my car had a problem and a chain belt problem that could a cause serious problem to the engine if the car showed symptoms. I was not happy with that answer either. I will take my car in for a chain belt and fuel pump check now that I am aware of the potential problem. The supervisor told me that I would have to contact your Agency about my concern. I would like an answer to my original question, how many throttle bodies have been replaced in Chevrolet cars" why did this happen and will a recall be issued" thank you.

- Tinley Park , IL, USA

problem #7

Mar 012010

Equinox

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, engine power was suddenly lost. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Lambertville, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jun 202013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I was driving down a major interstate decreasing my speed from 55 to 40. The car continued to decrease the speed without intervention from me. I applied gas to increase the speed and the car would not go above 5 miles although the gas pedal was pushed to the floor. I coasted to the left side of road waited to clear traffic and changed several lanes going 5 miles an hour. It was frightening. I had the car towed and after the dealership performed their analysis stated it needed an oil change. You got to be kidding!! how stupid does this dealership think I am - just brushing off this problem. This is the second time this has happened to me. The engine runs very rough and loud. Today, in another location there was a terrible accident with a car and 2 tractor trailers. The news person stated the car just began to slow down without any apparent cause and stopped. This sounds what happened to me. Chevy needs to explain and fix the problem. I don't trust this vehicle.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?