Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,324 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 11 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

May 142008


  • 90,000 miles


20002 Chevrolet Impala, frequently does not start about one in every ten tries. I have taken it to two different mechanics one said could find nothing the second time I left it at the garage for a week and a half before it wouldn't start for the mechanic. He checked the codes and they said it need a new ignition switch. I am reluctant to install a new switch because of all of the complaints with this year and model car and in many cases a new switch and computer did not correct the problem.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #28

Dec 012002

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The dealer changed the BCM module; however, the failure continued to occur. The dealer then replaced the BCM module again. Approximately six months later the failure occurred again. As a result, the power windows were inoperable. The mechanic stated that an electrical short caused the failure. They replaced the wires however approximately one month later the failure occurred again. As of April 14, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 10,000 and current mileage was 121,000.

- Dolton, IL, USA

problem #27

Mar 012008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,630 miles
The air bag light began illuminating with the radio locking out on our 2002 Impala at 15,630 miles. Love Chevy Hummer reset the computer. Later the same problem recurred. At 16,009 miles love Chevy Hummer replaced the inflatable restraint sensing and diagnostic module. Later, the same problems recurred many times but, we found that we could reset the computer by shutting the car off, opening and closing the door and restarting the car. At 23720 mile the car was taken back to tuscaloosa Chevrolet. The computer indicated the problem was the body control module. It was reprogrammed. Several weeks later the same problems recurred over and over. We took the vehicle in to barkley Pontiac, Cadillac, GMC. The computer code indicated a body control module wad needed but that since the car was out of warranty I would have to pay for it. It was not repaired at this time. While driving at night the headlights went out. I was able to get them back on by flashing the low beam / high beam leaver. Notified General Motors customer relationship specialist spoke with carley leblanc. (service request: 71-437167435). After several emails and phone conservations we were told us to fix it ourselves if we were so concerned. We sent addition information to carley leblanc and later angelina moncivais contacted about our complaints. After several more emails and phone conversations angelina said she was not able to help us. In January of 2008 all warning indicators started cycling and the warning bells started ringing. On February 6, 2008 the Impala would not start. I charged the battery and on February 15, 2008 took it back in to tuscaloosa Chevrolet. After another diagnostic check was told the body control module would need replacing at a cost of nearly $600. Called GM asking for help since the same problems with the car have occurred since it was purchased new on June 6, 2002. After about 2 weeks of phone conversations we were told there was nothing GM would do.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #26

Feb 162008

Impala 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


On a 2002 Chevrolet Impala, the security light comes on while driving. Following this event various electrical abnormalities occur. Dashboard warning lights all flash together, dash goes dark. Sometimes when you start the car the security light comes on and the headlights flash as if they were icc flashers. There are numerous complaints about this on the internet. Chevrolet doesn't seem to have any finite fix for this and randomly replaces the BCM and ignition switch as possible causes. Most people report having the exact same problem over again several days later"?" due to this erroneous reporting I thought I had a battery problem and the garage changed my alternator. At a cost of $306 dollars. Which I now believe was totally un-necessary.

- Ridge, NY, USA

problem #25

Jan 282008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,750 miles
On 01/22/08 while driving, the "security" light appeared in the message center on the instrument panel. When I stopped the car, turned it off, and restarted, all was fine and the light remained off. The following day, after driving approximately 10 miles, the "security" light appeared. This has happened a total of four times, most recently on 01/27/08. When the light appeared, the headlights dimmed for a moment. When I stopped the car, the lights on the radio were extremely dim. On 01/28/08, I went to start the car and the battery appeared to be dead. An attempt to jump off the car was unsuccessful. This seems to be related to the very common "passlock" problems on other GM products.

- Signal Mountain, TN, USA

problem #24

Jan 012006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevy Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start when the security light illuminated. In addition, the failure occurred intermittently the last three years. The dealer replaced the ignition and pass sensor; however, the failure continued to occur. The current mileage was 96,000 and failure mileage was 60,000.

