Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,740 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments

problem #18

May 242014


  • miles


I purchased the car 5/13/14. Since that date the car has been "repaired" 16 times, beginning on 5/27/14 for ongoing suspension problems and steering wheel/electrical issues. Suspension issues included the sway bar, stabalizer bar and bushings, defective stablink and frozed strut bearing. Replaced front struts. Steering wheel issues included, replacing of steering wheel complete due to bad wiring, wiring, wiring harness, sir coil replaced, sir coil causing interferance, replaced entire column, ignition switch replacement. The car is unsafe on any road in motion. Entire 14 pages of service records available.

- Pekin, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 112015


  • 79,505 miles
I have been hearing some clunking sounds but not sure where they are coming from. The right turn signal does not shut off by itself. Brake pedal feels very soft.

- Mancelona, MI, USA

problem #16

Sep 092014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
The car since September 2014 has been rattling and shaking, and clunking continually. It feels as if the wheel is going to fall off. I've read numerous other complaints from this same vehicle and the cobalt with has the same suspension. Unfortunately I can't afford to pay for these repairs. It sounds like this should be recalled. Also to note, other complainers have stated that after they have paid to have the repairs, the same issue arise again.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 142014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles


The power steering gets hard to turn and there is a clicking noise once.

- Huron, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 132013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
2013, when applying breaks on grade steering wheel violenty shaking. June 2013 if applying full breaks, steering wheel would also pull. Could not control vechile with shaking and pulling. Drove with hazards in slow lane at lesser speeds. Very bad situation. This siuation occured again this year (2014 may) while again on a grade. The shaking is voilent it very difficult to control the vechile. Drove with hazard again in slow lane..this is very dangerous and worse when turning. Good wayto kill yourself and others. I was at the dealer havign my ignition replaced and they said its normal and the rotors should be turned. I explain that the car was barely controllable. No standard rotor problem should make a car shake and pull that violently. These cars should be taken off the road. They are also no very compitent in windy conditions. I live in a mild climate zone and have driven many vechiles and my fisrt winter in the card was very very uncomfortable. That and the windows being copped are a huge visibilty issue. A design like this should have never been approve. Add to that poor parts to save money and these are just not safe. Not safe to those that own them or others. Also front end has ongoing front end suspension problem. I had perviosu issues with the radiator and guard that shoudl have been installed by the dealer but was not. As well as fauly door handles. Reapir bu dealer but now the door leaks. These are small things compared to the others. I would like the driving commision to do the right thing and have the company buy these cars back.. I appreciate the new iginition but that does nothing to help the breaking issues they call normal.

- Dublin, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Feb 132014


  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph on an icy and snowy road surface, the vehicle became difficult to steer as the entire instrument panel illuminated continuously. The vehicle was maneuvered to a parking lot where the contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the entire front drive train and both front inner chrome wheels were completely impacted with snow. The contact cleared off the snow from the affected areas and the vehicle resumed normally. The failure only occurred when the contact was driving on a road with snow of six inches or more. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Cledeland, TN, USA

problem #12

Jan 092013


  • 86,987 miles


I had to replace left and right control arms on this vehicle, brakes constantly can't unlock doors from inside, have to roll down window to unlock, now having engine problems and one of the control arms going bad something is causing rain to get in my car somewhere, because when it rains at smells mildewy.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #11

Jun 192013


  • 91,675 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy HHR and few months ago my traction control light come on and engine light. Then shortly after my power steering went out. The power steering has been going out periodically...last time was on a exit ramp on the curve. I almost put it in the ditch. I understand that the cobalt had recalls on these items but not the HHR. Which makes no sense because of the same chassis and all. I took it to ed schidmt Chevy in perrysburg Ohio and they said I need a steering column (because power steering module is in column), power steering motor, camshaft valve actuators, left lower control arm, and front struts. I have read a lot of internet forums and there has been many complaints on same issues. Chevy should take care of this. Dealership wants $2300+ for the repairs.

