Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,067 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet HHR electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Jul 082014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the power steering failed intermittently. The power steering, air bag, and service engine sensors were all illuminated and the contact had a difficult time turning the steering wheel. There was a loud clicking noise that was heard each time the steering wheel was turned. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V153000 (steering) and 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 10/7/14 the vehicle overheated, the engine and air bag light illuminated. The lower control bushing, timing solenoid and camshaft needed to be replaced. Updated 11/25/14 the consumer stated the dealership could not duplicate the power steering failure. The left front head light was replaced 5 times. The catalytic converter and front axle were replaced. The vehicle rolled backwards out of the driveway causing minor damage.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #77

May 152014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
David stanely Chevrolet Oklahoma city was notified in may that we need to take care of the recall notices on the power steering and ignition. They said it would take 6-8 weeks to get the parts. As of the 4th of August they have made no attempt to fix these recalls and we are now being told we have an appointment to have it inspected for parts on Sep 18th. Is this how GM is handling all these recalls?

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #76

Apr 162014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The dealer did not know when the part would arrive. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ashland, PA, USA

problem #75

Mar 312013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 52,197 miles


On Sunday, March 31st, 2013, my vehicle was locked in the running position and it was impossible to get my key out of the ignition. The vehicle continued to run until I was able to contact a local car expert who was able to pull the fuel pump fuse to get the engine to stop running. The next day, this same person took the vehicle in to his shop and replaced the "ignition lock cylinder" per a "silent" GM recall. Soon after this incident, I began hearing about a GM recall on the "ignition switch". I was then sent a letter from GM to that effect. The letter also stated that I could be reimbursed for work done if I had repairs made on my own. When I applied for a refund for the labor cost that I incurred, I was notified by the team Chevy of valparaiso, in dealership and told that I would not be compensated for by expenses because the current recall was for the "ignition switch" and not the "lock cylinder". I tried to explain that the other part was also a part of a previous recall; however, the rep refused to acknowledge the issue with the "lock cylinder". after doing some online research, I have found that many people have also experienced this same "locking in the run position issue". for this reason, and the fact that GM is once again slow to acknowledge a dangerous defect in a vehicle with a history of dangerous defects, I am writing to file an official complaint. At this point, I do not feel safe in my vehicle. I currently have two recalls out on my car and have already replaced by power steering assist motor after it failed on a busy highway in the middle of a left hand turn. There are a series of major flaws with this vehicle and GM needs to take responsibility for the safety of its customers and make this right. I would also hope that the NHTSA can influence GM to expand their recall to cover all ignition related problems.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #74

Jun 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
Driving and dash go black problem steering also having problem with car starting and turning have had to call aaa several time got new battery still same problem car starts when it want stops when it wants have received two speeding tickets in less then twenty-four while using cruise control where again the panel just goes out same with lights there are times when something also smell like it is burning have reported this several times to GM no response very afraid to drive this car because I don't know what it will do on any given day but I have a loan on this car I pray every day I get in and attempt to go to work praying I make it safe to and from work [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #73

May 242014


  • 21,053 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that after the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) it began experiencing steering failure. The contact had to turn the steering wheel and change gears in order to start the vehicle. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering sensor illuminated intermittently. The contact had to turn the vehicle off and then back on in order to reset the electric power steering. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), but the dealer did not have the parts available. The manufacturer and dealer could not provide an estimated date of arrival for the parts. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 21,053.

- Breaux Bridge, LA, USA

problem #72

Jul 162014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that she received NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (ignition switch). The contact stated that after the vehicle was serviced for the recall, the vehicle engine stalled when stopping for traffic lights. The contact also mentioned that all of the warning lights, including the "disabled air bag" warning light, illuminated prior to the engine stalling. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was undetermined. In addition, the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they diagnosed that the security feature chip needed to be replaced which was the cause of all the security lights illuminating. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Scottsburg, IN, USA

problem #71

Jul 062014


  • 54,337 miles
I was backing up out of a parking stall the power steering suddenly stopped working, that is on recall along with the ignition switch we called May 20 2014 no parts for the ignition switch still no parts for that now another recall this time electrical power steering..... Sunday july6 2014 at 11:30 am power steering suddenly went out call GM road side assistance got a tow to H&H Chevy omaha ne. Then first thing Monday morning went in and got a loaner car. The service guy stated that GM doesn't no how to fix the power steering problem nor do they have anyone to fix it and no part to fix it with so it could be a month or longer we have to drive a Chevy Cruze which for someone with a very bad back and arthritis in knees and back bad car not comfortable. I think GM needs to just scrap all these cars and buy them back from the ppl and pay off there loans. I am looking into buying a different brand of car. One the corporation will communicate better then GM is now the company of we wont say a word til you get hurt. Dealerships telling owners to just drive your cars but becareful til they do get the part in.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #70

Jul 072014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
No accident has occurred; I would like to know why it takes so long to remedy the recall(s) on my vehicle; the first notice was received dated April 2014 from GM regarding the ignition switch. The next recall letter was received on May 11, 2014 and I immediately called my local GM (cecil clarke Chevrolet) in leesburg, Florida to be put on the 'list' for the required parts/replacements. On June 17th, I called cecil clark again and was advised that although they were receiving 4 - 5 replacement kits a day, mine had not come in yet. Now I have a safety recall for June reference the eps and that parts are not currently available. I have done what I need to do, I drive only when I have to now, and although I follow the safety rules reference removing all items from the ignition key, I do not feel safe while driving anymore. Please can you find out why it takes so long to get parts for a very safety related issue. I thank you in advance.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #69

Apr 172014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #68

Apr 022014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated the that the part was unavailable. The dealer stated that the remedy would not be available for two months. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures.

