Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,956 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 17 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Aug 102011

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am scared, for my family's safety fear that this vehicle will stall and we will crash or be hit by some one...when a vehicle stalls you loose all power...that is power steering, brakes.....the ability to maintain control of your vehicle I am attaching a link that GM should review.....danger this vehicle is an accident waiting to happen !!!!!!!!!!!!! copy this link to your web browser http-//abclocal.go.com/wtvd/story?section=news/abc11_investigates&id=6811236 if you would prefer I can send a typed transcript (word for word) of this news broadcast? I will not allow my wife and kids life to be put in danger, by letting them ride in this vehicle this vehicle is unsafe and should be recalled the link I am attaching shows a news broadcast in raleigh nc. On channel 11 news !!!!! involving number 12 issue on my long list below with the Chevy HHR stalling while driving..... I purchased a 2006 Chevy HHR lt, in 2007. Since I have purchased this vehicle the following issues have occurred. Mileage on car 33,346 1) the key locked up in ignition..9/06/07 2) shifter froze up and would not come out of park.. 9/06/07 3) headliner trim ? energy absorption capability 4) front end and whole car started to shake when applying brake..9/06/07 dealer turned rotors( but did not fix issue) 5) replaced driver side running board..9/06/07. 6) got in vehicle one morning tried to take kids to school, vehicle would not go over 15 mph, had towed back to lawson Chevrolet. Working on getting date/mileage..this issue occurred twice before.

- Cosby, TN, USA

problem #81

Jul 022011

HHR

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving, the power steering would go out at any time and the warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel. The dealer was notified, but did not assist with repairs to the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 103,000 and the current mileage was 105,000.

- Pensacola Beach, FL, USA

problem #80

Jul 192011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 58,255 miles
2006 Chevy HHR :: problem :: power steering message on dash and hard to steer, ABS light on, transmission making car buck while driving, and speedometer is bouncing. This is the second time it has happened, last time dealer found only "communication codes" and did not fix anything so nothing was covered by the extended warranty. That was 9 months ago at 50140 miles.

- Weare, NH, USA

problem #79

Jun 012011

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that when driving at any speed, the power steering would fail intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they replaced the power steering motor. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was 43,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 9/27/11 also, the consumer was unable to remove the key from the ignition when the vehicle was placed in park. The shifter was replaced. Updated 02/01/12

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #78

Aug 102006

HHR

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving the steering wheel became difficult to turn which was a result of the power steering failure. The contact stated the steering wheel continued to fail without warning and the vehicle had to be turned off for fifteen to twenty minutes before the power steering reset itself. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the electronic power assist had failed. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 90,000.

- Pheonix, AZ, USA

problem #77

Jul 082006

HHR

  • 88,800 miles
Loss of power steering while drive. Loose ability to steer at low speeds.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #76

Jun 072011

HHR

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph, the power steering warning illuminated with a sudden loss of the power steering. The contact maneuvered the vehicle to the side of the road. The engine was turned off and restarted as normal. The identical failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they were unable to detect a trouble code. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The contact stated the recall under NHTSA campaign id 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system) is the failure that he experienced. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Rockville, IN, USA

problem #75

Jun 122011

HHR

  • 94,000 miles
I was driving and just when I was on a curved street my car let me know that there was a problem with the power steering. I needed to act fast to avoid an accident due to the fact that I was on a curved street. I never had problem with this electric system until that day. After this, I have been driving my car for one week. The car still doing the same every day, but the main problem is that it happens randomly, so you can;T predict when you will start having a power steering problem. Once you turn of the car and turn it on again system works well for a while. Again, you will never know when it will start having the problem. Hopefully I will go to check the system and fixed as soon as possible. I'm not sure if there is any replacement for this part in which I can be confident that it will never happen again.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #74

Jun 012009

HHR

  • miles
The car has several safety issues. The main concern is that both of the front doors had the handles break off. You cannot open the doors from the inside. You must roll down the window and open from the outside. If the vehicle were involved in an accident or caught on fire and there was no power to the vehicle you are literally trapped inside. I have brought this to the attention of Chevrolet but they have failed to do anything.I feel like the vehicle is a rolling death trap. The other concern is that the power steering went out on the vehicle. Chevrolet does not make it a recall yet you can be driving along and all of a sudden your power steering goes out. The part is the same as the Chevrolet cobalt and Chevrolet did a recall on that vehicle for the very same power steering part.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #73

May 012009

HHR

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet her. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the steering wheel would exhibit a clunking noise. The dealer was contacted and a diagnosis was performed, but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was also made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000 and the current mileage was 82,000.