- Monclova, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 092013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
On August 28, 2012, the electronic power steering motor went out on my 2007 Chevrolet HHR. We went across the oncoming lane and it was extremely hard for my husband to get it back into the right lane. On 8/30/2012, we took it to a GM garage and they replaced it with a reman. Powering steering motor, giving us a one year/12,000 mile warranty.. on July 9, 2013, I was driving the HHR out of state and was coming out of a slight left hand curve when the power steering motor went out again, which I was not able to steer the car and it ended up in the right hand bank/ditch. Less than one year and less than 12,000 miles later, the GM garage said that they would replace the power steering pump if we brought the car back to them. That is impossible because the damage was more than enough to total the car and it happened in another state. They said there is nothing they can do. Plus, now I have points against my insurance.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #9

Dec 042012


  • 37,000 miles
There is a massive blind spot to the drivers front left side. This prevents being able to see medians going into a left hand turn. I was aware of this problem, because I have come very close to hitting them 5 times or so because of the lack of visibility. This most recent time, I tried my best to judge the medians location, but when it entered into the blind spot, I judged the best I could and still hit the curb. I have never been in an accident in all my driving years (7 years!).. this was the first time I had hit anything. I am very upset with Chevy's huge blind spot that causes so many problems while taking left's near medians. I have always owned a Chevy, and I have to say that I am not impressed at all by the HHR for this problem and problems with the suspension.

- Whitesboro, NY, USA

problem #8

Sep 032012


  • 36,000 miles


Whenever I would go over small bumps in the road, there would be a large clunking sound as if I had hit a pot hole.

- Whitesboro, NY, USA

problem #7

Jul 042012


  • 55 miles
On-going despite several repair and/or replacement attempts. The rotors have been replaced four times. I just did the rotors and brakes 3 weeks ago. When it is cold the suspension seems like the car is going to fall apart. The power steering comes and goes. The first time it happen I was trying to make a U-turn and was almost rammed from the passenger side door. These cars are a death trap. All my issues has been going on for about nine months.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #6

Apr 302008

HHR 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
These vehicles are dangerous! the problems with mine are on-going despite several repair or replacement attempts. The rotors have been replaced five times since purchasing it new. Braking at higher speeds is near impossible. The vehicle shakes, lurches shimmies and feels like the brakes have locked up. Stopping on a hill is a scary experience. The only reason GM has not been forced to recall these cars is because no one has died yet. It would be easier for me to detail what is right with the car than try to explain all of its problems. It now has 60,000 miles on it and I've been trying to resolve the issues with it since it was new. I am now being forced to stop payment and let them repossess it. I cannot sell it in good faith nor can I afford to continue paying for these issues since it is now out of warranty. The dealerships no longer want to deal with it because they have no clue how to fix the issue.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #5

Apr 302008

HHR 4-cyl

  • 11,604 miles
It would be easier to list the things that are ok with this car. I've resurfaced or replaced the rotors several times (four times in one year) after consistently complaining to the dealer that it sounded like things were falling off the car. The car's braking and steering capacity is extremely diminished. I've replaced a broken stabilizer control arm and now I'm told the front end needs to be rebuilt. This damage is a direct result of the continuing problem with the rotor warping. The check engine light is on more than off and its been in at least 10 times for this issue. GM customer service is aware of these issues and refuses to return customer calls. Updated 11/29/11. Updated 12/06/11.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #4

Apr 082008

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 20 mph in the driveway, the contact heard a loud clanging noise underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the front rotors were resurfaced. The failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times for the similar failure; and the drivers side sway bar was replaced. Also, on a separate occasion the technician advised that the front and rear rotors be replaced; yet, they were not replaced when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 11,000. Updated 1/25/11 the check engine light illuminated, the outside door handle was peeling, the sway bar and drivers side headlight were replaced. Updated 04/21/11

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #3

Jun 292007

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the power steering failed and the vehicle began pulling to the right. The contact had to gain control of the steering wheel and pull it in the opposite direction in order to gain control of it. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer six times for diagnostic testing but the dealer offered no assistance. The contact stated that the manufacturer was involved in a legal dispute for excessive gear backlash which caused steering failures under certain conditions. The failure mileage was approximately 2,500. The current mileage was 7,870. Updated 07/19/10. The consumer stated the vehicle would pull to the right, the dash lights were out on occasion, and the brake pedal would travel to the floor when it was applied. Updated 10/08/10

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #2

Jan 102008


  • miles
When brakes are applied, the steering wheel and front end shakes. The vehicle has been put in the shop 4 times. I believe this falls under the lemon-law. The vehicle is still under warranty. I want the vehicle replaced or fixed. The car is unsafe, for my family. I have twins that are 3 years old!! something needs to be replaced or fixed. It has been back to the dealer 4 times and its not fixed!!!!! howard H. herold

- Arnold , MD, USA

problem #1

Dec 072007

(reported on)


  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR with terrible shimmy in the front end. Consumer states that it also happened when the brakes were depressed. He also states his daughter had the same problem with a rental car which was a Chevy HHR.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?