Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$454.00
Average Mileage:
106,369 miles
Total Complaints:
67 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (37 reports)
  2. replace ignition switch (10 reports)
  3. replaced bcm unit and passlock sensor (5 reports)
  4. install remote starter to bypass security system (3 reports)
  5. prior to waiting 10 mins,play with the lock/unlock on remote (3 reports)
  6. reset passlock in 15 min. (2 reports)
2001 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #67

Aug 312014

Impala 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Can't stand this, makes me late for work all the time or I have to go in super early when it doesn't happen. Just not a reliable vehicle anymore.

- , Olean, NY, USA

problem #66

Aug 032006

Impala LS 3.2L V6 3800

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,673 miles

I have been reading everybody's complaints on their Impala, I have the same problem. The engine turns over but will not start. It shuts off going down the highway for no reason, I can put the car in neutral and restart the car as I coast, it has started up every time but this is a problem that should never happen.

I have found that when my car will not start I can put it in neutral and push it backwards just a few inches, it will start, this has worked for me several times. Our government bailed GM out of a jam a few years ago with tax payers money and just what has GM done for the people who drive GM autos? They don't stand behind their autos and to me that is dishonest.

- , Jonesville, NC, USA

problem #65

Feb 012015

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,325 miles

My 2001 Chevrolet Impala started needing a jump every time I left it sitting for over 3-4 hours. I thought it was just the battery so I went and bought a brand new battery and it started, left it overnight, the battery was completely dead. I sent it to a mechanic and they actually found that my BCM was killing my battery in 3 hours. They replaced it. I got my car back, it rode good for the day I got it. Parked the car and left it overnight and went back to it today and the battery was completely dead.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what might be the problem? I would really like to know what it is.

- , Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #64

Apr 292010

Impala LS 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,308 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Aug 15, 2003; car stopped on a major highway, no response from ignition switch. Waited 15 minutes car started. April 17, 2004 leaving work car would not start, called AAA for jump, battery was good, no start tried to jump no response; car was dead. AAA left i waited 45minutes turned the switch the car came to life..Took car to Chevy dealer , the dealer said "not wrong with car, could not duplicate" Feb 21,2005.same thing waited 30 minutes.2006 called Chevy complaint line in Detroit to report the problem got a complaint number but was never called in to get repaired.2007,2008,2009,the same thing...Apr 25, 2010 the problem had gotten really bad. Every time I turned the car off i had to wait 15-30 minutes to start. April 29 2010 i had enough took car to Chevy dealer, it would not at the dealer, the dealer remove and replaced the ignition switch.no problem, still have the Impala. Chevy should have paid for the repair.

- , Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #63

Jul 022013

Impala LX 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,904 miles

Engine wont turn over at times. SHAME ON YOU GM Take responsibility and address the issue of the passlock security system . Train your service center employees to do the bypass of this system on your DIME and make this problem right for all Impala owners.

- , Romulus, MI, USA

problem #62

Jan 242013

Impala LS 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250,000 miles

Ok so it's got me kinda ticked to be honest...I drive a 2001 Chevy Impala LS with the 3.8L V6 and can wake up in the morning and start my car with absolutely no hesitation. If I just let it set and idle it will slowly but eventually overheat and start beeping at me. If I drive around it eventually goes back down but will overheat again if I just let it sit and idle. Also, again, I can wake up in the morning and cold start the car no problem but if I park it and shut it off after an extended period of driving than I have to wait almost 45mins to an hour for it to cool down before it will start again with no problem. It will crank and crank and crank but not turn over but If I spray some starter fluid in the air intake, BAM! she fires right up. What the Hell is going on? Somebody please help me!!!

- , Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #61

May 252012

Impala LS 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,789 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car worked great for first 10 years, then starting this year it's been one problem after the other. Replacing the ignition switch was just one part. The shifter broke. And now the blower motor resistor needs replacing. Three (3) major problems in about six (6) weeks. GM should be forced to make these repairs because they are known issues for most models of each car. I loved my car but now I'm afraid of it. I can't afford to keep it and I can't afford to trade it in.

