Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,956 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 8 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #262

Aug 112010

HHR

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 3 mph in reverse, there was an immediate loss of power steering with the illumination of the warning indicator. The contact was able to resume in drive with pressure applied forcefully to the steering wheel. The failure recurred whenever the engine was operable. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Jonesville, LA, USA

problem #261

Jul 012013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Shortly after we purchased our, 06 Chevrolet HHR, in May 2013, my fiance, infant child and I was out looking at homes to possibly purchase. When suddenly, without warning, the power steering light came on and I lost all control of the car. I came to a sudden stop against the curbside to avoid hitting anything or anyone. Until now, I had no knowledge as to why that happened. I see that many Chevrolet HHR owners has experienced the same thing with their vehicle. I want to know why GM has not recalled these cars for repairs along with the other vehicles for the same issues. We have experienced everything that has been listed as a condition of defects found in our car.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #260

Apr 172014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 72,800 miles
On April 17, 2014 I started my 2006 Chevrolet HHR by remote to warm it up. After it was warmed up I got in it to drive to work. The car was really jerking bad then the indicator light came on and had power steering on it. I was still in the apartment complex drive so I turned it around and managed to go back to my parking space and parked it. This morning I decided to try and drive my car again. I managed to get to work that is only 2 1/2 miles from where I live. I was driving under 30 mph since I drive through town to get to work. As soon as I turned into my workplace's parking lot the power steering indicator light came on again. I parked the car and turned it off then back on. The power steering indicator light was still on and now the steering wheel is locked up. I have read several complaints about this problem with other Hhrs but the year 2006 is not on recall while 2009 and 2010 is for this problem.

- Frankfort, IN, USA

problem #259

Apr 172014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 91,125 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Turned the ignition key on to start the car and proceeded to back out of a parking space. I discovered that it seemed unusually difficult to turn the steering wheel. I looked at my instrument dash panel and it displayed that there was a problem with my power steering. I pulled back into my parking stall, turned off my ignition and restarted the car but had the same problem. I next turned off the ignition, moved the key in the ignition keyway a bit and then restarted the car again. This seemed to solve the problem. The "power steering problem" was cleared from the computer read out on the dash panel and I was able to easily steer the car again. Upon further investigation I learned that this particular problem has to do with a faulty electric power steering assist motor installed in many GM vehicles, some of which have already been recalled. This could develop into a very serious situation should this incident happen to occur when one least expects it to, especially while traveling at higher speeds.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #258

Apr 142014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Started the car and began to pull out of the drive and the power steering is not working, it had been just fine the day before. The car now steers like a 1960's car with manual steering.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #257

Apr 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer stated the steering wheel and front end were shaking, and there was a noise coming from the vehicle. The technician found a worn out bearing, the steering shaft had an internal failure and the sway bar links were worn. The steering column, intermediate shaft and sway bar links were replaced. Also, it was difficult to shift out of park at times. It was determined a liquid had been spilled in the shifter. Also, the consumer was unable to remove the key from the ignition.

- Macon, MS, USA

problem #256

Apr 042014

HHR

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering failure warning message illuminated along with a chiming noise as the power steering assist malfunctioned. The failure caused the steering wheel to become difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Stage Coach, TX, USA

problem #255

Jan 012010

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to air bag malfunction. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer was involved in an accident in 2010, and the air bag did not deploy. Also, the vehicle stalled and was recalled for ignition and steering problems. Updated 04/15/14

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #254

Dec 032007

HHR 4-cyl

  • 33,837 miles
We have had several problems with our HHR since we bought it in August of 2007. The first problem occurred just after purchasing it, when we were driving it out on a highway for a first time outing with it, when I noticed the front wheels seemed to be floating back and forth. I slowed down and immediately took it home. We contacted our local dealer, and had the car brought in to be checked out. We were told the front bushings were bad & needed replacing. The dealer replaced the bushings. (under warranty) in September of 2007, we had to replace our cars remote control, even though it was only 1 years old. Our dealer replaced it but we had to pay $81.82 out of our pocket. October 2007, I brought our car into our dealer because it had a rough ride and groaning sounds. The dealer looked at it and said the sound was coming from the steering column. They replaced our steering column under warranty. December of 2007 my wife, mother & I went to a christmas light parade in our town; when we got home I turned off the ignition & when I attempted to remove the key, it would not come out. That Monday I called our local dealer & they had us bring in the car on 12/3/07. They reported that there was no power to the inter lock2 and a fuse had brown. They found that a wire harness was pinched under the column cover & repaired the harness (under warranty) January 29,2008 I brought our 2006 HHR into our dealer again complaining about squeaking and popping noise with clunking in left front. They said they heard noise from stabilizer links pivot joint at link tires miss-matched. They replaced both stabilizers links under warranty. Continued on next report

