If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 4
Average Mileage:
50,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #134

Jul 292014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 211,201 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were on vacation and I was traveling on a road at the posted speed of 30 mph. I was going around a bend and immediately my power steering light came on, there was a chime, it became very difficult to manage the bend I was going around and I hit a light pole damaging my front bumper. At that same time, my mhp and rmp needles began bouncing back and forth and the car was "jerking". I turned the car off. It was still drivable, but within a few seconds the power steering light came back on, the needles bounced and car jerked. I called GM to see if there was a recall on the power steering. They informed me that there were several GM power steering recalls on several years of HHR, cobalt and Saturn. They all have very similar power steering mechanisms. However, my year, 2006, was not on that recall. I have researched and found thousands of people with 2006 HHR's complaining of the same issues but not understanding why that year is not included in the recall.

- West Alexander, PA, USA

problem #133

Aug 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fennimore, WI, USA

problem #132

Jul 302014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
Lost all electronic power and steering and shut off wound up in the ditch which stopped the car key would not turn to the off posiposition.

- Fordland, MO, USA

problem #131

Jul 012014

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from senator rubio on behalf of constituent regarding issues with his 2006 Chevrolet HHR; he is seeking reimbursement for the lost billing time and repairs associated with the recall of the HHR Chevrolet; attn: Jason teaman. The consumer stated he encountered multiple problems with the vehicle, ever since it was purchased. Many of the problems were related to the faulty ignition switch, where the key would not come out of the ignition, when the engine was turned off, or the vehicle would not start at all. There were electrical problems with the radio, where it would turn on by itself. Also, the lights and windows did not work. Updated 04/13/15.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #130

Jul 182014

HHR

  • 106,000 miles
Just exited the freeway and driving along suddenly the car just shut down. It took 20 minutes to get the key out of the ignition.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #129

May 012014

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch replacement recall issues. The consumer was informed the parts were not available to perform the recall. The consumer received the recall notice in May 2014. The consumer stated the recall was performed. However, from time-to time, the key gets stuck in the ignition. The consumer received another recall notice, regarding an issue with the transmission shifter may not properly transmit an electrical signal that allows the ignition key to be turned counter clockwise past the accessory mode to the lock position after the vehicle has been shifted into park. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 03/11/15.

- Palmetto, GA, USA

problem #128

Jul 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall issues. The consumer stated the vehicle sometimes shut off, when a bump was hit in the road. That was about 3-4 years ago. The consumer was informed the parts were not available, to remedy the recall.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

problem #127

Apr 152014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Making turn into parking lot hear a ding and not steering, after shut off car and motor cools the steering works happen again a few times sometimes going straight sometimes making turns, car is not safe to drive.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #126

Jun 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition key repairs. The consumer stated after the recall was performed, he was unable to get the key out of the ignition without pushing a button on the steering column. The consumer believed the new switch that was installed was also defective.

- Hernando, MS, USA

problem #125

Mar 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact a owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the part to do the repairs was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #124

Jun 192014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When notified regarding the recall of the vehicle in April, I contacted the local Chevrolet dealer in upland California and ordered the necessary parts to repair the vehicle. I was told that the parts would in the dealership within two months. Calling the dealer in may, I was told that the parts had not come in yet. Yesterday the car would not start due to the ignition switch. The car was towed to the mountain view Chevrolet in upland, where I was informed that they had no record of the parts being ordered, and that it would take two months to get the parts. I called Chevrolet customer service and was told that recall parts could not be expedited. It means I have to wait two more months to drive the car again.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #123

Mar 272014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received NHTSA campaign numbers 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy parts to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures.

- Port Arthur , TX, USA

problem #122

Jun 162013

HHR

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph on a highway the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that they could not duplicate the failure. The contact received notices for NHTSA recall campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) but was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Alpharetta , GA, USA

problem #121

Jun 022014

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall and power steering and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated two days after getting the vehicle back from the dealer, the vehicle had to be flat-bedded back to the dealer, because it wouldn't start. It was determined the ignition switch needed to be replaced. Also, the right passenger outside mirror fell off, the right passenger wiper arm broke, the rotors were replaced twice in two years, and the rear shocks were replaced.

- Kirkville, NY, USA

problem #120

May 212013

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The power steering chimes and then the dashboard displays power steering. The wheel is becoming harder to turn especially in curves and making turns. On the highway the whole steering wheel almost gets so tight you can't get into another lane. On the street I can start the car and it will reset if I let it sit but then it will just chime again and go right back out. This is so frustrating because I contacted GM customer service on several occasions and the hold time is crazy 3-4 hrs listening to music and then being told that there is no recall on my car at this time but there is a lifetime warranty which the local dealership won't honor or even look at the car until they see it on Chevy website even though several reps have sent email notices to the GM local head mgr. They said we will look at this as a case by case. This is very very unsafe. It's not like GM is not aware of this issue, then being told that the parts are not available and the recall notices have not been sent out yet, and then being told after they fixed the ignition switch problem in my car and this was taking place at the same time that they could not look or do anything about this. GM is aware of this! I'm scared that I am going to be driving and lose complete control do I have to die before GM will take responsibility for this. Not like they are not aware of this issue because they are and it should be fixed! getting the run around is so frustrating when they had my car fixing the ignition switch that was on recall.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #119

Jun 082014

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. While starting the ignition, the power steering warning indicator illuminated and the power steering also failed. Three days later, the engine stalled while attempting to start the vehicle numerous times. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000..... updated 08/05/14 the consumer stated while driving the vehicle lost power steering the power steering went on and off repeatedly while driving. Three days later the vehicle would not start. The starter was replaced which resolved the issue.the vehicle had a recall for the ignition not steering loss. Updated 08/11/2014

- South Bridge , MA, USA

problem #118

Jun 022014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer would like to know, if he can take the vehicle, to a particular dealer.

- Edwards, MS, USA

problem #117

Jun 082014

HHR

  • 82,000 miles
Had the new key ignition system put in a week ago and got two new keys.under recall notice. Was shopping shut car off and car would not start again call for service and was told car would not detect new keys now, car back at dealers. To find out why it failed after only a week, dealer said didn't know why new system failed. Has to talk to GM.

- Mapleville, RI, USA

problem #116

Mar 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that it was taking too long for the vehicle to be repaired under NHTSA campaign numbers 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/14/14

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #115

Jun 062014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 91,020 miles
Steering power lost while you turn and power steering comes on.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?