Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,761 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet HHR seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Sep 012013

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My air bag service indicator light turns on intermittently. At least 5 times in the past year, no accidents, no problem seen with air bags by service dept at dealer. "??".the safety lock on the drivers side controls for all passenger windows does not lock the window operation. Braking system problem in the past 6 months. Ive returned to the mechanic 4 times had my brake pads changed, rotors turned, rotors resurfaced, only to have the same problem.....steering wheel shuddering bad when applying the brake. The rotors overheat and warp, but I will drive only 2 blocks and it happens. Don't think that is enough to overheat the rotors.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #43

Oct 152013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The "service air bags" light comes on intermittently while driving. Air bags are disabled. Seems to be a manufacturing defect.

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #42

Apr 042014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 37,500 miles
I was leaving work and my speed was 30 mph or less when dinging sound came on and screen showed service air bags. I had no idea what that meant. I don't know if the vehicle is safe to drive or not!!! it stays on awhile then goes off, but always comes back on. I see where this is an ongoing problem that lots of people are having is there no way to get Chevrolet to fix this problem?? it's obvious that it's their problem.

- Bearden, AR, USA

problem #41

Feb 122013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 25,027 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag needs service warning light came on intermittently over several months! scan diagnosed a problem with a connector (part# 013580234) was defective. Cost to repair $231.01 06/14/2013

- Minden, NV, USA

problem #40

Mar 092010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 19,450 miles
Airbag light went on in dash took to dealer repaired under bumper to bumper around 16,000 miles more light went on again will intermittently go on and off. Occupant seat sensor is also turning on airbag at 10 pounds instead of over 35.

- St.Charles, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #39

Mar 142014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 107,750 miles
Taken the car to dealer multiple times, for power steering failure as well as the car stalling.. was told there was nothing that could be done about the car... was side swiped on road on 03/14/2014... car barely tapped us and we lost control of the car due to power steering issue... ran into the guardrail.. car was totaled while the other car (a 2005 Toyota prius) drove home... driver had head injuries while passenger had contusions to his right hand from airbags. This car is a death trap waiting to happen..

- Candler, NC, USA

problem #38

Mar 212014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 37,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service airbag lights keeps coming on. Took it to get looked at today. The passenger airbag was bad. It is going to cost $1200 to get new airbag installed. I did some research and found that this is a common problem the 09 HHR. It is not under warranty. Contacted Chevy with no response. The car was never in an accident or even bumped by anything for a airbag to go bad.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #37

Jun 032013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 51,300 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the brakes malfunctioned, causing the contact to crash into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered injuries to the chest and both legs. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed at the scene. The manufacturer was not notified. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The failure mileage was 51,300. Updated 12/30/14 updated 9/25/2015

- Garden City, MI, USA

problem #36

Feb 192014

HHR

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevy HHR. While driving approximately 50 mph the two front passenger and driver side air bags deployed and caused the seat belts to malfunction. The failure caused the contact to crash into a snow bank; however, there were no injuries or damage to the vehicle. The failure occurred approximately febraury 19, 2014.. the vehicle was diagnosed by a technician from the manufacturer; however, they were unable to diagnose any failure in the computer. The insurance company stated that when they diagnosed the failure the computer indicated there was a problem within the air bags. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- North Brandford , CT, USA

problem #35

Apr 202011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
2009 HHR serive airbag has been on and off for years. The car has never been wrecked and now since the light is on all the time, no one will take the car on trarde in for safty reasons..I have contacted GM and they refuse to check the car for free and I dont feel I should have to pay for them to fix another known defect..the car sits unused as we feel its unsafe to drive..there was a recalled issued for many other GM models on 3/18/13 for the same airbag issue but they have done nothing for the people who bought the HHR..there are endless lists of airbag problems in the chatrooms and GM does not care..I guess its cheaper to pay off the victims of their defective cars then recall them and replace the parts..their cost on the parts is pennies on the dollar that they charge the customers..they are killing the tax payers that bailed them out of bankrupcy.. ill be buying a Toyota next time.

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #34

Feb 172014

HHR

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact own a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the air bags erroneously deployed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who could not diagnose why the failure occurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000. Remailed 08/06/2014

- North Branford, CT, USA

problem #33

Jul 012009

HHR

  • 700 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the air bag system was malfunctioning. As a result, the air bag assembly needed to be replaced. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 700 and the current mileage was 72,000.

- South Point , OH, USA

problem #32

Jan 102014

HHR

  • 62,822 miles
2009 Chevy HHR, the air bag light come on and goes off multiple times a day. The passenger seat belt is locked up, I purchased the pos 3 months ago it has not had its first oil change yet. I have heard the wiring is a issue and its all built in Mexico which makes me sleep well. Obviously its a big issue but im sure we don't want to make a big deal of air bags failing at 60,000 miles, lots of online complaints on air bags, if something happens to me in this crap car its been addressed with the gov. Don't buy Hhrs there outsourced junk, matter of fact my 2003 2500hd is a crap pile too, with 90K on the clock, replaced almost everything electrical on it.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #31

Jul 012011

HHR

  • 21,297 miles
The contact owns 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on three separate occasions. The front passenger's seat inflater harness connectors were cleaned, taped and lubricated each time. The technician informed the contact that the air bags were inoperable whenever the warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 21,297.

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #30

Sep 032013

HHR

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was found that the air bag module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #29

Sep 022011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 20,292 miles
With a chime the repair air bag safety light comes on. This has continued even though repaired twice by Chevy dealerships. First they repaired the roof rail connector. Next incident they replaced the passenger seatbelt. Two years later the light continues to come on and off (with preceding chime) on a daily basis.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #28

Oct 282013

HHR

  • 104,500 miles
For no apparent reason the "service air bag" warning light comes on. Occurs while smoothly traveling at 60 mph on I-70. Cannot get light to go off or reset. Vehicle has never been hit, bumped or jolted. Web posts indicate this is a common HHR problem. GM needs or to make this right.

- Tecumseh, KS, USA

problem #27

Aug 152013

HHR

  • 47,000 miles
I also have a 2009 HHR with 47000 miles and the service airbag light is coming on frequently. I plan to take it in to the dealer. This looks like a common problem and should be recalled.

- Ashland, WI, USA

problem #26

Aug 042013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 49,700 miles
Driving and airbags just blew up and caused me to run into pole. Could not stop, and could not see because of airbags. Car was damaged beyond repaired. I was rushed to the hospital via ambulance. Injury was caused to legs, chest, stomach, back.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #25

May 012013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My airbag light came on and my passenger seatbelt keeps locking. There are numerous other HHR owners with the same problem.

- Randolph, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?