Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,368 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 11 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Mar 182008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving home during evening hours on a narrow 2 lane county road when without warning the headlights and interior lights totally turned off. She immediately stopped on the roadway as there was no shoulder to move onto. She tried to operate the headlights manually with no effect. The engine was not affected. She called me via cell phone and began to explain when the lights came back on. She proceeded toward our home and about 500 feet from our driveway the lights went off again. I searched the internet and found several other identical instances with no resolution as the problem appears intermittently. An internet tech said the fix is to replace the body control module (BCM). I have already had one replaced at my expense for a non-related problem on 08/04/2006. I have not yet called the dealer this time because of their denial of the previous BCM problem - that once replaced at my insistence fixed that problem. This is a very dangerous and scary situation with huge potential for harm. My wife will now not drive the car at night and much of her work (and mine) involves evening meetings.

- Eagle, WI, USA

problem #11

Jan 012008

Impala 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,407 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds at night, the instrumental panel lights, headlights, and turn signals failed. The vehicle was repaired on August 3, 2007. The dealer replaced the body control module and the lights functioned normally for three months. The dealer informed the manufacturer that they could not diagnose the cause of the failure. The current mileage was 78,868 and failure mileage was 70,407. Updated 04/03/08. The consumer stated the problem happened aganon on March 15,2008.

- Fayetteville, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 302007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,600 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start and the courtesy lights remained illuminated. In addition, the check engine light illuminated, the battery lights would scroll across the message center, and a chime would ring. The failures occur sporadically. The more the vehicle is driven, the more the failures occur. The dealer stated that the body control module needed to be replaced. The powertrain and purchase date were unknown. The current mileage is 65,746 and failure mileage was 65,600.

- Indianappolis, IN, USA

problem #9

May 012007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car was bought new from dealership, with occasional grinding noises noted in reverse and headlights "surging" at night while driving. Dealership unable to replicate with the exception of grinding. I was told a loose wire was causing noise in reverse. On 09/26/05, after noticing hard stalls while attempting to start, the fuel pump went out $281.60 for new one. 12/09/05, to dealership for starting concerns and maintenance. 04/13/06-car would not start to leave work. Ward's Chevrolet came to my work site. Left me a rental and kept my car until 04/20/06. I paid $674.56 for a 2nd fuel pump and fuel module. 06/21/06- to local garage with same complaints. $100 paid for "short" in electrical that caused no start and towing. 08/04/06-cooper Buick in monroe, la- $281 for another fuel pump and recall on 2003 Impala headgaskets that I was unaware of. 11/22/06-no start, turn over-went outside 3 hours later-starts with hard start. 12/06/06-brakes went from quiet to grinding-slow hard starts continue. Ward's kept the car for a month-never told me what was wrong with car except brakes. Did not charge. At this time I had requested a GM investi.-no results-states"the dealership was unable to replicate concern". the car continues to have slow, hard starts with very noticeable gas smells. The smell of gas has been occurring since 04/20/06 repairs. Now service, ABS, security lights come on and off intermittently with the smell of gas and slow, hard starts. I have been calling ward's since the first week of March 2007 requesting factory rep. To meet and drive car after their having a month with no improvements in cars functioning. I called this a.M. to be informed that new service dept. Manager was not aware of problem. This is the 4th time since March I have requested the factory rep. With no response from ward's.

- Grayson, LA, USA

problem #8

Sep 232006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When driving for long periods of time (around 2-3 hours), the radio console where the time is displayed gets very hot to the touch.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #7

Jul 162006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
: the contact stated the engine and all the electrical system turned off while driving 40 mph. The ignition was turned on right after, however the vehicle stalled after five minutes while driving 10 mph. An independent mechanic determined that the toggle switch of the passlock security system had become defective. Updated 8/1/2006 -

- Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 142006

Impala

  • 44,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Impala ls - headlights go off while driving. Just shut off. Doesn't matter if manual headlight switch is engaged or not. Intermittent failure, sometimes not for two hours, sometime every few seconds, sometimes when switching low to high beams, no specific speed or driving conditions. All interior lights and parking lights appear to remain on when the headlights fail. Sometimes can get headlights back on by switching off and on again, sometimes by flashing low to high, but they don't always come back on regardless of action. Sometimes just have to park the car until daylight. Car had just over 44,000 miles on it when I bought it. Drove for two weeks, but never at night, so not exactly sure of mileage of first incident. Happened second time I drove the car at night. Unable to repeat incident at dealer, but car was in "park" when they looked at it, and it was daytime. It could be happening while daytime, too, but I can't tell from inside the car. I could get a ticket in Maryland for driving with no headlights while using windshield wipers.

- Perryville, MD, USA

problem #5

Mar 202006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,900 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle is equipped with automatic door locks. This feature locks the doors automatically when the vehicle is put into drive. Due to a failure in the automatic door lock, the doors must be manually locked. The vehicle has been inspected however the problem cannot be corrected. Also the keyless entry has been taken to the dealer 5 times for reprogramming. This only corrected the problem for a short period of time. Updated 4/6/2006 -

- Wheeling, IL, USA

problem #4

Jul 122004

Impala

  • 17,000 miles
The rear tail lights/instrument panel lights were inoperative.

- Saint James, NY, USA

problem #3

Jan 302004

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,979 miles
When applying the brakes or turning on the windshield wipers, the consumer heard a noise coming from the radio. The consumer had the vehicle inspected, however, the mechanic could not duplicate the problem. The noise would also occur when the power door locks were used, the heater fan speed was adjusted and when the radio was on.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #2

Sep 122003

(reported on)

Impala 6-cyl

  • 3,200 miles
While driving at an undetermined speed, a red warning light flashed on the dashboard. Consumer was unsure what the warning sign meant. When this occurred the vehicle stalled. A diagnostic test was performed, but no failure was found.

- Gibsonville, NC, USA

problem #1

May 142003

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Inferior low grade "designed to fail" electrical switches in Chevrolet Impala's yr 2000. Specifically: Hazard "flasher" switch compromises "turn signals" forcing consumer into dealerships to pay exorbiant predatory costs for repair. $5 part for a $190 cost to repair. All electrical switches are inferior from mfg.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?