Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,067 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet HHR electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Jan 022014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The SRS light was red and stood lit for one month and then it went away, I have 3 children under 17 years of age and this problem just worries me and has me worried about the safety of my family while in this car. We had the ignition replace by the dealer about a year ago, because my wife could not turn off the car. No other problems reported by my wife. We love our HHR. Great family car. We might need to go bigger since our growing family. Hope this problem of SRS gets fixed or does not become a future problem.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #57

Feb 262014

HHR

  • 93,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while at a traffic light, she accidentally brushed the key against her leg causing the vehicle to stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 93,000.

- Agency, MO, USA

problem #56

Jan 152014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Power steering unit went out when driving without warning. Pulled HHR over to the curb to get the car off the road and damaged tire on curb. Car very hard to steer and could not control when pulling vehicle off road. This is a serious safety hazard especially for my wife who does not have the upper arm strength to control the vehicle. Same power steering unit in the Chevy Cruze and Pontiac G6 has been recalled. Do not understand why the HHR has not been included in the recall. Same problem reported on the internet by many other owners.

- Manchester, MO, USA

problem #55

Mar 112011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 49,680 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First the car wouldn't start, brakes smelt on fire, also noisy brakes, car never started until 4 turns, car pulls a few inches to right with no control of steering car would go dead at anytime even while driving. Electrical would happen random on sunroof, wipers, windows, and blinkers. Scary car, especially if I were going down a hill with no control. 2 years later dealership could never resolve problem. Paid $17,000 and needs $3,200 in work. Not sure if I fix these problems the car will work properly. Stressful car and dangerous.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #54

Mar 112013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
After returning home the car could not be turned off, nor could the key be removed from the ignition after disconnecting the battery to stop the engine.

- Friendship, ME, USA

problem #53

Jan 282014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the ignition key became stuck in the ignition switch, causing the vehicle not to shut off. The contact removed the fuse and disconnected the battery to shut off the vehicle. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Palmer, MA, USA

problem #52

Oct 062011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 73,673 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Key is stuck in the cylinder with the engine running. I can not turn off the engine, on a Sunday night. No options, but to leave the car at the dealership with the car running and unlocked. Cost was $499.50 to replace, plus loss of work the following Monday. Today's date is November 30, 2013, happened again with the car off, (about two years later). I found hundreds of reported incidents of this known defect on the internet and is not considered a reason for the manufacture to recall the defect, as it does not meet a safety issue as outlined by NHTSA.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #51

Nov 262013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I was driving the car got up to 25 mph and the steering went out, the car was hard to steer I turnaround for home. I turn the car off took the key out of the ignition put it back in started the car up and it work for one minute and went out again.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #50

Oct 012013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 57,213 miles
10/1/13 as I left work, heading home, the car drove fine for approx. The first five minutes. Out of nowhere, the steering became tight, as if it locked up. I could not turn the wheel left or right, the car almost instantly produced more heat, I felt the heat around my feet and it came through the vents. I looked at the dic panel and power steering was flashing. There was a smell as if the car was burning. With force, I was able to maneuver the car to a parking lot to sit. After reading through the user manual, I followed the suggestions from the manual, turned the wheel left and right hoping it would loosen and letting the car sit idle. After about two hours of sitting, my brother drove the car home with no problem. 10/2/13 I took the car, early morning, to be inspected by a local repair company. After running diagnostics on the car, I was told that once diagnostics began immediately power steering control circuit was diagnosed as an issue, the only issue from the diagnostic report, that had malfunctioned. I was also informed that could be the reason why one minute power steering malfunctioned and hours later it worked fine. I was also told that normally something like this is recalled by the automaker.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

problem #49

Sep 252013

HHR

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated the engine would not shut off and the key could not be released from the ignition switch. The battery had to be removed in order to shut the engine off. The dealer advised that the ignition cylinder needed to be replaced. The approximate failure and current mileage was 32,000.

