Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,762 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

May 012014

HHR

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the power steering failed as the steering wheel became hard to maneuver. The power steering warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that she received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). However, the part was not available for repair. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileage was 59,000.

- Mayfield , NY, USA

problem #130

Jun 152014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel was extremely difficult to maneuver and the power steering failed. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the dealer stated that the recall remedy was unavailable and that it would take approximately three months for an appointment to be scheduled. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 105,000..updated 08-26-14 updated 8/29/2014

- Holbrooke, NY, USA

problem #129

Jul 122014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 63,493 miles
I was driving to work this morning I go to make a turn and the steering wheel just looked.the power steering alert came up, it would not unlock until I turned car off. It was very very scary the steering wheel became very very heavy I had to struggle to turn, I was praying and sweating profusely, I really felt my life was in danger.

- Phila, PA, USA

problem #128

Jul 062014

HHR

  • 54,337 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was backing up out of a parking stall the power steering suddenly stopped working, that is on recall along with the ignition switch we called May 20 2014 no parts for the ignition switch still no parts for that now another recall this time electrical power steering..... Sunday july6 2014 at 11:30 am power steering suddenly went out call GM road side assistance got a tow to H&H Chevy omaha ne. Then first thing Monday morning went in and got a loaner car. The service guy stated that GM doesn't no how to fix the power steering problem nor do they have anyone to fix it and no part to fix it with so it could be a month or longer we have to drive a Chevy Cruze which for someone with a very bad back and arthritis in knees and back bad car not comfortable. I think GM needs to just scrap all these cars and buy them back from the ppl and pay off there loans. I am looking into buying a different brand of car. One the corporation will communicate better then GM is now the company of we wont say a word til you get hurt. Dealerships telling owners to just drive your cars but becareful til they do get the part in.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #127

Jun 182014

HHR

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while starting the ignition, the power steering warning indicator illuminated and a chime sounded with an immediate loss of power steering. The failure was related to recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V153000 (steering). The contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the remedy part was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Baph, NY, USA

problem #126

Jul 072014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
No accident has occurred; I would like to know why it takes so long to remedy the recall(s) on my vehicle; the first notice was received dated April 2014 from GM regarding the ignition switch. The next recall letter was received on May 11, 2014 and I immediately called my local GM (cecil clarke Chevrolet) in leesburg, Florida to be put on the 'list' for the required parts/replacements. On June 17th, I called cecil clark again and was advised that although they were receiving 4 - 5 replacement kits a day, mine had not come in yet. Now I have a safety recall for June reference the eps and that parts are not currently available. I have done what I need to do, I drive only when I have to now, and although I follow the safety rules reference removing all items from the ignition key, I do not feel safe while driving anymore. Please can you find out why it takes so long to get parts for a very safety related issue. I thank you in advance.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #125

Apr 142014

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 ( electrical system) and 14V153000 (steering). The contact indicated that there was a delay to receive the ignition switch part for longer than thirty days. The vehicle was being repaired after waiting for thirty days and the contact was later notified of a safety recall for the steering. The parts for the second recall were also unavailable. The contact was driving a rental vehicle while waiting for the local dealer to complete the ignition and steering recalls. The manufacturer was notified of the safety concern and parts delay to no avail. There were no failures.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #124

Apr 082014

HHR

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without any warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electric power steering needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #123

Jun 072014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Power steering assist went out making vehicle very difficult to steer.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #122

Mar 302014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
On 03/30/2014 the power steering light went on my HHR panel and the power steering went out. At that time I could power off the car and the power steering would work for one to two days. Within a week of this, the power steering would go out each time the car was started and driven within 5 minutes or less. It occurs if you are driving at 5 mph to 65 mph and if the car is cold or hot. This is becoming more of a safety issue as it requires extra strength to maneuver the car since no power steering is available. At this time Chevrolet has announced a recall on 03/31 for the 2010 HHR but nothing has shown up when I put my VIN number on their website. I am concerned about not having power steering but we need the car for transportation. Today is June 5 and this issue occurs every day and no recall notice has happened with my VIN. The mileage was adjusted from the original complaint.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #121

Jun 032014

HHR

  • 58,409 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving 10 mph and making a left turn, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact restarted the vehicle and it functioned properly. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,409.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #120

