Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 17 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Jun 232011

HHR

  • 21,658 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving 50 mph the power steering malfunctioned while making a turn causing the vehicle to crash into a wall. When the crash occurred the vehicle was destroyed and the contact was wearing his seat belt but the air bags did not deploy. The contact suffered injuries to the neck, back, and chest. The contact was not taken to the hospital. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the steering and reported the failure. The manufacturer sent a investigator to inspect the vehicle. The report from the investigator did not include any information regarding the power steering. The contact noticed numerous complaints regarding the steering system for his year, make, and model vehicle. The failure mileage was 21,658. Updated 08/11/11 updated 08/12/11.

- Medley, FL, USA

problem #36

Jul 072011

HHR

  • 48,000 miles
Total loss of power steering which made the car almost impossible to make a turn.

- Newark, AR, USA

problem #35

Jul 142011

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,442 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the power steering would fail at any time and the steering wheel would be very difficult to turn. The vehicle would be shut off and restarted in order to correct the failure. Both the dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 90,442 and the current mileage was 90,742. Updated 09/21/11 the vehicle was repaired at the consumers expense. Updated 11/14/11

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #34

Oct 012007

HHR

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated the steering wheel would violently shake when the brakes were applied while driving at various speeds. The contact also stated the entire vehicle violently wobbles during the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated the passenger side air bag light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to have this failure diagnosed or repaired. An authorized dealer was made aware of the failure and the contact was advised not to worry about the light. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Fairfield, OH, USA

problem #33

Oct 152010

HHR

  • 700 miles
A 2007 HHR I have taken it back to dealer from the beginning I have had the car. They have replace a steering with shaft, column kit twice. It has smoked in the steering wheel once before. I just took it back again to be checked that said they here the noise but not enough to know what it is.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #32

Apr 262011

HHR 4-cyl Diesel

  • 67,916 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While the contact was driving 5 mph, approaching a complete stop the power steering failed and the vehicle became difficult to steer. The failure would recur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to two different dealers where the technicians stated the power steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 67,916. Updated 10/31/11

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #31

Apr 102011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failure warning light and loss of power steering.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #30

Aug 012010

HHR

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 45 mph the steering wheel locked and the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that there were no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians replaced the steering column. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000. The VIN was not available.

- Mcclellandtown, PA, USA

problem #29

Mar 192011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 70,034 miles
While driving at 65 miles per hour on the interstate, the power steering light beeps three times and my power steering fails causing me to almost have an accident - when the car is turned off and turned back on, the steering resets itself but only temporarily - I took it to the dealer and its a power steering motor and is not covered under my warranty - when I started researching, I found that multiple instances of this occur - I called Chevrolet and they said that several cars with this problem and this same power steering motor have been recalled but not the HHR but I should check back later - it is impossible to drive and very dangerous.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #28

Mar 202011

HHR

  • 18,500 miles
On my 2007 HHR with only 18,500 miles on it the "power steering warning light" came on while I was driving on a major highway. I lost power steering and handling the vehicle was very difficult when I had to turn the wheel. This is definitely a safety concern and a recall should have been done to fix the problem. Other GM models in the same year had recalls, but not the HHR's. after parking the vehicle the steering returned to normal upon startup.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #27

Mar 042011

HHR

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering will display on console & inseconds the steering wheel practically locks unable to turn at all, I pull off to the side of the road and turn off the car & turn it on again & will work again, the fear of crashing I took the car to the dealership & they state its the motor for the power steering, this is extremly dangerous it happened to me on the hwy. If Canada recalled this issue. Why not in the usa?

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #26

Jan 142011

HHR

  • 76,950 miles
While driving off of the interstate, slowing from 70 mph, and turning onto the exit ramp, my driver information center gave 3 warning beeps and showed "power steering" in the display. At the same time, I lost all power steering. Steering became very difficult with more difficulty at slower speeds. After stopping the vehicle and turning the ignition off, the warning went away and power steering returned for a short period of time. Then again, as I was driving down the road, the warning sounded and the power steering assist was entirely gone. This has happened daily at various speeds at various times of the day. It happens within the first minute of driving and sometimes I can drive 10 or more minutes after re-start before the warning sounds and steering assistance is lost. It is extremely difficult to maneuver the vehicle in traffic when the power steering assistance is lost.

- Kimberly, AL, USA

problem #25

Jan 202011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 65,940 miles
Power steering failure I own a 2007 Chevrolet HHR with 65940 miles. Two times now the "power steering" warning light came on. I took the vehicle to the dealer I purchased the vehicle from and was told that currently there is no vehicle recall for this problem even though the Chevrolet cobalt is currently being recalled, and they both use the same power steering unit. The service person report stated that there was a short in the steering column and the power steering motor is failing, requiring replacement of the column and power steering motor. The total cost for replacement was quoted at $765.40. This is a safety issue because when the warning sounded the steering became more difficult. This vehicle problem needs to be recalled as a vehicle safety issue!

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #24

Apr 302008

HHR 4-cyl

  • 11,604 miles
It would be easier to list the things that are ok with this car. I've resurfaced or replaced the rotors several times (four times in one year) after consistently complaining to the dealer that it sounded like things were falling off the car. The car's braking and steering capacity is extremely diminished. I've replaced a broken stabilizer control arm and now I'm told the front end needs to be rebuilt. This damage is a direct result of the continuing problem with the rotor warping. The check engine light is on more than off and its been in at least 10 times for this issue. GM customer service is aware of these issues and refuses to return customer calls. Updated 11/29/11. Updated 12/06/11.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #23

Nov 232010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
The electric power steering motor fails almost every time my Chevy HHR (2007) is driven. This leaves the vehicle hard to control. I am told that the electric motor needs to be replaced. This is the same electric motor that is in the Chevy cobalt and certain Pontiac that was recalled. GM will not recall this model and is forcing drivers to continue driving with faulty and hazardous power steering motors, or pay to replace them on their own.

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #22

Jul 152010

HHR

  • 55,000 miles
Power stering motor went out.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 152010

HHR

  • 100,000 miles
Our HHR's power steering keeps going off, and it is getting worse. I looked it up and found alot of people having the same problems.

- Liberty, NC, USA

problem #20

Oct 192010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 62,351 miles
My 2007 Chevrolet HHR is experiencing electronic power steering problems in which it will stop working causing it to steer hard all of a sudden while driving down the road. I have read that similar problems on the Chevrolet cobalt that had been issued a recall. The HHR is reported to having the same chassis and parts.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #19

Oct 082010

HHR

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While traveling 40 mph on the highway in rainy weather conditions the steering wheel locked and the vehicle spun out. The power steering light came on before the steering wheel locked on the vehicle. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not a part of recall campaign number 10V073000, electronic power assist module. The contact was concerned because the HHR and the cobalt use the exact same parts. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 37000.

- San Bagriel, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 042010

HHR

  • 34,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph in reverse and the power steering failed without warning. The steering wheel became difficult to turn. The power steering malfunction was a permanent loss. The contact continued to drive the vehicle which required force being applied to the steering wheel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 34,600.

- Goose Creek, NC, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?