Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$971.00
Average Mileage:
104,527 miles
Total Complaints:
18 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (15 reports)
  2. replace intake manifold gasket that was worn from dexcool product (2 reports)
  3. contact gm (1 reports)
2000 Chevrolet Impala cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 012013

Impala

  • 130,488 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2000 Impala 3.8 l, I bought with 165000 km's, around 200000 km's my engine started to over heat, it was the electric fans, only one was working so I replaced the unit and everything seemed to be good . One week later a puddle formed under the car and it was antifreeze.....it was the by pass on the front of the engine, of course they're made of plastic, replaced both top and bottom elbows and seven days later my radiator went...lol, plastic tanks?

Anyways I had a flush done, new thermostat and I thought that should be it....everything is new, now I'm experiencing overheating again....it's not the intake. I think I'm gonna change the coolant sensors which turn the fans on and off......or maybe wire it so I have control of one of the fans. I've been using Dex cool and have had no problems, I maintain my car in every way......

- , Winnipeg, MB, Canada

problem #17

May 012012

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

HELP... I bought this car in1999 brand new. In 2004 I handed over the car to my daughter. Little problems until now... This car is overheating telling us that it needs coolant but the levels are fine. There is no leak and it sounds like it is having a bubble party under the hood! I don't know where to take it to.

- , Napa, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 242010

Impala 3400

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

The overheating problem began in 2004,and it hasn,t STOPPED!!Since 2010,I have spent $6000.00(or more!!),and it isn't over! I have had every thing done that could possibly be done to this piece of sh*t,and the mechanic tells me the last time I had it in the shop,(Jan.2012)ANOTHER $1900.00(to start!)to fix the head gaskets,and HOPE that the heads aren't blown!!!!Right now,after the last trip to the shop they said that the number4 plug was welded to the header,and they couldn't risk trying to take it out because it would PROBABLY tear up the headers,and then it would mean a new engine!!! I could have had a new car by now,but my finances aren't in the best of shape since I lost my husband 2 years ago!I asked the guy at the shop if he had a 44 magnum I could use to put the car out of it's misery(he laughed of course!)As long as I'm stupid enough to keep taking it there and giving them what little money I have they could care less!!

- , Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 012010

Impala 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the latest; on July 14, 2010 I took my 2000 impala into the dealership because it was leaking fluid. Ask the service dept. manger to fix it. He then diagnosed the car as oil sensor switch leakage. And he could not repair it because they did not have the part but the diagnose cost was $75.00 , so I paid and drove off with a leaking 2000 Chev Impala . Later, I notice that he wrote the service order up as the customer said the vehicle was leaking oil. Not true, I said fluid.

The Leak got worse, so I replaced the oil sensor, but the leak did not stop. Therfore, I park the car for several months. One day I raised the hood, took me a small flashlight and traced the leak to two sever lines. The hard rubber flap that is mounted to the car body to keep debris out of engine has rub the two lines until it cut through the top side of both lines. I went and got my picture camera, see enclosed picture and called GM log a complaint they said it's going to cost $135.00 to diagnose the problem. This a design defect, should be recalled. I know other 2000 impala owners must have had or will have similar concerns.

My family and I have had numerous problems with this car since it was purchase off the lot brand new in 1999, now in these hard economical times we're stuck with Impala.This was my first new car purchase; sad to say a huge MISTAKE. We have learned our lesson the hard way; never buy the 1st year model of newly design or redesign vehicle, unless it's a foreign make or model. Please help us stay with buying America GM; build better, safer cars!

Update from Dec 1, 2010: Power steering line leaks from design flaw, safety hazard.

Update from Dec 1, 2010: complaint should be listed under power steering not coolant system .

- , Richmond, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 022009

Impala 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

My mother bought this car in '99 after our 1st Impala was totaled (sandwiched). Got the car from her in 06 with 101,000. Well before it was in my possession one of the windows decided to fail. And a little bit before we discovered the air bag light came on and that if we had a wreck they would not deploy (learned from mechanic) who clipped the wire and the light went off, still no airbag. I discovered GM had a recall on 2000-2005 impalas for airbag failure and for some reason mine was not covered. Around 140-150,000 miles I started having cooling problems. The car has 176,372 miles on it now so this is what happened between then and now. First i replaced the radiator. Went good for about a year. Well in the latter of 09 it ran hot so i replaced the radiator again and changed out the hoses. Around March 2010 it started again. I replaced the sensor as well as fan relays because one wasn't working. All was good until about 2 weeks ago. I decided to finally change out the thermostat. Worked good for bout a week and it put me back down. Now I have noticed a little sludge around the bottom of the radiator cap, my grandfather says it is time for another head gasket because mine sounds blown. Also when it does run hot i can always hear steam shooting but can't spot where. My air conditioner started blowing hot air out about 2 weeks ago too.

