Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Oct 102016

HHR

  • 193,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My air bag service light comes on and my power steering dont work while this air bag service light is on. My heat dont work either while my air bag service light is on. I can drive it for awhile and when my air bag light goes off my power steering starts to work and my heat does too.

- Corydon, IN, USA

problem #55

Jan 112015

HHR

  • miles
The Chevy dealer that I bought the car from and have been taking it to for the two recalls will not do them

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #54

Aug 052015

HHR

  • 80,652 miles
Service air bag light has turned on when starting car. Issue has recurred at least 4 times since August 5, 2015. Mileage was 80652. Are air bags functioning and is car safe to drive?

- Blackshear, GA, USA

problem #53

Mar 242014

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #52

Dec 292014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the dealer failed to replace the ignition switch as stated on the recall notification. The contact mentioned that only the keys were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sebring, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Feb 282015

HHR

  • miles
Car speeded up and down, car started to spin in circle, lost power steering, lost control of car, flipped and rolled over 3 times down a 30 yd. Cliff. No head air bags worked at all, only the steering wheel air bag worked. Took over 2 hrs. To be found by police. Had to use cell phone signal to be found.

- Fulton, MO, USA

problem #50

Sep 242009

HHR 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A lady ran a red light on springridge rd just South of jackson Ms. Wife was driving across springridge rd. The lady failed to yield and struck wife in drivers side totaling three cars in the process wife was severely injured (11 days in hospital) no airbag was deployed during accident. Still working on full recovery.

- Raymond, MS, USA

problem #49

Nov 072014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
This car was in an accident where the driver swerved to miss animals in road, crossed a ditch, a frontage road and hit trees to come to a stop and the airbags never deployed. The driver's head hit the windshield right above the steering wheel giving him a huge black eye, large bump and we are watching him for signs of concussion. His head didn't go through windshield but made a big round spiderweb of it. Shouldn't the airbags have been deployed?

- West Fargo, ND, USA

problem #48

Mar 232013

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while traveling at an unknown speed, four deer intersected with the vehicle. The contact crashed into the deer and the vehicle was destroyed. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver and the passenger sustained whiplash, pains to the back and neck. Both required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Updated 12/09/14 updated 5/11/2015

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #47

Mar 282014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
On 3/28/14 I was driving on highway at 6:30am and my car just turned off displaying engine power reduced. Taken to dealer and they claimed it was notice and now it been 4 times this has happened. Recently on 10/11/14 I was driving home from work and stop at a red light when my car began to shake and on dash display message read engine power reduce which at this point my car cut off and would not start back up.. I waited about 10 min and turned it on again.. this problem has been recurrent since then and now my child safety latches when put on will not let doors close and when moved to open position the safety lock will not reposition itself to the open position. Recently on 10/07/14 my service airbags message displayed for no reason. I have contacted dealership and they don't know why this is happening but wont trade my car for another and I have contacted GM and still no one has helped me these issues. I fear for mine and my family life in this car.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #46

Jun 252011

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my way to work I slowed down to change lanes to make a right hand turn to a parking lot. All of a sudden there was a major jolt and my foot was knocked off the gas pedal. The last thing I remember was looking down at my right foot and seeing it under the brake pedal and thinking I need to move my foot. I remember the emergency room for a moment when I asked them not to cut my clothes. My next memory is for a moment in icu and then I woke up in a hospital room a week later. According to the police report, the car crossed the two westbound lanes and hit a sign and fence, jumped the curb, and then hit shrubbery and several headstones at a memorial sales business. Police estimated my speed at 50 mph" I think the airbag deployed while I was driving. Possibly the ignition shut down causing the jolt and deployment. The car was totaled and I was disabled in this accident. I am unable to return to work. According to GM I am not eligible for a settlement because my airbag deployed. What difference does that make if the ignition caused the accident"

- Bloomingdale, OH, USA

problem #45

Aug 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fennimore, WI, USA

problem #44

May 012014

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch replacement recall issues. The consumer was informed the parts were not available to perform the recall. The consumer received the recall notice in May 2014. The consumer stated the recall was performed. However, from time-to time, the key gets stuck in the ignition. The consumer received another recall notice, regarding an issue with the transmission shifter may not properly transmit an electrical signal that allows the ignition key to be turned counter clockwise past the accessory mode to the lock position after the vehicle has been shifted into park. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 03/11/15.

- Palmetto, GA, USA

problem #43

Jul 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall issues. The consumer stated the vehicle sometimes shut off, when a bump was hit in the road. That was about 3-4 years ago. The consumer was informed the parts were not available, to remedy the recall.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

problem #42

Jun 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition key repairs. The consumer stated after the recall was performed, he was unable to get the key out of the ignition without pushing a button on the steering column. The consumer believed the new switch that was installed was also defective.

- Hernando, MS, USA

problem #41

Mar 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact a owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the part to do the repairs was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #40

Jun 072014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000, (electrical system). The contact stated that the air bag light continuously remained illuminated after the recall repair was performed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the technician was unable to determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 175,620.

- Madisson, GA, USA

problem #39

Mar 272014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received NHTSA campaign numbers 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy parts to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures.

- Port Arthur , TX, USA

problem #38

May 082008

HHR 4-cyl

  • 300,000 miles
Air bag light come on in the passage set when know one in the set.the steering made funny popping noise. An all the door handle broke where you could not get out of the auto. And the car show on car fax that it is a buy back auto. But GM say it not. And one of the handle is breaking on the driver side. And I can not sale it because it show as a buy back.tdmv say it was and then they change there mind. I fill like someone at GM pay them off. I know this has been a long time but I still have the car. And I am still looking for help.I will keep a copy for my record.

- Wharton, TX, USA

problem #37

Jun 022014

HHR

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contactwas traveling approximately 60 mph and fell asleep behind the wheel. He abruptly attempted to regain control of the vehicle, and the vehicle flipped over. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained injuries and received medical attention. The vehicle was to be further inspected by an insurance adjuster and an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Bonneau, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?