Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,119 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chevrolet Equinox steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 172016

Equinox

  • 66,770 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 3/31/15, Chevy dealer that sold us the car replaced the steering gear subject to bulletin 14232, because we got a letter from GM advising us to get it done. On 10/17/16, power steering failed during a turn on city street, causing emergency braking and near miss. The power steering froze up, and the wheel would not turn. This happened near the end of a 10-mile commute. On 10/18/16, this scenario was repeated near the end of a 10-mile commute. The car was towed at this time to the same dealer. On 10/25/16, dealer returned car to us un-repaired, saying they could not duplicate the problem, the car is out of warranty, and that the problem is a new one. They offered to repair the car for $400. We told the dealer this is a known problem, that they replaced the steering gear that is currently failing, and that there is a ten year non-warranty window on this type of safety repair. On 10/26/16 we called Chevrolet customer service to complain. They got back to us on 10/27/16 and offered to fix the car for $400. This is a dangerous if intermittent problem that is known to GM, and they are obliged to fix it. There is at least one other case (NHTSA id #10689932) of steering failing after steering gear replacement pursuant to bulletin 14232.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #15

Aug 142016

Equinox

  • 31,000 miles
The front windshield side pillars are so wide near the side mirrors that it causes a foot wide blind spot which has caused me to be in an accident and almost several other accidents. I have heard that I am not the only one who has had a problem with this. This blind spot caused me to hit a pole while turning and pulling out of a parking area.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #14

Apr 012016

Equinox

  • 39,000 miles
Front wheels locked while towing vehicle 4 wheels down behind motorhome. Lock up occurred twice, once while turning on corner entering I40 and once while driving over bridge under repair on uneven lane surface on I40.

- Prudenville, MI, USA

problem #13

Mar 022015

Equinox

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When opening the storage in the front seat the light burns so hot that it burns the right hip/leg of the driver badly. Steering makes a super loud rubbing sound when turning wheel left or right that dealership cannot seem to fix.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #12

Feb 012013

Equinox

  • 36,000 miles
After 36K miles, the car steering would stick and slip. Pa dealer could not replicate as this would happen at higher speed 65mph. But, under extended warranty, the dealer replaced the steering rack due to a technical bulletin report about steering sticking/slipping. The problem went away and came back after 36K more miles on the new steering rack. Car is at va dealer today for diagnostic test as I moved. Car also hesitates and jerks back when accelerating and has done that since a year after owned vehicle. Love the car design but I am afraid to drive it as I feel like I don't have control over steering. At times steering feels loose car has slipped on ice and cannot control steering. I'm very disappointed and feel the steering design is poor. Steering rack design is a simple concept and don't understand why this is a poor design. I'm skeptical about keeping the car as I don't feel safe driving.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #11

Nov 082014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 36 miles
I was driving and needed to turn my steering wheel locked in place, I was unable to turn the wheel and almost run into a brick wall. I received a letter in the mail from GM about two weeks after the incidence that stated the steering will lock in place. I contacted GM only to be told that there is not anything that they can do to assist me with this issue.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #10

May 012013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering became sticky and jerky. Scary. Feeling like maybe I was going to lose control then went away. Happened over a period of several days driving the highway. Hasn't occurred since last year as I recall. Didn't take to the dealer because problem seemed to disappear. But a few days ago I received a notice from GM acknowledging this is a known problem in this model/year and to take to the dealer. I called the dealer to schedule an appointment but the dealer said they would not fix it if they could not drive it and duplicate the problem, and since it hasn't happened recently, they told me to just keep driving it. I am more concerned now that they apparently know of this problem and must know the proper repair, but do not want to fix my car. What if it happens again and I am not so fortunate in my ability to steer past the stick and jerk?

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #9

Sep 112014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000..updated 09/ 30/14 the consumer stated while making a right turn, the steering wheel seemed to break free and continued moving about two inches. At the same time, the vehicle shut off, the lights went out. The consumer had to coast to the side of the road. When he finally stopped, he was able to move the gear shift from drive to park and restarted the vehicle. The dealer was unable to find a problem. Updated 10/08/14

- Birmingham, MI, USA

problem #8

Jul 182013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 25 miles
When pressing the gas peddle when going around 30 miles per hour there is a hesitation then a surge. It has been doing that since purchase.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #7

Nov 022012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
When the car is excelling from a stopped position, around the time the car is reaching 10 mph, braking for a complete stop than having to accelerate before coming to a complete stop; such as when a stopping for a red light and the light turns green, or slowing down from exiting the interstate the vehicle will shift hard, making a 'clunk' type sound. Also, while driving under normal conditions the steering wheel will make sudden small jerking motion. Both problems have occurred multiple times, in various driving conditions. The cruise has been on and off when the steering issue has occurred; the traction control has been on and off when the steering issue has occurred. I drive in 'eco' mode regularly. And I am not including sudden stops in this complaint.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #6

Oct 292010

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The night sandy hit on the East coast, it was windy in Michigan. Our city was doing leaf pickup around that time so leaves were accumulated at the edges of the roads. The car was being driven through a subdivision on a paved road and it just caught on fire. GM will take no responsibility for the fire. They say leaves blew up under the car and they are what caught on fire. How can vulnerable areas not be shielded from this? the car was about a month old!!! the fire burnt for about 7 minutes. The dealership says that there is nothing they can do. A team from GM inspected the car and they will not even let us see their report. We haven't had a car for over a month and I for one am furious! they tell us if we have the car repaired we lose any right to pursue legal proceedings.... we have to pay $500 (our insurance deductible) to start repairs even though they wont tell us what is damaged even though we purchased additional insurance at the time of purchase through the dealer to cover our deductible in the event of damage... all they say is that it was our fault for not reading the manual regarding driving or parking over leaves... we found reference to it in the off road portion of the manual. The car had never been driven off road.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #5

May 102012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
Adjustable telescopic steering wheel would not lock into position unless it was moved up and down in and out to find gear. Dealer replaced steering column but problem still occurs. Went back to dealer and they showed me an 2012 Equinox on the showroom floor that did same thing. Dealer said it is normal for Equinox?

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #4

Mar 012012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the steering wheel was exhibiting a loud growling noise while driving and the vehicle also abnormally vibrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the defect. The dealer inspected the vehicle and was able to recreate the failure. The dealer added the power steering fluid however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the steering noise was a characteristic of the vehicle. The failure mileage was 2,000 and the current mileage was 3,200...updated 09-21-12 the consumer stated the noise was heard when driving at a low sped. Updated 09/25/12

- Gallion , OH, USA

problem #3

Sep 302011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
When stopped at a stop sign or red light sometimes the engine tries to cut out, and the car jerks like it is trying to stay cranked. I have a friend that has a GM terrain and hers does the same thing. When turning there is a knocking in the steering. The speakers have a rattling sound like they are busted, but it doesn't do it all of the time. I took my car to the dealer, but of course they couldn't find anything wrong with it, the car now has 23,000 and it still hasn't been fixed. (this has been going on since September of 2011 when I bought the car).

- Crystal Springs, MS, USA

problem #2

Jan 262012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that a groaning noise was emitted from the steering wheel whenever it was turned at low speeds or while stopped. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,100. Updated 7/20/12 updated 07/30/12

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #1

Nov 022011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 2,177 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while in reverse, the power steering system malfunctioned and made it difficult to steer the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The contact stated the power steering system malfunctioned approximately four times since purchase. The failure mileage was 2,177. Updated 12/16/11 updated 12/22/11

- Needville, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?