- Woodbury, CT, USA

problem #23

Dec 092007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


Dealer says I need a new electronic body control module.( $1,100.) ABS light on and off, traction light on and off, security light on and off, car would not start 4 times. Trunk opens on and off. Service writer told me it is not common. While picking up my car, I refused to have the ebcm replaced, another customer called in with the same problem. Mechanics who work independent have told me the maintenance programs GM requires are a major rip off. A class action suit needs to be started against GM for destroying the moral of the auto consumer. I have seen others post that they had the module reprogrammed. Others have had it replaced for $400-500. Service writers should not be on commission this gives them a rip you off mentality! GM dealers are scum Chevy is scum.

- Ft Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #22

Nov 232007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Was stranded for about 30 minutes because car wouldn't start on my 2002 Chevy Impala the original security system passlock doesn't let the vehicle start. Has happened several times about 10 and I have only had this vehicle for 4 months I have read some forums in the internet and it's a known problem with GM and a lot of people have this problem and a risk since they are trying to fix it by working by the steering wheel and trigger the air bag. Some people say it could be the BCM I don't know but GM does.

- Mallen, TX, USA

problem #21

Oct 012007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the turn signal lights work sporadically and the vehicle shuts off and on intermittently. He stated that the failure was due to an electrical failure. The dealer stated that nothing could be done because the vehicle was out of warranty. The manufacturer has not been notified. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The failure mileage was 100,000 and current mileage was 102,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #20

Aug 302007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Security light coming on and passlock failure. I would like to know why GM is not fixing this problem when so many people are having them. My security light will only go off if I shut the car off and restart it. The lights blink, and from what I am hearing, soon I will not be able to start my car.

- Fairfield , PA, USA

problem #19

Jan 152007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at any rate of speed, the head lights would shut off without warning. The contact stated he would have to turn headlights from high to low, to get them to illuminate. The dealer stated that they have never heard of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 46,000.

- Robesonia, PA, USA

problem #18

Jul 042006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
Several times I would go to start my car and the security light would be on in the message center. The car would not start. It did nothing like a dead battery. I would wait about 15 minutes and try again. Sometimes it would start sometimes it wouldn't. it was doing this 2 or 3 times a week. On Sept. 9, 2006 I came out from shopping and it wouldn't start. I waited for 15 minutes and still nothing. I did this for an hour. Then I called a friend to come and get me. I went back to my car which is a 2002 Impala, the next day, still nothing. The next day, still nothing. I called a tow truck to the dealer to get it fixed. Also my power door locks had quit at the same time. I was told I had to give them $100 just to look at it. 3 hours later they called and said that I could pick up my car. Total cost towing $59, dealer $496.95. I am disabled and only get $600 a month from disability. Now I have no money for my living expenses for the month but the car is still doing the same thing. On the 1st of Oct. I went out to start my car and guess what it won't start. Since this was a Sunday I called the dealer on Monday morning to tell them that it was not fixed. It was still doing the exact same thing that it was before they supposedly fixed it. By the way when they supposedly fix it they replaced the bmc. Now they want another $100 to look at it again. The part was guaranteed but not labor, I could not afford another bill like the last one, I just hope it starts when I go to the dr. It starts only when it wants to. My husband just had brain surgery, I have had 5 surgeries on my spine, I need a car that I can depend on to start. Never had a problem with it. I will hold Chevrolet responsible if any thing happens to my husband or my self because the car won't start. After I took the car to the dealer I came home, looked on the internet under Chevrolet Impala 2002 and found 100's of service bulletins on the very same problem. Why isn't any thing being done about this.

- Dayton, NV, USA

problem #17

Jul 042007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,900 miles
Was waiting in terminal for my ferry home...tried to start car when asked to move onto ferry...nothing car would not start.. just dead...tried to start with two different luck.. called bcaa.. missed ferry...finally back in car to wait for aaa talking to husband who asked if windows worked and radio? yes windows did but hadn't tried radio...went into car turned on ignition to start radio and car started right hesitation...had to leave on while waiting for last ferry home and during the trip across the home turned off car...tried to start problem started first time...still haven't found out what the problem was and how to fix it.