- , Ashland, VA, USA

problem #60

Aug 202012

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

I'm so glad to see that its not just my car! Has done security thing since I got car four years ago. I called dealership about it and they gave me "The Instructions" what they don't tell you is you can't open doors while doing your time or else you have to start all over again. So unless you wanna crawl out your window you gotta wait the ten mins. Also if it don't start after that just turn it over again and it should start. I have noticed that extreme temps seem to aggravate the problem more too. Other than this frustrating inconvenience my car has been great to me.

- , Springfield, MO, USA

problem #59

May 152012

Impala LS 3800

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

I need to know why I have to keep losing off the electrical harness every time I drive the car for a little while.

- , Deltona, FL, USA

problem #58

Mar 012012

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

ARRGGH I've tried all the drop down methods to fix the impala.. and still nothing..

- , Newtown, PA, USA

problem #57

Nov 162011

Impala 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 196,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

i try to start the car and it acts like the battery is dead but it wont jump start. ive replaced the battery and that didnt fix it. i let the car sit and it finally starts. sometimes this takes up to 3 days. very inconvenient. from what ive read and heard from other people who own the same make and model, this is very common. it seems that chevy would recall the car since every one they have sold eventually has this problem. i know ill not own another chevy. hey should be sued

- , Crossville, TN, USA

problem #56

Aug 252011

Impala LS 3.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

The car would not start but yet I had lights. Waited about 30 minutes and it started up fine. I am so leery about driving this car.

- , Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #55

Apr 042011

Impala LS 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles

I agree with all of you!!!! I have figured a simple solution as a temp fix. There is a fuse panel on the inner driver side. A 10 Amp ignition fuse-if you remove the fuse for 10 seconds and replace the car will automatically start. At least for me. But I will try the remote starter to fix the problem permanently.

- , Eldon, MO, USA

problem #54

Jun 302003

Impala 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

I have been left stranded on the road more times than I can say with my 2001 Chevy Impala. A few times it has started after waiting a few minutes; other times, up to 2 hours. Once, while on the highway, the engine simply died and, since it was 5 in the morning, had to call a tow truck which cost me $265.00. Dantin Chevrolet in Thibodaux, Louisiana, , where I purchased the car, was never able to find the trouble, and now, flatly refuses to fix it. I brought it to them many times about the starter problems. Also, Trapp Chevrolet in Houma, Louisiana, also cannot find the problem. They have sent a tow truck to get my car several times. You would think after spending over $22,000 for this vehicle, plus an additional 3 years of warranty coverage, someone at GMAC, Dantin and Trapp should be hanging their head down for treating a customer so shamelessly.

- , Gray, LA, USA

problem #53

Jun 232010

Impala V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

I have tried just about everything to get the car fixed. Apparently, it's a Chevy-wide passlock security system issue. Why hasn't Chevrolet issued a recall? I bought my car used, but that is no excuse. At first, it just wouldn't start at random times. Now, it is shutting off WHILE I AM DRIVING IT and then won't start for hours, if not days. All the "quick fixes" have been done, but it seems to be getting worse. I will NEVER buy another Chevrolet car if this is how they show appreciation to their loyal customers.

- , Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #52

Sep 122010

Impala LS 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

Car won't turn over due to security system. Sometimes it helps to use the remote key entry to unlock the doors and then it will start, but not always. What is the proper procedure for all of us to complain to GM?

- , Memphis, TN, USA

problem #51

Feb 042009

Impala 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

I have always bought Fords except when I started a new job and the majority of the work is with GM. I sometimes have to visit GM facilities and thought after years I might agan try a GM product...mistake!!!! WTF I have purchased a 2001 Chevy Impala, this car was purchased used, a friend of mine who works in sales at a Chrysler Dealer told me about the car because it had low miles and was clean " turned in at a Chrysler dealer" how stupid can I be?????

After driving this POS for about a month it was back to the dealer every week for some type of light display/alarm turning on/off. I am totally convinced that this POS was salvaged from from the depths of the Katrina disaster because of ALL the compounding electrical issues. Now to top it off it does not star....randomly.

