Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

4.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,610 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Express engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Express:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Express Owner Comments

problem #5

Dec 162014

Express 8-cyl

  • 19,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sometimes when attempting to start the engine, it will turn over but not start. The malfunction indicator light comes on and a engine reduced power message will illuminate. If the engine starts, it will run rough, the light will be on and stay on, and the engine reduced power message will appear. I had a mechanic check for any codes and he came up with P1682, which indicates an ignition switch problem. GM has a recall out for this condition (11273), which refers to the throttle position sensor causing this problem. However a faulty ignition switch causes the same problem, but they won't fix it. If the vehicle is being driven when this problem occurs with the loss of engine power and rough running, it seems that the vehicle, in my case an rv, would lose speed and almost slow to a stop which would be very dangerous. GM recognizes that this problem can occur, but are not concerned that it can occur under more than one condition. Unless the code comes up 11273 as the problem, they will take no responsibility to fix it even though the code 1682 produces the same situation causing the malfunction light to come on and stay on and the message engine reduced power to appear and the engine runs rough or won't start at all.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #4

Oct 232012

Express 8-cyl

  • 44,500 miles
On October 23, 2012 at 3:00 pm the van pulled to the right while in a left turn, steering first to the right and then to the left when brakes were applied. Van speed was about 25-30 mph, driver was able to control steering but only with force. Light for stability control came on as steering control was lost and was off when van stopped. Engine RPM followed gas pedal lift, and brake apply. The van went onto the gravellecd shoulder of the road during this incident.

- Roseburg, OR, USA

problem #3

Aug 152012

Express 8-cyl

  • 47,850 miles
An operator reported in August of 2012 that "the engine dies after driving about 1 mile, then restarts." In September 2012 we had one operator document his finding over a two week period, his reports include: "9/14/12 left brake pull, going straight at 50 mph after about 1 to 2 miles of operation." "9/10/12 front brakes seemed to come on, speed dropped about 15 mph from 55 mph, this was within the first 4-5 miles traveled." "9/12/12 van pulled to right, right brake came on while going around a left hand corner, speed dropped 10 - 15 mph." 9/17/12 brales seemed to come on after 2 - 3 miles." "9/20/2012 right brake pull while leaving driveway of service center, making a right hand turn." All incidents occurred in the morning within the first 5 miles of operation, the operator was the only person in the vehicle and no dash or warning lights came on.

- Roseburg, OR, USA

problem #2

Dec 162010

Express 8-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
This vehicle has had multiple incidents of cutting out and stalling causing loss of steering and brakes, and just before it completely shuts down it will power back up. In April 2011 an operator stated "intermittently when making a left hand turn at approx. 10 - 15 mph with acceleration the traction light comes on and van cuts out for a few seconds like someone shut off the key, it powers most of the way down and then will come back on its own." During this time the steering and brakes are compromised. In November 2011 an operator stated "powers down while operating, brakes lock up and power steering locks up, van pulls to the right in corners, seems to be ABS with no brakes applied in corners/" in November 2012 it was reported from 3 different operators that the van cut out and each of them almost lost control of the vehicle. Reports included going 40-45 mph into a left hand curve, the engine suddenly started to lose power and there was a loss of steering and brakes, and the right hand tire went into the ditch on the right. Another operator said the engine died and the vehicle almost went into the ditch, the vehicle was cold and they had just begun their trip. The 3rd operator said the wheel locked up at 40 mph within the first 1/2 mile. Most of these incidents seem to happen within the first 3 miles of operation.

- Roseburg, OR, USA

problem #1

Jul 012010

Express

  • miles
I have been dealing with GM head office and their call ctr for over 1 + years. I have been telling them that there is hesitation at the pedal at acceleration, constant noise from the engine - sounds like a machine gun. They are always telling me that these are "vehicle characteristics"!!!! I don't believe them! then they put me on a oil consumption as I was almost out of oil for a 3 year old vehicle with only 40,000kms. They were monitoring this every 1,000 approx. I can smell gas in my oil, so they sent a sample off to cat, which they tell me everything was good, but I have never seen a report. Then all of a sudden I receive a I received a call regarding a "recalibrating", so I take the equinox back into the shop....they call me back and state that I had a leaking "high pressure fuel pump", which has mixed gas & oil. I am not stupid as GM thinks - this is not good! with gas mixing with your oil it changes the consistency and doesn't lubricate things like it should. Can this type of thing cause a "runaway"? I think all of these should be recalled - I have been reading alot of peoples words on-line and many are having the same issue - I really don't think people know where to turn. In closing, can you please advise if anyone else has filled reports on this vehicle, is there something more that should be done for me as I don't want to have a catastrophic failure with my family in the vehicle. Someone has to be responsible here and I think GM should be more concerned with their customers & lives. Thank you.

- Fall River, ME, USA

Not what you are looking for?