- Clearfiled, PA, USA

problem #48

Aug 282013

HHR

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stalls at any speed. Sometimes starts right back up and other times will not for a while. My car died as I was getting on the freeway ramp in a construction zone at 45 mph and climbing. Suddenly died and I had to star it back up. Traffic was heavy and I almost got into a serious accident. Died 7 times in less than 15 miles. No warning lights. Oil good, fuel good, it just dies without notice.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #47

Aug 142013

HHR

  • 50,000 miles
When I place my car into park "P" all the doors unlock. When I press my remote fob (keyless entry/alarm) only the driver side door unlocks. Cbs reported on a new trend called gas station sliders, they are targeting lady's pocketbooks. www.cbsnews.com/8301-504083_162-57597704-504083/sliders-slipping-into-cars-stealing-pursues-while-women-pump-gas-says-NY-report/ >> I recommend General Motors "GM" come out with a computer memory flash that would allow the same control over my door locks, when I put it in park "P", as I get when I press my remote once. One door open, instead of all four.

- Dennisport, MA, USA

problem #46

Aug 022013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 47,956 miles
I have a 2010 Chevy HHR and apparently an electrical issue. It started with my inside lights on my dashboard randomly blinking. Then one headlamp went out, the next day after replacing the headlamp, my inside middle dome light went out. Today my window would not roll back up. This is all within 3 weeks span. Gotta be an electrical issue, right" what is my next step? no recall"

- Pascagoula, MS, USA

problem #45

Aug 052013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Ignition stuck, car wont shut off, can't remove key.

- Moberly, MO, USA

problem #44

Jul 082013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 51,800 miles
On June 29, 2013, I put my key into the ignition, the key wouldn't go all the way into the ignition. The recalled ignition had been replaced at GMC Buick, hilltop. When I called GMC Buick, hilltop richmond ca, on June 29, 2013, and spoke to [xxx] at GMC Buick, hilltop richmond ca, she stated it was probably a different problem but to bring the car in to get it checked out. When I arrived at GMC Buick, I was then told it would be $ $150 up front to just check out the car. I scheduled a service appointment with bay city Chevrolet in oakland ca on 7/8/13. It was determined by bay city Chevrolet, " cust recall N120045- ignition was removed, no grease was applied during recall; bay city applied correct lock cylinder grease. I was charged $ $45. This recalled ignition that was replaced June 6, 2012, by hilltop Buick whom failed to put grease in the replaced ignition resulting in possible damage to the replaced recall ignition. I was also charged $ $45. Hilltop Buick GMC was negligent in not putting grease in the replaced ignition. This recalled ignition had been on my Chevy HHR from 6/4/12 to 7/8/13, without grease in the lock cylinder of this recalled ignition. I want the recalled ignition replaced and reimbursed my $45 by hilltopbuick or GMC. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Pablo, CA, USA

problem #43

Jul 262013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
We arrived at home and when to turn the ignition off and it would not turn off. We had to remove the fuel fuse and disconnect the battery in order for it to turn it off. The key is still in the ignition switch.

- Lost Creek, WV, USA

problem #42

May 032013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I was at the shopping center and went to cut the car off and the vehicle wouldn't cut off. The key would not come out of the ignition. The key would only turn forward, but not backward to the cut off position. I took it to a local mechanic because it was about 8 pm, the dealership was closed. They said they couldn't do any, I needed to take it to the dealer. They had seen this happened before with this vehicle.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #41

Mar 302013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
While going around a bend in the road at approx 35/40mph, the power steering in my 2010 Chevy HHR went out. There was a ding and then it was very difficult to turn the wheel. I almost hit a Jeep that was turning into a subdivision opposite of us because I could not turn the wheel to get in the passing area. This resulted in me going off of the road. I pulled onto the next side road I saw. Checked for any issues and restarted. I regained power steering and was able to be on my way. In approx. Another mile or so it went out again. It did so intermittently all the way to the dealer. The dealer was of no help basically saying it was an operator error. There was a steering recall that I had taken care of earlier in the year and my mechanic said that it looks like it was replaced with equally defective parts. My mechanic also said that it's not a "wear part" and nothing that I did could have caused it to do that. It is a short on the motor/computer for the power steering.

- North Beach, MD, USA

problem #40

Mar 142013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the key became lodged in the ignition switch and the vehicle could not be powered off. The contact mentioned that in order to turn off the vehicle, he had to disconnect the battery. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 60,000.

- Fairfield, NE, USA

problem #39

Oct 152012

HHR

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while parked she was unable to remove the key from the ignition because it was stuck in the on position. The contact mentioned that in order to temporarily remedy the failure she had to remove the fuel fuse and disconnect the battery. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance.the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Midvale, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?