Nov 142013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 59,444 miles
While driving at any speed at all there would be a chime and a message on the dash then my power steering would be totally gone, you have about a 4 second warning when this happens. I took the vehicle and had it repaired, it was the power steering motor. I contacted Chevrolet directly after having it repaired complaining that this very problem had been recalled in Canada but not the us. I was told to keep the repair receipt (which I did) in case there was a later recall. So when the recall happened in the us my vehicle wasn't included. It was clearly a faulty power steering motor yet no recall on my vehicle. I believe there are more out there that GM isn't recalling. If mine done it then there are more out on the road that this has either happened to already or it will.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #119

May 012013

HHR

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the power steering warning light had suddenly illuminated before the power steering malfunctioned making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Branchville, SC, USA

problem #118

Jan 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 68,108 miles
As I was driving, the power steering light came on and the power steering went out. The next day, I took it to a repair shop. The problem had disappeared. Several weeks later, the problem recurred. I was advised to take it to a GMC dealership. The dealership replaced the electronic motor assist motor (recalled on other VIN numbers). And they charged me a hefty fee for the replacement.

- Catawissa, MO, USA

problem #117

Apr 192014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 196,236 miles
As I was driving down the street my power steering sign came on and I had difficulty steering. After parking and letting my car sit when I started it again I was able to drive for several miles before the power steering sign came on again.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #116

Jan 202014

HHR

  • 72,000 miles
Intermittent "service air bags". service light goes on and off sometimes it will change multiple times in just a 20 mile commute. Sometimes the service light will not turn on/off for a month. No common factor found. My VIN is not yet covered on the HHR recall list. Intermittent "power steering" loss - service light turns on and off. It can be hot, cold, dry, raining, driving 30 miles per hour or driving 50 miles per hour. Very difficult to control vehicle. My VIN is not yet covered on the HHR recall list. A couple of times my car key got stuck in the ignition. Once it took five minutes to turn the HHR off. This is covered on the current HHR recall list. There currently is no fix for the problem. It could be two months before it can be repaired.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #115

May 092014

HHR

  • 110,063 miles
While driving down the interstate at 70 mph, I had a warning light and the display read svc ESC. Shortly after, the power steering display came on in the vehicle. I then immediately lost control of vehicle. It took great force to steer the vehicle off of the highway to a safe location. I then used the onstar service, they ran a quick diagnostic - result came back that they were unable to connect to the power steering system - the power steering system had lost electrical connection or had failed completely - they were unable to let me know without having it diagnosed further at a local Chevy dealership. The vehicle was then towed to the local Chevy dealer. They ran a diagnostic and found that my entire steering column needed to be replaced. They also explained that other models of the HHR were recalled for the same issue that I experienced, however my model was considered "safe".

- Hollister, MO, USA

problem #114

May 022014

HHR

  • miles
My vehicle is on gms recall list because of an ignition problem. I was driving down a small hill on Friday May 2, 2014, when my car shut off. I had nothing on my ignition key ring when this happened and had just my key in the ignition when this happened. I called GM and let them know what had happened they offered to give me a rental car that they will pay for until my car is fixed. My concern is that these cars should not be on the road because they are a safety hazard to not only the person driving these cars but also to the people on the road with them, I know GM is doing all that it can to fix the problem and wonder why they are being allowed to be driven on the roads when they are unsafe. I do not feel comfortable driving my car because of the risk it poses not only to me but to others on the road and will be getting a rental. Oh and by the way when my car shut off, it was all I could do to steer it around the corner because off course my power steering was gone making it difficult to steer.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #113

Apr 052014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The power steering keeps shutting off" I will be driving when I will hear this brief chiming sound and my odometer readout on the dashboard is replaced with a flashing "power steering" message. Suddenly the vehicle is a bear to steer? it almost takes a muscle man to drive the vehicle at this point. It used to occur only once in a while. Now the power steering is constantly out. I'm taking this car in to the dealer now... the service rep stated that if my issue is a "power steering motor" replacement that it will cost me $325 including parts. However if the complete "steering column" needs replacement, the guy laughed and stated that I should consider taking a second out on my home, that this would be pricey. And that if both parts needed to be replaced..." well... let's not go there he said... just bring it in and we'll run a series of computer diagnostics on it. Oh boy... my first Chevrolet...

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #112

Mar 302014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Our 2010 HHR's power steering went out while my wife was in our neighborhood. She was able to get the car parked on the side of the road but the strength needed to steer the car was greater then she feels she could safely operate the vehicle. If you restart the car the power steering will work again. Since that time the power steering will randomly go out at least every other day while driving at highway or in the neighborhood.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?