This letter is not to convince anyone that Fords are thast much better, I have had my share of problems with them as well.....

- , Clay, MI, USA

problem #50

Jul 192010

Impala 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,177 miles

DO NOT PIECE THIS PIECE OF JUNK! Bought this car 3 weeks ago in early July. Seemed fine and got it for a good price (no wonders). At first the passlock light thing came on randomly but I didn't care too much. Next I noticed the fuel gauge was not working properly, always reading as if the tank is full. Nearly ran out of gas one time! Next, everytime I would start the car there would be this "ticking" sound and the lights flashing from anywhere between 5 seconds to 2 minutes, absolutely random thing. I thought oh well, not a big deal, as long as the car works fine. Oh and the remote lock wouldn't work either, thought it was just the battery that needed to be changed but no, didn't work.

Then 2 days ago I parked in the city center, came back an hour later and the car simply didnt start at all! No engine sound or nothing, simply no response when I'm turning in the key. The radio wasn't working but except that everything else seemed to be fine. Ah and the low fuel light came on and the battery light and the car fix light, all together blinking in a row. Battery is in good condition and I really doubt it has anything to do with the starter. I tried the 10 minutes thing, not sure if I tried long enough but anyways nothing work!! Got the car towed to the garage and they've had it for 2 days and still trying to find the problem.

WHAT A PIECE OF JUNK. WILL NEVER EVER BUY AGAIN AN AMERICAN CAR! THEY CAN'T EVEN BUILD ANYTHING DECENT! CAN'T BELIEVE GM ISN'T DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT. WANT MY MONEY BACK!

- , Vancouver, BC, Canada

problem #49

Nov 072008

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I had the same trouble as everyone else. The car wouldn't start for 10 or 12 minutes at a time. A dealer put in a new BMI sensor thing in for 500 bucks. It worked for about 4 months, then the problem was back. I finally had a remote start installed about 8 months ago and this has stopped the problem. It cost about 200 dollars.

- , Redford, MI, USA

problem #48

May 202010

Impala 3.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 169,000 miles

I started having trouble getting my car to start. I would turn the key and nothing and then all of the sudden it starts. One day it would not start at all when I was leaving work. I kept trying to start and nothing. The battery ended up dying. I got a jump and all the lights were flashing where it says security and low fuel etc. I brought it to a garage and left it there a few days and it started no problem when it was there. I replaced the battery because it was 6 years old but it tested fine and the alternator tested and fine and the starter too. After replacing the battery I didn't have the problem for a few days but it came back.

I found this site and tried everything like waiting 10 minutes and locking and unlocking the doors to reset the computer, sometimes it worked but sometimes it didn't. I went to a Chevy dealer to ask them what they think it may be because most of what I read on hear led me to believe it was the ignition switch or the computer. The dealer said if it was the computer the check engine light would be on and it was not. They said it was probably the ignition switch. I considered getting a remote start to bypass the security system but they said as soon as I would put in the key it might stop.

I also was having a problem with the digital shifter. I had the problem last summer then it went away but since it has been warm it came back. While I was driving the D for drive would not be lit like it was in Drive. Sometimes it would do it Reverse or Park. It still would shift fine. When I would shift back to Park the doors would not unlock like they are supposed to. Sometimes when I went to unlock the doors with the remote the drivers side door would not unlock. If I moved around the shifter it would light back up like normal. It would make a clicking noise when it was not lighted up properly and if I tapped on the brakes it would make the clicking noise until I moved the shifter until I saw it was in (D) lit up properly. Well I figured the no start problem may be linked to this and I was right. When I went to start the car it was not lit up in Park so it would not start. If I moved the shifter around to Neutral or back to Park until I saw it lit properly it would start without waiting. I think the problem is in the transmission linkage. If you have a problem starting the car turn the key to on but don't start it, look at the digital shift display, if it is lit up properly it will start in Park or Neutral everytime.

- , Naugatuck, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?