Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,474 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet HHR electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Sep 202016

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On September 20 2016 while parked after picking up my children from school. My kids got into the rear passenger side door and when closing, the door would not shut. The latch would not catch onto the bar to keep the door shut. Uppon further research I found many complaints of Chevy HHR owners having the same problems with their car door locks as well. The lock actuator no longer functioning causing the latch to nonlinear work. Causing a huge safety problem. We can not drive a car that's door will not close and stay shut. It just pops right back open. Seeing how many similar complaints and reports there are online, this should be addressed by Chevy and GM. This has happened to our driver side passenger door in the past as well. Thank goodness it did not happen while we were driving.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #27

Sep 012012

HHR

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was experiencing multiple failures with the vehicle. The vehicle was previously repaired per a recall for the ignition switch; however, the repair was insufficient. At times, even with the key in the off position, the vehicle would not shut off. The battery would have to be disconnected to turn off the vehicle. The contact stated that the key did not remain in the ignition and he felt unsafe driving the vehicle. In addition, the driver side door handle was not working properly and was replaced twice by the dealer. The contact stated that the ESC (electronic stability control) indicator illuminated shortly after purchasing the vehicle. Each time the ESC indicator illuminated, the vehicle drastically reduced in speed. The dealer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #26

Feb 022016

HHR

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the key fob failed to open the front driver side door. In addition, while driving 50 mph, the vehicle made an abnormal noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the battery was replaced. The contact was informed that the rear brakes and drums also needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. Updated 08/02/16

- Ada, OK, USA

problem #25

Apr 122016

HHR

  • 73,818 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the check air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to be diagnosed by the dealer. The contact was informed that the front driver and passenger side air bags needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,818.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #24

Mar 302016

HHR

  • miles
Ignition recall, the switch has been replaced twice. I am still having issues when leaving key in ignition in the off position, all dash lights flash and a lot of clicking noise and will all lock doors. The service air bag light will come on, when you turn it off and restart car it goes out. I took it to the dealership and was told that they could not find the switch defective and they would not replace it, or check into the matter with out charging me a service fee of several hundred dollars. I travel long distances, and concerned about my safety, and other that could be involved in an accident.

- Shepherdsville, KY, USA

problem #23

Nov 152013

HHR

  • miles
In colder temperatures my car sputters when accelerating and rpms jump quickly from 2 to 3 and then back down. In addition, the radio may turn off, all dash gauges (fuel, speed, rpms) go to 0, various service lights come on (not always the same) and then everything goes back to normal. Car works fine in warmer temperatures. Took it to the dealership in 2013 and when plugged in there were reports if 20 things wrong and they were unable to determine the problem and said it would cost thousand to check all of the issues being reported. I contacted GM customer service and although they were very nice they weren't able to help determine what the issue with my vehicle was. I took it to another service place and while they were unable to determine the ultimate problem they put dielectric grease on all my electronic connections in the fuse box under the hood and it worked fine the rest if the winter. They said it was a good thing that I came in when I did because they thought if I drove it any longer I would have destroyed the electrical system. In 2014, I had them do the same "fix". now in 2015 it has started back up again.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 042014

HHR

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise and the service traction and service ESC warning lights flashed randomly. The vehicle suddenly reduced speed and hesitated as if it would stall. The accelerator pedal did not respond each time the failure recurred and the vehicle jerked violently and reduced speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than once and they were not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The dealer test drove the vehicle and found no failures. Upon turning off and restarting the vehicle, the computer reset and the warning lights dimmed, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- East Ridge, TN, USA

problem #21

Feb 112015

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Bunkie, LA, USA

problem #20

Jan 082013

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle faulty ignition switch problems. The consumer stated on January 8, 2013, as he backed out of the driveway, he hit a pot hole in the alley and the ignition switch turned off. He his some hedges and a snow bank and put a dent in the rear bumper. The consumer stated the next day, his back, legs and feet were numb. Updated 8/21/15

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 202013

HHR

  • 36,000 miles
I will be going down the road and the head lights and dash lights will go out been in the shop 10 times total still cant fix

- Concord, GA, USA

problem #18

Oct 012014

HHR

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the front passenger and both rear doors would not unlock with the key fob. The power locks malfunctioned and had to be unlocked manually. The failure recurred multiple times. The dealer was notified of the failures, but could not diagnose the cause of the failures. The manufacturer stated that there were no recalls for the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Gilbert, SC, USA

problem #17

Jan 072015

HHR

  • 70,900 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the gear shift was locked in parked. In addition, the contact mentioned that the doors locked without command. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 70,900.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #16

Nov 062012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The radio has been going out when I turn the steering wheel. It wouldn't do it when I took it in but then we had the recall of the ignition switch. That was repaired and it's gotten worse. This morning it popped and size led in the dash and thru the radio even after turning the radio and car off. It did start back up but every time I hit a bump the radio may go out. I called chev and they can't get me in until 11/17. This is my only vehicle. Something is wrong with these HHR electric systems. Somebody needs to find the problem and fix it.

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #15

Sep 102014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #14

Apr 102013

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled more than five times, which resulted in two crashes. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after each crash. The first crash occurred when the vehicle stalled and struck the front of another vehicle. The brakes failed to stop the vehicle properly. The contact and passenger sustained minor injuries. The second crash occurred when the vehicle stalled and was crashed into a tree. Police reports were filed for both crashes. The contact sustained minor injuries and the passenger sustained a broken shoulder. Medical attention was received. The vehicle was repaired after both crashes. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage and speed were unknown.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #13

Aug 012014

HHR

  • 40,000 miles
While driving.. car suddenly stalled losing power steering all dash board lights on gages flickering causing car to shut down. Unable to start.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #12

May 172014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 74,560 miles
While driving.. car suddenly stalled losing power steering all dash board lights on gauges flickering causing car to shut down. Second incident 7/19/14. Same scenario car suddenly stalled losing power steering all dash board lights on gauges flickering causing car to shut down. Dealership stated initial due to recall. Second incident dealer stated not due to recall but more of a common problem, however unable to replicate stall and determine where faulty wiring. Getting lots of error codes with no real cause as to why car stalls.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #11

Apr 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle locked up and was at times inoperable.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 162014

HHR

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the key failed to relesae from the ignition switch. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the parts were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 36,000.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration issues. The consumer stated while driving, she noticed the vehicle exhibit a boost/jerk type movement, and it made a strange noise. When she took the vehicle to the dealer, she was informed the problem was a spark plug and they fixed it. However, one night while driving, the vehicle once again exhibited the same boost/jerk movement, as if she suddenly hit the brake, as the vehicle was losing speed, until it shut down completely. She was able to pull over, turn the vehicle off, and re-started it again with no problem. A month later, the same thing happened, only that time, the electronic stability control light started blinking, followed by a strange noise. The electronic stability control light illuminated again in May 2014.

- Louisville, TN, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?