Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 4
Average Mileage:
54,621 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #144

Nov 122014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 88,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on the highway when I looked to check my speed, the gauges and the dic were not working. When I returned home and turned the car on and off multiple times they still did not work. So my speed and mileage are estimates. Update, it started working again, but I don't know if it will happen again or if there is a malfunction starting to happen.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #143

May 252014

HHR

  • miles
TL - the contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled intermittently several times. The lights illuminated on the instrument panel for various sensors. The contact was able to restart the vehicle in some instances and also had to tow the vehicle more than once due to the intermittent failure. The contact indicated that the vehicle went over the train tracks and the vehicle stalled. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags and electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was continuing to experience the intermittent failure with the ignition switch, instrument panel sensors and the gages intermittently did not work. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Dyd

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #142

May 162014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
I had the ignition changes as of a recall. The electrical started to act up after that, the cruise control will kick off, the doors will lock and unlock, the alarm will go off even if you unlock it with the key, the remote control stopped working, the radio stopped working & then started again, and the drivers door will show locked, but doesn't. this seems to all be controlled by the ignition switch. Its to the point I am afraid to drive it because it may leave me stranded or stop working in traffic. But the company says that it has nothing to do with the ignition.

- Onawa, IA, USA

problem #141

Jul 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized and was unable to turn. The contact restarted the vehicle and it resumed to normal. The contact also stated that the ignition key would not release from the ignition and the release button in the steering column was required. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system) however, the remedy failed to repair the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000. Updated 12/01/14

- Dubois , PA, USA

problem #140

Jun 202014

HHR

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and was not able to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who reprogrammed the computer, provided the contact with a new set of keys, and repaired the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The failure recurred and the key remained stuck in the ignition. The vehicle also failed to shift out of park, the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver, and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering motor, the gear box, and shifter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- South Bay, FL, USA

problem #139

Jul 112014

HHR 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited numerous electrical failures. The engine failed to start, the doors lock failed to lock electronically and sometimes unlocked while driving. Also, the air bag warning light illuminated, the cruise control failed and the vehicle stalled while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician replaced the computer cluster module. However, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,500. Updated 10/22/2014 the consumers wife was injured as they attempted to steer the vehicle, to avoid a crash. Updated 03//09/16

- Gonzales , TX, USA

problem #138

Mar 012014

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available. The contact mentioned that the part had been unavailable for several months. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Longview, WA, USA

problem #137

Aug 222014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Power steering stopped working multiple times while my 16 yr old was driving.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #136

Aug 082014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
To whom it may concern, the key got stuck in the ignition in April (with no other problems) drained the battery and was picked up and taken to smicklas Chevrolet dealership in okc, and remained there on the lot until we picked up on 8/8/14 was told we needed a new battery they could do for around $200 but it was not payday yet and we asked for a jump when we got there. I feel with it sitting there so long maybe they should have try to charge the battery at the very least. We got a few miles down the expressway and had to pull over so we didn't get in a wreck or cause one due to a ton of smoke coming out the vents and a terrible electrical smell like it was on fire! turned off the A/C and pulled over to check under the hood to make sure there wasn't a fire, not one we could see but it sure smelled like it!! called ray at smicklas right there on the side of the road, only to be told it sounded like the blower motor on the air conditioner and that happens sometimes when cars sit for that long. Feeling helpless, we finally get home to check things out and find the passenger floor board full of water, unable to set the time on the radio and some buttons won't work or the cd player and the new remote start will not work. We get it to our mechanic that replaces the battery and told us that the old one was very hot!! and that the blower motor was not the problem, it didn't even have power to it, it was an electrical problem to do with the ignition switch that there was a recall on....I laughed and told him we just had that done! he said that they may have wired something wrong, or the switch was bad. And to the end the day, when stopping for dinner on the way home the key stuck in the new ignition switch and I had to shift from park and drive a couple times to get the key out. What do I need to do to get this resolved"?" thank you for your time,