- Romulus, MI, USA

problem #72

Apr 092009

HHR

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to jump battery and lost power steering after the jump. Car was 2.5 years old. I replaced fuse under the hood and in the center console. Nothing helps.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #71

Apr 182011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Power steering completely went out while driving with kids in the car.

- Bellevue , NE, USA

problem #70

Apr 022011

HHR

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, a warning chime sounded and the power steering failed. The contact stopped and allowed the power steering to reset itself but the failure recurred shortly thereafter. The vehicle was then towed to the contacts residence and was not inspected or repaired for the failure. The failure and current mileage was 77,000.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #69

Apr 012011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
While driving on the freeway I hear a ding ding noise and an indication light comes on saying power steering. I am making my way off the freeway and in the middle of the off ramp my power steering goes out making it almost impossible to turn. I pull into a gas station and turn off the car calling aaa for road side assistance. I had stopped suddenly in the middle of the gas station as I was scared, so I had to re park the car. I turned the car back on and the power steering came back on so I cancelled aaa and I started making my way back home when.... ding ding power steering indication again and as im pulling off again power steering goes out making it impossible to get off the free way safely!!! my car is now parked in the driveway until I can afford to fix it and in the mean time have no car. Ive been told its the defaulty eps motor made in china and it is going out on all Chevy Hhrs but still have not been recalled. I have read thousands of complaints about the same issue as mine after this has happened to me. Not only has my power steering gone out but also my struts, brakes, roters and ball joints!! the GM warrenty does not cover any of these things so its all coming out of my pocket! I have all the reciepts for everything but have no recall on this 2006 Chevy HHR yet?? why, read the reviews and compliants there are several saftey issues with this car. I have owned Chevy 15 years and I have never had so many issues. Ya also so purchased a Chevy aveo dont even go there bought new broke down in the first month. Chevy HHR is an un safe vehicle and Chevy is going to loose by treating consumers this way.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #68

Feb 212010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 7,800 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy HHR. Every since the weather has been getting warmer my car has been loosing it's power steering function. This will happen at anytime of the day and at any place. I can be at a complete stop or driving on the highway and will lose all steering capabilities. This seems to be the same problem that was found in the 2005 - 2010 Chevy cobalts. If I pull over and turn the car off then turn it back on it helps for a while until it does it again. This has been going on for about a month now, today is March 21st 2011. When the steering goes out the odometer will say power steering and there will be a chime that goes off. My mechanic has not been able to figure out what is wrong with the car since it never does it when I leave the car with him.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #67

Feb 242011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 70,020 miles
1. I was turning into a parking spot when my 2006 Chevy HHR had the power steering come on the console and then the steering became very hard. 2. after shutting car off for a bit, it fixed the problem, but was back 20 miles down the road. 3. I have investigated that while this is a problem for the HHR, it is not included with the GM cars recalls. I guess they don't care about the HHR drivers. Please let me know if there is anything I can do.... I don't feel I should have fix this safety issue.

- Algona, IA, USA

problem #66

Jun 012010

HHR

  • miles
General Motors has recalled all models with known power steering issues except the HHR, they're aware the electric power steering is suseptable to failure, which makes the vehicle less safe to operate. This issue has been recalled in Canada. Do they want to run all their customers off? if GM doesn't fix or reimburse me for this, it will be my last GM product. It is ridiculous to treat customers this way. They know there are bad parts out there and refuse to make right on it.

- Paragould, AR, USA

problem #65

Feb 032011

HHR

  • 62,000 miles
Power steering failed on 2006 Chevy HHR LT1. Dealer states power steering motor for cobalt has been recalled, so not sure why the HHR has not been recalled.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #64

Jan 102011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 55,500 miles
Chevrolet HHR 2006. Power steering warning displays on the info display indicating that the power steering has failed. Steering becomes somewhat difficult especially at slower speeds. Power steering functionality resumes once ignition is turned off and back on. Power steering will eventually fail again at random intervals.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #63

Feb 032010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Dealer states cannot duplicate problems: No power steering not fixed by replacing fuse (eps system), although GM recalled many vehicles with same problem and are aware of issue, no recall has been issued. Windows squeal up & down on sunny day, & get stuck shut. Windshield wipers came off of windshield wiper transmission. Front end sway bars replaced, continued problem, tires wearing uneven, feels like bad bearings, unable to dup. Rear windshield wiper fluid pours into interior of car. Front left turn signal went then rear turn signal. Interior was sold as scotch guarded/repellent of liquids interior is far from guarded against anything water stains fabric. Electric power mirrors no longer work. Brought car in for service, recall on front head air bags never disclosed to me never offered to repair.

- Troy, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?