Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,330 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Impala fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 252013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle explosion and caught fire before consumer had recall repaired.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #15

Feb 192013

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 161,711 miles
The contact owned a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that there was a loud back fire after the vehicle was started, followed by smoke emitting from the engine compartment. The fire was extinguished with a fire extinguisher and the cause of the fire was undetermined. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 96V116000 (fuel system, gasoline) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included. The approximate failure mileage was 161,711....updated 03/27/13

- Hastings, MN, USA

problem #14

Apr 092012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 169,878 miles
On 4/09/12 at approximately 18:20 I got in the car that had been sitting all day in the driveway of my home and when I attempted to start it there was a loud explosion and smoke started coming out from under the hood. After feeling the hood I opened it and discovered a fire on the top of the engine and along the back side of the engine closest to the firewall. Fortunately since I was home I had quick access to an abc fire extinguisher and I ran into the garage and grabbed it and put out the fire. After the fire was out I noted the entire engine cover and the top of the engine under the cover was in pieces all over the engine compartment and it appeared the explosion was inside the air plenum/ intake manifold. I had the car towed to my local auto service location via aaa and contacted my insurance carrier the following day. Repairs included replacing the air plenum, fuel rail, injectors, fuels lines, ignition wires, fuel regulator, and various gasket kits and sensors. Based on internet research I have heard of the fuel regulator drawing raw fuel into the air plenum / intake manifold via a vacuum line which results in the explosion when you attempt to start the car.

- Rising Sun, MD, USA

problem #13

Apr 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact noticed the fuel gauge would display the amount of fuel level was more than the capacity in the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic; the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000. Updated 10/4/11 the consumer stated after filling the tank to capacity, the gauge would only read 1/4 tank to 3/4 full. Updated 10/24/11

- Murfreesdoro, TN, USA

problem #12

May 302011

Impala

  • miles
Problem: The gas meter is not accurate, it gives me false readings which result in me running out of gas or over fill my gas tank. I never know how much gas I have! the gas meter usually reads full but that's not true. While driving the gas meter wanders back and forth from full to empty. I can't drive my car far because I don't know much gas I have. Please help me!

- Southvilee, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

May 262011

Impala

  • miles
Chevrolet Impala ls 2001 have a defect where the gas gauge moves up and down constantly while driving. This happens everytime I drive! you never know how much gas you have because the gas gauge is not accurate. Which leads to running out of gas or over filling. I don't think it can be fix. I have never been in a accident its just a defect.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #10

Feb 042011

Impala

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 Chevy Impala with a 3.8L V6. Today around 3:30 central time I went outside to start my vehicle and I saw that the battery was dead so I got another vehicle of mine and put on my jumper cables and allowed the battery to charge, after waiting for it to charge, I turned the key. When I turned the key I heard a loud explosion, and the plastic intake manifold exploded and caught on fire. The fire was so large I had to call the fire department to put it out, they wrote a report on the incident. I had plastic pieces all over. I would to know why I haven't recieved a recall on this if there has been reports of this issue.

- Wichita , KS, USA

problem #9

Sep 122010

Impala

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when she filled the fuel tank and returned to the vehicle, the fuel gauge would register that the tank was empty. After a few days, the fuel gauge would register empty and the vehicle would suddenly shut off completely. She had to refill the tank to start the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the contact was informed that the problem could possibly be the fuel pump or fuel filter. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were approximately 114,000

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #8

Apr 172010

Impala

  • miles
01 Chevy Impala fuel pump issues has corrected problem several times in which is a known defect, other nite car shut down on speeding highway without reason or warning.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 172010

Impala

  • 116,000 miles
My vehicle was a 2001 Chevy Impala, ( city police vehicle) 02/17/10 I went out in the morning to start the car parked in the driveway. Upon turning the ignition to the on position there was a sonic boom. (so much that it shook our house)the engine compartment began smoking my husband ( a fireman) returned to the car and slightly lifted the hood and found it had flashed over and was totally involved. 911 was called and fire department responded extinguishing the flames. This is city police vehicle so not sure what if anything will be done but I wanted to report the incident in hopes that it would have an impact of keeping others from being injured. This explosion was powerful and fames erupted immediately. Searching the web a ODI resume was found which I believe to be the circumstance of my experience. Inv: Ea 02-030 prompted by :PE02-050 this was a cold start, in the winter months and the vehicle has a plastic manifold. Also the 8th VIN digit is an 8. our department had several of these vehicles on the road I would like to know if there was a recall or if we should have further concern about the other 2001 Chevy Impala on the road thank you

- Trinity, AL, USA

problem #6

Nov 102008

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drove car to work, parked 3 min later customer comes to my job screaming to call 911 because a car is on fire, I came out and was mine. After the fire department put the fire our, they suspected that a fuel line was licking, I went to a website to find 2 recalls on my car that I was never made aware of, this one was back in 2001, and I purchased the car from a Chevy dealer on 2002, and was service by them several times. Now Chevrolet only wants to pay $2,000, because I did not buy an extended warranty as required by the state of Florida, I contacted the general state attorney for the state and his office said that this was not true.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #5

Nov 102008

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle had been parked for seven minutes, the contact was notified that her vehicle was on fire. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V136000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:hoses, lines/piping); however, the contact never received a recall notice. The representative added that because the contact did not purchase an extended warranty, she would only be reimbursed $2,000 for accrued vehicle damage. The contact has not yet received any assistance. She has access to obtaining supporting documents. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 232008

Impala

  • 70,000 miles
I was passing another car, my car backfired, I then lost power. Returning home at a very slow speed. I noticed a burning smell, the exhaust was red hot. The problem was a burn hole in the plastic intake manifold which melted some electrical wiring.

- Pontiac, IL, USA

problem #3

Dec 172007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. When the contact's wife attempted to start the vehicle before jumping the dead battery, the fuel system bypassed through a regulator and created an explosion. Although the vehicle caught fire, it was not destroyed and was capable of being repaired. The dealer stated that nothing could be done because the VIN was not included in the recall. The purchase date and recall number were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 131,000.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 072006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,990 miles
: the contact stated while driving any speed there was a banging noise in the steering column accompanied by a vibration. The banging and the vibration became gradually worse when the steering wheel was turned to either side. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer who determined that the intermediate steering shaft needed to be repacked. The shaft was subsequently replaced, but the problem recurred. Updated 9/22/2006 - the fuel tank sending unit was replaced. The fuel injector unit was replaced intake gasket leaked.

- Penfield, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 062005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,700 miles
2001 Impala - fuel pressure regulator failure; continued intermittent gasoline odors: Increasingly strong gasoline odors over several weeks sent me to dealer 7/6/05 where it was determined that fuel pressure regulator diaphram had failed - replaced; returned to dealer 7/22 because of continued gasoline odors - a test port cap had not been replaced on 7/6; 7/23-26 - car not driven (out of town); 7/29 - slight odor 3 times; 7/30 - strong odor; 8/1 - dealer found no leaks or odor; 8/1 - five minutes after leaving dealer, slight odor; 8/2-5 - car at dealer being checked and double checked; fuel pressure regulator possibly replaced again; 8/10-11 - odor checked again; driven 104 miles by 'sensitive nose' technician; no odor detected or leaks found; 8/18-21 - car not driven (out of town); 8/23 - strong odor; 8/25 - slight odor; 8/27 - slight odor twice; 8/30 - strong odor; 9/1 - slight odor; 9/4 - slight odor; 9/7 - "slight odor?; 9/9 - strong odor that lasted 2-3 minutes; 9/9 - car back at dealer for work on 9/12-"

- Laurel, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?