Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 7 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #237

Mar 202013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 94,726 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When car is being driven power steering goes completely out and makes car hard to turn and steer.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #236

Apr 162014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The recall I have had so far was with the ignition switch and that took the dealership over one month to repair. After my car was repaired and apparently rekeyed I am locked out of my car, the key will not unlock my car door. I called the GM roadside assistance, with hopes of assistance. They inform me they will be a $59.95 fee to unlock my car and they accept all major credit cards. I explained to them this was not my error it as a result of the ignition recall they stood firm of their fee and suggested I call the local authorities. When I contacted GM about the recall I had shared with them I was having power steering issues. While I am driving my car my power steering goes out and it becomes hard to steer as well the is a display on the dashboard "power steering". on several occasions on the street, freeway and while turning into a parking space. I then became aware of a recall on HHR power steering, however they say it not with my vehicle.later I read an article stating that jeff boyer was offering a lifetime warranty on the vehicles that have not been recalled.GM also said 309,160 non-turbocharged Chevrolet Hhrs from the 2006-2008 model years model year that are not subject to these recalls will be given lifetime warranties for replacement of the electronic power steering motor. So then when I call the 800 number to find out how I may have this power steering issue addressed with my district advisor he shares with me there has been no statement made that he is aware of I feel unsafe driving in this vehicle and with the round around and non assistance I am getting from GM I am not sure I ever will. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fountain Hills , AZ, USA

problem #235

Apr 232014

HHR

  • 20,000 miles
This is in regard to recall # 14V-047. About 3 months after I bought this car, I lost battery power. Over the next 6 monthe or so I lost the battery 3 more times the last time at a gas station. I got a start from aaa emergency serv- ice who checked the attery and said it wold not charge. So, I had to buy a new battery, since it is not a standard battery I had to look for a battery in several local cities, it was after hours. The following week my power steering died. A local mechanic repaired it, a relay or fuse problem this happened a second time and now I really got worried. I got the recall notice from Chevrolet detroit and called princeton, NJ. Chevrolet. I was told a apart had to be ordered and would take a few weeks. Two weeks later, I called pinceton Chevrolet, no part, yet. Finally, today I called them a third time and spoke to jack their warranty mgr. No part yet. Then I called chev detroit and spoke to"tisa ?". she mollified me by telling me I could get a loner until my car was repaired. I tried to call princeton chev again but the line was busy for over an hour.I feel like I am getting the old run around.they expect me to give up..I won't and I'll make phone calls untill I get satisfaction..

- Princeton Junction, NJ, USA

problem #234

May 212014

HHR

  • 56,806 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while the vehicle was in reverse, the power steering light illuminated and the steering wheel was difficult to turn. The contact mentioned that the power steering light turned off once the vehicle was restarted. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed the power steering column and power steering motor were faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 56,806 and the current mileage was 56,859.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #233

Oct 252013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
While traveling with my family at highway speeds the dic chime indicated power steering, and steering became difficult. After stopping and checking underhood relays and fuses and reseating several, the steering became normal and remained for approximately 700 miles. The power steering loss then became intermittent at all speeds, and conditions, and was reset when ignition was turned off. Mileage is now 60K and dealer was contacted about recall information. Currently (May 25, 2014) dealer has no knowledge of special coverage GM bulletin number 14119 which will be implemented for my 2006-2008 and early production of 2009 Chevrolet HHR (non turbo) to provide eps motor replacement for the life of the vehicle. (GM website letter dated March 31, 2014).

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #232

May 012014

HHR

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, the power steering warning lamp illuminated and the steering wheel became very hard to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the technician diagnosed that the power steering motor and steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 13,000. The current mileage was 15,000.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #231

May 202014

HHR

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the power steering would intermittently fail without warning. The vehicle would become increasingly difficult to control. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the power steering assist motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage were 86,000.

- Rubicon, WI, USA

problem #230

May 202014

HHR

  • 76,153 miles
I was coming upon an intersection at approximately 5:30 P.M. when there was a chime then power steering message appeared, the steering became very difficult to turn. I was able to get into a parking lot while being extremely hard to steer. I turned off the car and removed the key as my car is on the recall list for the ignition problems thinking that the steering issue was because of the faulty ignition. I waited approximately 10 minutes and started up the car and drove about 5 miles home. On wed 5/21/14 I went to the dealership concerning the steering problem and they told me that my car (2007 Chevy HHR) was not on the recall list to have the steering problem fixed. I told them that the older Chevy cobalt were on the power steering recall list and it is my understanding that the HHR and cobalt have the same parts. Dealer said they could check it out at my cost.. I then asked about the ignition recall and he stated that the ignition problem has nothing to do with a power steering problem. I told him I disagreed. He said to be careful and safe and that they will call me when the ignition parts arrive to fix my car. I was not happy with his explanation and want to know why the older HHR's are not on the recall list to fix the power steering problem?