- Mound Bayou, MS, USA

problem #67

Apr 142014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 ( electrical system) and 14V153000 (steering). The contact indicated that there was a delay to receive the ignition switch part for longer than thirty days. The vehicle was being repaired after waiting for thirty days and the contact was later notified of a safety recall for the steering. The parts for the second recall were also unavailable. The contact was driving a rental vehicle while waiting for the local dealer to complete the ignition and steering recalls. The manufacturer was notified of the safety concern and parts delay to no avail. There were no failures.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #66

Oct 172012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 68,079 miles
Key stuck in ignition, could not shut down engine. Dealer replace ignition cylinder.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #65

Jun 142014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
This is an update to file# 10597005 you already have the information about our 2010 Chevy HHR, electrical issues, and about things shutting down before the new ignition switch was installed. And I informed you that the air bag warning light came on after the new switch was in, making it very dangerous to drive. On the week of June 10th, 2014, I informed you that we were left with no car for a day and a half, because serra Chevrolet in southfield, Michigan was too backed up. Like they have been since the recall. Update, as of today, June 18th, 2014: 1. the airbag fuse was missing. The airbag light still comes on, periodically as well as the anti-theft light. 2. on June 14th, 2014, my husband edwin was stranded and had to be towed because of the new keys to the ignition switch, stopped working and the car would not start. Once home, after being towed, our son, suggested trying the other key. And it worked. Something is wrong with the brand new keys. We are here, wondering, when will the second key go out, stop working while driving etc.!!! 3. we need to take the car in. But we were told that because we just got a notice about the power steering, that it's best to wait until we bring that in for that. But..once again, the parts are not in!!!!! GM need to take this car back, or give us something else to drive until it can be fixed. We do not feel safe at all!!!!! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #64

Mar 092014


  • 93,000 miles
Greetings NHTSA, I am writing to document some things about our 2010 Chevrolet HHR. Yes, it was part of the recall, but I need for you to be inform of some things, that I pray can help someone else: 1. power issues: The power would act so crazy that we never knew when it was going to shut off. Exp. This past winter, the blower motor would blow cold air, while it was freezing outside! or it would not work at all, then, the blower heater would come on, just by turning the ignition on.. and it would blow hot air. And it would not turn off, unless the key was out of the ignition. The dash would get very hot, showing a potential for a fire. Apparently, each time a fuse had blown out. We would replace it and in three weeks it would go out again. Something electrical must of been going on. There was also, power steering concerns. 2. we took it in to serra Chevrolet in southfield, Michigan to have the ignition switch replace. We were given a rental, and it took over three weeks for the part to arrive. We were hoping that the ignition switch was causing the problem and that it would go away, once replaced. 3. on June 4th, 2014-the parts came in.. 4. on Thursday, June 5th, 2014, the new ignition switch was replaced. The next day, June 6th, 2014, the blower motor went crazy again, and the airbag warning light came on. ( with all of the issues with the car, the airbag light never came on until the new ignition switch was installed. 5. afraid of an airbag disaster today, June 9th, 2014, my husband took the car back to serra Chevrolet in southfield, Michigan. They are so backed up, with cars. They cannot even look at it until tomorrow. My husband was dropped off, no rental no loaner! and now we are without a car, thank you. And "be blessed" [xxx]-consumers-2010 Chevrolet HHR owner information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6),

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #63

May 032014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that there had been numerous attempts to schedule a recall repair four different authorized dealers, but to no avail due to a lack of part availability. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact could expect to receive the recall repairs. The contact believed that the recall repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #62

Jul 012013


  • 37,500 miles
Air bag light will come on and say service air bags. It comes and goes and can be reset manually. Had it serviced and it had a bad connector. The dealership re pined the connector for $155 labor I felt ripped off. Safety equipment falls under different category the radio not working.

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #61

May 022014


  • miles
My vehicle is on gms recall list because of an ignition problem. I was driving down a small hill on Friday May 2, 2014, when my car shut off. I had nothing on my ignition key ring when this happened and had just my key in the ignition when this happened. I called GM and let them know what had happened they offered to give me a rental car that they will pay for until my car is fixed. My concern is that these cars should not be on the road because they are a safety hazard to not only the person driving these cars but also to the people on the road with them, I know GM is doing all that it can to fix the problem and wonder why they are being allowed to be driven on the roads when they are unsafe. I do not feel comfortable driving my car because of the risk it poses not only to me but to others on the road and will be getting a rental. Oh and by the way when my car shut off, it was all I could do to steer it around the corner because off course my power steering was gone making it difficult to steer.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #60

Apr 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 66,800 miles
As I was driving down the off ramp of the freeway the front of my car started to shake and rattle. A couple minutes later after turning a corner, only going 30mi/hr, the cars power steering then turned off. Every time I turn my car on and take a trip the power steering goes off at least twice. Which is about 5-6 times a day.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #59

Apr 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
You tell me that there are recalls on my 2010 Chevy HHR and when I call the Chevy dealer that I bought it from ( deery brother Chevrolet) in pleasanthill ia. And Chevrolet motors they tell me there are no recalls on my vehicle.

- Altoona, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?