Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,398 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet HHR seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Aug 152016

HHR

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service air bag light on, also passenger air bag and seat belt alarms intermittently, radio display screen intermittently blank and scrambled, but audio works most occurrences stationary and while driving on streets or highways. Appt. W/dealer for airbag service tomorrow

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #37

Jun 112016

HHR

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 10-25 mph, the power steering assist warning light illuminated and the power steering failed. The contact stated that the steering required excessive force to operate. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the power steering torque sensor assembly and eps motor controller unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 08/17/16

- Orangeburg, SC, USA

problem #36

Sep 162015

HHR

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the service air bag warning displayed on the instrument panel intermittently. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the connector needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #35

Jan 012016

HHR

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The service air bag light kept appearing. It would be on for a few days, then go off and the check engine light would appear. The light designating seat belt use for the passenger would not issue a warning sound and sometimes would not come on even if someone was sitting in the passenger seat. This happens at any time when the car is turned on. This has been verified by a Chevy dealer, but they say since my car is not one of the vins being recalled for this problem that I will have to pay for it. They have offered me a reconciliation deal for a lesser dollar amount.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #34

Jan 022015

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag sensor light illuminated off and on. Also, when the brake pedal was depressed, the stopping distance was extended. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failures could not be determined. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Nov 172015

HHR

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 25 mph, the rear and driver side air bags deployed without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 1/20/2016

- Hampton, NH, USA

problem #32

Apr 022015

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the ESC and air bag warning lights randomly flashed. As the failure progressed, the warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was pending repairs under NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was not available.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #31

Jul 012015

HHR

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 35 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Blacklick , OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 142014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chapel Hill, TN, USA

problem #29

Dec 012014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph and approaching a stop light, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle causing her to crash into a second vehicle. The airbags failed to deploy. The contact sustained unknown injuries and medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the diagnosis of the failure was unknown. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #28

Oct 022014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 32,042 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I asked for a warranty repair on my airbag. The dealer got the part and sent it back on 7-13-12. They never called, emailed or wrote me a letter. I was never contacted.. recently. GM recalled my keys, I asked about my airbags. For the first time, on 9-12-14, [xxx] was the only service employee who told me the part is not at the dealer and it was sent back 2 years ago and if I wanted it I would have to pay almost $400 for it. I had detrimentally relied on the representations of at least 13 different contacts with service people, over this period of time, with this service department to honor the repair. [xxx] copied the service work order sheet and gave me a copy of it. There was no mention or notation of a phone call ever been made, on it. [xxx] and [xxx], service managers at james martin Chevrolet 6250 woodward ave. Detroit, Michigan 48202, refuse to honor the airbag repair although they are repairing other model airbags daily on a open safety recall from the nstb. General Motors representative [xxx] at 1-866-790-5600 extension [xxx] refuses to honor the repair although he has open recalls on other models for the same issue. Since General Motors has a history of exploding airbags causing crashes and several open recalls on several models, I am certain that this one (2010 HHR) should be added to the list for safety concerns. Also, the running lights have a safety issue too, on almost all models the daytime running lamps and regular lights have the right headlight out. This is not a coincidence, it is a known design defect and all GM products from 2010 forward and should be recalled as the lights cause a safety hazard. In summation, I want the 2010 HHR recalled for their right headlights and their airbags. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #27

May 102012

HHR

  • 35,243 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 10 mph, the brake pedal failed to respond and the electronic stability control warning indicator illuminated. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a trailer. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the ignition cylinder needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 35,243.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #26

Aug 292014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 89,232 miles
I was driving to an appointment, when my power steering flashed on the dash screen and my steering wheel went from fluid to stiff. I pulled over to the side of the road as soon as it happened and turned off the car. When I turned it back on, the steering was fluid again, but the air bag light had came on as well as the ABS and traction. The steering wheel was fluid only for a few minuets, and then after making a few turns, I lost the steering once again. I have learned of a recall on the HHR's power steering and starter. I will go to the dealer and ask them what they can do. I am filing this so it is noted in the records of the happenings.