- El Reno, OK, USA

problem #135

Mar 132014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 142,500 miles
This car has already been serviced due to recall on ignition. I specified to the service rep (when I dropped it for the recall service) of what we had experienced before we parked it: The first time while driving approximately 25 mph the theft deterrent alarm lit up, power started to fail, all gauges moved erratically up and down, dashboard display then flashed ****, then flashed "power steering", and the engine light came on. We got off the road, found a 2 amp fuse to the ignition switch/pass-key blown, replaced #8 fuse from spare.that was the first time. We experienced the problem several more times but no blown fuses. After recall service was completed they made no note of any other electrical problems being found or serviced the problem has resurfaced, and nearly stranded us. No blown fuses in the engine compartment or under dash.. on 8/16/2014 the car decided to shut down at 55mph. Luckily the power steering never went out totally, and the car behind us avoided our sudden slow down. A certified mechanic (not local Chevy dealership where purchased and serviced fro 100,000 M) have suggested that I file this complaint.

- Ruckersville, VA, USA

problem #134

Jul 292014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 211,201 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were on vacation and I was traveling on a road at the posted speed of 30 mph. I was going around a bend and immediately my power steering light came on, there was a chime, it became very difficult to manage the bend I was going around and I hit a light pole damaging my front bumper. At that same time, my mhp and rmp needles began bouncing back and forth and the car was "jerking". I turned the car off. It was still drivable, but within a few seconds the power steering light came back on, the needles bounced and car jerked. I called GM to see if there was a recall on the power steering. They informed me that there were several GM power steering recalls on several years of HHR, cobalt and Saturn. They all have very similar power steering mechanisms. However, my year, 2006, was not on that recall. I have researched and found thousands of people with 2006 HHR's complaining of the same issues but not understanding why that year is not included in the recall.

- West Alexander, PA, USA

problem #133

Aug 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fennimore, WI, USA

problem #132

Jul 302014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
Lost all electronic power and steering and shut off wound up in the ditch which stopped the car key would not turn to the off posiposition.

- Fordland, MO, USA

problem #131

Jul 012014

HHR

  • miles
Letter from senator rubio on behalf of constituent regarding issues with his 2006 Chevrolet HHR; he is seeking reimbursement for the lost billing time and repairs associated with the recall of the HHR Chevrolet; attn: Jason teaman. The consumer stated he encountered multiple problems with the vehicle, ever since it was purchased. Many of the problems were related to the faulty ignition switch, where the key would not come out of the ignition, when the engine was turned off, or the vehicle would not start at all. There were electrical problems with the radio, where it would turn on by itself. Also, the lights and windows did not work. Updated 04/13/15.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #130

Jul 182014

HHR

  • 106,000 miles
Just exited the freeway and driving along suddenly the car just shut down. It took 20 minutes to get the key out of the ignition.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #129

May 012014

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch replacement recall issues. The consumer was informed the parts were not available to perform the recall. The consumer received the recall notice in May 2014. The consumer stated the recall was performed. However, from time-to time, the key gets stuck in the ignition. The consumer received another recall notice, regarding an issue with the transmission shifter may not properly transmit an electrical signal that allows the ignition key to be turned counter clockwise past the accessory mode to the lock position after the vehicle has been shifted into park. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 03/11/15.

- Palmetto, GA, USA

problem #128

Jul 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall issues. The consumer stated the vehicle sometimes shut off, when a bump was hit in the road. That was about 3-4 years ago. The consumer was informed the parts were not available, to remedy the recall.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

problem #127

Apr 152014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Making turn into parking lot hear a ding and not steering, after shut off car and motor cools the steering works happen again a few times sometimes going straight sometimes making turns, car is not safe to drive.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #126

Jun 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition key repairs. The consumer stated after the recall was performed, he was unable to get the key out of the ignition without pushing a button on the steering column. The consumer believed the new switch that was installed was also defective.

- Hernando, MS, USA

problem #125

Mar 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact a owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the part to do the repairs was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?