- Pender Island, 00, USA

problem #16

Feb 052005

Impala 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
My car was running one day when I was in a store and I came out and got in and it was dinging and lights were flashing radio didn't work fan was not as strong as usual. And once in awhile I won't even have lights unless I hold in the brights switch. But that was just the start it got more frequent that this would happen then, it wouln't start I would try for hours to get it to start I would have to disconnect the battery and wait and then even after doing this it might not start. And then just driving down the road it will ding and flash raid shuts off says "locked" what what is this now. So I will stop shut off wont start, finally starts then none of the gauges work or radio or even the A/C. I have lost two jobs because of my car not starting and being late for work or not being able to make it cause it wont start. Now I have taken it to about ten dealer ships, well every place tells me same thing there is nothing wrong with your car. May 30,2007 was the worst time with my car, it was raining really hard, my car started to act up like usual my A/C wouldn't work it was really humid and about 85 degrees and I got to a town and shut off the car and disconnected the battery as usual also and nothing happen and this went on for 2 hours and still nothing happened the worst part about this is I had my 6 month old daughter with me, my fiance is out of town we are an hour from home and my friend has a flat tire and my parents on vacation I had no ride or any body to call and I couldn't call a tow service because I only had $10 to my name I had to bundle my daughter up in her blanket and start walking home, I walked for about 20mins before any one stopped to pick us up. I am so sick and tired of this happening and would like this problem to be resolved but I don't think it should have to be at my expense when it obviously is not just happening to me! please please help me !! I just don't know what to do!!! akl

- Remer, MN, USA

problem #15

Mar 272007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,500 miles
Car does not turn over. Every six months or so the car does not turn over. There were no indications that it would not start. Aaa was called and stated it was the starter. Next morning, car started right up. Diagnostic test indicates that it is electronic.and should be a recall. Diagnostic codes P1626, 1064.

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #14

Nov 262006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,555 miles
The following matter is a potential disaster waiting to occur. I have informed GM by mail and telephone. I have went to the Chevy dealer only to come out with my key five hand held transmitter to stop working. I have sent letters to the dealership that sold me the car. T the security system shuts down the vehicle at random times automatically. Continuous problems: Security light on message center continues to flash security service vehicle soon, - battery the security system automatically, continuously attempts to shut down my car this security system also unlocks my trunk the handheld transmitter does not work after replacing the battery after the Chevy dealer checked the problem I have to unlock the doors manually the lights flash and the message on the radio panel says locked I cannot use my car, it will not start - engine light comes on - all lights go out while driving, this faulty "pass lock theft deterrent" system, automatically comes on and shuts my car down when I pull over to the side of the road and turn the engine off. It will not turn on again, only the check engine light comes on. I had the car inspected today at a Chevy dealership and the results was, " replace the control module at $325, first, then I can program the key five transmitter." Replaced transmitter battery and car battery I conclude that GM has the monopoly on vehicle parts and service all in the name of technology and cost the consumer a tremendous amount of repairs on top of the cost for the vehicle. Consumers should not have to pay for a service that they cannot repair at any shop in town. For instance, I can take my transmission issues to almost any transmission shop, however, I cannot take my manufacturer built- in security system to any shop. They will not touch it just because it is manufacturer built. I want the laws changed.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #13

Oct 302006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,080 miles
Driving when all warning lights came on, then the battery light stayed on for a short period. It did not effect the car performance but it did reset the clock on the radio as if the battery had been disconnected. Another time the traction control and ABS brake lights flashed and the radio pulsed. The security light remained on as I was moving forward out of a driveway the vehicle stalled but immediately restarted and all the lights cleared.

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #12

Sep 012006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,500 miles
2002 Impala ls with serious electrical problems. The first problem started with the turn signals going out. Then the radio would not go off even when the keys were out and doors locked, and sometimes does not work at all. Automatic door lock no longer works. When trying to start the car, I have to turn the key several times and then wait for it to finally start. The interior lights flicker. The headlights don't always work - I try not to drive at night because I never know when they'll go out. The instrument panel works about half the time, so I don't know how much fuel I have or how fast I am going. The message display goes between "security", "high beam out", "service engine soon", when it's working. There seems to be a new electrical component that goes out each day.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #11

Aug 212006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Car would not start. Thought it was the battery or possibly the alternator, but it turned out to be a failed body control module (BCM). Our car had only 46,000 miles when this occurred. There should be an official recall on the BCM given the numerous bulletins and complaints concerning the BCM before someone's loses his or her life as a direct or indirect result of its failure.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #10

May 312006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
: the contact stated the headlights failed without warning. The dealership was unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer has been alerted. Updated 6/16/2006 - when the high beams were used the dash lights went dark.

- York, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?