- Royal Palm Beach , FL, USA

problem #25

Sep 092012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 46,998 miles
Airbag harness under passenger seat defective, ,making airbag light come on and stopping airbags from working in a time of a crash.

- East Boston, MA, USA

problem #24

Jul 072014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
No accident has occurred; I would like to know why it takes so long to remedy the recall(s) on my vehicle; the first notice was received dated April 2014 from GM regarding the ignition switch. The next recall letter was received on May 11, 2014 and I immediately called my local GM (cecil clarke Chevrolet) in leesburg, Florida to be put on the 'list' for the required parts/replacements. On June 17th, I called cecil clark again and was advised that although they were receiving 4 - 5 replacement kits a day, mine had not come in yet. Now I have a safety recall for June reference the eps and that parts are not currently available. I have done what I need to do, I drive only when I have to now, and although I follow the safety rules reference removing all items from the ignition key, I do not feel safe while driving anymore. Please can you find out why it takes so long to get parts for a very safety related issue. I thank you in advance.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #23

Apr 022014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated the that the part was unavailable. The dealer stated that the remedy would not be available for two months. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures.

- Mound Bayou, MS, USA

problem #22

Jul 032014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
My vehicle is currently under 3 safety recalls with GM. When I contacted GM to inquire about a possible loaner vehicle until it can be repaired, I was told the dealerships were authorized to provide loaner vehicles. When I called the dealership they stated that they were only providing loaner vehicles for those whose cars were inoperable. When I contacted GM for clarification on this, they stated that loaner vehicles are available for those cars under safety recalls, of which my car is included, and sent me back to the dealership. The dealership still refuses to provide a loaner vehicle and GM is not assisting, just sending me back to the dealership. This car is under recalls in which there were serious accidents and deaths involved. There is no way I am driving this car. Can you help with this situation?

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #21

Mar 092014

HHR

  • 93,000 miles
Greetings NHTSA, I am writing to document some things about our 2010 Chevrolet HHR. Yes, it was part of the recall, but I need for you to be inform of some things, that I pray can help someone else: 1. power issues: The power would act so crazy that we never knew when it was going to shut off. Exp. This past winter, the blower motor would blow cold air, while it was freezing outside! or it would not work at all, then, the blower heater would come on, just by turning the ignition on.. and it would blow hot air. And it would not turn off, unless the key was out of the ignition. The dash would get very hot, showing a potential for a fire. Apparently, each time a fuse had blown out. We would replace it and in three weeks it would go out again. Something electrical must of been going on. There was also, power steering concerns. 2. we took it in to serra Chevrolet in southfield, Michigan to have the ignition switch replace. We were given a rental, and it took over three weeks for the part to arrive. We were hoping that the ignition switch was causing the problem and that it would go away, once replaced. 3. on June 4th, 2014-the parts came in.. 4. on Thursday, June 5th, 2014, the new ignition switch was replaced. The next day, June 6th, 2014, the blower motor went crazy again, and the airbag warning light came on. ( with all of the issues with the car, the airbag light never came on until the new ignition switch was installed. 5. afraid of an airbag disaster today, June 9th, 2014, my husband took the car back to serra Chevrolet in southfield, Michigan. They are so backed up, with cars. They cannot even look at it until tomorrow. My husband was dropped off, no rental no loaner! and now we are without a car, thank you. And "be blessed" [xxx]-consumers-2010 Chevrolet HHR owner information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6),

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 032014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the recall had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The dealer indicated parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Marsh Field , MO, USA

problem #19

May 042014

HHR

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and caused the contact to crash. The air bags did not deploy. The approximate speed at the time of failure was 40 mph. The contact was injured and required medical attention. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer stated they were not at fault, and no solution was offered. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000.

- Corsicana, TX, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?