- , Troy, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Sep 292009

Impala 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

I can't believe that a standard coolant flush would have caused such issues. I had this gunky coolant in my radiator and the oil change place told me I needed to flush the stuff out and change it. Ok, so I paid $168 for my oil change and coolant flush. Boy, that was the start of the headache. I noticed my car overheating on my way home from work that night. (I commute 11 miles each way). I had to pull off of the highway and fill the coolant reservoir. Anyways, I ended up going to a place that specialized in radiator issues and they found the problem. My coolant and oil had been mixing together prior to the coolant flush, so not only did I pay for another coolant flush, I had to pay $1400 in labor and parts because the intake manifold gasket cracked to the point that my car was leaking a full gallon of coolant a day.

My car has a lot of miles, but if the intake manifold gasket is crap, GM should make a better part. No other car I have had, has had this issue ever. It was expensive and inconvenient. It took the shop two days to get all of the gunk out of my cooling system.

- , Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #12

Dec 012007

Impala 3.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my car in for an oil change and car wash one day and was horrified to find out that I had oil in my cooling system...that was several months and several repairs ago!!! This P.O.S engine has cost me more than it was ever worth!! I was told that this was because there is a blown head gasket in the engine. It seemed odd at first till I looked on here and found the 100s and 100s of complaints about this same damn engine!!! I hate that Chevrolet knows about this and has not done anything to even try to compensate nor fix their f*ck up!!! If anyone has any suggestions on how to fix this problem or what to do with this please let me know.

- , Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #11

Oct 102009

Impala LS 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

My car was overheating, and was told to remove the thermostat. Car continued to overheat, and due to engine light being on, was diagnosed that the cooling fans were bad and needed to be replaced. It was also blowing the fuses. I have replaced the cooling fans, and it seemed to fix the problem for awhile, but now car is overheating again 2 mths later!!! Now Im told the cooling fan relay switch is defective...so thats my next expense. I jsut hope this fixes the problem

- , Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 012009

Impala LS 3.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles

My Chevrolet Impala overheated really quick. I was stranded on the side of the highway. I was pist. The tempature gauge went from cold to hot really quick. I waited a little bit and drove home 5 minutes at a time until I finally got home. 1. I replaced the thermostat. Still overheated. 2. I replaced the cooling fans and the radiator. Still overheated. I was told it was the water pump for sure. I replaced it. It still overheated. I went all out and I had a head job done with all new gaskets and remachined heads. I just took it for a drive. WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. It still does the exact same thing. I am fking going crazy. I about to set it on fire! Before I burn it, does anybody know what in the hell is wrong with this POS???

- , Pleasanton, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 012009

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,000 miles

Same problem here, red light on saying "HOT COOLANT" and the temperature gauge will go from 160deg to 270 deg in two seconds. Once it's on red I have to park my car as soon as possible because it starts to lose power, and then I have wait for 10 minutes until car is cold again. This all happens the first 15 minutes of driving the car. The mechanic replaced the water, and now it does not go all the way up to 270 deg. It only goes to 240, so it is still bad.

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 022006

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

4th heater coil. 4th!!!! In less than a year. My husband heard that it might have something to do with the 'pressure' in the radiator that is destroying the seals on the heater coil. He bought a new cap for the radiator, and now more problem. I'm writing this in 2008, and I'm still only on my 4th heater coil. Apparently, the $25 radiator cap fixed the issue. Sometimes I still can smell the odor of radiator fluid....and I panic, but no radiator fluid baths yet.

- , Swanton, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 232006

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

On our third heater coil. It exploded again. I now drive around without any carpeting, as we're tired of cleaning coolant out of the carpet. I now have a towel, as it's winter and I often have snow and salt on my shoes. I'm sure the metal floor would disintegrates if pushed any further. Load ride without carpet, by the way.

- , Swanton, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 152005

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

Second heater coil began leaking and exploded contents of radiator onto driver and passenger floor area. Auto Zone replaced, as it was a new coil bought a few months earlier. By the way, replacing the heater coil in this model is a bitch. You have to remove the front panel on the interior of the car, the seats, etc....oh, because you have coolant everywhere and you have to take the carpet and everything out to clean it. You really do have to remove the panel to 'replace' the heater coil.

- , Swanton, OH, USA

problem #5

Sep 082005

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

On our way back from our first anniversary, my car started overheating. The heater coil exploded and hot coolant spilled onto the passenger and driver's side floor area. We're talking the entire contents. We first noticed the 'smell' of coolant a few weeks before, and about a week before the 'explosion' the carpet was 'slippery' from to coolant. After the heater coil exploded, my husband replaced it with another.

- , Swanton, OH, USA

problem #4

Sep 012007

Impala V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME...I AM GOING F*'ING INSANE WITH THIS PIECE OF SH*T. I got back from my second tour in Iraq with the Marine Corps and wanted to get a classic car. But instead, I figured I could pay $5,000 for a good sedan to commute. I live in NJ and need to commute to the Philadelphia VA hospital for rehabilitation every week and I even had to quit a job because of this frickin car. I have spent an extra $2,000 on this piece of sh*t and its driving me insane. I call the Impala "the Mystery Machine". It has been repaired 6 times since September and towed almost 3 times. Let's begin...