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #229

May 052014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 95,100 miles
I was exiting off of a 55-mph highway, onto a long curved 180-degree exit ramp, when half-way through the turn, the power steering cut off completely, without any prior warning. I was able to complete the turn, using much increased arm strength. I pulled over and re-seated a bunch of loose fuses and relays in the electrical box located under the hood. The power steering did not come back on. But after pushing the fuses and relays firmly down a second time, the power steering came back on, and has not failed since. I am very concerned that had my elderly mother or my young daughter been driving this car when the failure occurred, that an accident due to loss of control might have been a distinct possibility.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #228

Jun 132013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
2013, when applying breaks on grade steering wheel violenty shaking. June 2013 if applying full breaks, steering wheel would also pull. Could not control vechile with shaking and pulling. Drove with hazards in slow lane at lesser speeds. Very bad situation. This siuation occured again this year (2014 may) while again on a grade. The shaking is voilent it very difficult to control the vechile. Drove with hazard again in slow lane..this is very dangerous and worse when turning. Good wayto kill yourself and others. I was at the dealer havign my ignition replaced and they said its normal and the rotors should be turned. I explain that the car was barely controllable. No standard rotor problem should make a car shake and pull that violently. These cars should be taken off the road. They are also no very compitent in windy conditions. I live in a mild climate zone and have driven many vechiles and my fisrt winter in the card was very very uncomfortable. That and the windows being copped are a huge visibilty issue. A design like this should have never been approve. Add to that poor parts to save money and these are just not safe. Not safe to those that own them or others. Also front end has ongoing front end suspension problem. I had perviosu issues with the radiator and guard that shoudl have been installed by the dealer but was not. As well as fauly door handles. Reapir bu dealer but now the door leaks. These are small things compared to the others. I would like the driving commision to do the right thing and have the company buy these cars back.. I appreciate the new iginition but that does nothing to help the breaking issues they call normal.

- Dublin, CA, USA

problem #227

Mar 272014

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Non of what you've listed above, apply.. I'm upset about how long this process has taken.. I understand that this has been held back since 2007 and GM was aware of their own wrong doing! but I called to set up an appointment locally and they tell me that the parts are still on order.. I cant afford a rental! now people including myself are operating on fear.. my airbag light blinks off and on from time to time. The key at times want turn in the ignition!! I like this car, but no longer., why doesn't GM offer loaner cars to us all until they fix the issue that they caused... scared of dyeing in raleigh, nc.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #226

May 082014

HHR

  • 94,000 miles
While driving my 2007 Chevy HHR, the driver interface flashes "power steering", the power assist stops working, and steering becomes very difficult. When vehicle is turned off and then turned right back on - problem is resolved (for a while). I contacted GM customer assistance and was told that there is going to be a recall, but not sure if my model year is involved. On several occasion, I have been traveling at 60mph, power assist goes out, and I have to shut my ignition off while at speed to get it to reset.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #225

May 102014

HHR

  • miles
Started car in parking lot and placed car in reverse. After a few feet, there was a warning chime and the display said "power steering." Subsequently, the car only had manual steering and was very difficult to steer. I took it to the dealership and they confirmed that the motor had failed. It is noted that information on the internet indicated that the power steering motor issues are known and that some models with the same motor (cobalts, for example) have been recalled. It is also noted that the motors have been recalled on the HHR in Canada. In addition, it would appear that during April 2014, Chevrolet announced a planned recall for the United States - but during May 2014 the dealership had no notice of this.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #224

May 082014

HHR

  • 89,000 miles
I had my my children up from school while driving I lost all power steering. I had heard I chime rite before and noticed it displayed power steering on the instrument panel. I did find out that by shutting the car off and restarting it temporarily fixed the problem for a block or so. The vehicle is going to be serviced this week. I don't think we should have to pay for this problem to be fixed when the 2009 and 2010 models are having the same issue and being recalled ours should be recalled also.

- Lima , OH, USA

problem #223

May 112010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Changing lanes in the highway, it was crazy, scary.I emailed Chevy directly than it stopped suddenly, than a year later twice, than stopped, now again it's doing it. I wish I could get another vehicle but can't afford it..............

- Melrose Park, IL, USA

problem #222

Mar 042013

HHR

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving at various speed, the power steering assist failed followed by an unknown warning message and chime. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #221

May 052014

HHR

  • 105,244 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the steering motor was replaced however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 105,244. The VIN was not available.

- Fortlawn, SC, USA

problem #220

Apr 212014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I would like to file a complaint about my 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The power steering is not working anymore and this is very unsafe for me to drive. I understand that there are 2009 and 2010 GM vehicles that have been recalled for this same reason, but my car has not. I found this on the GM website. media.GM.com/media/us/en/GM/news.detail.html/content/pages/news/us/en/2014/Mar/0331-power-steering.html.GM recalls older model vehicles to fix power steering.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #219

Apr 122014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
I was on the hwy and when I attempted to exit at 65 mph I couldn't turn the wheel but just a very little I was barely able to hit the exit ramp, the power steering continued to be out until I restarted the car.

- Doniphan, MO, USA

problem #218

Apr 052014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Vehicle was sitting while running my husbands knee bumped the key fob and the ignition switched to off. I checked and found there is very little resistance to the key turning off.

- Doniphan, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?