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #253

Apr 112014

HHR

  • 112,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The contact indicated that the power steering sensor light illuminated during the incident. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who repaired the failure but no information was available. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 112,500.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #252

Feb 012010

HHR

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was coming off the interstate on an exit ramp in a curve and the power steering went out!! almost ran into the concrete side wall of the off-ramp....scared me to death! took it to local Chevrolet dealer and they could find nothing wrong. Continues to do this to this day... power steering turns off after the car is driven awhile and 'warms up'. researched this online and seems to be a common problem with Hhrs same age as mine. A friend's HHR 2007 did the same thing and it cost her $900+ to get it fixed!!! I wouldn't complain, would just have it fixed, except that from my research, this has happened with many Hhrs and cobalts made in 2006!! there should be a recall on this because it could easily have caused me to wreck! I am a single mother of a daughter in college...don't have the $ to fix this repair!

- Monticello, MS, USA

problem #251

Apr 022014

HHR

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The vehicle could not be restarted. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who stated that the steering column and electric motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Sarepta, LA, USA

problem #250

Apr 092014

HHR

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the power steering warning lamp illuminated as the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 180,000.

- Rocky Mt, NC, USA

problem #249

Apr 052014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My power steering just randomly went out. It has continued to do this.

- Oluve Hill, KY, USA

problem #248

Apr 052014

HHR

  • 135,000 miles
Was driving on hwy 231 in northern Alabama at posted speed limit of 65mph, suddenly car made a chime sound and the "power steering" message came on. Unable to steer vehicle safely as the steering seized. Was able to get it to the Chevy dealer, but while the 2009-2010 HHR has a recall for this exact problem, it currently does not cover the earlier models even though it is obviously the same problem. Awaiting cost of repair...

- Union Grove, AL, USA

problem #247

Oct 102013

HHR

  • 85,000 miles
Engine shut off first time resulting in minor contact with garage door while pulling into driveway. Shut down 2 more times at low speeds and a 4th time at 50mph in a cement barrier construction zone on a bridge, no road shoulder, due to speed at shut down was able to coast through construction to roadside. Ignition control module was replaced after incident, however shutdowns continued after. Drove car with single key only since ignition control module was replaced, however my vehicle stills shuts down! it has been included in the recall but it still is not safe and I don't believe will be safe after recall repair! I don't want to wait until I kill someone to have the gov, GM, or anyone care, that the cars that are actually shutting down need to be taken off the road and replaced! please someone help the car owners like me! help us feel safe again and not as though we are playing russian roulette every time we drive our cars! I am begging someone at this Agency to please make them replace our known defective and unsafe cars! my car continues to shutdown after removal of all things on the key! help! I have 2 small kids and have to keep them safe!

- Somerset , WI, USA

problem #246

Mar 212014

HHR

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated when he made a left turn at 35 mph, the steering wheel seized which made it difficult to control the vehicle. The contact stated that the power steering warning light also illuminated. The contact diagnosed that the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 95,000. Updated 06/17/14

- Westminister, SC, USA

problem #245

Mar 112014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
Traveling on solomon's island rd. In annapolis, md., I heard a chime sound, "power steering" appeared as a lighted warning, and I suddenly had no power steering. I pulled into a shopping center, making a lefthand turn, and it was very difficult to steer. I checked my manual which told me not to keep driving, called my husband who is a former auto tech, and he advised me to start the car again to see if the light came on again. It didn't, so he thought that maybe it was a temporary problem and advised me to drive cautiously, but to pull over if it came on again. I was more than an hour from home (denton, md.) and really didn't want to get stranded at nightfall, so I drove East on route 50, and just before rowe blvd., it came on again, and I pulled off to try to find a safe place to park. It was very difficult to steer, especially making a 90-degree turn. It was getting dark, and I was concerned about parking in a safe place to wait for my husband to meet up with me. So I reasoned that, once I got back on route 50, I would only have to drive straight to get to kent island and meet up with my husband who would drive my car the rest of the way home. I prayed my car wouldn't get stranded on the bay bridge, but it seemed that the power steering was the only issue. My husband drove the rest of the way home safely. We went online to find out if this was an issue with the HHR, and found that there were many owners who reported the same problem. Frankly, we were and are surprised that Hhrs older than 2010 have not been recalled. Intermittently, the problem kept occurring with my husband driving my car until I finally got it repaired two weeks later on March 25, 2014. My steering motor had to be replaced for $262.50.

- Denton, MD, USA

problem #244

Mar 052014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Was driving at lunch & power steering message came on & when I went to turn, I had no power steering.

- Inman, SC, USA

problem #243

Oct 232008

HHR 4-cyl

  • 25,826 miles
Unable to remove key from ignition switch. Dealer replaced solenoid in shifter. Very dangerous, please investigate.

- Fridley, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?