First, when I bought it I was informed that the "low coolant" yellow light would sometimes blink but they checked it out and nothing was wrong (my dad's buddy's car). When I test drove it the "trunk open" light activated, but I was told it was no big deal. Soon the airbag light activated and de-activated still until now, and it has continued to the point where the f-ing things dings so much to tell me "low tire pressure", "change oil", "check engine", "security". Then the LOW COOLANT yellow light would go to HOT COOLANT red and the temperature gauge will go from 160deg to 270deg in 5 seconds, back to the middle, to the edge, back again, I swear to God this vehicle is haunted, I may need an exorcism instead of a mechanic...it gets better. So my vehicle blink red HOT COOLANT will the temperature gauge went back and forth and passed the red and sometimes stop losing no power. Eventually weeks later the fan would kick on, power would be lost, so on until I finally broke down on the turnpike and it overheated even though I just put coolant in it and checked it (i drive with it). I was towed and repaired. Thermostat, sensor, intake gaskets were repaired. Drove it off. 2 days later the same damn things happens going to work. I take it back, new o-rings and water pump, coolant flushed and checked for leaks. Drive it off and weeks later same, took it do my buddies shop, and he has replaced the thermostat, o-rings, checked for leaks, pressure tested, etc. has been repaired 4 times (coolant flushed, tested, silicon added to hoses, etc.) until he gave up and told me to get rid of it. It used to act up on trips close to an hour, now I can barely ride 15 minutes, sometimes I lose power for a bit, sometimes it will go down, its cursed. I'm at the point where I am rolling into the VA with this piece of sh*t ringing like hell, not knowing if I'm going to make it to my destination, and sometimes stopping for 20 min at a time for the temp gauge to go down. Its 20 damn degrees outside and when I pop the hood no steam is coming from anywhere and it has coolant. Air pockets are constantly found in my coolant-radiator hoses. I'm getting desperate here...I'm waiting to be driving one day and this thing detonates on 95. Sometimes when I park it I wish it would spontaneously combust and burn to the ground so I can get my money back. HELP

- , Atco, NJ, USA

problem #3

Mar 152007

(reported on)

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

Took car in for a routing oil change, asked them to check coolant system because car had been leaking a bit of coolant, nothing major at this point (about a gallon of coolant every few weeks to a month). Coolant intake valve is cracked, mechanic says drive as little as possible until you can afford to get it fixed $600.00, watch for foggy oil... if coolant starts mixing with oil STOP driving car immediately. I have been driving car this way for over a year because I can't afford a $600.00 chunk of change all at once (I know stupid move because I've probably spent more than that in coolant at 8.00 a gallon and 2 to 3 gallons per week lately) but what you gonna do?!?!? This car really irks me.

- , LaValle, WI, USA

problem #2

Jan 202007

(reported on)

Impala 3400

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

I recently brought my car from a used car lot about six months ago. This summer and fall my car was fine, I had no problems at all. This all changed very quickly when the seasons changed and the temperature dropped. Now that it is winter my car has been overheating everyday. The problem made itself known to me one day while I was driving and my "hot coolant temp" indicator lighter came on and my car cut off. I have had three other cars (mainly foreign made) in the past and have never had this problem. So I had my car checked by the closest gas station and they told me that my coolant was low and that it was not a problem. So they added Dex-Cool to my car and I was on my way. My car drove fine for like a week maybe two. Then the light comes back on and I just add more Dex-Cool and thought it would be fine. No No No. Two weeks later I am adding Dex-Cool like twice a week and my car is smoking. I take my car to be checked and the mechanic before even looking at my car tells me, you probably have a leak in your intake manifold gasket and that the problem is very common in the Chevy cars with the 3400 engine and that it would cost around $700.00 to repair. So when he tells me its common, I decide to Google "impala coolant leak problems" and this is like the first page to come up. I read through the complaints and saw that this is a little to common. I think that Chevy should pay for repairs cost for this problem. I would love to be added to the class action suit, please sign me up.

- , Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #1

Jan 112007

(reported on)

Impala LS 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

Bought the car from a used dealership. A week later noticed the Low Coolant warning was on. I went and got a tune-up but noticed that afterwards the Low coolant warning was still on. I checked the cooling system to see if there was sufficient coolant and there was so I thought it was just a malfunction on the warning light. A month later I noticed a small leak from the radiator. I used some of that Bar's Leak to stop the leakage. That worked for about a week till it seemed that it got worse and it started leaking profusely. I kept on having to buy bottles of coolant to pour in it, till my engine started overheating. It turned out that I had a radiator leak, I don't know from what, and the mech said I might blew a head gasket. I had this car six months and I'm very disappointed if it's the heads because it overheated once, and the steam was coming from the radiator and hose not from the engine. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed, that it's not the heads because the estimated repair costs is in the thousands. I personally think any car that runs on DEX-COOL sucks because I had a 98 Cadillac Catera that ran on that coolant that blew the head gaskets and I had to get rid of it because of the repair costs. I'm willing to participate in a class action lawsuit since this is the second GM vehicle engine overheating problem I've had that has cost me thousands in repairs.

Word of advice.. Buy foreign cars!!!

- , San Diego, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?